Image of Almond Beach Village

Almond Beach Village

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
Highway 1B, Douglas, Barbados

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
This was our second time at the ABV and once again we had a very enjoyable stay. As a previous reviewer has stated, unlike many hotels (eg ABC/Crystal Cove) the ABV is set well back from the road as you drive through their golf course before reaching reception.

Upon arrival we were upgraded two levels to a superior deluxe beachfront room in Block 7 (St Bernards). The room was fine with effective air-con, super-king bed for the adults, separate bed for each of our two children and a spacious bathroom, though the bath and shower/taps could do with replacement. Very little noise from neighbours except for the usual heels on tiled floor above. If I had one complaint it would be that the TV is small and worthy of the science museum.

The restaurants and food are all very good and well presented, and we found the booking system easy, even though the hotel was initially very busy. Enids is decorated in typical Bajan style and serves local fare. The food is great but the menu didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Best at Barbados

Recommended
Peter
10 years 2 months ago
The room was clean but required a good refit as the aircon unit ratteled and was falling off the wall, the doors were loos on the TV unit to the point of almost falling off, the radio did not work, there was only a coffe maker no kettle, but the hair dryer was good.
The food from the board walk grill was very hit and miss it was either overcooked and dry or raw. On 2 ocaisions that we ate at this place we had under cooked fish, under cooked beef bergers and very over cooked chicken so we avoided it after the second time.
The best food was served in La Smarrita restaurant this was the only air conditioned restaurant on the site. the starters were good and the lamb main coures was excelent. The steak was coocked well but you cant make a silk purse out of a sow's ear and we never had a good piece of steak during the stay. The desserts were to die for and all the food was very well presented.
The location was spot on with little outside disturbance we felt very safe at all times.
The entertainment was good and varied every night usually in the horizon bar
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tradewinds

Recommended
Drew
10 years 7 months ago
We have traveled the world and this is the worst 2* we have been in (they rate it at 4*+) the rooms were cleaned every day, but the room itself way badly in need of updating and decoration, the patio doors are locked with a bar pushed through a hole(none of the locks work) The beach lads told how to get in just push a straw through to remove the bar. the food was not the best and as we had 2 disabled people with us and they had been warned and given all the details, we had expected to be seated quickly and together but disabilities don't count and were left standing or waiting for places to sit (they couldn't even organise a table so all the party could sit together even when we booked the night before) location was ok hotel staff not interested most of the time (we complained and it took them a week to respond)the entertainment program is a case of if you can find it you can watch it, all in all a very expensive holiday for what should be rated as a 2* hotel> We wont be going next year and the final straw/insult was to be asked for the loan wheel chair back before we had even left the hotel as a new arrival needed it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: virgin

Ronald Adams
10 years 8 months ago
My wife ad I went in feb for a brak from renovating a cottage in Lancasshire. We made our arrnagements on line and booked he hotel through Hotels.com as it worked out cheaper by
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

11 years 6 months ago
We were originally booked in the new Almond Casuarina, but due to a delay in opening, were offered the ABV instead.

Had a 6 hour delay leaving Gatwick (good old XL Airways...not), so arrived at the ABV quite late at night and feeling pretty shattered.
We were allocated a Superior Deluxe Pool View room on the ground floor in Block 6000, which is the one clustered around the toddler pool and nursery. My wife was initially horrified at this because she works in a primary school and the last thing she wanted was her holiday room right next to a nursery, but as it turned out it was one of the quietest spots on the resort.

We had an initial niggle with the room, well, not the room so much as the bathroom. Most complaints about the ABV seem to centre around the room quality, but the room itself was a good size and reasonably well decorated. The bed was large and our boy's (aged 7 & 8) pronounced the sofa bed comfy. But the bathroom was tiny, the door was broken at the bottom, the sink was cracked and the bath chipped. We could just about live with that (though it hardly met with their "first class resort" aspirations), but the water flow was pathetic and there was no hot water between 5.30 and 7.30, ie. just as you're getting washed up for dinner. We complained several times, once in writing when asked for hotel service and quality comments, but they couldn't fix it and eventually we moved to a first floor room in the same block. Slightly smaller room, but a much larger, recently decorated bathroom with good water pressure and temperature.

Once that was sorted (and in hindsight we should have moved much sooner) we had a very enjoyable time. The restaurants are not gourmet, but this is a four star all-inc, so you have to have realistic expectations. Having said that the food was very good, just don't expect "The Cliff". Service in the restaurant can be a little slow, especially getting you seated, but then this is the Caribbean. We thought the Courtyard Caf
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Sarah
12 years ago
We visited the Almond Beach Hotel for a month it was are dream holiday that we had saved for months.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by staff who where very friendly and given a cool flannel and a rum punch and fuitpunch for the children, then we were told about the hotel then shown to are rooms. The room were lovely and clean and very big which was great seeing we had 2 young children with us.

The food was really nice especially the Italian which is an adult only restaurant but worth going to you also got room service which was excellent and food was always hot on arrival.

The staff were always friendly and always happy to stop and talk.

Entertainment wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook signatura

Recommended
Claire Patrick
12 years ago
Me and my boyfriend satyed at this hotel for two weeks October 2006.

On arrival we were greated by friendly staff and a cold glass of punch. I was immediatley impressed with the hotel exspecially after seeing some of the hotels which people had beed dropped of at.

We stayed in a delux suite which was clean and comfortable with everything that you would require. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. Our suite surronded a pool with six other suites. I found this very relaxing as there were never more than a few people at the pool.

As we were all inclusive we took the opportunity to try all the resturants on site the Itilain being our favourite ( a must) We always found the staff very friendly and willing. The food could have been better at the buffet resturant however there was always something to eat as the variety was so good. We really enjoyed the BBQ which they have at the hotel once a week, the food was a treat and the staff provided amusing entertainment.Drink on offer was fantastic, who can complain at an unlimited amount of cocktails! Beware though some are very strong.

The trips offered by the hotel are fantastic and a definate must in order to fully appreciate what an amazing island Barbados is.

We found the location of the hotel excellent and only a short walk from Speighstown, where you can find amazing little resturants and some of the most laid back people you are every likely to come into contact with. I must say that if we could have got away with it we would have stayed there forever.

The hotel definaltey offers you paridise on a plate and I would recommend it very highly. We will most certainly return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Beattie
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the hotel in July last year and had a fantastic time.

On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff and each handed a cool towel a rum punch for the adults and a fruit cocktail for the child. As we tried to cool down we were checked in and then we were shown to our room.

The room was a one bedroom suite, with two bathrooms, air con, and a private sun terrace with 4 sun beds!!!

The staff were great and could not do enough for you.

The kids club could not be faulted they will take your little ones from 9am (I think) to 10pm you signed them in and out as you pleased, we hardly saw our daughter for the duration of the holiday. Entertainment in the main bar could have been a lot better, but you could live with it!

You have a great choice of food ranging from buffet (the best buffet food I have ever had at a hotel) through to fine a la carte dining, what ever your taste you would be happy, but bear in mind booking early for dinner is a must as the restaurants fill quickly!

The weather was good we even had a quick visit from Denis (hurrican denis!!)

Overall one of the best holidays my family and I have been on. So would I go back? - without a doubt!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Nichola
13 years 3 months ago
We found the hotel to be very clean. it was cleaned each day with fresh towels.

Although we were all inclusive I did not find the food to be of a very high standard, plus they did not serve peach Schnapps so there were no sex on the beach cocktails avaliable.

The hotel was located on a beach wich was kept clean but there was no were to vist outside the resort of a night which was safe.

There was entertainment on till around 11 oclock at night for the adults then a night club on site from 12 till 6.
there was a large group of us who went for a friends wedding which in my opinion the staff didnt really make a fuss.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Williams Family
14 years 4 months ago
We stayed here as a wedding package with Virgin.

On arrival we were treated like VIP's and this continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were large and very clean. The numerous pools were heaven. The food was amazing and you could have as much as you wanted.

The staff gave 101% and always had a smile and a no problem attitude.

We were married on the beach and would recomend this hotel to anyone.

We are planning to return for our 5th anniversary.

The beach was and is fabulous and the children enjoyed it. You were not hasseled at all really but were asked politly if you wanted your hair braided.

All in all our best holiday BY FAR.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum