Image of Tropical Escape Hotel

Tropical Escape Hotel

5 of 7 hotels in St James

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
4 stars
Highway 1, Barbados
This attractive and extremely popular hotel offers an extra-special atmosphere. It really does offer something for everyone with the impressive adults-only spa Hotel which was added in 2002 and with its own large freeform swimming pool.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert Gibson
9 years 6 months ago
We had planned this holiday in January 2008 When we arrived at the hotel we noticed as soon as we got inside how run down it was we were shown to our room a supperior room i dont think so when we got into the room it had 6 leaks in the cieling and marks on the floor form the leaks which had not been cleaned we checked the bathroom which was disgustig the bath towel had stains allover it. the next morning we went to breakfast and noticed the plastic coverings for the food were all broken and cracked we left that day and would never recommend this hotel to any one.
we then found another hotel and had a brilliant time in Barbados.
Barbados is a lovely island but im afriad who ever gave this hotel a 4v rating must be mad.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin

Kevin Winkworth
9 years 11 months ago
I chose this resort over a year ago and it was a surprise for my new wife to know where we were going.

Upon arrival it was easy to see that all the staff couldnt do enough to help, one of the security/porters took all our luggage across the road to the spa area which i chose as its adults only. The spa pool was a nice size and was hardly used which was great for me. There was never a fight for the sunbeds.

The room was tidy, cleaned daily.

I was shocked to find that whilst most of the socket were the Barbados style, we had a 230 UK style socket available in the room.

Food varied in type almost daily which was great, but a standard menu as well was provided. The seascape restaurent was in the main hotel and next to the beach, as the side was open to the element birds were an occasional problem but shoo them away was the answer, also due to it being open, there was no air-con, which made it muggy in the evenings when there was no breeze. The garden restaurent was more al a carte and only seated 40 so booking in advance essential, you had to book a time at either anyhow.

Entertainment was 8.30 till 10.30, and on some evening was no point at all, however some nights were very good. All in all not a place for youngsters as they would get bored very easily.

The beach was very secluded but was public but never really saw anyone apart from the local sellers on the beach. There was enough sunbeds and further to previous they now have enough umbrella/parasols. The watersports department let out snorkels/mask/fins, 1/2/3 person kayaks and even small catamarans.

All in all a nice quite hotel, clean and pleasent staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
David Chisholm
10 years 5 months ago
This was our first trip to Barbados and one of our best holidays abroad. The Tropical Escape is a small, friendly hotel set in the best part of the island.

We arrived about 6.30pm & our luggage was at the hotel for us. The staff were also waiting with rum punch cocktails..brill.

We had a pool-view room which was bright, spacious & clean. The air-con was excellent & the TV had a good variety of English channels. Maid service was every day & towels changed every other day.

Meals in the hotel were generally very good with a good selection available at both the breakfast & lunch buffets. Evening meals are A la Carte four nights and buffet style the other three. Afternoon tea and sandwiches are served at the pool bar also.

All drinks are free except for bottled wine and served in glasses indoors/plastic cups at pool. There are no longer complimentary meals at the Blue Monkey restaurant across the road, talking of which, is easy to cross as the traffic stops for you!

The beach is a delight & the boys provide you with sunbeds & soft drinks all day(again there is no longer a drinks allowance at the B M but can be taken from the hotel.). The beach does tend to get busy when the cruise ships are docked but it's only for a few hours. The hotel pool is small but perfect for cooling off & the pool-side is normally quiet so perfect for chilling out.

Rumours were going round that the hotel is changing hands in May and First Choice will no longer be involved but for now this is a great hotel in a great location for a great price. Enjoy it while you can!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
King
11 years ago
The food was wonderful, ample choice and tasty, especially the a la carte evenings, I just hope that the new chef does not alter things and tries to economise, as all the products were top quality. The staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful, especially Valerie. Everything was clean and fresh and the rep, Juliet was the nicest I've ever encountered
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Hadaway
11 years ago
This hotel was really really great, to be honest we read alot of reports before we went and were very worried about alot of aspects but to be fair can't really think of anything to complain about.

The hotel and rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day, they are very spacious with very modern furnishing and brill air conditioning (like walking into a fridge)you are given clean beach towels every day, you have hairdryers in the room, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the bathroom. The pool is on the small side but my children were the only ones staying at the hotel when we went but could imagine it would be busy in peak season.

You need to cross a busy road to go the fabulous beach but wasn't a problem even with 2 young children.I have never been to a hotel where the staff are so friendly.

The only two things on the downside were that the meal times are very rigid- not a problem really in normal situations but if you have young children and our daughters are 1 and 5 yrs old they sometimes were so tired by 7pm that they didnt have their dinner so made do with the afternoon snack served between 4.30 -5.30pm which was sandwiches/cakes/biscuits but to be honest again the staff are very helpful and often we took food up to our room..The other thing was that a new chef was bought in to the hotel from the 2nd week and we really noticed the difference- the first week we had a lot of really beautifully cooked food with plenty of variety (even for me a very fussy vegetarian) but I ALWAYS managed to find something, plenty of salads pasta vegetables rice etc but the 2nd week it did really go down hill but whether or not it was due to a few teething problems i dont know but on the menu seemed to be flying fish flying fish as opposed to Tuna steaks etc the first week (the cheaper Bajan dish)and not so much choice for the vegetarians in our party! But again if you have a look at the menu in the morning and you don't fancy whats on the menu you can order pretty much whatever you want and they are very obliging!
The hotel offers 2 buffet style dinners a week (casual dress) and you can help yourself to whatever you fancy, 4 nights a week is a la carte waiter service (strict dress code - but you always get some who dont seem to think that includes them! - long trousers for guys and no flip flops) and 1 night a week they have a barbecue again casual dress.

I guess if you're going to this hotel you will be going with First Choice and Juliette is the rep there who is actually Bajan and very helpful and if you have a problem go directly to her as we did when we wanted to keep our room on the last day after 10am check out and she sorted it instantly, as we had been asking the hotel manager for days and she had kept saying she will let us know but hey thats the caribbean lifestyle but fustrating when you want to get things done!

The bar does close at 11.30pm but you can obviously order your drinks before the bar closes & line then up to continue your night if thats what you would like but if you're looking for really action packed night life this wouldnt be the hotel for you. The hotel is approx 40mins from the airport and includes watersports as well on the beach.

There were a small minority of people there that were making complaints but after talking to them were found out it was because they didnt serve Big Macs etc at the hotel -and that goes to say alot!But did notice the chef but burgers in rolls on the menu the next day!

Overall its a very very nice clean hotel well worth the money we paid offering very good value for money, we have stayed in 5-6 places in Barbados and this hotel did really impress us so go and enjoy yourself!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Nathan Gibbons
11 years 2 months ago
I visited Escape with my brother recently. (19 + 24 years old) We travelled to Barbados for the cricket world cup and simply wanted a good standard all inclusive that was near the Oval. (Bridgetown) I had read many reviews and knew what to expect:

The food is of a high standard and the room also. There are two restaurants of which the Garden seems more favoured amoungst guests, in my opinion they are both great. The staff are all perfect, very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was varied but beware there will be little to excite those in their teens and twenties.

The site is a little small for a 4* all inclusive, I would've been bored during a longer vacation. Also, there is no proper swimming pool for the under 16's. All in all an enjoyable stay though.

In my opinion if you're a middle aged and like a 'social club/local bar' atmos then this is for you, it would also suit the romantic couples seeking a quiet break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
Mr
11 years 6 months ago
Hotel seems to falling into a state of disrepair. Guests who had been before said they would not be returning. Cleaning was half hearted and just about made the rooms habitable. Our room had no fridge or kettle.

Food was very limmited. Typically buffet style but only 4 choices of main course and not very appealing.

Location in Payne's Bay is very central West Coast with easy and quick access to other towns. Good beach with the usual touts.

Some of the staff were great but the speed of service is unbelievably slow. It seems to be a habit to fininsh texting your pal then deal with the so called guest. So overall a 3 rating for this.

I would not go here again, preferring to spend a bit more on better accomodation

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

L Brown
11 years 6 months ago
First time in Tropical Escape, I had researched this hotel so I was not in for any surprises. Yes the Hotel was small,(this can be a good thing but at times not) so sometimes you felt as if you constantly bumped into people you would preferred to have met up with only on the return flight.

I think a few of the staff were excellent, but sadly with the majority you sometimes felt you were an intrusion on their day.

The food was not the best but you would not starve. Except for a few meals when we decided to eat out, you could usually eat OK ,however the service varied depending on the staff on each shift.

The flies were a persistent problem as was the road noise.

The entertainment was on average poor but the worst part was that it finished at 11.00pm ,so everybody was just left sitting in quiet bar, they could have played some music till midnight to round off the evening and let everyone have a dance, but it seemed they just weren't bothered.

I would not recommend this hotel for children as they are not catered for.

If you are not happy with any aspect let them know you may find they can rectify the problem, as long as you speak to the right person i.e. the rep who was lovely.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

MarkJ HT Mod
11 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from our third visit to this hotel.

ROOMS
----------
We stayed in one of the villa rooms and the room was clean with towels changed daily. Bed linen was changed on a regular basis. The air-conditioning worked well. Sufficient place to store the clothes was provided.

BEACH
----------
Sufficient sun loungers were available. Umbrellas were only available if you were on the beach early. During our second week of our stay, the beach started to erode severely with the bit under the trees totally washed away. This made the beach very cramped with sunbeds. Not the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
Kirsty & Andre
12 years ago
First impressions seemed very nice and staff were friendly.

Hotel was a bit out in the sticks but buses available outside the hotel.

Food was very nice but you had to book a table every evening by a set time which restricted your daily plans.

Suggest you don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: virgin

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
One Week Or Two offers a complete personalised travel service with Holidays | Flights | Cruises | Hotels at fantastic prices.
Holiday Truths Forum