Image of Lifestyle Vitalis Garden Club Hotel

Lifestyle Vitalis Garden Club Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Cofresi

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Cofresi Beach, PO Box 608, Cofresi, Dominican Republic
Situated on a lovely stretch of golden beach, this hotel has a unique Mediterranean feel. With the facilities of the sister hotels also available, there are numerous amenities to choose from. Join the entertainment team for a variety of activities.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Elizabeth Heggarty
12 years 5 months ago
It was our honeymoon from hell.

Food excellent. Staff very good, apart from one mentioned later.

No entertainment and fleas in the bed. We were eaten alive and they wanted us to pay to be moved to another part of hotel but it was no better so we stayed where we were. Spent more money on medication for flea bites as did all on holidy at same time as us. We had to pick fleas from bed every night and show them to staff. Still nothing done about it until last day when room was fumigated. This was no good to us.

A member of staff also took my husbands white gold chain from my bag as we sat there but he insisted that he did not. He was the only person sat there with us. The rep was of no use at all.

We were booked as newly married and were meant to have a honeymoon room but ended up in a dump of a room. Some honeymoon. We had so looked forward to this.

The weather was excellent and met lots of nice people but do not recommend this place to anyone. Wrote to First Choice and they didnt bother to reply. Not even an apology.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

12 years 7 months ago
This experience taught us to never again go to holiday on an allocated on arrival basis. The accommodation consisted of a collection of shabby en-suite huts (the grounds were beautifully maintained) alas the huts were disgusting, filthy, tatty furniture, hot water if you were lucky & bed bugs..definately not mosquitos... fellow holiday makers all concurred with our opinion..

The entertainment very much depended on the weather (the brochures did not advise that this was the rainy season) Most evenings the heavens opened at about 9pm and there was only one bar which was located outside by the pool.

The worst part however, was that the owners of the site tried to sell everyone there a timeshare scheme which on the face of it looked to be an excellent way to escape the shabby huts.. We unfortunately took the bait... & are still in negotiation with credit card companies to stop them taking monies from our accounts. The only + was that the local staff were all absolutely wonderful... Shame we had to make their acquaintance at such a grotty place.

This holiday cost almost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Yates
13 years 2 months ago
Lovely hotel complex, grounds exceptionally well maintained, efficient, friendly reception facilities.

Rooms clean and basic , perhaps in need of refurbishment altough we were aware this was happening to several blocks while we were there so imagine in time they will all be upgraded.only problem was with shower, very temperamental, majority of time only luke warm, but being a third world country this has to be taken into consideration.

Food excellent, we have a very finicky teenage daughter who was able to find something she liked at all meal times. Omelettes freshly prepared with your choice of fillings, toasted sandwiches, pasta station, salad bars, roasts, and super desserts. Didn't think much of the Chinese restaurant but the Italian was lovely.

Staff were very, very friendly but without being pushy. Entertainment team worked really hard altough most nights was of a similar thing, dancing and miming to a variety of songs in a variety of costumes, sometimes with audience participation with games. Daytime was the usual volleyball, darts, water aerobics and the club anthem dance.all the team were friendly , funny and really worked hard .

We changed to this hotel after originally booking for Sharm el Sheik, and we had a super time. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: odyssey

Recommended
13 years 3 months ago
Like all the other reports about this hotel, I was worried if we had made the right choice. But now I've been, I'm safe to say YES we did make the correct choice.

It says that it is only a 3 star but I would make it a 4. The hotel was kept clean, our room was maybe looking a little bit tired but the rest of the hotel was fine. Our rooms were comfortable enough. The only downside was our shower, a nineteen sixty's model I think! but considering that it is a 3rd world country and most of the locals don't even have running water, I guess you can live with it for 2 weeks!

The staff kept all the public areas as clean as possible. The gardens were kept especially tidy.

The food was nice. Every different thing that you could think of; Bananas and Onions at breakfast, that was something different! We even had goat stew! Try the Italian and the Fish Restaurant, they're lovely. The menu did change every day but it was always of a similar theme. Salads of every sort, fish, stews, pasta, puddings and the fruit was out of this world!

I must admit that the beach was a little disappointing but not enough to say it was bad.

The hotel staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Pedro, the pool bar attendant was just brilliant! he always ensured that your glass was full and always remembered what you drank, even if his measures were a bit on the strong side.

The entertainment team did their best to amuse you but there was nothing much going on of an evening. But after a hard days baking in the hot sunshine we were glad to get to our air-conditioned rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Judy Axcell
13 years 5 months ago
After having read many reviews I was dreading going on holiday to this resort, arriving at the airport we had to pay 10 USD to get in and had to fill in a green card (2 sections)you keep the second part to get back out when you pay 20 USD.

The flight was good we were treated to unlimited drinks and first class food as we had booked premier class (the only seats left on the flight.

Our journey to the resort was a nightmare, the roads are a mess and the locals dont seem to know their left from their right! We arrived at the hotel and check in was super fast and we were shown to our room which was an upgrade to a junior suite, very clean, the only gripe I could find was that the floor tiles were very slippy.

The restaurants were excellent the grounds were kept immaculate and were being swept and cleaned all day long. The buffet restaurant was excellent with many choices, I can highly recommend the pasta station, I can only think that people complaining of food poisoning had spent too much time sat at the bar during the day in the heat of the sun neither of us suffered any problems at all, the imodium i took with us are still intact.

Location of the hotel was perfect with sea world just along the beach. the staff at the hotel were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. We didnt bother much with the entertainment as we had gone for total rest and relaxation, we certainly got that.

We have bought 30 weeks holidays through lifestyle and were upgraded immediately to a 3 bed villa with our own pool and maid (Salandrea), pure bliss and our own lounge which has to be seen to be believed. We cant wait until October to go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rochford
13 years 8 months ago
We were moved to this hotel as our first hotel was totally unsatisfactory.

It has an ideal setting and lovely grounds. We had a problem with a leaking air conditioning unit which was never fully resolved during our stay , which resulted in all our possesions smelling of dampness.

On the tenth day of our holiday our daughter 2 yr old daughter took very ill with gastroenteritis, she was severely dehydrated and in hospital for 5 dyas on intra-venous fluids and medication! The lab tests showed she had a parasite in her gut, which the doctor informed me was water bourne, I stongly advise not to visit this hotel with young children as we nearly lost ours!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Fin
14 years 1 month ago
We arrived at this hotel from Breezes in Punta Cana after Hurricane Jeanne had hit and were happy enough to get on and have a good holiday, what was left of it. The Hacienda staff were very efficeint and check in was quick. Our rooms were about average although could be a bit cleaner, we felt as though we were being bitten in our beds. The rooms were fumigated during our stay and this seemed to help. The staff were mostly fine although on a few occassions were rude and dismissive. The entertainment was average and the staff tried hard to get everyone to join in, during the day if we weren't listening to elevator music then we were listening to some kind of heavy beat music there seemed to be no in between. The food was ok but you had to be up early to book one of the speciality restaurants, be wary of the food in the Bounty Bar as there are a lot of insects flying about and landing on the food. I stayed in the Paradiso Del Sol in Cabarete last year and this was a 3* I think the Hacienda just scrapes by as a 3*. I will not be recomending this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Holiday Place

Humphreys
14 years 2 months ago
The small bay area of Cofressi is fine, great sea and quite beach with no hassle.
Location next to ocean World is fantastic.
The main problem with the hotel is the accommodation and entertainment.
Accommodation is very basic and as previuosly noted by other guests you get bitten in the uncomfortable beds.

The entertainment is terrible. It is based around the swimming pool in the day and has a some what amateur Redcoats feel to it with comedy darts etc. The staff are far from in control. The music played is from a CD, loud and soon has every body running for the beach! All musis is Spanish style disco and is often repeated (Only one CD).
Evening entertainment is at a fake colluseum near by and again starts with the same music as heard at the pool! Then the entertainment staff provide a dance routine of spanish dance. Great for the first show but as the week goes on you realize that it is the same routine time after time to a different theme. The Titanic theme was to just too much!

On Weekends the the hotel is opened to locals. They pay $20 for a day including full use of the resturants. It quikly goes down hill and the hotel takes on the feeling of an over crowded local swimming pool. It is quite intimidating as the locals activly hassle the children especially young ladies.

The other problem at weekends is that they let out 12 rooms to locals Saturday and Sunday. The problem is that after a visit to the disco and the free bars they return to their rooms to continue the party, loudly! This would not be a problem if it was not the fact that all the people on holiday had payed a lot of hard earned money for a couple of weeks relaxation in the Tropics only to have it ruined by people drinking and eating the food to excess having only paid $20.

We will not reccomend this hotel to anybody at all!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Penny
14 years 3 months ago
We had a wonferful stay at this hotel, the grounds are very well kept, fantastic pool and pool bar!! The rooms were clean and spacious.

The food was great, loads of choice even for the children, well worth booking a table at the Bamboo restaraunt & Blue marlin, staff were very friendly, a BIG thank you to Spaggety, Super Sexy, chicken legs and all the others for making our holiday a great one!!!!

Try the Hurricane disco for a true dominican experience.
would definatley visit again in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Place

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby