Image of Sun Village Resort & Spa

Sun Village Resort & Spa

1 of 2 hotels in Cofresi

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
1 Paradise Drive, Puerto Plata, , 00000 Dominican Republic

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rachael
10 years 1 month ago
This is our second time visiting this particular hotel, and we would definitely go again!
Our room, along with many others were upgraded to superior despite us only booking a standard double. So we benefited from a flat plasma screen tv, a large balcony and two double beds. Our room was very well kept, with the maids servicing it every day.Not to mention the mini bar that was always fully stocked!
We were spoilt for choice with the choice of food on the resort, with the 3 a la carte restaurants and the grand buffet hall...not to mention the grill on the beach! We had no problems with any meat being undercooked etc. There is such a vast choice of food that it should cater to everyones taste, and we would definitely reccomend the Italian!
The service is outstanding on this resort, which is the main reason we have returned.The staff will treat you like kings and queens and really go out of their way to accomodate the guests.They are genuinely happy to be there,and eager to engage with the guests, which is quite rare to come across in the UK.
The theatre provides entertainment every night, early evening there was a film on and later the hotel often provide their own shows which were entretaining to say the least. We saw some good dancers and even a fire breathing magician! They also have karaoke twice weekly which can prove amusing. The evening entertainment may not be to everybody's taste, but with a free bar all night I personally dont have an issue with it. After that, there is a disco until 3am in the theatre, which we found to be a bit more disappointing compared to last year as the nightclub was closed. As an alternative, there is a 24 hour lounge which can be a more relaxing time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Partner

Recommended
Charlotte
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Sun Village for 3 weeks in Nov/Dec 2007. We found this resort one of the best we have ever stayed in and we have been all over the Caribbean staying in lots of nice resorts but this one really stands out.

The overall look of the resort is just beautiful with lush palm trees and flowers all over. The grounds are kept so clean, even after we had a tropical storm it only took about an hour for them to clean up completly and it looked as if nothing had happend, even after 90 mile and hour winds and torential rain! This only happened for one day and night and then it all cleared up and was beautiful and sunny again. The even put on more evening entertainment for us to sit out the storm.

The food was the best I have had in any hotel/resort, the Citrus was my fave, the food was just gorgeous and the menu had a lot of varity andchanged every week. The only think I will suggest is that if you like your Asian or Mexican food spicy they you should tell them when you order otherwise it will be a little plain but they obviously cannot take the spice away once in and hot food isnt always to everyone's taste so just tell them you want it more spicey and they will do it for you.

The pools were soooo nice and the spa was amazing, you can only use that pool and the facilities if you have a treatment and your partner can come along to for free that day and use the hot tub, sauna and pool ect which is well worth it as it is so relaxing anf they really treat you like royalty!

I would visit this hotel again and would def recommend it to couples or familys and it really cateres for all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nick
11 years 4 months ago
This holiday was amazing. I would recomend it to anyone. There were four of us travelling(2 couples from 18-22yrs) and we booked it at the end of jan with a really good deal. 2 week all inclusive for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Holiday Place

Recommended
Linda & Pete Hobbins
11 years 6 months ago
We had an all inclusive two week stay at Sun Village. Where do we start, absolutely superb, best holiday ever. Yes there are steps, 93 from the reception area to the beach ( I climb 14 steps on numerous occasions at home so didn't find this a problem).

The resort itself is huge compared to the number of guests it holds. There is no queing for anything or any struggle for a sunbed.

The grounds are immaculate, being attended to constantly. There is a wide selection in the buffet dining area that is open 24hrs a day. There are three a la carte restaurants which you have to book up ( best do this at the start of the week).

A Thai, Italian and Mexican , all well worth a visit. The pools are spectacular, seven in total ( spoilt for choice ).

Two swim up pool bars and all pools are huge. The staff are friendly and very helpful and are eager for your stay to be an enjoyable one. The all inclusive drinks not only include local but some international too ( most unusual but very welcome).

The rooms are adequate with maid service daily. Excellent shower, hot and powerful. We went on a few trips whilst there. The monster truck was well worth doing, we got to see alot of the island and locals.

Paradise island was great ( speedboat through the mangroves an experience) Ocean world is only ten minutes away, we even walked back instead of waiting for the bus. The dolphin swim is a must (experience of a lifetime) Tipping is optional.

We never felt pressured into doing it and was never treated any differently when we didn't. A small tip perhaps at the end of the holiday is most certainly appreciated, bearing in mind they only earn $4 a day. Evening entertainment is slightly low key but by 10.30pm we were shattered anyway.

There is a nightclub open until 2.00am but was never very popular. Overall the holiday was fantastic and we will certainly return there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Griffiths
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel was in an excellent location and was overlooking the private beach with fantastic huge double sunbeds.

We were a little dissapointed with our room as it smelled quite mouldy when we first walked in but turned out to be the air-conditioning but room quite small in comparison to other couples rooms.

Maids came to clean the room every day and we quickly found out that if you tip them occasionaly during your stay, that they will change the sheets more often and leave more drinks in the mini-bar.

We were all inclusive and the food was great, the staff put on a special effort to make this as interesting as possible but be warned that if you dont occasionally tip the waiting staff, they wont come and bring you coffee in the morning.

Entertainment was good and the entertainment staff make an effort to make sure you are having a good time. The staff were mostly male and I found some of them to be quite leary whilst the ladies were sunbathing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
We found the hotel to be very clean, with cleaning staff seen around the hotel during the day. Our maid made sure our room was always immaculate.

The food was great. We tried everything, there was freshly grilled lobster on two nights, and the a la cartes were also good. The drinks were good, we stuck to what was free with the all inclusive, and this included a huge cocktail menu. The beach bar was amazing!

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, and although we did occasionally tip, we mostly did not, and didn't find this a problem. There seemed to be a huge number of staff to guests.

We did not really see much of the entertainment, but there seemed plenty going on during the days and nights, with the nightclub open until 2am.

The hotel grounds were fantastic, and our room was located in the middle of the hotel, a short walk from the beach and, in the other direction, the restaurants. The beach was fine, with a private section for hotel guests, the rest being public. There was a small rewef for snorkelling off the beach, although not that much to see.

Overall, we had a great time, and would definitewly return for a relaxing break with our childrern.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Arrangements

Recommended
Carolyn Morris
13 years 5 months ago
Stayed at the Sun Village resort and spa. Pools were very good and appearance of hotel good until you get to your room.

Rooms were very shabby and furniture broken air con leaking through bathroom ceiling onto floor. We were booked to stay at the Riu Merengue but due to sickness this holiday was cancelled by Thomsons and alternative holiday found for us at the sun village.

We were told that it was the same standard as the Riu. This was not true. Food was quite good. entertainment was awful. Most staff ok but some would ignore you at the bar and serve people that were obviously tipping them before you.

Building work going on all over the hotel and we were not told about this before going. This hotel is not suitable for anyone who has difficulties with walking as it has at least 80 steps from the top of the hotel to the beach, some pools, the snack bar and the mexican retaurant.

A very disapointing holiday as we thought that it was the same standard as the riu but it wasnt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Mr & Mrs Corbley
13 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the hotel as all inclusive which worked well for us. The meals were fantastic especially the Thai Restaurant, the only thing we did find was that there was a LOT of fried cheese which did get tiring towards the end of the stay but apart from that everything was spectacular which such a wide choice of food. The drinks were fantastic which such a choice (we have never had so many cocktails).

Our room was lovely and spacious with two double beds and everything which we might need together with regular drink top ups in the fridge and a lovely welcome pack for being honeymooners. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The maid came daily and always did a superb job. Attention to detai was well paid and everyday the maid would shape our clean towels into a different kind of swan or heart position.

The location was fine with us as we did not plan to explore the ireland much but just to concentrate on making the most of the activies available within which we did. The beach was close to our room together with american pool, table tennis, the swimming pools and the restaurants.

We did not see much of the entertainment as it wasn't really our thing but we did attend the managers cocktail party.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum