Image of Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel

Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel

5 out of 5 from 94 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Luperon km 4 | Marapica, Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Set on a wonderful beachfront location, this is a truly luxurious and first class 24 hour All Inclusive hotel. Relax in the gardens, enjoy the lagoon-style pool and its unique jacuzzi or be pampered in the hotel's own spa.

94 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    64
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
NinaXLL
Simply the best...
1 year 6 months ago
The flight was a little longer than we are used to but once up and the films were on the time seemed to go ok. Thomas Cook flight was ok, I would definitely recommend buying the upgrade of the entertainment package on the flight if you have kids as that keeps them occupied for an extra few hour on the flight.

Re the Hotel, it is a really good hotel with a very nice pool with plenty of different things to do. The whole hotel is very clean, there are plenty of sun loungers and there are no issues with space around the pool. One of the best things about the hotel is that it is right near an absolutely stunning beach.

With regards the hotel and the food and the drinks at the bars, they are all of a brilliant quality and are of a very high standard. We did not have one bad meal while at the hotel. The actual rooms are clean and tidy and there were no issues about the decor or lack of necessities while in the room. The service and all people are very friendly and not at all hostile towards customers. The animation programme is very good for children and every night there is a great show which our kids loved. The animation team were amazing, especially Justin Beiber and Mario.

If you want a very good memorable family holiday where you know that quality will be a given then I would recommend this place. One thing that I would add that I feel is very important when travelling as a family is that we at all times felt very safe and secure.

I would not hesitate going back and recommending this place. We booked well in advance as the holiday price seemed very high the later you booked when talking to other guests. Weather, food, hotel, breach all fabulous, what more do you need!

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mainstreet USA

Recommended
Wonderful Time.
6 years 2 months ago

My wife and I have just returned from the Iberostar Costa Dorada where we had a week’s holiday during which we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. The hotel management recognized this by sending complimentary fruit and bottle of rum to our room. They also recognized we were repeat Iberostar customers and did the same another day.

Our room was a junior suite with a balcony and sea view in block 5 which was kept spotlessly clean by our lovely maid Esperanza. It is the block furthest away from all amenities but well worth it and it did give us some exercise on what was otherwise a totally relaxing holiday.

It is a beautiful resort kept well maintained by an army of friendly gardeners. We particularly enjoyed sunbathing in the garden area between the pool and the beach. It was quieter and you could gaze out over the beach to the sea but still have easy access to the pool.

Any problems we had were dealt with quickly by either customer services or our First Choice rep Dindo. A floral display was sent to our to our room when I complained that our mini bar had not been replenished, a nice touch and a good example of the level of service provided by the Iberostar Costa Dorada.

My wife enjoyed a reflexology massage on our anniversary and would like to thank Angela for making a it a memorable experience.

The animation team led by Capuccino with special mentions for Santa, Eddy and Edwin, do a great job with boundless energy. You could either watch or join in, up to you, no pressure.

Food in the buffet restaurant El Mercado was good although over two weeks I would imagine it may be a little repetitive. All the waiters were great but I’d like to give a special mention to Robert who served us the most.

We only tried two of the a la carte restaurants during our week the Brazilian, ElRodizio, and the Marinero which doubles up as the El Bohio for breakfast and lunch. El Rodizio was by far the better of the two great food and service.

However the fish restaurant Marinero was a different matter. This was badly let down with bland tasteless food and the only poor service we encountered.
I had tuna steaks with a sauce and veg and my wife had the salmon which was marginally better. Our waiter couldn’t have been more disinterested or indifferent if he tried.

Don’t miss the lunchtime beach BBQ parties the seafood paella was fantastic. Also one day they did a “Usual Suspects” line up to introduce the management team which I thought was a great idea.

Drinks all round were of a good standard with international brands available. Try the Long Island that Juan makes at the beach bar and the cocktails at the lobby bar by Edwin or Kennedy.

Evening entertainment was a bit patchy as we were unfortunate to be there whilst the stage area was being refurbished and didn’t start operating again until our second to last night. We were amazed they got the work completed in time but we did get to see the Lion King show on our last night, well worth watching.

It’s true that at the weekend the hotel does get a lot more Dominicans staying and it got busier round the pool. So if you want it quieter go to the beach or gardens there are plenty of sunbeds available but it really wasn’t a problem for us, in fact it gave it a bit more local colour.

The Iberostar Costa Dorada exceeded our expectations and I would happily recommend a holiday there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Paul Allen
On the beach
7 years 3 months ago
The food was great, really something for everybody.
Rooms good cleaned everyday towels change and minibar stocked everyday. The hotel is right on the beach and a nice walk down to the plaza, where there’s plenty of shops and bars, a good English one called phils bar, great for the football.

Get better every year and yes we will be back already booked for next august 2012, can’t wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 4 months ago
I have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at this lovely hotel..... before I departed i emailed the hotel and asked for a nice pool view room and also informed them that it was my birthday whilst there.

On arrival we were picked up at the airport and bussed the 20 minutes to resort in a lovely air-conditioned bus. The bus was completely full of Iberostar guests so check-in was somewhat drawn out when we arrived at resort. It took about half an hour to be checked in only to be told that our rooms were not ready ( not good news at 3.30 pm when you have been in transit 12+ hours). After an hours wait we eventually were given our room cards and found we had been allocated a newly refurbished room in Block 7 with LCD television new beds with mattress toppers and fresh decor. We had been in the room for only 10 minutes when a flower arrangement was delivered to my room, compliments of the hotel which I thought was a really nice touch. A further 10 minutes later another knock at the door produced a platter of fruit and a bottle of rum, a present for being a returning guests (I had mentioned in my email to the hotel that we had stayed at their sister hotel IB* Bavaro).

The room maid was fabulous she kept our room spotless and fresh towels every day towel sculptures every day and mini-bar refilled everyday nothing was too much trouble.

Whilst we were there we only ate in the buffet as we had our son with us and he preferred the relaxed dining the waiters were fabulous, they always had us a table waiting (Thanks Joseph)..... the food in the buffet was varied and plentiful something for everyone. I was very impressed to see a section in the buffet called healthy eating/diet which I thought was a nice touch.

We never really went on the beach as we are pool people, but went snorkelling in the sea a few times and loved feeding the fish on the reefs.... the beach vendors were really friendly and a simple no thank you sufficed and they left you alone.

I did notice that the pool had new sunbeds and new cushion pads had been bought as well so no problems with broken sunbeds as reported previously, also no problem with getting sunbeds always plenty to be had all day long.

Must just mention Elvin in the pool bar he was fabulous watch out for his party pieces (juggling glasses and bottles) always had a drink coming down the bar towards you as soon as he saw you :)))

The star friends are absolutely amazing, they work all dy from about 9.30 in the morning until past midnight, they always had a smile and a laugh with you... Mr Donkey, Happy man, Chuckey, Spiderman, Banana man and all the others were brilliant... make time to get to know them they really are great guys.

Forgot to mention on my birthday I returned to my room to find a birthday cake and flowers, compliments of the hotel.

Whilst we were staying we also received an invitation to the managers returning guests party which was great, champagne and canapés and a chance to meet all the department managers and a group photo of everybody. There was about 30 people there so it speaks volumes.

i know some people have been worried about the weekend situation with locals coming into the hotel, but rest assured it was not a major problem, pool seemed to get a bit busier Friday night and Saturday but still no problems with sunbeds. Only problem seemed to be buffet restaurant got a lot busier in the evening but nothing major.

To sum up this hotel I would say go with the attitude of making lots of new friends take a few dollar bills to tip the waiters and barmen(they really do appreciate the odd dollar here and there) and it will certainly make your holiday more enjoyable.

On a final note make sure you do Sea World and swim with the dolphins as it was fabulous.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark Thomas
7 years 4 months ago
This hotel is very clean maids do a great job. Food never hot but plenty of choice. The pool is very large cleaned daily.

The pool area is nice and peaceful till a weekend when for some reason all the locals seem to descend on the place it’s heaving with towels being pinched, flip flops and drinks left everywhere they seem to have no respect.

The animation team did a very good job in the day always making you smile. As for night time entertainment would rather watch paint dry same old thing every night just different costumes, but I did have a good time and the weather brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
David Nicklin
Spoilt by locals
8 years 2 months ago
We returned in September and the hotel was as fantastic as ever, but then for reasons known only to themselves, there aren’t as many British travellers to the hotel so to fill it they have started on weekends from Friday to Sunday to let local Dominicans stay there, these people were rude , ignorant, loud destructive.

On one occasion me and my wife had pulled our loungers from just under the parasol to catch a bit of sun and a couple of them just grabbed two beds and pulled them under our parasol even with our stuff still hanging there, they really do turn a 5 star hotel into a butlins cattle market.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
returned again this year for another brilliant 2 weeks at the iberostar costa dorada.staff as friendly as ever and even remembered us from our 1st holiday here last year.they make a real effort with the kids even those to young to join in the games.bar staff as excellant as ever always happy to see you service with a smile.food in buffet restaurant and snack bar good quality with plenty of choice plus beach barbecues and sea food paella cook fresh for you to see on certain days(that much fresh seafood in the paella would have cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Howard
8 years 10 months ago
the hotel needs updating,very tired looking.the all inc. food becomes very repetitive after a few days.the christmas and new year gala dinners were identical in every way, even the same pianist! the rooms were kept very clean,the restaurant not so clean.the hotel is right on the beach but visiting anywhre is a taxi ride away.the hotel staff seemed indifferent, not too bothered if you were there or not. entertainment was poor, silly competitions on stage etc.in my opinion this hotel is not 5 star, more 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomas cook

Steve & Deena.
9 years ago
just cannot fault this hotel, stayed in block 8 quiet part of the complex top floor (3rd) away from the mozzies with a pool view, as i emailed them 3wks prior to us going, block 3 also quiet away from the entertainment noise mainly, in blocks 2,4,7. Pool was awesome, beach was a bit seaweedy and the sea was choppy but warm, daily temp was 90"+ may have reached 100 at times, nights was just as bad, but good air con in the room was a blessing, only had one bad tropical storm but, every other night broke down with a thundery shower. The rooms was immaculate, every day the mini bar was stocked. constant entertainment going on (very funny) from 10am for all age groups, the entertainment team are just crazy especially Chucky who was a cleaner in the next door hotel only a few months ago, lots of young couples/middle aged, not many kids as this was out of school term. the bar staff are very generous with there measures, tip them early on, this helps and they remember you, the food was just fabulous, very plentifull and lots of different variety every day, but you will get fed up of eating, we did only cos its there. the gardens are beautiful and well kept, hotel photographers are very good, at $7 a photo they should be, dollars are widely used which i prefer, especially if you get a good rate, we got 165 to the pound which is good but have had 190 to the pound on previous hols, if you like dressing for dinner, eating well and like a drink, and been well entertained This is for you, you'll love it. 5* maybe not as i have stayed in 5* before, definately a 4+.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
David+eileen
9 years 1 month ago
if i put as much detail as possible it would have to be a book ,but what a superb place there was nothing possible to say was wrong,everyone is so friendly the place and food superb even lobster on two occasions,not your usual cheap local drink either it was all the good stuff,smirnoff,jim bean,jonny walker.the rooms are huge with a kingsize bed and a mini bar thats restocked daily without charge.the grounds are super clean and so is the beach and what a load of bull that the sea isnt as blue as the caribbean side how blue do they want it.also your not pestered on the beach by sales people as the security men keep them well away from approaching you.this hotel is worth the 5 stars it is awarded.just a shame you have to put up with other peoples screaming kids for the 9 hour flight please,please airlines seperate families from other passengers this was not a good flight.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum