Image of Playasol Hotel

Playasol Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Rio San Juan

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Av de las Gaviotas, 04740 Roquetas de Mar, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs Woodward
11 years 2 months ago
The rooms were all kept clean, but did need a bit of an update. We were concerned before we went about comments regarding the size of the rooms. But upon arrival we were allocated a room for us and our 16 year son. This room was large and had 3 single beds and two double wardrobes. The balcony was adequate. My only problem was with the shower that seemed to go hot and cold the whole time. There is only a little walk from where the coach drops you off to the reception.

We stayed at the hotel all inclusive. This was ok except that you were given cards which you had to show to obtain food and drink. You were then give two receipts, one copy had to be signed and given back to the member of staff. This was a bit of a pain, all inclusive wrist bands seem alot easier. We found that all the bar staff were rather abrupt to English speaking guests and seemed to prefer to serve the Spanish, who out numbered the english. There was plenty of choice of food. I would always recommend getting in the restuarant for breakfast, lunch and dinner early if you go in August. This is because it is full with the Spanish who seem to eat later in vast numbers. It gets deafening. I have never seen so many push chairs. It was quieter at the beginning of the week but got busy the second week.

The hotel has a two fantastic pools which look like one large one. The pools were warm and clean, althouh in need of painting at the bottom. They are all the same depth so good for old and young alike. The pool also had a water shoot and water slide. The whole family loved the pool and it made our holiday.

Only a few of the staff were friendly. One was a gentlemen that checked you into the restaurant and another who served the drinks in there too.

The evening entertainment was a real no no, mostly done by the entertainment staff, all in Spanish. They also showed one act twice in a fortnight holiday. My advice go out.

We did participate in the darts, table-tennis, archery, and rifle shooting, i did the archery once on my own with all the rest speaking spanish, but I was determined to take part and was glad i did, as I won. We decided we would do the activities even tho they did not speak english very much to us.

There were 5 of us in our family group and another 3 friends who came. We all decided if we were to go back it would be before August when it was really busy. Apparently the English go in October.

If you want really good weather, nice beach, lovely pool then this is the place for you. We did enjoy it, but probaly would not go back as there is not alot to do and see.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Line

Recommended
C WILSON
11 years 10 months ago
We spent Christmas in this hotel's sister hotel Playa Capricho but used many facilities of this hotel which we were allowed to do.

The hotels are spotless, and the food is good. Our main complaint was loud rap music being played in the lounge in quiet periods when people were trying to relax.

The young staff obviously liked it so our complaints were ignored and treated as a joke, hence a big minus point for this hotel.

Another thing is there obsession with entertaining children even at night when they should be in bed.

Would not reccommend this hotel for quiet couples, they should try The Hotel Capricho instead.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: NONE

Recommended
Helen, Billy, Ant, Connor, Liam & Ciara Ages 38, 16, 13, 11 & 5
12 years 2 months ago
Arrived late morning and reception was a bit crazy!! The rooms were not ready as still be cleaned but this was soon sorted out.

The rooms are quite small but were clean and we had fantastic sea and pool views and the balcony was a fair size. Our balcony also has a little clothes airer so we could dry our bits and pieces without any fuss! We had a bottle of cava (Spanish champagne)in our room as a welcome gift free of charge when we arrived which was nice. Fridges do not come as standard in the rooms but you can request one although there is a waiting list, they are free if you get one.

We tipped the doorman 5 euros when he helped us with the bags and got a fridge within the hour!! The staff do try hard, although their English isn't brilliant but then neither is our Spanish!!

Our little girl loved the mini disco and the older ones joined in with volley ball. I had a go at salsa dancing which is every morning at 11am, that was good fun.

The food was generally good although it could be a bit hit and miss, some nights excellent other nights poor, and the dining room does get hectic after 9pm especially at weekends when all the Spanish come to the hotel for weekend breaks.

The pool area is lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds, most days we had no trouble getting sunbeds even mid to late morning but again at weekends it was a bit mad and we had to put towels on beds early if we wanted any, but the beach is so close that for us it did'nt matter. Towels are provided for the pool and can be changed daily between 10-12 am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Kev,Ellen .
12 years 2 months ago
Hotel and most staff nice.

Food was good but restaurant got very busy and noisy about 9pm.

Resort very nice, safe and no trouble.

As it was Spanish holidys at the same time we found hotel did not cater in the areas of service and entertainment for other foreign guests.

Trying to get a drink from the bar would take a good 15 minutes as they would always serve the Spanish guests first (this is supposedly being an international hotel).

We chose this hotel as it had entertaintment both day and evening. As this was all conducted in Spanish, other foreign children and adults had no idea what was happening. The animation team did not use any other language apart from Spanish.
When the Spanish guests went for their siesta in the afternoon the entertainment programme came to an abrupt end for the other foreign guests.
Entertainment would restart at 4pm.

We would recommend this hotel again but out of season May/June Sept/Oct.
We were told by guests who had stayed there that the staff can not do enough for you.
We weren't too impressed with dogs being allowed to stay in the hotel bedrooms either.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
A Hayes
12 years 3 months ago
Check in at the Playasol hotel is somewhat chaotic..........according to the rep this is normal in Spain!

The room was ridiculously small as we also needed a cot for our 1 year old...ended up paying an extra 1100 euro for an upgrade for the week as they only had the most expensive room left.

Rep started her welcome speech by saying their was nothing she could do about the size of the rooms so obviously a common complaint....

Didn't watch any of the entertainment but could hear it../

Meal times are 8-10, 13.30-1600 and 2000-2200.............we were on half board and the evening meal was far too late for our 1 year old.....you can substiute your evening meal for lunch but we ended up in the supermarket every day getting baby food as the times did'nt really suit our needs.!!!

No sunbeds free as towels were on them at 7am! Pool area was nice but beach is right outisde and as there is so much of it it was never overcrowded.

Overall a nice resort and the hotel is right by the sea. staff were very friendly and were great with children. the area is very popular with spanish holidaymakers and although English is spoken in most places, don't expect this everywhere...made a nice change from the little britain parts of Spain.

Would go back to the resort but probably book a villa or apartment next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Lynn
12 years 3 months ago
We have visited this hotel on two occasions and are going back again this year, excellent location, fantastic swimming pool, good buffet, ok the entertainment is geared up for Spanish and not English but this is a resort that is very popular with the Spanish. No not many of the staff speak English - but if you want to speak English, eat English food and drink in English bars - STAY IN ENGLAND!

I love the fact that I can try my very limited Spanish out when I am there and everyone is more than willing to help, and I always come home knowing a few more words and phrases than i did when i went.

We go to Spain because we like the Spanish people, culture and food. I am sure we will return again to this lovely resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Massey
13 years ago
This Hotel is without a doubt the very best we have ever stayed at..the food was superb in every way,the staff were brilliant with the exception of the non spanish bar girl by the main dining room who was more interested in talking on the telephone than serving customers on one occasion 3 people got fed up of waiting and walked out including our party!!

Which is such a shame as without this womans attitude the hotel would have got all 5,s.I must admit the older gentleman who ran the Galleon Pool bar was so nice he made up for her rudeness.

The room cleanliness was second to none we have ever been in. I can say no more than SUPERB!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: walk in

Recommended
Lin Wright
13 years 3 months ago
This was our second visit to the Playasol, and the holiday was just as enjoyable as the first, location is excellent and the staff helpful-very few speak English but if you want an English hotel stay in England, we thoroughly enjoyed using our limited spanish and were encouraged by everyone we spoke to, by the end of the holiday could order our entire lunch in Spanish!

Rooms are spacious and clean, facilities good, yes the entertainment is fully geared up for Spanish residents but that is part of the charm of Spain. We have already booked to go back again and are taking friends with us - cant wai!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
J. HITCHCOCK
13 years 6 months ago
The hotel is right on the beach.

As we have tried all inclusive many times before we were surprised at lunch & dinner to be handed the wine list {rather than use red or white barrels of wine you usually get}.

Hotel staff do not speak much English as the resort is mainly German & Spanish which makes you feel you really are in Spain.

The hotel is kept clean and the outside pool is very impressive built into rocks with 2 Jacuzzis.

It is a 3 star rated hotel which seems about right and I think families or couples would enjoy their stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FLEETWAY TRAVEL

Recommended
Alec
13 years 6 months ago
We stayed in the Playa Sol half board having booked direct.

The hotel is right on the sea front 100yds down a private road and is clean with mature gardens

The hotel staff are very helpful and English is spoken at reception (the other staff speak a little English).

There is an indoor heated pool (October to the end of May)and a very large outdoor pool with large slides for the kids also there are two heated outdoor Jacuzis - Towels are provided free of charge as are sun beds.

There is also a kids club for young children in a secure area. You can play table tennis, crazy golf free of charge and there are slides, swings etc for the young children.

The hotel also provides Internet access although there is an internet shop 100yds away that is cheaper.

Booking direct off peak is about half the price of the travel agent - Ask for a loyalty card the rewards are very good - In May we are staying for for 10 days half board.

The entertainment in the evenings isn't great but they do try hard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum