Image of Rio San Juan

Rio San Juan Holidays

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews

Hotels in Rio San Juan, Caribbean

Image of Bahia Principe San Juan Hotel
2 of 2 hotels in Rio San Juan
84 Reviews
Image of Playasol Hotel
1 of 2 hotels in Rio San Juan
10 Reviews

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Dave+lorraine
10 years 8 months ago
nothing wrong with resort,but been to dom rep 3 times and wont be reurning again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sammi
11 years 3 months ago
big pool, was kept relatively clean
again, entertainment was ok, they have pool aerobics, volleyball on beach etc
the beach didn't have the best sand but plenty of beds and nice warm shallow sea
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Carol
11 years 4 months ago
Cleanliness - always running round with a mop and broom, cloth etc... Staff were always maintaining the grounds etc...
Entertainment was like being at Butlins and far too risque for young kids!
Beach was ok, but to few sunshades. You had to get there early. Same by the pool.
I would never visit this resort again and feel completely let down by the travel operator, hotel and rep!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Phil & Vicky
11 years 4 months ago
The resort was lovely, really clean and the beach was fantastic.
There is a small market place on the beach which is a worth a look for presents. Jewellery, paintings, sculptures and hundreds of cigars!
The trips on offer for the area are good value.
We would recommend swimming with dolphins at ocean world. It was amazing. And when you get there enquire about the other experiences as they are quite cheap to book on the day.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Grant Moreland
11 years 4 months ago
The staff could not be faulted, yes the resort is a bit dated but its well run and clean. Our only down point is that 14 days seemed a bit long could have came home after 10. If your going go with First Choice the flight was the best I have ever been on Longhaul loads of leg room am 6'2.The beach was great I went for a walk at 7 each morning and three guys and a tractor cleaned the seaweed off the full lenght of the beach. We never used the pool as the beach was so good. In a nutshell its great value for money and a holiday is what you make of it.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
David Morley
11 years 4 months ago
Beautiful resort on a beautiful island but armed guards on the gates asking you to sign a disclaimer once you had left the premises tells it all !!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Chris & Sarah
11 years 6 months ago
the resort is very very very clean during our stay the gardens were tended daily and the staff even scrubbed the roof to the main buliding with bleach !!!!!

theres somthing for everyone at this resort, horse riding, motorised / non watersports golf, bike riding, drinking beer all day that was my favorite pastime you wont get bored

as above stay off the beach if it rains as the sand fleas will ruin your hoilday as the bites itch itch itch

we never go the same place twice but the bahia princple was the cleanest and friendliest place we have ever been 3 star rooms 5 star service

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Lawrence
11 years 9 months ago
Overall we had no complaints with this resort. The staff worked hard in the background to keep the resort clean and tidy.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Joanna
11 years 9 months ago
we loved it the entertainment was the best we had ever seen as we have been to quite a few in dom rep and rate this the best one for the entertainment this is all inslusive at its best
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Amy
11 years 10 months ago
Bahia Principe is in San Juan but its about 15,20 mins drive to the main town. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. We took a taxi into the town but the shops just contained the same thing. The best way to look around the area is to go on the Laguna Jeep Safari where you get to visit the Church, a local bar, a Dominican Home, a lovely beach and you get to swim in a blue lagoon. Well worth it, I advise it if you get chance.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Bahia Principe San Juan Hotel
Bahia Principe San Juan Hotel
Rio San Juan, Caribbean
Fabulous holiday
Image of Playasol Hotel
Playasol Hotel
Rio San Juan, Caribbean
The rooms were all kept clean, but did need a bit …
Other popular destinations
Image of Playa Dorada
Playa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata
Dominican Republic
Image of Varadero
Varadero
Cuba
Image of Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Image of Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco
Cuba
Image of Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Margarita Island
Margarita Island
Caribbean
Image of Montego Bay
Montego Bay
Jamaica