Image of Playa Dorada

Playa Dorada Holidays

4 out of 5 from 140 reviews

Hotels in Playa Dorada, Caribbean

Image of Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel
2 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
2 Reviews
Image of Dorado Club Hotel
9 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
10 Reviews
Image of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel
8 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
12 Reviews
Image of Holiday Village Golden Beach Hotel
7 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
35 Reviews
Image of Occidental Allegro Playa Dorada Hotel
5 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
9 Reviews
Image of Occidental Caribbean Village Playa Dorada Hotel
6 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
4 Reviews
Image of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Hotel
1 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
59 Reviews
Image of VH Victoria Resort & Beach Hotel
4 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
7 Reviews
Image of Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Hotel
2 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada
2 Reviews

140 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    36
  • Very Good
    45
  • Good
    34
  • Average
    17
  • Poor
    8

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Feelthevibe
7 years 9 months ago
The resort is kept very clean and tidy so no complaints here.
There are 2 casinos in Playa Dorada if that is your thing, both have free entry and free drinks so long as you play a few games. The Mrs had never been in a casino before and she enjoyed herself more than she had all 2 weeks without losing a fortune and the drinks were a bit stronger so beware.
There are a few bars in the Plaza which are nice for a change of scenery but being all inclusive we hadn`t budgeted to be spending so much outside and the drinks were roughly the same price as home with food similar to a wetherspoons costing a small fortune.
The beach was just perfect, cleaned every morning and was one of the best beaches I have ever set foot on.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
G.Jackson
8 years 5 months ago
Beach well worth a visit !
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Coleman
8 years 5 months ago
The resort of Playa Dorada is lovely and the beach is spotless and beautiful. We walked to the plaza and enjoyed our night there as well.

We went on two trips the Dominican night which was brilliant. thanks to Angel and crew we learned a bit about how the Dominican people live. We also went to ocean world and swam with the dolphins an experience I will never forget.

Holidays are what you make them and I think that some people just go looking for things to moan about. Please if you have booked to go to the golden beach do not worry, you will have a fab time.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
D.Venables
8 years 5 months ago
i would definatly come back. infact im planning on it :)
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Vikki
9 years 1 month ago
well what can i say about the beach blackpool beach is cleaner the sea filthy nothing like pictures in first choice brochure very misleading.you get hassled as soon as you step foot on the sands.weather atrocious rain rain rain only 4 good days out of 14 spoilt it really.would i visit this resort again a massive big no.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jane
9 years 5 months ago
Excellent resort, very clean and safe
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
John Mcgowan
9 years 7 months ago

did a couple of trips -ocean world and paradise island but didnt feel they were value for money-yes the dolphind experience was good if you have never did it but didnt feel it was worth it.paradise island was lovely but alot of travelling on boats and "speed boats: and a 2hr trip back by bus 30 min of it on a dirt road.

felt it was a bit expensive onsite and the shop was very expensive -12 pounds for a bucket and spade

nice weather made the 2 weeks bearable but dont think we will be going back again ever.





Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
The Main Family
9 years 7 months ago
As long as you enjoy a pool based or beach holiday you will enjoy this resort but there is not much more to this place.It's based within a giant horseshoe resort which holds 18 hotels and complexes but little else,there is a plaza with a pizzahut and various shops.A golf course straddles the resort but having ventuered out side the security zone i would not feel safe especially after dark but then again it's only my personal opionion.The big question is would i go back again?YOU BET and wish it was now
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Carolina
9 years 7 months ago
Plenty of activities on the beach...
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Rosanna
9 years 10 months ago
To be honest playa dorada is rubbish. But the discos are good.
Windy beach but clear sea
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Hotel
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Hotel
Playa Dorada, Caribbean
Not bad
Image of Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel
Playa Dorada, Caribbean
Hotel and staff are absolutely brilliant, the grou…
Image of Holiday Village Golden Beach Hotel
Holiday Village Golden Beach Hotel
Playa Dorada, Caribbean
Well firstly I would like to say that we booked th…
Image of Occidental Allegro Playa Dorada Hotel
Occidental Allegro Playa Dorada Hotel
Playa Dorada, Caribbean
We travelled to the dominican republic in july 200…
Image of VH Victoria Resort & Beach Hotel
VH Victoria Resort & Beach Hotel
Playa Dorada, Caribbean
We actually changed to this hotel as an alternativ…
Other popular destinations
Image of Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata
Dominican Republic
Image of Varadero
Varadero
Cuba
Image of Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Image of Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco
Cuba
Image of Rio San Juan
Rio San Juan
Dominican Republic
Image of Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Margarita Island
Margarita Island
Caribbean
Image of Montego Bay
Montego Bay
Jamaica