Image of VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Hotel

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Hotel

1 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada

4 out of 5 from 59 reviews
4 stars
Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
A spacious and beautifully decorated hotel, this is a firm favourite year after year with First Choice guests. A truly relaxing environment, where you can lie back and soak up the sun.

59 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not bad
5 years 3 months ago
Not a bad hotel. Food quite good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Part of the hotel further up the road was closed and empty. Only 5 minutess to the local shopping plaza, most of which were closed.

The hotel could do with a bit of upgrading like somewhere comfortable to sit. Which to my mind was not a 4* star hotel. But everywhere was clean. The resort Puerto Plata itself is more like a 3rd world country, looking very poor and run-down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
My report is almost identical to the previous report by Cheeky fairy, so I will just add a few comments. I wasn`t happy with the location of the room allocated, this was changed without question. Although the room was clean and tidy, there was insufficient drawer space for two people. The food was excllent with plenty of variety, however sometimes the steak was a bit tough. All the staff were hard working and very friendly, they do seem to like the British people. The best entertainment was supplied by the animation team, their shows are often hilarious, I don`t know their names but one is called "sexy face". I was disappointed with one of the excursions. The City tour which included a ride up and down a mountain in a cable car which took 10 minutes each way, had no seats, and they crammed up to 20 people in each car. When we reached the top, a guide took us along a winding pathway pointing to a few plants etc:, then at the end demanded a 200 peso tip. ...Talking about tips! Unless you own a fibreglass case, wrap your case contents in a plastic sheet, we arrived in a thunder storm, our case was put into a non-water tight trailor on the back of the coach. When we got to the hotel alot of our clothes were soaking wet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
Flight was uneventful bit boring did watch Shopaholic, Bolt & Marley & me on the flight (and I sobbed) which passed a few hours meals we lovely, arrived around 8pm British time which was 3pm Dominican time, transfer to hotel fine everyone on our coach was going to same hotel so no messing about with other drop offs. Checked in bags got taken to room by bell boy ($2 tip) unpacked changed & went for quick wander around. To get our barings and some food although we were not that hungry as we were so well fed on the flight. The 1st night we were all sleepy by 8.15pm so had an early night but this meant we were all wide awake by 5am the next morning!

The next two weeks were very samey each day we would get up have breakfast get sun cream on & hit the beach, the pools were lovely but the heat around them was unbearable we stayed here for the 1st couple of days until we found out the beach had a slight breeze & was more bearable, never really had an issue getting a sunbed on the beach whereas round the pool you would struggle due to the people reserving them despite being given a note at check in saying your shouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Skilbecks
9 years 9 months ago
This is an excellant hotel. The food was superb in the main restaurant and Octopus restaurant. The rooms were large and clean, although they could do with more storage if more than 2 people are using them

The beach is striking , everything you would expect in the Caribbean, white sand and turquoise sea. There are a lot of sun beds and covered areas ( though you need to get up early to get one).

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and most can speak good English.

The only bad points are the lack of dress code on an evening (people in sea shorts and vests) and a small minority of loud ( mainly British ) guests.

All in all this is a brilliant hotel and we would highly recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rosanna
9 years 10 months ago
Well i stayed here for my birthday in early april. I live here but im english and ive stayed in 5 or 6 hotels and this is the best, the rooms, the pool, drinks, view. Everything.

The animacion, well obviously they have their off days and they can make you feel angry. Biggg hello julio, mosquito, pepe, kokoloco and david.
I had a good birthday although i was alone because my friend was ill.

Julio and mosquito and pepe were the best and made my birthday by getting me to dance and inviting me out, thankyou :)

The shows were some of the best i have seen, different dances and people every night.
The entertainment in the day could have been better, they always go to the same people and dont really join in, when youre playing, they leave.

The food was great, big choice, flavour and hot.

The pool is the cleanest pool ive seen.

The rooms were modern and clean, not very big but nice.

Reception men were horrible when we were booking.

BEST HOTEL
STAY HERE
BECAREFUL WITH ANIMACION! They tend to go too far, just keep your distance!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: /

Recommended
John
9 years 11 months ago
As other guests have commented, the rooms are a bit dated and ready for refurbishment, but the hotel as a whole was spotless with an army of cleaners always on the go.

Food was good, staff always friendly and helpful.

On the whole a very enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sue
9 years 11 months ago
This hotel was amazing one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The location was superb right on the beach for the daytime and near to the plaza at night so that if we had one too many we could stumble home.

The hotel was always clean and the maids were always leaving us things to go back to in our rooms flowers swan shaped towels etc.

The entertainment team were fabulous working hard all day with water polo footbal etc and at night especially julio, pp, mosquito and johnny bravo, the song that the team dance to is so catchy I even downloaded it when I got home.

The bar staff and even the waiters were all very friendly and would do anyhting to help. The pool was always clean and we never found any problems getting a sunbed.

Also if you like snorkelling there is plenty to be done on this island we went to sosua where there were brilliant coral reefs.

Where the hotel is situated on the beach if you swim out a bit there is plenty of fish to see.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Also ensure you get your al carte resturants as these are well worth a visit, the food was always nice and well presented in the buffet resturant but can get a little repetitve, we also like to eat at the plaza sometimes roadway and hemmingways do lovely chiken fajitas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Richardson
10 years 1 month ago
This hotel was graded a 4+ in the thomas cook brochure, i wonder if any of the team have visited this hotel, yes it is right on the beach and in fab surroundings and entertainment is ongoing, however the rooms are so dated the bathroom needs changing as everything looks old, we had a leaking sink, blocked toilet, toilet handle falling off, broken patio lock, a fridge that if we were lucky contained a large bottle of water 2 beers 1 coke and 1 sprite, my suggestion remove then each morning so they have to stock them up, no special attention paid when it was a member of our parties birthday even though i had emailed them, very disappointing and needs grading to a max of 3 stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Froggatt
10 years 8 months ago
Gran Ventana is a fantastic hotel

The hotel is spotless the staff work none stop to keep this hotel clean, although the rooms are dated they are now being up-dated one block at a time, there is no noise coming from the blocks which are being worked on so don't worry.

The restaurants are all fantastic, there is a massive choice of dishes.

A'LA CARTE RESTAURANT

Italian was our favourite

The Octopus was our second favourite

The ocean grill our least favourite but only because it's on the sea front and the sand fleas have a field day with your ankles.

you can book all the restaurants in advance for the week, which i reccommend you do save's you keep going back every day.

STAFF
they are the most amazing people, they can't do enough for you, and always have a big smile on there face.

ENTERTAINMENT STAFF
These guys work from 9.00am - 11.30pm
they never stop entertaining you and really try hard to please, our favourite was Julio is energy was infectious, some of the show are dated but keep in mind it is a third world country, so whats old to us is very new to them, and they do try and make it very funny.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Gemma
10 years 10 months ago
We flew out of gatwick and had pre-booked preimer seats and im glad we did. All our on board drinks were included and we had our own tv on the back of the seat in front and so much more leg room.

Didn't get to see much on the trip to the hotel as it was getting dark.

It rained really hard on our first few days but when the sun did come out it was lovely.

The room was very clean. We had clean beds and towels everyday. The fridge in the room was also stocked each day. When the cleaners had finished they always tidyed our shoes up and put them in a line under the table which i thought was really lovely.

The food was great, my partner is a really fussy eater and he really enjoyed the food.

Our thomas cook rep amanda was brilliant. Any problems we had she would do her best to sort out. Couldn't fault her or the staff.

The beach was beautiful apart from beach venders selling things. All you have to do is say no and the leave you alone.

We would definitely consider coming back again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum