Image of Occidental Allegro Playa Dorada Hotel

Occidental Allegro Playa Dorada Hotel

5 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
P.O. Box 368, Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years ago
We travelled to the dominican republic in july 2008 and stayed in the occidental allegro in playdorada. The hotel itself was always beautifully clean and the rooms although not the most modern were always kept upto a high class of cleanliness.

The food was of a good standard with the main buffet restaurant having enough to keep even the most pickey eater happy. The biggest disapointment was with the alacarte restaurants. The portions are not the best and the waiting time between courses at a busy time seem really long but we found the mexican to be the best allrounder.

The entertainment staff work really hard to involve kids and adults in all the nightly activety and a big mention must go to teddy, pepsi cola and coca cola who were really good fun and great fun to be around.

The location of the hotel could not be better with the beach at the bottom of the corridor and previous to what i have read the beach vendors understand no at the first attempt and do not bother you further.

I can honestly say this was one of my best family holidays ever. Total relaxation with out the expense
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
C Hale
10 years 4 months ago
room was dark and smelt of damp, we were allocated to another holtel the following day. The bar area was damp and very smelly, the room was dark and in need of full refurbishment. The hotel was defonitly not of a 3 star standard. We would ot reccomend snyone to stay at this hotel. we had been to the Domincan Republic several times before, so were aware that many of the hotels were of a much higher standard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Jeff Allen
10 years 11 months ago
This was our second visit to the hotel the first was six years ago and we really enjoyed it.
We had three rooms in block five and they were all clean and tidy.
The food is not as good as it was the last time as there was not as much of a selection and the fussy eaters of the group had a few days of the holiday that they did not enjoy the main restaurant so they went to the pizza restaurant instead that was very good.
The location was very good 15 mins from the airport and right on the beach.
Most of the hotel staff are excellent the entertainment team are the best coke a cola, teddy bear, cheeky monkey and sexy john what a team.
We took enough nappies to last us two weeks plus some spare and the second week we had used more than we should of and suspected that some had been taken, so we put a twenty back on the side and when we went back to the room in the afternoon two had gone and we worked out that about thirty had been taken through out the holiday. when I spoke to the lady at guest relations she said her staff would not have taken them and may as well called me a liar, so if you take nappies keep them locked in your case, needless to say the maid did not get a tip just the receipt for the nappies.
Please be aware if you go with Thomas Cook the reps book says you can purchase as many duty free cigs on the plane as you want, this is noy true your limit is 200 each.
We did enjoy this hotel and would go back next week if we could.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dave, Tina, Macaualy,taylor Booth
11 years ago
the food was excellent choice always plenty too choose from .cleanliness was very good always cleaning the rooms .location is ok ,hotel staff are very good always very pleasent ..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
D Miller
11 years 1 month ago
the hotel was clean and tidy. food was of a good standard. right on the beach which was great. hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. entertainment staff were all fantastic we became good friends with them. night entertainment was very good and really funny. we would definately go to this hotel again. dont be put off by any negative comments it was a good place to go for a holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Claire And Darren
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel is great, the rooms are very basic but it is only a 3 star.

The food is lovely some things are a bit weird but its not England so you expect different things. In the evenings ask a waitress to get your drinks from the bar as you queue for ages but make sure you tip her.

The hotel is right on the beach and its fantastic you can walk for ages on the white sand and blue sea.

The entertainment are so funny, coca cola is mad they are all so energetic and happy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sharon
12 years 3 months ago
First impression was lovely, however, we were then shown to our rooms. It was then when our hearts sank. The furniture was old, dirty and not the four star we were expecting.

After a complaint the staff did all they could to ensure that our stay was comfortable and pleasurable. The only thing that spoilt it was the constant harrassment from the hotels time share sales people.

The food in the buffet and snack bar was not very good but two of the three restaurant were fab. These being the Mexican and the grill. The Italian was a let down.

The staff were polite and friendly with entertainment that started around midday and continued until the early hours.
Holiday was enjoyable but a little disappointing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Michelle & Paul
12 years 4 months ago
We vistised the hotel in March time and it was spring break for the Americans, very busy would not visit the resort again (too many noisy college kids!)

First impressions of the hotel were very good we had a warm welcome, when checking at reception we quickly got our keys, on arriving at our bedroom we had a lovely sea view on the second floor (which we didnt pay any extra for so a bonus) the rooms are basic and a bit tired looking, could do with a revamp! however were cleaned regular, every day.

We tipped our maid on the last day about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jeff Ryan
12 years 11 months ago
We arrived to find our room was not ready so had to wait until the maid had finished to be honest I could not tell the difference.

There was a dreadful smell of damp and the furniture was old and battered.

In the bathroom there was a bath without a plug. I did go down to reception to request one but there was a long line of people who came of the same flight trying to change hotel due to the poor room standard! I requested a plug on a number of occations but never recieved one.

In the evening I went to the bar to get some drinks which were all served in plastic cups the type used for cleaning teeth.

The entertainment was dreadful. the food however was not too bad there was a good selection and always something you could eat.

This hotel was a real let down I would not recommend and felt that I did not get value for money!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ait tours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum