Image of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel

8 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul
10 years 6 months ago
how do i start, dont go here dont waste your money time and nine hour flight. arrived to so many sad looking people in the hotel was taken to our room, didn't even unpack room was damp, dirty, out dated, sockets hagging from wall with plsters covering the pin holes as if to say dont use. enterainment none because no one was there to watch them. grounds of hotel are mostly covered up you feel enclosed.
anyway we moved the day 25mins down the road to sousa and had the best holiday ever. feel sorry if book here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Joanne &paul
10 years 8 months ago
I visited the Dominican with my family, we arrived was taken to our room and that is when our nightmare began.

1 Room infested with ants
2 Smell of dampness in rooms
3 electric shocks from air con
4 Cockroaches all over bed including all over my family at night time
5 Cigarette burns on sheets
6 Bathrooms a disgrace
7 Food was awful, same food all the time; people falling ill far too many? All thought it was the food all the people complained about the food; to feel better we ate outside
8 Pool wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

J. Cooke
11 years 8 months ago
We travelled on a late deal with Thomson and hotel was allocated on arrival.

The Room -
Our room was very basic. Wardrobe doors and drawers did not close, but there was a lot of space. I got quite a severe electric shock from one of the sockets under the desk.

It rained every evening we were there and this rain would leak into the wardrobe and wet our clothes.

The maid only paid us a visit twice in the week. She changed towels three times and that was it. She came on our last day, just walked into the room, without knocking and let herself in. She came for the third time to clean the room the morning we were leaving, but we were leaving at lunch time so there was no great need to clean before we left.

The rest of the hotel was so clean. There was always someone around cleaning, moping or brushing.

The Food -
We went all inclusive and always have whenever we travel. The food was awful. We had the same thing at lunchtime as we did in the evening - rice, pasta, potatoes and carrots. Only the meat would vary each day.

On my first three days i was so sick. My partner had sickness and diarrhoea for six days. On speaking to other British guests we found they too had the same symptoms and we believed it to be the food. We never drank the water or accepted ice in drinks and brushed our teeth with bottled water. We were aware the salad had been washed with tap water, but still we did not eat the salads for this reason.

The main restaurant is outside, but undercover. The views are amazing. Being outside, we found birds to be eating guests meals as they walk away to get a drink. There were flies everywhere. Landing on the uncovered food before you even got it on your plate and then when you sit down they would land on your plate and dance all over your food. It was awful.

The staff were pleasant and quick to bring drinks and wine to the table.

We really didn't hang around for the entertainment. The usual karaokee, dancers etc were nothing spectacular and being so ill we were early to bed as the entertainment started at 10pm and we hadnt adjusted to the five hour time difference.

Overall this is by far the worst holiday we have ever had. It has put us off from travelling again and have cancelled our holiday later in the year as we really dont want to go away ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Happy Holiday Maker
12 years ago
I was visiting Dominican on an allocated on arrival basis, guaranteed 3*. We arrived at the Paradise & I was pleasantly surprised. I had read reviews on all of the hotels in Playa Dorada & wanted this hotel least, however I have to say that I have had one of the best holidays that I have ever had.

The location of the hotel is fantastic.

I did not smell any of the musty smells that others complained about I think I was having too much fun out and about around the hotel. The rooms in fairness were not the best I have ever stayed in but the air con worked & they were cleaned everyday, we were lucky & had a fantastic sea view.

We thought that the food was excellent for an all inclusive resort. We found the food to always be hot with a wide variety. We managed to eat in the ala cartes several times and enjoyed every meal.

The staff are very friendly & work hard to put on entertainment every single night for the guests.

Don't be put off by the other reports on this hotel, if you want to go sit in a room then ok you may be disappointed, however if you like to be out & about & enjoy your food & drink you will have an excellent holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Paul Soar
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel is basic but comfortable. The air conditioning was superb especially at night. There was a good choice of buffet food and if you wanted you could get burger and chips in the afternoon. All the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Yes it is an older hotel in need of refurbishment but it also has a nice feel about it. Let's be honest you don't come here to spend the day in the room. Hotel entertainment was average, nothing to sing and dance about!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Alison
12 years 4 months ago
The location of this hotel if fantastic, but it's sadly in need of repair.

We were lucky that our rooms were pretty much damp free except for the odd leak. Many other guests had real problems with flooding. But the rooms are dated and all had repair issues.

The food was okay, there was always something to eat though some strange combinations. Avoid their versions of "English" food very salty!

Drinks not good all spirits are local brands and taste nothing like they do at home, beer okay but very gassy.

Hotel staff were always lovely and it was them that kept us laughing the full 2 weeks.

We did notice the pool wasn't cleaned whilst we were there, faulty filter and whilst we where there and since we've come back we have all been poorly. Bit worrying as it's now December!

The best thing those cleaners do clean didn't see any bugs in our room at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Katie
12 years 5 months ago
Before we even landed here I read quite a lot of reviews which did put me off!

The Rep was really nice and you were given free drinks (non Cocktail) when you where checking in.

I did ask for a pool/sea view with balcony but we were placed in the middle of the grounds facing trees with NO balcony.

The room was really musky and the bathroom was mouldy, when I checked the bedding it had stains on it and mould and the lamp shades had mould, I got straight on the phone to reception to move.

The poor old porter had to come back and collect our luggage to move us!

We were moved and got a pool view with huge balcony on it but still the room was musky but it was a lot better then the previous one. The TV had condensation on it because of the air conditioning which was really loud, but it come in handy when we tried to sleep of a night because the entertainment was so loud!

You couldn't dry your hair as the electricity wasn't powerful enough for the hairdryer!

The cleaners where very good at cleaning and even left us towels which they had shaped into swans and would leave little flowers in the bathroom.

For the 2 weeks I was there I lived on brown bread and jam for my breakfast and rolls with cheese for dinner. Other then that we ate out at pizza hut or the american bar in the plaza. I bascially starved for two weeks it was all american based food which wasn't nice.

The a l carte was horrible. I ordered chicken, when it come it wasn't even cooked inside! So another night with no food!

The local cocktails where a laugh but be aware they are strong as its their local spirit which isn't very nice!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

12 years 10 months ago
The hotel was in a great location on the beach and the grounds were immaculate, but the rooms were pokey and very smelly and in a bad state of repair but were cleaned every day.

The staff were friendly and worked hard.

The food wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Nick
13 years ago
Hotel is is need of a complete makeover if it to rated as a 4+star rating,its more like a 2 star.

The staff would not crack a smile,childrens play area and equipment dangerous and in need of replacing,ceiling lifts up in rooms when patio door is opened,large cracks in the wall,when reporting faults do not expect to get them dealt with.

HORRENDOUS PHONE CHARGES,entertainment not on every night although its advertised. This place has put us off the Domincan completly, we travelled to Tropical Princess 3* the year before and it knocked spots off this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Gems
13 years 5 months ago
Stayed at this hotel as a honeymoon couple. Very please with hotel & staff.

Rooms were basic, but had brilliant air conditioning.

Food was good, a excellent choice.

Location of hotel was good, right on the beach.

Entertainment was poor, especially for children.

Would definitely visit this hotel again **
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum