Image of Dorado Club Hotel

Dorado Club Hotel

9 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Urbanizacion Atlántica, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lauren Ringland
10 years 4 months ago
Me and my boyfriend went to the dominican republic for a 3 week all inclusive holiday.

We will never be back. The hotel room was a complete dump, it was smelly and very dark. We had a 3 inch nail/screw sticking out of the wall where our heads lay.

Our air conditioning broke 3 times, our phone didnt work for 3 days. The food was repeatitive and I had a tummy bug for the 2 weeks we were there (we left after 2, we couldn't stick it for the 3 weeks) and I was sick after eating the fruit.

Location was good, close to beach and shopping centre, however you had to walk down a dirty smelly alley way to the beach and the shopping centre filled with rowdy locals at night. Reception staff and restaurant staff are very rude and intimidating. Entertainment staff were friendly.

We spoke to nearly all the English people in the Hotel and every single group hated the Hotel.

It has completely put us off this Island which is a shame as I've heard good things about it. I just didn't see it myself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: onthebeach.com

Bandj
10 years 6 months ago
Arrived on new years eve and put into a dark musty smelling dirty room. Black mould on walls, floor and walls wet, bed damp. bitten by fleas/bedbugs? not mossi bites, although hotel had a lot of them.

Asked to move and moved next day to another room - better, still very dirty, less smell.

Food was sometimes ok, but a lot of undercooked meat - red chicken!! and soon developed the infamours tummy bug - on talking to others - so did 90% of the quests.

Entertainment was by a energetic lot who tried hard but fell short of trainee redcoats - they invented games - some dangerous - and insisted on turning the volume of the music so high you could not talk above the noise, it was so loud the speakers distorted the sound. The entertainers mainly fell in with the normal drunken bunch of about 20 and other quests were quite visibly shunned. 1 member was sacked for swearing at one of the non-drunks for asking for the noise to be turned down.

Location is good, but, the access to the beach is along a dirt track, mud track with a little rain, the beach hut?? bar was a mess.

The hotels4u rep did all they could to avoid doing anything and in the end we turned to UK agents to get us moved. Lots of people who arrived left quickly for other nearby hotels.

Rated as 4, advertised as 3, actually needs pulling down. Moved to other hotel after being held up by the rep for 4 days - the difference was worlds apart, if you go to this area you will not be disappointed but whatever you do give this hotel a miss.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hotels4u

G Morrison
11 years 3 months ago
stayed at doroda club in march 2007.when we arrived at this hotel we were very pleased with the layout of the hotel.however when we arrived in the room it were a let down.the cleanliness were alright just the decoration very dark and dismal.the sofas needed a good clean.The resturant were very spacious and clean.the selection of food were ok if u knew what you were eating. location of the hotel were very good only a short walk to the beach and other facilities.I found the hotel staff very cheerful and worked extremely hard.i would stay at this hotel again but would try others nearby first.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Lee Clark
11 years 9 months ago
My wife and I arrived at the resort on the 12/9/06 to start our honeymoon, we specifically requested a sunny balcony or terrace upon booking and made all parties aware it was our honeymoon, upon arrival we went to view the room we had been allocated and it was a dingy, damp, dark ground floor room 10 metres away from the bar in desperate need of refurbishment at best.

I immediately made my feelings clear both to the Thomas Cook rep and hotel manager in a calm and diplomatic manner, the solution offered to us was to stay the night in the room and move rooms in the morning, after talking to eight other new arrivals who where equally shocked at the state of the hotel I refused to stay and asked to be moved elsewhere, as did the other eight.

A long struggle lasting three hours with the rep followed, this resulted in a reception full of very tired and irate holiday makers, my wife was actually in tears not a good start to our dream holiday, this seemed to amuse the reception staff who where actually laughing and talking about us (I speak a little Spanish).

After the three hour wait we were told we would have to pay 70 dollars for a taxi to another hotel, we had no option then to take an hour and half night time ride through the ghettos of downtown Dorado to another hotel on the border of the tourist area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Chris
11 years 9 months ago
Cleanliness not a all, every towel had stains on be that the room towels or pool towels, glad we brought our own.

Room condition very poor and dirty plugged many gaps after finding a 2.5 inch cockroach on the toilet roll

Lighting very poor almost dark glad I took a torch

Pool very small

I would never go to this hotel ever again, even if it was free. It has put us off Dominica and we may never go back again. We went to Dominica last Sept 05 and had such a lovely experience, obviously a different resort.

I tried to get the room changed and was told they are all the same so we put a brave face on it, until the weekend influx of locals totally took it over. About 40 of the English guests all signed a petition myself and my partner included. Thefts from safes and very rude behavior for example a young lady had her bikini pulled down.

If I can save at least 1 person going through what we have just experienced this write up will have been worth the effort to type it out. Spent the final 2 days
carrying every posession around with us glad we only booked for a week. Must go for a bath as I am still itching 6.30am just got back and can finally relax phew.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook/sunset

Darren
11 years 9 months ago
We arrived at this holiday after booking a allocated on arrival, and after reading past reports on this accomodation I had serious doubts. When we got there we were greeted by staff with a welcome drink and we were made to feel at home. Once checked in we were shown to our room which was lovely & clean and very spacious.

The pool side area was a nice side and again very clean. the main buffet restaurant was nice and food was good, but a little disapointing on a evening but it is still nice and a lot of choice.Yyou do have the use of the a la carte restaurant which I recommend. If you like fish try the lobster!

The beach was very close to the hotel and you also have use of the snack bar. Beach towels are provided around the pool area and beach so you don't need to worry about taking any.

The entertainment staff were excellent they work so hard and make you appreciate what you have! A big thank you to Cauli and Mosquito who always had a big smile on their faces which made us laugh.

I would recommend the Dorada Club if you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday then it is well worth it. i was very surprised at how safe it was to walk out on a evening I even went to the casino twice which is good and drinks are also free in there so all you need is your betting money!

I will be back to the Dominican Republic in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
A Marsden
11 years 11 months ago
When we arrived we were given a sofa bed and the bed provided for our 12 yr old was disgusting (the base was stained, torn and broken with dirty sheets ), the electrics were dangerous(live wires exposed )not only in our apartment but also in other areas of the hotel.

Pool bar was dirty, the sun beds were filthy (looked like the Turin shroud )and stained, you couldn't lock windows or patio doors.

The pool is smaller than it looks, every where is shabby and old, dirty and grubby the list is endless.

We have photo's to uphold our claims, we refused to stay there and eventually got moved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Laura
12 years ago
Stayed there for 1 week. You could always get a sun lounger around the pool which was great. The short walk to the beach was well worth it. Didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Campbell
12 years 2 months ago
A fantastic family holiday our room was huge very clean,with clean towels left everyday.

Food was nice but choice for kids was not so good. Had to go to Pizza Hut a few times. Steakhouse was excellent.

Beach was a short walk away always plenty of sunloungers and lots of watersports to try. Beach bar served lovely fried chicken.

The hotel staff were always polite and helpful. Entertainment staff were excellent always making us laugh and involved everyone the kids loved them especially donkey and James Bond.

We are already looking to book for next year we had such a good time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
KENNETH DUNCAN
13 years 2 months ago
Our stay at the hotel was lovely. Our room was very spacious, very clean and had a decent sized balcony over looking the beach. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels left always.

The pool area was beautiful with many sunbeds to choose from, next to the pool there is a bar witch is open from 10am till 12pm.

The restaurant was lovely too with different selection each morning, day & night, although there wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum