Image of VH Victoria Resort & Beach Hotel

VH Victoria Resort & Beach Hotel

4 of 9 hotels in Playa Dorada

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Vinnie And Lauren
10 years ago
We actually changed to this hotel as an alternative when we received a letter from First Choice that there would be some refurbishment works going on at our original booking - the Gran Ventana. With some holiday nightmare home videos fresh in our minds about building works on holiday, we thought we would change to be on the safe side.

Victoria Golf was a nice enough hotel, we changed our first room as it was on the ground floor and the terrace looked out at nothing more than some bushes. They changed us the next day and we were on the 2nd floor with a nicer view the golf course.

The hotel was clean and nice enough, but furnished to no more than a 3 star standard in comparison to our recent visits to Turkey or Lanzarote.

The buffet food was not bad for me but may be not so good for the more picky eaters. The a la carte restaurant was very nice and the food was top quality, it was nice to have a proper bottle of wine also (Charged extra) as the all inclusive wine wasn't the best. Pizza restaurant was also very good and a nice change from the buffet.

The Hotel was right on the Golf Course which provided nice views during the day. The beach was a 10min walk from the hotel or a ride on the beach shuttle and a 2min walk along a lane. The beach was very nice, just wish we had tried the kayaks and windsurfing now. If the shuttle was meant to pick u up again later I did not witness this once! Also the hotel is not far from the Plaza (with souvenir shops etc) and the Medical Centre should you need to visit.

Hotel staff were very friendly, at first we thought the entertainment team were a bit annoying but once you got to know them they were a good laugh and their comedy night had us laughing out loud. The other entertainment consisted of a Michael Jackson show - pretty good, Dominican night with dancing - not bad, African night with fire breathing & dancing - pretty good. Other nights were karaoke which was mostly cancelled as the hotel was very quiet and participants were few and far between unless the cabin crew got involved.

We went on a few trips which were very good - Jungle Safari, Ocean World (including swimming with dolphins) and the Catamaran trip with Snorkelling which was also very good.

Only other thing I would mention is that there are a lot of cabin crew and pilots staying at this hotel on a regular basis. The British ones were not bad but there were some very arrogant German and Dutch crews who also stayed briefly.

All in all, a perfect hotel for people wanting a quiet relaxing holiday and possibly a round of golf.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tracy
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed here for a week and the weather was excellent in October.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff including maids, porters waiters and waitresses were absolutely brilliant and so friendly - nothing was too much trouble. An exceptional entertainment team who were very friendly and helpful and a real good laugh, a particular hello to Winston and Eddie who made our evenings very special.

This is a quiet hotel so if you want a rave don't go here but it was exactly what we were looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday. There are two pools with plenty of space and the beach area is lovely with a small lunch bar to get food and drinks when you are on the beach (included in the AI of course). The hotel do provide a golf buggy to take you to the beach but you don't need it it's only a three minute walk away.

There is also a small shopping centre near the hotel to buy souvenirs, clothes etc. they also have a couple of bars and restaurants here if you want to get out of the resort for a little while.

We did a trip to paradise island for some snorkelling and it was excellent be aware the coach transfer to the speed boat is three and a half hours!!

The only two things that were bad on our holiday were the flight with Thomas Cook which as best was horrendous - the staff were miserable and more worried about have a break than serving the drinks, the tv's didn't work and some of the head phones as well i swapped mine four times before i got ones that worked for both ears!! I would never ever fly with Thomas Cook again not even short haul!
The only other thing was the airline crews in the hotel. Some were ok most were not!! The pilots were polite and very nice but the cabin crew were rude, unruly and constantly moaning about the flights and their jobs etc. One very young drunk steward was shouting at her boss ' I don't know why we have to do two drinks services on the flights it's not fair' I didn't fly for nine hours to then be sat in an airline team meeting - These crew were Thomson Crew and Thomson should be ashamed - get them a villa where they can scream and swear to their hearts content!!

Apart from this the holiday was absolutely brilliant and we would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We went to the Victoria in March 2007 for a belated honeymoon and upgraded to the honeymoon suite (we arranged to do that directly with the hotel, not through the tour operator, and they were very helpful).

They room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The rest of the hotel was also clean and beautifully kept.

There was a small mini bar in the room with a couple of beers and some soft drinks in which was welcome after a day on the beach.

However, the food was pretty bad. We have learned our lesson about going all inclusive and would never do it again. The buffet menu was okay but the standard was not great. We went to the a la carte restaurant one night and the lobster my husband had was pretty hideous to be honest. The pizzeria is the best option, but it got very very busy and we often had to wait a long time to be served.

The hotel entertainment was pretty abysmal too. Unless you like Karaoke there is not much for you to do and as you are restricted to stay on the resort it made for pretty dull evenings.

So all in all, for a very quiet getaway with a lovely beach and nice people it gets the thumbs up. If you are a foodie or want something a bit more excitement give this hotel a miss.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Honeyman
11 years 5 months ago
First impressions of this hotel were excellent looked exactly as the pictures in brochure. We had a superior room which was large and spotless.

All public areas in the hotel were exceptionally clean. The food was excellent apart from the buffet restaurant on a couple of occasions for evening meal.

The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful especially the staff at the pool bar.

Entertainments weren't my cup of tea.

I would definitely visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Adams
11 years 5 months ago
We have recently returned from our first trip to the Dominican Republic at the Victoria Golf and Beach Resort on a First Choice all inclusive deal. Their aircraft are very good, even in ecomony there was plenty of leg room, good food and a fine selection of recent films. The nine hours went very quickly.

We had booked a junior suite and check in was quick and efficient with a lift provided on one of the hotel's golf carts to our door. Initially we were not impressed with the room because it didn't have the kitchen area mentioned in the brochure and surprisingly there was hardly any drawer space, just a writing desk and a TV cabinet. We were also a little put off at first by the fact we were adjacent to the small swimming pool and bar and thought that we would be overlooked and it would be noisely. However, we soon adjusted to these minor shortcomings and appreciated just how well positioned we were with a garden leading down to the lake, our own steamer chairs, and ready access to the bar. The pool was popular, but quiet and it was amazing to look out of our patio windows at 7.00 in the morning to see towels start to appear on the best chairs around the pool.

We couldn't fault the quality of the food provided in all three of the restaurants The pizza's were first class and the only thing I would suggest is that you get a bowl of salad from the self service restaurant to go with it if you don't like eating them on their own. The a'la carte restaurant was excellent and well worth a few dollars more for the lobster. As regards drink, undoubtably the beer and wine didn't pack the punch we would expect at home, but it is fine to take with your meals or when sunning by the pool or beach. Cocktails, especially in the upstair bar could be a little stronger than those served by the pools but once again perfectly fine unless you are looking to make your liver glow!

All the staff were really good and were always looking to please. The only minor problem we had was when we ordered room service for breakfast and had difficulty convincing reception that we needed a knife and fork to eat it with when we realised no cutlery had been provided! The rooms were kept clean and well maintained and when a bulb blew they were round to replace it at 11.00 at night.

We were more than happy to make the most of our meals after a hard day sun bathing so didn't really get involved with the entertainment, but from what we saw of it they were hardly broadway productions, but you get what you pay for and clearly many people enjoyed the dancers and audience participation programme.

So yes, a very good package and certainly the best of the hotels I saw around the island and we would definitely give it another go - and try and get the same room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Carol
11 years 10 months ago
I stayed at the Victoria hotel and with my hand on my heart it was fantastic.

The staff are worth their weight in gold they are so polite and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Louise
12 years 3 months ago
Lovely grounds. rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. Food was not great and became very repetitive after third night, not much choice at evening buffet.

Entertainment staff were very nice and friendly as were waiters, bar staff and porters. Reception staff were not very nice and everything you asked them seemed to be a big chore. There is a big pool with music playing all day and activities and a quite pool to relax. Internet access is free and 24 hours, there's a small gym and a little shop on site selling sun cream etc.

The hotel in my opinion is mainly for couples over the age of 40. Me and my friend went (both early 20s) and they was no one else anywhere near our own age in the hotel. I wouldn't return to this hotel again, at least not for a good twenty years.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum