Image of Puerto Plata

Puerto Plata Holidays

4 out of 5 from 79 reviews

Hotels in Puerto Plata, Caribbean

Image of Amhsa Casa Marina Beach Hotel
10 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
16 Reviews
Image of Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel
6 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
2 Reviews
Image of Be Live Grand Marien Hotel
5 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
11 Reviews
Image of BlueBay Villas Doradas Resort
8 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
10 Reviews
Image of ClubHotel Riu Mambo Hotel
2 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
36 Reviews
Image of Clubhotel Riu Merengue Resort Hotel
1 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
25 Reviews
Image of Fun Royale & Fun Tropicale Beach Resort Hotel
9 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
47 Reviews
Image of Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa Hotel
7 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
1 Review
Image of Luperon Beach Resort Hotel
11 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
11 Reviews
Image of Puerto Plata Village & Beach Club Hotel
12 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
Red hot weather went alone & felt really safe & well looked after.
21 Reviews
Image of Riu Bachata ClubHotel
4 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
36 Reviews
Image of Sosua Bay Hotel
13 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
1 Review
Image of Viva Wyndham Tangerine Resort Hotel
3 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata
11 Reviews

79 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Leanne
7 years 10 months ago
the only one thing wrong with this place is that you have to leave at the end !
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Harriet Holland
8 years ago
Everywhere in the resort was constantly being cleaned, swept and tidied, even the beach was raked.

The beach was beautiful and regularly raked, on the occasion when there was a lot of seaweed, it was quickly cleared up. We did find getting in and out of the sea a little bit difficult as it was a bit rocky in places. The sea was beautiful though, and you can watch the fish swimming around you. We took some bread and bananas to feed the fish and they come right to the surface.

Would definately return.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Lorraine
8 years 3 months ago
very good
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Penny And Pete
8 years 6 months ago
You could not really leave the Riu complex unless on an excursion.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jacobs
8 years 11 months ago
The resort was only three hotels on a small stretch of beach.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Cooke Family
9 years ago
We cannot fault the Riu Mambo resort and thought it was an extra bonus with the Riu Merengue and Bachata near by. All three hotels together made this an amazing resort for a holdiay since you could wander in and out of them all and use all the facilities. Although we still felt the Riu Mambo was the best.

The private beach was very scenic with plenty of sunbeds and palm trees to shelter you from the sun if desired. Good when playing games on the beach. While we were there it was a bit windy and the sea had a stong undercurrent, hence we were not aloud in the sea for a couple of days. However, it was nice that locals were not permitted on the beach to sell goods and hassel residents like in some other parts of the Caribbean.

Having only stayed for a week we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. It provided everything we needed.

We are missing the sun already and would love to return.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Louise
9 years 3 months ago
Ther resort was okay not really much to do, therevis a shopping plaza with a few british pubs for the football, a night club, coco bongos, quite expensive and the beach is far better when you walk out and go the left, beautiful clear waters!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Trevor New
9 years 5 months ago
the actual resort was very clean, gardens were a picture, beaches were sandy and plenty of loungers and shade. downtown puerto plata is a different story, life is totally different from the idyllic surroundings of the complex. the cable car is worth a visit just for the magnificent views from the top, the monster truck was absolutely brilliant, you get to see how real dominicans live, dont go if you dont like water fights, the scuba diving was a terrific experence, swimming in a tropical fish tank, very very good.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Marie
9 years 5 months ago
Cannot really comment to much on the resort as we only travelled down to the shopping mall. The trips were good we did the deep sea fishing, however did not catch a thing!but would like to go again. The quad bikes were good but make sure you put on plenty of repellant, as i got bit lots on my legs. And the paradise island was amazing, apart from quite a long coach journey. Cant wait to go back will definately be going next year!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Wendy Walsh
9 years 6 months ago
can walk about the resort without being hasselled even at night , nice plaza for shopping even found a small english bar , very friendly. will definately return
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Recent reviews
Image of Puerto Plata Village & Beach Club Hotel
Puerto Plata Village & Beach Club Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Lovely hotel great food entertainment at bit poor but we all still had a really good laugh
Image of Be Live Grand Marien Hotel
Be Live Grand Marien Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Great Hotel during the week
Image of BlueBay Villas Doradas Resort
BlueBay Villas Doradas Resort
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Very clean and tidy, but security was an issue
Image of Clubhotel Riu Merengue Resort Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Merengue Resort Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
I want, I want to go to Riu
Image of Riu Bachata ClubHotel
Riu Bachata ClubHotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
We have recently returned from the Riu Mambo in th…
Image of ClubHotel Riu Mambo Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Mambo Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Love it, try it you will like it.
Image of Luperon Beach Resort Hotel
Luperon Beach Resort Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Supposed to be 12 October till 26 but....... Ther…
Image of Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel
Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel
Puerto Plata, Caribbean
Lovely hotel, kept really clean, the staff literal…
Other popular destinations
Image of Playa Dorada
Playa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Varadero
Varadero
Cuba
Image of Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Image of Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco
Cuba
Image of Rio San Juan
Rio San Juan
Dominican Republic
Image of Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Margarita Island
Margarita Island
Caribbean
Image of Montego Bay
Montego Bay
Jamaica