Image of Amhsa Casa Marina Beach Hotel

Amhsa Casa Marina Beach Hotel

10 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen
11 years 3 months ago
just returned from this hotel with family and friends, hotel was clean had good facilities and good location on the beach.
we had no problems with the actual hotel just the staff. in the bars and restuarants the were very rude and the service was terrible (albiet a select few in the sunset bar). the food was fantastic a good choice and always hot, its just a shame that we had to set our own tables most nights (even when we asked for cutlery, glasses water etc it was quicker if you got your own).
used both the beach and the reef as they are so close together and most of the evening entertainment was in the reef anyway.

we really did have a great holiday here but would not return due to the staff its really put me off, and would definatly go back to the dominican republic
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Barrie Shaw
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Casa Marina Beach in the Dominican Republic on an all inclusive basis.

We found that the hotel was very clean with well attended grounds , Jacuzzi's overlooking the ocean and hammocks to have a snooze in.

Room was basic but clean, with the maid changing the sheets and towels on a daily basis.We were on the fourth floor with views over the swimming pool and the ocean.

Staff were very friendly and extremely hard working, always had a smile for you. An attempt at a little Spanish goes a long way.

No complaints about the food, something different every day and the option of three specialty restaurants.
The locals come in at the weekend and the buffet did get busy, a good time to book the speciality restaurants!
At busy times the staff were a little slow to relay the tables with fresh glasses and cutlery.

Nightly entertainment at the adjoining Reef hotel, although can it get hot and sticky in the theatre area.

Daily activities on the beach and poolside.

Not once could we not find a sunbed and there is a choice of swimming pools, the Beach side being quieter than the Reef side (where there was daily organised pool activities).
Drinks free until 11.00pm served in plastic beakers (to avoid the danger of broken glass around the grounds). Take your own travel mug (flask) and the bar staff will fill these without any problems.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lisa
11 years 4 months ago
Before we booked to on to the Casa Marina Beach I came on this web site to read what people had to say about it.

Everybody said how great it was the food the entertainment I thought great made a good choice.

But how wrong could I be it was awful the best thing about it was our room we were on the ground floor right opposite the pool.

Until on the Saturday morning opened the patio doors to find a family of Dominicans sitting on our balcony and they didn't move when we came out.

The food was terrible what was there for evening meal 9 times out of 10 it was there again for breakfast, the staff in the restaurant were rude and never laid the table quicker if you went and got cutlery and glasses yourselves.

The bar staff were just as rude they would serve the Dominican's straight away and just leave us waiting one day it took my daughter 25 Min's to get served.

Entertainment was next door in the reef run by the hotel staff got really hot in there, it was'nt that bad but one night they expected you to pay for the drinks cause it was a miss Dominican competition so everyone kicked off.

Every weekend the Dominican's come to the hotel and take over so you are better off booking trips for the weekends but don't leave anything on your balcony cause they will have it.

Personally I did'nt like it here and would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

11 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from the Casa Marina Beach, two weeks ending on 14th February.

We were met at reception with a cold fruit drink, and within minutes were on the way to our room 1145. The room, on the third floor was basic but clean, with no musty smell. The beds were soft and comfortable, good air conditioning, and hot water every night for a bath or shower. We opened the patio to a great view over the sea. The only problem being only three channels on the t.v. This was rectified when a further box-set was added to the t.v. Then we had the option of about forty channels.

The food in the restaurants was of good quality with a great choice at every meal. There was a problem in getting a table at the popular time of about 8.0 p.m. People would be walking around the restaurant, waiting for others to finish, then sitting down at dirty tables. After a few nights we were told it was better at the Reef restaurant. This proved to be true. There you are met by the head waiter who would ask how many in your party, before showing you to a table. After this we ate every night at the Reef. At lunch times both restaurants again offered good buffets, but we opted for the Seascape or the Mexican restaurants which provided snacks like pizza, chicken wings, hotdogs, beefburgers and chips and salad.

In the bars they serve President beer. The rum and other spirits are local, but served with Pepsi taste great. The cocktails are also nice, with a great variety. It is easy to get served, with no more than two minutes wait at the most demanding times, usually just before they close. The bartenders are great fun, always service with a smile.
We only looked in at the shows at night. They were very popular and seemed enjoyable, but we preferred to sit by the bars watching the waves roll in.

There are two beaches. The one on the Beach side was the most popular.

There are games provided by the entertainment crew during the day. There are plenty of sunbeds, although the best ones go quite quickly, and the others do need replacing. The parasols are $3 per day, but are a godsend in the midday heat. The bars are only about 50 yards in any direction, and the empty glasses are picked up as soon as they are put down.

One day one of the guests, a French/Canadian set up his speakers & equipment at the middle bar and sang and played his guitar for about an hour. We were quite content at this beach, watching the beach volley ball each day. Then during our second week, along came a Canadian group of people one side of us, and some local lads the other side of us, both competing with their raster-blasters. Heaven was spoilt.

We had previously seen the Reef beach, which was reached by some wooden stairs. There were only a few loungers with no shades. Then by chance we walked by one evening, and there was about fifty sunbeds and fifteen parasols. Paradise restored. So for our remaining days we were happy, and I was keeping fit with the umpteen walks up & down the stairs to visit the bar.

Some guests have complained about the local people setting up their stalls in the hotel, and being a nuisance. We never had any trouble with them at all. The same outside the hotel. If asked to look at their goods, a 'no gracious' is all thats needed.

By the way. Outside the Reef reception there is a floodlit baseball field. Most nights the locals have a game going on. Worth a look.

Overall we had a great time.

Would we return? Yes definitely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Mark Udle
12 years ago
Buffet food not good. Restaurant ok, snacks ok, drinks served in cheap plastic cups.

Have to pay after 11 pm in all bars swimming pools not that clean. Never saw anyone cleaning or testing water. Hotel doctor will charge high amount for visit and medicine go to chemist if you need any medicine.

Staff not that friendly only if you go to the regular beach. Lovely nice and sandy but can get rough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

12 years 5 months ago
This was the best 3* hotel I have ever stayed in. As it was two sister hotels there was plenty of room to spend time in different areas and not get bored.

The grounds were spotless. I personally found the food great and often went back for seconds/thirds - especially the deserts! There were different shows every night, some needed members of the audience to make fools of themselves.

Don't panic the staff aren't pushy, a polite no and they leave you alone! Plenty of things to do such as pool (3 free tables), table football, table tennis, beach bowls, guided bike rides around sosua(went twice, really enjoyed the first but didn't really go anywhere of interest the second time so if you are feeling energetic definetly go more than once) and the obvious non motorized watersports.

A number of bars are dotted around the resort so nice in the evening when walking around. Apart from the 2 buffets there were 3 restaurants (Mexican, Seafood (both lovely) and Italian (good but not great) nice for a change from the buffet. Never had any bugs in the room. Bathroom could do with a revamp and the lighting in the room was a bit dim.

Apart from that my only negative would be that the hotel had quite a lot of chavy families!!!!! However, it was a fab place for the price.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Stacey And Craig
12 years 10 months ago
As we pulled up to the hotel we had good cheesey caribbean music playing and a welcome drink which was fruit punch, then your suitcases would be take to your room by the porter who shows you how to work the air con, shower, and where the safety deposit box is.

The hotel is massive, in the night it is all lit up and very nice to take a walk around or just relax in th hammocs.

Every other night, a market would come into the hotel..they do hassle you to buy things but at the end of the day they are just trying to make a living, i mean...these people live in sheds and they got nothing!

The rooms were very Clean, spacious and bright. We had a sea veiw room (most of them are) which was gorgeous.

The food was ok...plenty of variety but im a fussy eater and wouldnt try it...there are 3 restaurants which are Jalapeno's (mexican) Luigi's (itallian) and Seascape which is seafood but they also have steak and chicken on the menu which are really nice! :)

The location was excellent the town was very safe, locals do want you to go into their bars/restaurants/shops but a polite no thank you does the job.

Hotel staff were amazing, nothing was too much for them. The animation team were awesome, (they spoke about 5 different languages fluently) you would never get bored there was always something going on they were so friendly especially Billy Blue Eyes and his hillarious laugh (Hee Hee Hee)

Entertainment was Awesome...just laugh the night away

Reccomended excursions..Monstor Truck Safari- You visit a local school, house and cheese factory and see how the dominicans really live before stopping off at the ranch where you have a lovely lunch and a swim in the river, or just relax and soak up the sun. On the way back you have a really good laugh by having water fights with other trucks and every hour on this truck is happy hour!!..It was an eyeopener and such a humbling yet enjoyable experience!

Dolphin Swim- Ocean World is brilliant...you cant go to Dominican without going here it really was a once in a lifetime experience!!

All in all this was the best holiday I've ever had and already planning to go back next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Jan
13 years 1 month ago
This is the first time I have been to this resort and the first time all inclusive.

The rooms were basic but clean, sheets where changed every day along with the towels.

The food was excellent, there was something for everyone, you have a choice of three a la carte restaurants which where exceptional, you have to book these in advance but well worth it.

The staff were fantastic, they could not do enough for you, they all spoke very good English especially the ones on the reception desk.

There was something to do all day long, if you just wanted to sit by the pool and read then that is what you did.

The entertainment staff were crazy they made you want to join in with everything because they got so excited about the things they were doing. The evening entertainment was very good, with a mini disco for the children, then something for the adults to join is with, after that you were entertained by dancers which did all kinds of different things. After the bars shut at 11pm you could then go into the disco, which closed a 3am, this was situated downstairs so none of the other guests could be disturbed.

I was very upset when this holiday came to an end, I will be booking up for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr Jones
13 years 2 months ago
The rooms especially bathrooms need a very good clean. Our 1st room had a cracked bath air con didn't work bedsheets dirty. Moved rooms bathroom dirty blood on mirror tiles the tiles wanted bleeching bath very worn.

Food was terrible in buffet a la carte meals ok but kitchens in all and bars where not very clean.

All family and friends we met were poorly and agreed about rooms and food.

Such a shame because it could be very nice there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Robert & Danny
13 years 2 months ago
When we arrived at the room the smell from the room was unbearable to the point that we had headaches.

The bathroom door had a punch hole in it and the lampshades were painted black to hide the mould. There was stains on the sheets which looked like they could have been blood.

When we complained about this at the reception we were told that we would have to see our rep. At the rep meeting the next day the rep agreed to move us only because we were in the hurricane block and we should have never been in there in the first place as it is only used as emergency accomadation during a hurricane.

The only entertainment we had was a show which lasted about 2 hours each night for the first few days we were in bed for 9pm watching movies on TV. There was plenty of bars within the resort but the drinks were served in cheap dirty plastic cups not what I was expecting from a carribean holiday.

The beach was very clean and safe. They have a flag system which tells you if it is safe to be on the beach depending on the currents.

I really did not enjoy this holiday at all and was really disappointed as i had to save hard for it. Speaking with friend we met there they all felt the same, 1 couple were actually looking into going home early.

I really would not reccomend this holiday to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum