Image of Luperon Beach Resort Hotel

Luperon Beach Resort Hotel

11 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Ciudad Marina | Playa Grande, Luperon 57000, Dominican Republic

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mark
8 years 4 months ago
Supposed to be 12 October till 26 but.......
There was 8 in total me, my wife four of our kids 11, 13, 18, 21 and the oldest two's boyfriends 19 and 22.

We got there at 7ish pm on first look it seems fine and to be fair the complex is nice with peacocks walking round the grounds, food not the best everything tastes the same no matter what you have, the alacarte was better we had the Mexican and the Italian both very mild but nice and aircon cool we went on the Friday and Saturday to avoid the locals and so glad we did.
When they arrive they totally take over and push in every time they go to the bar, we stopped at hotels in the past with locals and they have been nice the exact opposite of these, plus you can only get 2 drinks at a time, so for our group 4 had to go up each time to get a round in. after the locals left you had the staff in the pools pulling out hundreds of plastic cups that you get the drinks in, the staff spent all day cleaning the pool I don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jones
8 years 10 months ago
All inclusive is a must; there is no limit on what you can drink,how much or when, other places where I have stayed on an all inclusive basis impose limits eg you must pay for cocktails & icecream and anything after 10pm. I would advise that you take a themos mug with you which can be bought in the UK for 99p (they are sold in the hotel for between 10$ - 15$), the bar staff have no objection to filling them with your chosen drink and it has the added benefit of keeping your drink cool.

On arrival in your room I would recomend that you check everything works; the lights, shower and that the balconey door locks. We found that our didn't lock and as we were on the ground floor I felt uneasy, we asked in reception if this could be sorted and they immediatly gave us the option of moving to another room and gave us the key so that we could 'inspect' it and make sure we were happy before moving. Our new room was on the third floor which gave us an excellent view of the beach and appeared to be in a much better condition (newer bathroom and brighter lights). Our room was cleaned daily - bin emptied, towels changed, floor swept and mopped)and flowers left on the beds and in the bathroom which was a very nice touch. The pools were cleaned daily even if they had not been in use; it was quite fun to watch them wading in the pools with the large mops.

I can not fault the food and the choice was vast catering for all tastes. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, pastries, yougurts, ham & cheeses, toast, meats and eggs how you wanted them. Omelets were made to order. Unlimited fruit juice, water, tea and coffee. Lunch in the dining room again offered a vast choice including soup, salads, a selection of hot items and cold meats; a large choice of puddings and icecream. Lunch in the beach bar worked on an alternating basis of fish & chips, and burgers / hot dogs with pizza on a daily basis. I would recommend the fish & chips; very light and not covered in oil. Evening meal in the dining room again offered a vast choice with fresh meat and fish being cooked in front of you and a choice of at lease 4, lots of vegetables, rice and salads items, local speciality dishes and pasta cooked to order. Unlimited fruit juice, beer, water, wine and soft drinks; the staff are very helpful and will bring the drinks to you even though it is self service. If you have the munchies late at night snacks of brugers & hot dogs or toasties are available outside the disco from 11pm. Although there are 4 alacarte restaurants on the site you have to book a table; included in your welcome pack from the hotel are two booking slips for each week you stay. We didn't get round to booking any but the reports given to us by other guests were favourable. If you do plan to use these it is advisable to aim for the weekend as domicicans are booking into the resort for weekend stays; we were there for a dominican national holiday and the hotel was full.

The resort is about 1.5 hours drive away from the airport and the infrastructure leave something to be desired however it is fun to see just how many people you can get onto a moped. The resort is beach front and there are signs advised of sea hedgehogs(sea urchins) so it is advisable to wear beach shoes but there is a section marked out where you can enter the sea in a sand only section and for the most part of it is only chest height deep. There are lots of sun beds and palm tree umberellers available and the beach is regularly cleaned by the ground staff. Be firm but fair with the beach front sellers if you don't want to buy although it becomes an art to check out what is on offer as you walk past; if you stop to look they immediatly 'offer help'. If you do want to buy something from them barter and barter well as it is a way of life for them. The hotel has a wide expance of greenary which attracted many birds and to my pleasure very few bugs. There are a number of resident peacocks in the grounds which wander about freely and in the pond by the Tropical Luperon reception there are flamingoes.

I could not find fault with the staff, and I spoke to most of them including the maintenance men, gardeners, VIP timeshare men and cleaners. My advice regarding the VIP timeshare men if you don't want to be hastled by them is to tell them that you are already a member of RCI and that you pay no maintenance costs; we went onto a sales pitch with them and the package that they basically offer is either 25 weeks or 50 weeks over a 15 year period for a cost of about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Mark
9 years 4 months ago
This is a bargain basement hotel. Don't go there if you are a fusspot or complainer because you will find things to complain about. You have to realise that Dom. Rep. is a third world country, and therefore, they have different standards to us. Yes there are flies around the food area (not lots, just some) but no worse than a BBQ on a hot day in the UK. Yes, some of the plates weren't spotless, but just pick up another that is clean. The pools are cleaned every morning, the bedding changed every two days and the towels changed every day. The staff are friendly and helpful. I didn't like the lucky-lucky men along the beach pathway, they can nag for Britain. Also didn't like the time share salesmen (they call it VIP club). They actually wear t-shirts with the hotel name on so you think they are there to help, but they only there so sell, sell, sell. The rooms are very basic and quite dimly lit. If you like to read then a torch may be a good idea. Plenty of people we talked to had problems with things like broken showers, broken toilets, flooding etc but we were lucky and had no probs. We stayed in Block 16 which was very quiet, you may want to email hotel prior to arrival and ask for a high-up room as the ground floor is prone to flooding if it rains. There is no decent TV channels, mainly spanish, and no TV's in any of the bars etc. We took a laptop and some DVD's to watch. This was a good thing as the entertainment we saw was dire. The food was okay. Breakfast was a bit limited but the omelettes were a treat (made to your liking) and the banana-bread, pancakes and petit-pain were good. Lunch comes from either the restaurant or the snack bars near the beach, which done freshly cooked pizzas, burgers, fries etc. Dinner in the restaurant was okay, we found something we liked every day. The a-la-carte restaurant was nice, I recommend using that. The ecursions from Thomas Cook were expensive but good. One tip, before you book any excursions, go outside and see the taxi drivers, they'll do you good deals on getting about for tours etc. The Cable Car tour was basically a selling exercise. The trip on the cable-car was great, but the rest wasn't. The mega-trucks was definitley a day to remember and we went on the Colombus discovery (champagne and oysters) trip to paradise island. This was fabulous and we made good friends on this trip, highly recommended. the people in this country are very poor and the staff rely upon tips. Upon arrival at hte hotel, the bell-boys will deliver your cases to your room. There is a fridge in the rooms with two bottles of water in. You can top these up either in your block (water coolers on the ground floor) or at any of the bars (big orange tub). The beach is quite a steep slope into very choppy water. in the water there is a cordoned off area were it's safe to walk/play without shoes. elsewhere it is quite rocky, with sea-urchins.
We had a great holiday here and have made cherished memories and good friends. If you're the sort of person that just gets on with things, and doesn't let small niggles spoil your holiday, the you'll be okay here. the beach is wonderful, the sea is warm, the people are friendly, and the rum flows freely. What more could you ask?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset/Thomas Cook

10 years 1 month ago
The cleanliness of this hotel left very much to be desired. The pool area was rarely cleaned, in fact a magazine was left on a pool side table virtually at the begining of our holiday and was still there the day we left. (bear in mind that showers occur regularly in the caribbean, and this magazine ended up a soggy mess!)In the whole fortnight the pool itself was never treated with any chemicals. On one occassion i acually saw one of the staff in the pool with a dirty rag wiping the rim.

The jaccuzzi never worked, and had a leak on it of which you had to paddle through, to get to the toilets which were situated by the pool.

The restaurant left very much to be desired, what a filthy dirty place!. Every meal time we had to search for a plate that was clean.

The maid came to room most days, and had a quick flick round, some days we were left without towels! The sheets were changed maybe about 3 times in the whole fortnight! On the occassions they were'nt changed, all she did was move them round.

One evening we were sat at the bar, and the staff were clearing away, we actually witnessed the bar staff, dipping the floor mop into the sink which was used for washing the plastic drinking glasses. This was reported to the hotel management immediately.

The food was poor and most importantly cold! At the begining of the holiday each meal time we would see other guests queing outside the dining room, and we commented that they must be hungry. We quickly realised that to get some warmth in the food, you had to be there as soon as it was put out.

Hot drinks such as tea and coffee was virtually impossible, in the whole two weeks we never had a cup of tea or coffee that was remotely warm

The bar where the main entertainment took place was very poorly serviced. We had to be there an hour before the entertainment took place otherwise we couldn't get a drink. One barman services this area, and unfortunately he had limited amount of glasses. When he ran out of glasses he had to go round the other guests searching for empty glasses, then he had to wash them before getting back to serving other guests. One evening we counted 23 people waiting to be served whilst he was collecting glasses.

The beach was never cleaned, one of the days we had a stroll along the water edge, and saw a broken toilet and an old oil can just laying on the hotel beach. The sewerage pipes from the hotel ran down onto the beach and were all broken!!

The rooms to this hotel were very basic, and we asked to be moved. The alternative rooms offered were a disgrace. In one of them, the bathroom door was holding the ceiling up.

The location of this hotel would be idillic for a get away from it all holiday, but unfortunately the accomodation was appauling. The staff were untidly dressed and rarely smiled.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels.com

Julie Ross
10 years 3 months ago
This was an excellent holiday the animacion team made it even better they are all wonderfull people and made our holiday so much fun,always around to make you laugh!!.

The hotel is great but wouldnt be without these. We are planning on going back there this may it was that good,there has been building work going on in the hotel but it is of no bother at all,only small minded and petty people would complain if they had nothing better to occupy themselves with the building work has just about finished now it was while we were there it didnt bother us.

It's a fab hotel to stay at and you would be missing out if you didnt go there. Even just for Eddie and spaghetti youu must go to Edies, Mamas cafe the chicken is fab!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomascook

Recommended
Toria
10 years 9 months ago
We had a brilliant holiday.

The maid was fantastic. Our rooms were always spotless.

The food was lovely although we did get fed up of eating the same things (we did expect this though). Alacarte was fantastic the brazillian was the best by far. You can choose from Spanish, Italian, Brazillian and Mexican. Your only allowed to go twice a week though.

This hotel was located right on the beach. Luperon town was a ten min taxi ride, it's very different from the town we come from and is an experience. The local people are very helpful and friendly. Other than the town there isn't much else about. There are various trips to go on during your stay. The Quad bikes were excellent!!!

The staff at this hotel were fantastic!! Although we didn't travel with children the kids club rep was amazing with all of the children on the resort (even in her spare time).

The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, although sometimes they can be a bit full on with the ladies.

The entertainment was excellent. There are lots of different activities on during the day by the main pool and also on the beach including windsurfing, kayaking, banana boat and snorkeling. This hotel has its own horses which are also free to ride.

The night time entertainment didn't start till 10pm which was a bit late. When this was finished the place to be is GALACTICO!!

The only this that we didn't really like about the hoilday was that the dominicans came to stay at the hotel on a friday and left on a sunday, they eat all of the food so get to the restaurant early.

Beach towels were also provided.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Rosanna
11 years 2 months ago
I am 12 and I thought this hotel was FABULOUS! I had the best time of my life. The animation team were excellent..they were all dancers and were really friendly.

The bar staff would always make you special cocktails and were very polite.

The pools were excellent! They were VERY big and the bar in the pool was really cool!

It was so hot and the beach was excellent, the sea was bright blue and was cordoned off where its wasn't protected. The banana boats were fun to go out on.

The food was excellent, even though I'm a fussy eater I always found something that I liked. At lunch time there was huts by the beach that you could have fruit, pizza, pasta and meat from which was ace!

I can't wait until I go back. We spent new year over there and we had an excellent time. The 11-2 disco at night was really fun..the music was really varied and all the animation would get you up for a dance.

The shows on a night were absolutely brilliant, there was always wicked dancing and funny shows. The karaoke was especially good! We met some excellent animation guys..and there was all varied countries; Canada, America, England, Dominican. I love this hotel so much, please go!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Alli
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel is quite far from the airport it took us just under 2hrs the hotel is very clean and has good sized rooms we had two double beds in ours also very clean and good maid service.

The only downfall is the food the breakfast were good its buffet style but the main buffet during the day we found to be very poor the food was only warm we even tried going early but it was just the same.

The staff are all very nice and friendly not too pushy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Stacey
11 years 8 months ago
Well what can I say about this hotel, everything was fantastic, can not complain. The all inclusiveness definitely lived up to its name.

The bar staff were very good they were polite, spoke very good English and did not moan about the amount of drinks you had or about the amount of times you went up. Very humorous guys liked a laugh with you.

The rooms were very spacious and fairly clean, lovely sculptures out of your towels.

Food was varied and good quality, although it changed at weekends when the locals arrive, Friday 3pm til sun 4pm unpleasant people but bit of telling them off does the trick.

The location is a bit on its own but there is plenty of trips to go on to keep yourselves occupied, the monster truck trip and mega truck trips are not to be missed, and the ocean world is a must all very enjoyable days and well worth the money.

The evening entertainments is good although it does not start until 10pm. this is because the restaurant is open 6pm till 9pm, breakfast is 7am till 10.30 then its continental breakfast till 11.30am.
The entertainment team do a very good job you never get bored from their club dance, to the water sports to the drinking contest (you can request coke, to take part).

The Dominican viagra is a shot and is vile but definitely works lol, there is a very strong vodka drink its vodka 151 the strongest vodka you can try but you can't take it out of the country as it WILL explode in your case, so don't try it.

Be warned bartering is the way of life here so if they ask a price cut them in half and that's what you should pay but stick at it or the sellers will take the mickey, I brought a necklace the seller wanted 45 dollars (very expensive) I got it for a mere 8 dollars, they wheel and deal in dollars and pesos so either will do.

Women you can have your nails done out here (not very good but OK if you need a nail fixed) hair braiding and water sports on the beach. The kiaking is the best and snorkeling.

Its an amazing place but go all inclusive even the trips include your drinks and meals.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
The Luperon Beach resort joined together with the Tropical Beach resort, you can not tell the two hotels apart as they are both as one.

It has 3 main pool areas which are all good sized pools
one pool is for the tropical side but everyone can use it, it has a waterfall in it and a very pretty setting
the second pool is near the buffet restaurant and nothing really happens around this pool so if you want something

Quiet and close to everything then this is ideal.
The third pool is where everything happens, the entertainment team or as they are call the animation team are there from 10am till 6pm doing activities around the pool like darts, vollyball and water polo.

All the pools have their own bar which serve drinks from ten until midnight.

Next to the third pool there is a theatre, this is where the animation team do there nightly shows, they start about 8 for the kids disco and then following that they will put on a show from a afrian show with fire and dancing too something called couples night, where they will get couples on stage to perform different activities.

The animations team are wonderful they really do try and if you dont want to join in you dont have to they are not pushy at all. This will end about midnight and then if you want to carry on the night they try get you to go to the nightclub onsite where your all inclusive drinks carry on until 2am!

The hotel food is nice some nights there were a few things in the buffet with where not to my taste but if you want to try the local food then you will be fine. If you are a fussy eater you can get away with it at the hotel as they serve eggs however you want them cooked in the morning, there was always pasta for lunch and for dinner there was always salad and chips if worse comes to worse!!!

The cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant, the hotel maids would clean everyday and you would put a sign on your door if you didnt want them to clean that day.

The hotel staff where wonderful too, there are bell boys who are there for you if there any problem what so ever and they are very friendly.

The locals did come to the hotel at the weekends but i was reading on my comments of this hotel how the caused so much troble and I was very worried about this but to be honest I never experienced a bad thing with them. They were friendly and they just were like any other tourist in the hotel! so there is no need to worry.

To be honest the only thing that let the hotel down was the people staying in it! We heard many people who expected a lot more for their money. At the end of the day no you dont get you drinks served to you in the resterant and no there isnt a mini bar but it doesnt matter you dont need it!

People in the hotel mainly English were moaning at the smallest silliest things like I say above about the mini bar, they had no reson to moan.

The hotel is a cheap one to go to and no you cant really go out the complex as there isnt much about but if these people wanted the things they were moaning about then they should have gone to a different hotel!!!

All in all the holiday was lovely, what more do you need you have entertainment if you want it, a beach 2 mins away, pools to choose from and clean rooms!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset ( thomas cook)

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum