Image of Puerto Plata Village & Beach Club Hotel

Puerto Plata Village & Beach Club Hotel

12 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
Apartado 716, Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Designed in beautiful Victorian-style architecture and set amongst lush, tropical gardens, enjoy wonderful surroundings within the Playa Dorada complex, a great selection of facilities and a 24 hour All Inclusive service.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rachel Swoboda
Lovely hotel great food entertainment at bit poor but we all still had a really good laugh
5 years 1 month ago
Had a really good time food was ok there was always something I liked at the buffet & at beach drinks were fine always chilled & plenty of ice! Clean linen and towels daily. Fresh bread every day, nice coffee, plenty of chilled juice and really nice porridge for breakfast. The entertaimemt was a bit poor during the week but good at the weekends. The pool was really clean a great place for young and old and good pool for children.

Resort really safe as I travelled alone that was really important to me.

Safe charge a bit expensive 10.00 GBP but worth it.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Hotel tip: Red hot weather went alone & felt really safe & well looked after.

Recommended
Mark Haining
10 years ago
ok we went to ppv on 08.10.2008 and can only say we had a fantstic time.
the acomadation is fine, you only sleep there after all.
the food was very good with plenty of choice. the only down side is no baked beans for breakfast, the animation team pictured are fantastic, willy, popeye, kojak, peter flow, salami and jasmin. there was 11 in our group age 10 to 45 and we all enjoyed the holiday and everyone joined in everything.

october is out of season so there was only about 50 people in the complex which can acomadate 900. dont get excursions from the rep, go to the shopping complex the rep will charge you $90 for scubering at the complex it's $42 and the same for any excursions.

while on the beech you can use kiyaks snorkeles and bodyboards plus there is a snack bar which dose drinks and food, though the food is 11am till 2pm there is a type of golf cart that takes you to the beech and back it runs just about every 10 mins and you still get the animation team down there getting you to do competions.

take plenty of bite cream as your legs get eaten not sure if its moses or what but everyone gets bit except my missis.

we did scuba diving $42 each, paradise island, waterfall and horse riding $20 each for 2 and 1/2 hours not bad:)

time from airport is about 20 mins, dont forget it costs $10 to get in and $20 to get back out and it must be dollars, we did not know and had to go and change some
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: carribean conection

Recommended
Dawn
11 years 10 months ago
We booked this hotel for Christmas and New Year. We were not looking forward to this hotel after reading some reviews. We need not have worried. This was one of the cheaper hotels and yes the rooms a little bit dated but they were cleaned every day, even Christmas day and New Years Day which we could not believe. The maid will always come back no matter what time to see if you want your room cleaning or towels etc. The rooms do feel a little damp but this is because you need the airconditioning on all the time due to the humidity.

You are taken to your room by a bell boy, he carries your cases and you dont have to do a thing. All the staff were very very friendly and we were looked after all the time. The All Inclusive is excellent, the food was great, you get your towels for the pool or beach and you can change them as many times in a day as you want.

The food at the Beach Bar is also great. You can walk to the beach or there is a regular beach buggy to take you there.

You should try the excursions they are great, my daughter loved the horse riding and quadbiking.

You can walk out of the hotel to the plaza which is only a 5 minute walk where there are nice restaurants and shops etc, even pizza hut.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jenna
12 years 3 months ago
I have been to this hotel on 3 occasions now and absolutely love it. Everytime we've went we have an upgraded room, yes you do get a few mosquitos in your room but you a a warm country so that is expected.

For the food being o mass I thought it was ok there is never a night that you can't find something you can eat and the mexican restaurant is superb.

The staff in there are so funny.

The entertainment staff are brillant and work really hard all day long yes the shows may be a bit like Butlins but still make you laugh and the chocolate dance is brillant, the entertainment staff even join you in the hotel night club when they are finished work.

I found all the staff at the hotel so friendly, they really try to communicate with you even if they can't speak English to well, especially the barman.

The only thing I would say is when the Dominicans come at the weekend the hotel can't seem to cope to well, but this didint stop us having a fab holiday.

A must do in the Dominican is the trips that are on offer they really are amazing. We really didn't feel safe in the complex and even went out a couple of times at night in Puerto Plata which believe me we felt safer doing this than we do going out at home sometimes.

All in all this hotel is superb for families and young people, if you want to experience the real Dominican Republic then this is the place to go, we've booked up again for next year and can't wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jodi Houghton
12 years 4 months ago
We visited this hotel from the 11th June to 25th June 2006 and apart from the bad flight experience we arrived at the hotel. From the first appearance everything seemed nice and we was greeted with a fruit punch drink and immediately told our rooms were upgraded. Sounds good so far until we got to our room.

*ROOMS*

The doors had massive gaps leading out to the balcony where a regular infestation of mosquitoes would fly in and make a meal of you in your sleep and yes we had every mosquito device in there possible. The beds were hard and too small for a couple to have a comfortable nights sleep. And the pillows were lumpy and hard. The television had the worst reception. Channel 5 when it first started was better.

Enter the bathroom and you have a jungle safari with the toilet and walls being covered in small ant like creatures and a rather evil looking spider. Asked for the room to be fumigated on more than one occasion, and finally got it done the day before we were leaving. To get the lights working we had to give them a tap to get them working and the wiring is sub standard.

For one day we had no water at all in the bathroom and for a further two days no hot water full stop. After enough complaining we were given a set of keys to go and shower on the other side of the complex. A fifteen minute walk away.

Don't hold your breath in getting your room made before lunch, on many occasions our room was not cleaned until gone 3pm, and we had to call reception to chase things up to get this done. (This was during the quiet period)

*ATTITUDE*

We had a football field 25mtrs away which during our stay a helicopter decided to land on it. We thought there may have been an emergency as it was not a designated helipad, but it stayed there overnight and in the early hours of the morning it decided to shake our room and wake us up by starting up the rotors for a good 30 minutes. My boyfriend promptly told the pilot to lift off or shut down as he had woken us all up. Complained to reception and unless you are Dominican you are not treated as priority. They even go off and talk to someone else whilst dealing with you. The helicopter and pilot was actually the owner of the hotel complex who should know better.

*FOOD & DRINK*

The food was inadequate and very similar every day, and pineapple looks so nice with ants all over it and the bread looks really good with birds flying in and sitting on top of it.
The food was raw in the middle and the drinks were awful. Everything it seems has to have coconut in it. Even the mash potatoes in the a la carte restaurant.

*LOCALS* *(PART 1)*....

We had paid extra to go to a quieter hotel instead of the Fun Tropicale, and at the weekend we had over 250 locals enter the grounds and stay there. (So much for a quiet resort)

Staff are helpful but locals are the opposite, rude arrogant, and go for food like vultures. One Dominican actually grabbed food from the tongs I was using. You could not get to the bar and there was drunk and disorderly people all over the site which was really impressive for my partners child.

*ENTERTAINMEMT* ( 0r Lack Of )

The Entertainment was dire and if you ever hear the "Chocolate" song again you will scream. They couldn't dance, mime or sing, or even speak clear English. The ones that could speak clear English did not even use the mic.
The animation team decide to ask ladies to shake their boobies and other sexual gestures and the only prize was brugal rum, which was referred to as Dominican Viagra. Not good in front of a nine year old.

*LOCALS* *(PART 2)*.....

As for the first weekend being overcrowded with locals it didn't get any better the second weekend with over a 1000 locals arriving in a hotel that has 386 rooms. CRAM THEM IN.... Trouble was brewing at the hotel and the First Choice holidaymakers were getting to the point of exploding and our rep was pulling her hair out. The hotel could not cope.

*TRIPS & SHOPS*

When you go on trips all the tour guides seem to mention is the "Carwash" which is their reference to a brothel. All the shops have signs saying we sell Viagra, even can be drunk by women.

*HEALTH*

Be warned if you feel ill as the medical centre stings you for every penny they can muster out of you even if you have got travel insurance.

*ON SITE*

The market stalls inside your complex try to rip you off, they wanted to charge 5,000 pesos for a photo album which works out approximately
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sarah Jones
12 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the Puerto Plata village hotel and throughly enjoyed it , I have read some reports on your web site about this hotel and to be fair some coments are true.

Like the coments about the local people arriving at the weekends ,they are very rude and expect the hotel staff to bend over backwards for them and ignore the rest of the clients/holiday makers. However the staff there made our holiday and have kept in touch with them. The entertainment was fantastic, some real effort had gone into preparing the shows. Well done Luis. This guy was absolutly brillant with us all and made our childrens holiday just the best.

We are going back as soon as we have saved the money to go , while we were there we met a couple that have been going to that hotel for the past fifteen years twice a year ,so it cant be that bad, what do people expect for the money you pay after all it is one of the cheapest hotels in the dom.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sarah Jones
12 years 11 months ago
By the way the staff were great not 1 star 10 stars.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first coice

Recommended
Slatter
13 years ago
Having been before I expected the same standard, but was very wrong, the people are fantastic, but the food is terrible and there was virtually no entertainment.

The beach was fine but again the food needs severe up grading it was cold and not very clean with flies, ants and a few cockroaches to boot.

Very upset this year as we spent a lot of money and the best we got was on the flight out and on the return my advice is if you are thinking of this hotel for a holiday well dont bother.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: eclipse

Newman
13 years 1 month ago
Having just come back from this resort I am so disappointed about this resort it is far from any 3star all inclusive we have stayed at.

The resort was clean around the apartments but the pool areas were not. The staff were good always happy and polite.the maids were good. The rooms were clean but dull and in need of updating. The food well to be honest it was dreadful,cold and not much variety for kids. We ate at the mex or the a la carte when we could get a table otherwise we went out for dinner because the buffet restaurant was dreadful.

Evening entertainment was bad even worse if you are a family with kids because there was nothing to do but listen to the same music night after night for about half hour. It was bad for families the good nights were Tuesdays Beachparty night but everyone has to go because the rest of the hotel restuarants are closed.

We did go on a lot of trips while we was there but they was expensive for a family of 4. We had to do the trips because if you didnt you didnt have anything else to do around the hotel.

The beach was clean and safe for the kids. The beach was only a few mins walk or my kids got on the buggy to the beach they loved that. The beach bar was clean and the food was good it was bbq and salads,pizza,hotdogs ect.

Howver, I must say a lot of guests came there to eat because it was better than hotel.
We wont return to this complex but we will be returning to Dom Rep but to a better standard of hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

S Cuthill
13 years 2 months ago
Where do I start? The room we had which we upgraded to a superior was an absolute disgrace, it was dark, the floor never looked clean and when we put the air conditioning on, the ceiling lifted about three inches, so we had this gap between the wall and ceiling.

The bathroom was full of rust and the ceiling in there was falling apart, the back of the tap was so uneven it would cut your fingers to bits.

The locals used this hotel at the weekend and were so ignorant - they took over the place, if you do go any trips book it for the weekend.

The food, if you booked any of the restaurants you got a lovely meal however if you were unfortunate and ended up with the buffet it was a disaster. To get extra towels or pillows you had to leave a dollar a day for the maid. However on a good note the staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful.

The staff in the Mexican restaurant were absolutely fantastic. The entertainment was different music, but with the same dance routines on a nightly basis.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum