Image of Viva Wyndham Tangerine Resort Hotel

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Resort Hotel

3 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sam
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel is kept clean, although there is sometimes a smell from a lake which is situated outside the complex.

There is always hot water for a shower.

The swimming pool is fantastic and very safe even for the little children although you do have to be careful of the rude and unruley usa children who treat the pool as a zoo!!

The hotel staff are great try to speak to them in Spanish and they will do anything for you, but be aware at night that the bar men will go for the pretty women and ignore others waiting in the queues! and at times there were long ques for the bar.

The entertainment is always there day and night and the animators are really friendly and good fun.

One warning if you arrive at the hotel before 3pm you cannot get in your room, so bring swimming stuff in your hand luggage.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
The Tangerine hotel was great.

We thought the staff were very helpful.

Once again all inclusive food can be a bit daunting but it was hot and seemed to cater for everyone and there was always plenty of it.

The hotel is situated about 20mins walk from Cabarete Walk on the beach it's easier and more beautiful.

Entertainment is on a 2 week rota so you don't see the same show twice. It was good some nights and bad others but that's my taste each to their own.

The hotel was kept very clean rooms were done every day.

Apart from a smell of drains in some areas it was very nice, but remember it is a third world country.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Adam
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel after a very long travel was very clean and nice and cool, we had some worries on the way to the hotel as the island isn't the tidiest of places.

The food was great on the first night, I am a bit of a fussy eater and so I was glad to see that they had things to suit my taste, but the only problem was you only saw the peice of food once or twice in your stay, which is good, if you like variaty, but not if you are a bit like me.

The location, aka Caberette, isn't to my taste and isn't a place where I would take my family, but you didn't need to go out as the hotel was amazing. The animation team were, in my sons words, "ace" and there was lots of entertainment in the day.

As for the hotel staff apart from us being asked about a timeshare they were great and very helpful even when my son locked the keys in the room twice in one day.

We definitely recomend this hotel and Ocean World!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Rachel Carter
12 years 8 months ago
I found the food not bad at all though my husband did not think a lot of it. But when you are in another country food is all ways different not like home.

The hotel was stunning thought it was amazing the restaraunts were brilliant and very romantic being seranaded by candle light.

The only thing that they dont tell you is about the sales men on the beaches which can be annoying when all you want is a romantic walk on a moon lit beach.

The staff at the hotel were great, Max was everyones best friend for our stay.

Outside the hotel there is poverty but they tell you they are happy enough.

This is the first time I have ever been to a third world country. The weather was great even when it rained I thought it rained only like that in Wales! BUT it was still realy warm you could still find us in the sea.

The entertainment was great, Grease was realy good a lot of effort went into these productions, the disco in the cellar was not brilliant but we enjoyed.

The beach bbq and meal around the pool was amazing lots to do for young and old I even found myself fishing I had taken the kids! once in a lifetime holiday !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Rachel And Rob
12 years 9 months ago
Stayed at the Viva for 2 weeks. We arrived around 4pm and were checked in very quickly. The short walk to our room was lovely, the flowers and lawns were beautifully looked after and everywhere was spotless. Our room was lovely, very clean and bright.

The food in the La Bahia is served in buffet style and although it could have been a little more varied, it was still very nice. There is also 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian and Mexican, which you book a day in advance, both of which have lovely food and great service. Our personal favourite was the Mexican.

The snack bar is great, you can get pizzas, burgers and chips whenever you get peckish. There are self service soft drinks there too. At the bar you can get soft drinks, non/alcoholic cocktails and tea and coffee.

The hotel is right on the beach front and is about 10 minutes walking distance from Cabaret. There is an Esso garage opposite which quite expensive and so are the hotel shops, but that's the same in any country. If you need need anything go to the supermarket near Cabaret, much cheaper!

Everyone is very polite and friendly.

The maid is excellent and leaves little personal touches like fresh flowers, arranges the towels and tissues to look nice and leaves your room immaculate. Reception and guest services are extremely helpful and efficient, as are the restaurant staff.

All the entertainment and sports staff are brilliant, lots of fun. Our Thomson rep was great too.

The entertainment was great, there was always something to join in with and it was always loads of fun! The evening shows were great, loads of variety.

We would definitely go back to this hotel, the only thing we to be aware of is that they have time share staff who will try and get you to talk but just be polite and they wont bother you again.

All in all it was a fantastic holiday!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Stacy
12 years 11 months ago
When my family took off for this holiday, we were thoroughly excited as I am heading off to university in September, it was to be our last family holiday.

The Viva Wyndham Tangerine did not disappoint! From the moment we had our non-alcoholic welcome cocktail, the stage was set!

My Mum has a real thing for cleanliness but even she found nothing to complain about. The location is second to none, and is really one of those views which catches you by suprise sometimes and takes your breath away.

The only thing there is to complain about would be the food in La Bahia, which is slightly repetitive. However, the Italian and Mexican restaurants make a welcome change; and the Snack Bar provides chips, hotdogs, pizzas and burgers if you are missing the "chippy" at home!

As for the staff, they are second to none. If you find one waiter who you can tip regularly, they will cater to your every need. It is handy to have someone getting your drinks for you with your meal as La Bahia regularly runs out of glasses.

As for the Entertainment Staff - Franklin and 50 pesos made my holiday. When my brother and I first arrived we found it hard to fit in as we were among some of the oldest there. However, Franklin and 50 always coaxed us yo join in and we soon made friends thanks to them!! And, the shows are amazing...I didn't miss one and I still cannot decide upon my favourite!!

All in all, it was an amzing holiday and I would fly back tomorrow if I could. Special thanks to Kerry, our maid Amerlie and to our boys - 50 and Franklin. Would not have been the same without any of you.

Vaminos!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Val & Ken
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed in the Viva Wyndham Tangerine, in Cabarette.

Very clean hotel, rooms excellent, and grounds also very clean and beautiful. The pool was clean and a nice size. You can get a clean towel every day to use on the beach or pool side. The usual problem of getting a lounger, so put your towel out by 8am to get best ones.

Food was very good considering different nationalities and the amout of people to feed. Lots of choice of food at all times, and 24hrs also. The Italian restaurant and the Mexican were excellent. You book beforehand for these restaurants.

Drinks were available 24hrs as well, nice selection, including coffee and english tea.

Good location if you don't want to go out of the hotel and are happy to walk on beach to Cabarette (10 minutes).
One problem is the beach sellers, who want you to look at their jewellery etc. If you speak nicely and say no thank you, they will leave you alone. Never say I will look later, they dont forget, and will be back. If you want to buy from them, they charge a lot, so do haggle them right down to what you want to pay.

Hotel staff were very friendly, and always helpful. Most spoke a certain amount of English. Just say "ola" and smile and they will love you for it.

Entertainment was excellent, again considering the different nationalities. Different show each night for 2 weeks, and then they repeat. Lots of activities during the day if you wish to participate. Only one tennis court (floodlit) booked night before, never had a problem using it. Free coaching if you want it.

I have a delicate stomach, but just watched what I ate and drank, no problems.

Would definately return here again, as it was a clean and happy environment. Very relaxed. If you want sun, sand, sea and lots to eat and drink it is well worth the money. fantastic holiday!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jackie
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine Good location 10 mins walk from Cabratta. 10/10

Hotel was lovely and clean 10/10
Gardens are very well kept 10/10
Staff are really frindly 10/10

Very good location right on the beach you can sit aroud the pool and look our over the sea lovely 10/10

The Mexican restaurent serves up very good hot food 10/10

Italian restaurent not bad 8/10

The main buffet unfortunatly is not very good The food is often luke warm or cold 1/10 For this reason I would not recommend this hotel.

Entertainment staff are very good they come round talking to all the quests and can be very funny.

Need to look out for the men in orange Time share sellers pain in the butt these are located in the hotel.

On beach look out for Tony he sells excursions funny and very friendly guy Make his day nand let him know he is mentioned on this web site.

Overall I give this hotel 6/10

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Sammi
13 years 7 months ago
When arriving at Viva Tangerine we were welcomed into the hotel with fruit cocktails that were given to us by the hotel's smiley friendly staff!

The hotel grounds itself are stunning with beautiful flower gardens, an impressive water display which was home to some turtles! As we went in November the grounds were also brilliantly decorated with Christmas lights and displays.

The hotel also has 1 large and very safe pool, a tennis court and plenty of sun beds.

When you walk into the hotel it really gives you that wow factor. It is spotlessly clean and the reception area had a huge Christmas tree. There is a bar that does a great karaoke evening.

There are 3 restaurants, the buffet, the Mexican and the pizza and salad bar-they make the best pizzas! All 3 restaurants cook fine food, and will cater for everyones taste.

There is also a gym, massage parlour, gift shop,and grocery store.

The room was beautifully decorated- with the bathroom towels rolled into swans, and the toilet tissue fanned out etc! Our room was cleaned and beds made everyday and our fridge was filled with drinks on a daily basis.


The location was lovely as the hotel is on Cabaret beach itself. The beach was stunning with perfectly blue seas and white sand and a 15minute walk across the beach leads you into the town of cabaret.

The staff there are fantastic. I met the nicest people I have ever met. Very friendly, funny and genuine, always smiling and very affectionate.

Entertainment was very impressive. The entertainment staff were extremely talented- especially Ronald who could dance any type of dance! and sing. If you like music and dance, this is the place for you as throughout the day you can have merangah and salsa lessons and after the show in the evening there is a disco room where you can dance till morning, merangah style! (don't worry it cannot be heard from the hotel rooms).

This holiday is a must. I would go there again tomorrow.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Grant And Helen
13 years 8 months ago
We arrived at this hotel at 4pm on a very hot Sunday afternoon, and were promptly dealt with by reception. The hotel was lovely and clean, the staff were brilliant especially Fernando who made us feel very welcome. This was a fantastic holiday and we hopefully will be returning to this resort again soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum