Image of Fun Royale & Fun Tropicale Beach Resort Hotel

Fun Royale & Fun Tropicale Beach Resort Hotel

9 of 13 hotels in Puerto Plata

4 out of 5 from 47 reviews
3 stars
P.O. Box 589 | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
This great value resort offers a wealth of facilities for everyone and a new 24 hour all inclusive concept. With lots of activities by the pool and on the beach, nightly entertainment and a disco on-site, the emphasis is on fun!

47 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fun Royale/tropicale
9 years 11 months ago
On arrival we thought the hotel was very clean, we were taken to our room which was on the Royale side we had interconnecting rooms which were brill cos we had 4 double beds EXCELLENT!! The fridges were stocked every day with 4 cans of beer, 4 bottles of water, 2 bottles of sprite and 2 bottles of coke. The maids worked extremely hard and changed towels and sheets on a daily basis NoTHING was too much for ANY of the staff, if you had a problem they would sort it.
Husband and myself had quite a few bites but we were in a country where you should expect this.

What can i say about the food, BRILLIANT something for everyone, even in the evening when we were drinking at the 24 hour bar they put on burgers, jacket potatoes, salad... etc, what more could anyone ask for. Tip the waiters and they will bring drinks to your table before you have finished the first one BLISS.

All the staff at this resort worked VERY hard, and it is hard to please everyone cos there is always someone who isn't happy.


The entertainment team were quite professional worked very hard in the evenings and we really enjoyed the shows, only downside to a certain few was they asked for money which we found a bit of a cheek (which they probably earnt with taking women out on the town , nudge nudge, wink wink) but overall a very friendly bunch of guys n gals.

would definately visit this hotel again, sooner the better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Carolina
9 years 11 months ago
2nd visit to this hotel, the hotel provides a very good standard of cleaniness, the sheets are changed every couple of days, the towels everyday. The food choice is very good and always hot.

The only slight downside was the boys asking for money this year, which never happened before.. they would plead children to feed etc... invite you out.. but expect you to pay for everything.. so be a little careful ladies....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom

Recommended
Amy
10 years 1 month ago
I love in here the place was azming everything was fine i am going again next year please please go its great
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
When we arrived we were allocated a room on the second floor on the Royale side.

We had interconnecting rooms which were large basic and a bit dated but clean enough.The fridges in both rooms were kept filled every day with 2 coke 2 sprite 4 bottled water and 4 beers.

The bathroom was the most dated and when the room above had a shower it came through the roof in to the bath not a problem though.I thought The buzzing transformer outside would be a problem but after a couple of days you got used to it and never realy noticed it.

The food in the resturant was excellent with loads of choice and things cooked fresh to your choice (pasta, eggs and omlettes).

All the staff are friendly, efficient and helpfull.Especially the bar staff.

The entertainment staff work very hard in the evening with the shows.And the day time entertainers worked really hard, to get everyone involved in the activities, especially Spaghetti and shaggy. Be aware the VIP services guys at the hotel, they are only there to try and sell you time share, just say no, Unless you have an hour to waste.

The weather was disappointing the first 4 days it rained in the morning and in the evening but was fantastic in the afternoon.The next 7 days were lovley all day last 3 were sun,cloud and some light rain but it is their winter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook/sunset

Recommended
McNally
10 years 6 months ago


We get to our resort Fun Royal / Tropical "Beach Resort" ( there's no beach there you need to take a tractor to get to the beach ) .

We are shown to our room The first room # was C337 there was mold in the room , phone didn't work ( buttons on it were jammed like me on the plane) . We called our rep from GTD and he met with us the next day , as well as another family which were also having the same problem as us .

At 2pm we were given our next room the # was C131 this room was worse than the first this one had a leaking ceiling the water was coming from the light fixture ( we do believe it was from the A/C )and dripping into the garbage can in the entrance , there was mold once again in the bathroom as well on my mattress that I didn't notice until later I will get to that in a minute .

The Phone didn't work in this room either .

As I was saying there was mold on the mattress and I found out the hard way because after that night , the next morning I could not see out of my right eye it was swollen shut. I immediately called the Doctor .

He told me to meet with him at the clinic at 10 am it was 8 am when I called him .

Upon seeing the Dr and paying the $125 US bill . I received 1 needle in my butt 2 bottles of eye drops( different drops) and 2 different kinds of pills to take for the remainder of this trip... This was caused by the mold in the bed .

There were many other cases of this reported that I am aware of ( at least 6 confirmed).

Next I contacted our rep From Go Travel again this time and I was loosing patience. Our rep came to the hotel to discuss this and he came and saw the room he was as disgusted as were we .

He said he would look into changing us hotels as this was unacceptable. As we waited to hear back from him we were told by hotel workers that we were not changing hotels but would once again be changing rooms.

Room 3 . This rooms # was 1622 and it is nice it's about time .Monday night day #3 of our Holiday/ Vacation And there is Tropical storm OLGA coming .Once again I know there is nothing that can be done about the weather but I am giving you the whole picture of this wonderful week . So the storm is coming I have been instructed by the doctor. Not to go in the pool nor the Ocean and to rest in my room . until I can see again because the infection has spread to my other eye as well. So the storm comes we have no power or water for 2 days not the whole resort but only 2 blocks ours and the one beside ours . We can't open the windows or balcony door because there is no screens on them and the mosquitoes and sand flies come in . So with no air conditioning no electricity and no water it is hard to take the medication that was prescribed to me because of the infection I incurred in this resort . We asked for at least a candle the first night of the power outage at the front desk they said they would send one up ... well we waited and it never came so we just slept. The next day we went to the front desk and asked for a candle as the power was still not back on and they said they would send one up .My wife refused to leave the lobby until we had a candle , So we waited for 1 hour to get one. That night there was still no Water or Electricity so we called the front desk. At this point we were fed up and just wanted to go home . The person at the front desk said to my wife "We didn't ask for your account and the power and water will come on at sometime".

At this point were not only tired ,Hot sore but now insulted .We try to call our GTD rep ....No Answer had to leave a message. Tried the other # on the paper from GTD and again an answering machine .... Left a message. After 1hr30min I called back and got ahold of the other rep on the GTD paper posted in the lobby about 5 min later our main rep called our room and I informed him of what was going on and what was said to us . Our rep said he would call the hotel and 15 min later the electricity was back on and at 4:40 Am the water was back on ..



So a quick recap

GTD reps didn't know who we were, 3 different rooms , 2 eye infections , 1 needle in Ass , 2 Bottles eye drops, 2 kinds of pills, $125 US DR bill, No water for 2 days , No Electricity for 2 days, can't open the windows no screens, Hot no A/C for 2 days, and now it is time to go home.

We were in the lobby at 2 pm ready to go we waited until 3pm and no one was there to pick us up .so we go to the reception desk and ask. they say oh there's a delay there coming to pick you up at 4:30 pm . This would have been nice to know awhile ago but hey why ruin the streak .

This "RESORT" was not a 3.5*or a 4* it would be hard to even rate it a 2 * I have stayed at Leuperon with GTD and it is a 3.5* and it was great . I stayed at Hotetuer Beach Paradise in Cancun it was a 3.5* it was great I have stayed at allot of 3.5 * hotels and this is pushing the bar at a 2* I would only give it a 2 * because the food was terrific like a 4* but the rest wouldn't even make the 2* .

I have pictures of some of the various problems we have encountered.They are pictures of the mold the leaks and my eyes ...



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Go travel Direct

Katie
11 years ago
First impressions of hotel were good. It was clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. on first arriving it was raining, not a good start to the holiday, but wether was better after second day. Wether very decieving even when overcast, got very burnt!

The food was ok but a bit repetitive after the first week. We visited the Italian and the Brazilian, both of which were very nice, would definitly recommend. Bar on beach has very nice food also, makes a change from pizzeria.

Rooms were quite basic but clean all the same. The air conditioning was handy to have, although a little noisey. Rooms were cleaned as and when requested, always to a high standard. Maids especially helpful, when we left clothes on the balcony to dry off it began to rain. The maids moved the clothes inside and folded them onto our bed.

Hotel was a little out of the way, although very close to the beach ( 10 min walk). there is a tractor which leaves the hotel every 10 mins taking you to and from the beach, which was handy when the wether was very hot!

There is a shop on site, but be warned its very expensive. If you buy things from the shop make sure you pay in peso's as they will guess price if in dollars (usually more expensive)

The staff were very friendly and always smiling, even when it was raining they still got peaple motivated. We had a nice relaxing holiday but there wasnt much to do in the evening unless we left the site. If you are looking to go on any excursions, we would highly recommend Ocean world. We went to the Casino there one night and also to do the Dolphin encounter during the day.

overall the holiday was good there have been a few bad reviews about the hotel on some sites but we thought it was a great place for the money we paid. the only downside is getting biten at night. think it was deffo something to do with bugs in room. would go there again
hope you enjoy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
When we arrived we were a little unsure about the hotel, but staff were helpful. Bell boy took our luggage and we were in the Royale side in connecting rooms.

Clean but need a face lift, showers were very powerful and we always ahd hot water. The grounds were well maintained, peacocks and little black birds everywhere, our four year old named the peacocks that were outside our rooms and she spoke to them every morning.

The food was ok but same as any AI it gets a bit samey during the fortnight, I had sausage and egg rolls every morning.

The hotel was in a decent location but there isnt much out and about anyway.

Hotel animation team were brilliant we enjoyed every show they all work really hard and try to get you to join in, my 15 year old son played the main male part in Pocahontis (excuse spelling). pool side games were a good laugh.

Spaghetti was a brilliant lad worked really hard.

We had 10 days out of 14 that rained and when it came it was torrential thunder and lightening played a part as well so it ruined our holiday a bit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Anom
11 years 2 months ago
Just got back from a two week stay. Before going we read several bad reviews so were a bit concerned and didn't know what to expect.

We booked with first choice and took the opportunity to upgrade our seats to star class premier. This is a great way to start your holiday as you get a priority check in, loads of leg room, goodie bags on the plane, a bigger TV with more movies, fantastic food and plenty of free drinks. We also received a tub of ice cream to enjoy with our movies as well as a complimentary OK magazine on the way out and a Daily Mail on the way back.

On arrival we were told our rooms were not quite ready but were given our all inclusive wristbands so were able to go get a drink after the 9 hour flight. The rooms were basic and in need of updating but were clean and had everything you needed after all it was just a place for sleeping and changing! we did have a problem with a lack of hot water on arrival but after reporting this to reception it was dealt with promptly and was not a problem for the rest of the holiday. Many of the reviews we read complained about the rooms but after going out of the resort and experiencing the real Dominican republic ,where the local people live in corrugated shacks with no windows and only have electricity at certain times of the day our rooms seemed like luxury!

The Dominican is a third world country and the hotels 3 star rating and the price you pay to stay in the Dominican is a reflection of this. Our sheets and towels in our room were changed daily and we were supplied with purified water everyday. The TV remotes can be rented from reception for $20 US which you get back on check out but if you like you can just manually change the channels like we did.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and did everything they could to ensure you had a good stay although some of them did suffer from manana syndrome when asked to do something but if you remind them nicely they will promptly do it.

Reviews about the entertainment staff being a bit over the top are subjective. The main pool is ideal for families or those who want to join in with the entertainment and the activities provided. If like us you wanted a quiet relaxing break then the adult only pool is the perfect place as it is near the bar and main buffet area and remains quiet and tranquil throughout the day.

The hotel ground staff were always busy washing all the tables and chairs around the pools and washing down the paths. The hotel grounds were well maintained and cleaned frequently throughout our stay.

With myself being a vegetarian and quite a picky eater I was spoilt for choice at the main buffet. The food was fresh and there was something for everyone.

The Italian restaurant was a nice change and definitely worth a visit although seating is limited and you do need to book at around 7am to secure a place for that evening. The pizza bar was amazing and the chef is always willing to make a pizza of your choice if you ask nicely.

There was a wide range of drinks available and although people have moaned about having to drink out of plastic cups this is for your own safety as the bars are based around the pool areas. However when eating in the buffet or restaurants you do get glasses.


Sand fleas can be a problem and on our first night we were bitten while in our rooms, However we went to our first choice rep and he had our rooms fumigated immediately. The rooms are fumigated once a week as a precaution to try eliminate this problem. Sand fleas are only a problem if guests go to the beach and do not shower before leaving the beach or take the towel from the beach back to the room. This is why the hotel provides towels which can be exchanged on return from the beach.

If you want a good night out of the hotel then a visit to the American casino (at the playa dora) is well worth it and you get free drinks while there which is a bonus. We had great fun on the slot machines for hours as a $0.25 US gives you 5 goes on most machines.

Also the VIP lounge at the airport is well worth the $10 US. You can book this in advance through your rep, the $10 gives unlimited soft drinks, 4 alcoholic drinks, sandwiches, crisps. The VIP lounge is also air conditioned so provides a perfect place to spend your last few hours in the Dominican.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and came home feeling nice and relaxed. If it is UK 5star standards then the Dominican may not be for you. But if your open minded and take into account the country your visiting i'm sure you'll have a good break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
William Lloyd
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel was very clean and kept clean, but the rooms were dated and where in the need of a complete revamp.

I suffer from a disease called coeliac so I must have a wheat and gluten free diet. Through the help of the Thomas cook rep who translated for me the restaurant staff and the chefs and waiters all made sure all the food I ate was wheat and gluten free they could not do enough for me and I and my friends where made to feel very special. So anyone suffering from coeliacs this hotel does its self proud

The entertainment was good for and quite professional although some nights where better than others all down to taste
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Tracey Dave And The Boys
11 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Royale side of the resort-when we first arrived we were booked into the Tropicale side which is rated at a 3 1/2 star but we wouldnt personally rate it as high-the room was in dire need of a revamp and the bed settees were either broken or the mattress were very thin.

We had the same problems with hot water as everybody seemed to have but this is the Dominican and the system is not that capable as ours!!!We discussed our concerns with reception who agreed to move us to the other side which was a completly different story-rooms were clean and well decorated.

The food was fabulous-even my husband who is a fussy eater enjoyed the choice! It was just too hot to feel too hungry most of the time!Kids loved the pancakes and donuts for breakfast and the made to order omlettes are to die for!
Waiters and waitresses always there to help,especially Jose.

The Indian was reported to be great and worth a visit but we were unable to sample it as men need long trousers to enter!!! Unfortunatly none of the men in our party took long trousers.

Entertainment was fab too-animation team worked long hours but were always happy and friendly-spegetti was everybodies favourite!

The grounds were immaculate,always staff there sweeping and tidying grounds-the peacocks and cats that roam the grounds werent a problem!The tractor to the beach was always available and the beach was great-coral wasnt a problem!The beach bar and food was fab too!

I would definatly return to this hotel as longs as it was on the Royale side!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Holiday Truths Forum