Image of Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort

Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Resort

6 of 7 hotels in Ocho Rios

4 out of 5 from 6 reviews
5 stars
Ocho Rios, Jamaica

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Diane Chadwick
Overpriced not as marketed not a good luxury choice
5 years 3 months ago
Totally not as advertised in the glossy brochure sandals send out. The room entrance in need of paint, not a good first impression.

Beach over a busy road that you had to get in a buggy to get there same with the restaurants which you then had to wait 50 mins to get a table.
The pool we had was noisy as workmen were constantly mowing etc. The so called branded drinks were only given out if you asked for them.

All in all not value for money a complete rip off, we would not book another sandals holiday ever again. There are plenty more luxury resorts to choose for a lot lot less money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sandals

KATHY
11 years 4 months ago
Travelled to Grande Ocho Rios in October 2006 on an all inclusive basis.

The holiday itself was good, but the travel home ruined our experience, first of all we arrived at airport and our flight had problems, after 3-4 hours of waiting with no information we were all taken to a corridor No seat, No air con, No water, here we stood for a few couple of hours, for me and my boyfriend it was ok but did feel sorry for the small children and pregnant mothers. After another few hours we were told our flight had been cancelled and then take to different part of the airport absolute chaos!! There our luggage was dumped outside the airport and no one even went through customs (MADNESS). All the passengers were all taken to a hotel for over night accommodation. We left our hotel at 11am this was now 11.30pm and no one had even offered us a drink of water. We lined up for another couple of hours to get a room. Finally in our room at 02.30am to be told we must be at reception at 08.00am. The next mooring a storm had hit and we were water logged in, we finally took off at 2pm and ever- one was in a BAD mood. Back to hotel:

I would go back but would probably try a different hotel, the hotel was good and food was the best ever but I did feel a little over priced. It did rain for 6 days of our stay but the staff especially Karl made our stay more enjoyable- yeh mon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: KENWOOD TRAVEL

Recommended
Jeanette Brodie
12 years 1 month ago
We arrived on the Sunday for seven nights and we had to complain about torn bedding and washed out hard blankets. On Tuesday we had no hot water in the sink or the shower and it took three complaints before they came to look at it. It could not be fixed. They offered us the use of another room sixty metres away as a shower room but would not move us to another room or give us the key for the one that we had to use. This meant a 15 minute trip every time we wanted to us the toilet facilities. Eventually at 9pm they found us a room over the beach bar. Very noisy. The plumbing problem was not much different there but at least the water was tepid. Lots of complaints about this. Two seperate parties who had been before said they would not return. They felt that it had gone down hill since their last visits, before the upgrade.

I tried to find out the problem. There are two towers containing all the rooms The North tower and the South Tower. Apparently the North tower had the same problems before Xmas but they were able to fix it but since December the South tower has had serious issues with water supply etc The heat exchanger has packed up and the hot water is almost non existant. Every time someone complains they act surprised and by the time the guests go home another set of guests inherit the problem.

One other issue is the misleading statement about a casino and a jacuzzi. Neither of these things exist. There is a row of one armed bandits in a corridor six feet wide. When these machines are being used the passageway to a corridor of rooms is restricted. The jacuzzi is under construction and on the 29th of January 2006 I was told that it will a good while before it is built.

The food is satisfactory and there are three places where you can book if you want away from the buffet style meal for a change. A chinese, an Italian and a Caribbean restaurant.

The staff were very attentive and courtous and there are fresh towels everyday.

Overall this hotel does not deserve the five star rating that Airtours have given it.

I have sent a report about the serious plumbing issue through my travel agent to Airtours along with a picture of the torn bedding.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
FLIGHTS. We travelled with First Choice whom I have to say we wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
Stayed at SGOR (Now known as Sandals Grande Ocho Rios)for two weeks arrived 26/12/2005.

The hotel is in two parts, the Riveira side (Beach side) and the Manor side. All guests check-in on the Manor side and then transferred to Riveira side by coach, or if you're staying at the Manor, by golf buggy to your rooms. Our room was upgraded from a "Bamboo Grove Deluxe Room" (Riveira side) to a Villa (Manor side) (Villas are four one bedroom apartments, with small kitchen and lounge, they all share a small pool). Villas are "dotted" around the grounds of the Manor side of SGOR which are very pleasant surroundings.

You will continually see cleaning staff around the hotel, the rooms were immaculate and the fridge always stocked well (soft drinks, no beer).

There are about 9 or so restaurants for you to enjoy (they are not all open every night - on themed evenings they close some restaurants in order to utilise the staff elsewhere).

Orchids (Asian style food on the Manor side) and Valentinios (Italian on the Riveira side) are very popular and can be difficult to get to eat in due to the fact they don't take bookings, but they will "waitlist" you for the night, with normally a 45 minute wait. Orchids, not that great on taste side but quality of food is good, Valentinos is good, however, there is another Italian restuarant, also on the Riveira side called San Gerranos which is just as good, and no waitlist (the menu is pretty much identical - the only real difference is San Gerranos guys can wear shorts, Valentinos, has to be long trousers and closed in shoes!)

All resturants have a small but nicely selected menu and good quality menu. My only complaint would be that I would have liked more Caribbean food and less "American" food.

The staff cannot be faulted, they work very hard and I found them to be charming and pleasant. Also delighted that you have chosen Jamaica to visit as a holiday destination.

There was nightly entertainment not forgetting the daily activities ongoing every day. However, we're not the kind of people that wish to be "entertained" so can't really comment on the standard, however, the "playmaker" staff I did see were always enthusiastic and charming (not overly pushy) so I'm sure the entertainment was entertaining.

We like to try different countries, so would probably not book this hotel/resort again, however, if I found a real bargain, I wouldn't turn my nose up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: British Airways

Recommended
Beetle
12 years 3 months ago
Clean but shabby and in need of major rebuilding.

Nice food if you don't mind queueing to get it.

Location OK, nothing special

Staff wonderful unless you have to complain to the managers then they suddenly become deaf and don't understand you.

Entertainment lousy, unless you like "beer Chugging" contests.

We will never visit any Sandals resort again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum