Image of Elia Latchi Holiday Village Hotel

Elia Latchi Holiday Village Hotel

3 of 3 hotels in Latchi

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Latchi, Poli Crysochous, Cyprus
This attractive complex is situated a short walk away from the sand and pebble beach, and a few minutes away from Latchi fishing harbour. It is an ideal destination for families as there are numerous activities and a supervised children's club.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jacqueline Tull
8 years 10 months ago
We had never been to Cyrpus before so had no idea on what we could expect. On arrival at Elia we were taken quickly to our accomdation which we found to be very clean and comfortable. We arrived late so next morning we were pleasantly surprised by the location and picturesque views. The village is very wel landscaped and cared for immaculatly. It was a little oasis with palm trees etc all around. The three pools were clean and tidy at all times. We used the Fontana pool mostly as it was quiter. The buffet food was very very good, Diffenately enough choise for everyone, and plently of it. We would love to return. Not something we have wanted to do before.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Squires
9 years 2 months ago
The hotel is set in glorious grounds with 3 pools one of which is quiet for the more relaxing type.
Whilst we were there the quiet pool bar was not open but you can get drinks from the other bar a couple of minuets away. All the staff were helpful and we were shown to the room almost straight away. I can say that the room o.k but agree with others that it could do with a facelift and cleaned to a little higher standard. There was a t.v in the room,fridge,cooker, air con.
The view from the room was nice as well.
The onsite facilities are pretty good, tennis courts,shop,indoor pool,crazy golf,internet access.
There are only a few shops and restaurants in Latchi so if you want to go shopping then catch the bus to Polis or paphos (be warned,it is expensive).
The food was not bad whilst we were there but i couldn't stand two weeks of it.
In my view if you go to Elia Latchi don't expect 5 star luxury, one week is perfect for a relaxing holiday.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
C Clark
11 years 1 month ago
We had a very enjoyable holiday here. The reception staff were very helpful. The room we stayed in was in need of updating, it was cleaned every day but it was a bit shabby. The entertainment staff were lovely, a really nice bunch, they were ecspecially good with the children.
The food was all right, but there are so many nice restaraunts in Latchi that it seems a shame to eat at the hotel every night. We ate at 'Perialli' (a place we found 17 years ago), the food there is superb. We would certainly go here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
We booked with Fist Choice for a week in this hotel full board. Never again !!

The food [breakfast aside] was just repetative, tasteless, and most of the time cold! We ate out for most of our holiday in various restaurants on the harbour where the food was just wonderful and not very expensive where we met many English people eating out, as we were. The food at the hotel made a great topic of conversation!

The entertainment was for us anyway, juvenile and finished promptly as did the all inclusve drinks not much after 11!

The towels we were given were old threadbare and yellow [when we had any, as they changed them and did not replace them]

We complained to First Choice at the time and in all fairness the ban marie was fixed and the food was at least warm ! The sweets were very good and we at least had these when we did dine in the hotel.

On our return we were sent an email from First Choice basicaly telling us that they cater for all tastes at this hotel [we found it lent towards mainly Germans] and hard luck !!!

Which made me think that when we booked to go abroad again First Choice would not be considered.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

12 years ago

The accommodation: We had the worst flight times ever so we didn't arrive until 5am and we put the children in bed and went straight to sleep ourselves. But on waking we look around our room and we was very pleased it was clean and spacious ( we had a large studio ). The main bedroom was divided off of the lounge/kitchen ( which had 2 sofa beds in ) and the bathroom was big enough for us - you only shower and wash etc so small bathrooms are never an issue for us.

The pools: We were overlooking the smaller pool ( my only warning about the Fontana pool is that it is incredibly deep not suitable for smaller children who can't swim ). It was the less busy out of the 2 but we liked it in the midday as it was more shady but it did attract more mossies. We had a real problem with getting sunbeds around the main pool as towels were being left out all night, a notice was put up the day before we left but absolutely nobody took any notice but in the Elias defence they did turn the sprinklers on full blast that morning and drench everyones towels, but I would assume that the problem is still there but hey I've never been anywhere where they've been able to solve this. The main pool is great and this is where all the sports take place but like I said before the sun is all punishing and it was a welcome relief to go the the shady pool for an hour or two midday.

The food: The food was absolutely delicious and there was always plenty of it ( we went all inc. ). The only downside is that it was a little repetative and sometimes there wasn't a sign telling you what it was but the staff were always there to ask. We ate an incredible amount and was always back for seconds. Another little quibble is that once in a while at lunchtime I would have liked a sandwich instead of a hot meal but that is just my personal opinion. The puddings were always amazing - sticky cakes - creme caramels & greek yoghurt and honey - fantastic.

The entertainment: This had to be the worst bit about the holiday it was absolutely appalling. The entertainment manager was quite obviously misinformed about what the English find funny. The manager and the girls from the team were doing sketches that involved the manager in all sorts of weird dress one that showed off all his bits! In one of the sketches it was simulated that one of the girls was holding his bits while weeing another involving corpses and another breast feeding a doll. Now I am no prude by any stretch of the imagination but it was more adult entertainment than family and I felt that with my children sitting on chairs in front of the stage it just wasn't on. I complained to my rep and she told the complex manager who asked to see me personally so I went along ( with 2 other english families who thought the same ) and had a meeting with my rep, the resort manager & the entertainment manager. The entertainment manager wasn't at all interested and just said that they were all old english sketches from 50 years ago but the resort manager was great and asked him to try a few new things for the time we were there and that he would get feedback and take things from there. Well what can I say the evenings were great from then on with more music and dancing etc. Don't write all the entertainment off the quizzes and kids show etc were great fun it's just the so called comedy it was unbelievable.

The area: We have never been to Cyprus before and I was so up for having a good look round at the island but Latchi quite far away from anywhere and a car is essential if you want to go out and see anything. But the resort was so ideal for us it didn't cause a problem and we will just try somewhere a little more central next time we visit.


We had an absolutely fantastic time at the Elia Latchi and would go back again for a relaxing family holiday but another quibble is that in the First Choice brochure it doesn't mention that it is hilly. The walk up to the main pool and restaurant is a killer especially in the heat!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Thomson
12 years 3 months ago
Arrived late evening welcomed by friendly staff.

Acquired apartments well presented and on the surface quite clean.

First 3 days food well presented and good variety. After this no selection for children.

Soon found holiday village lacking in many areas as we had three teenage children. Very little to do during the day let alone the evening. Most entertainment provided was orientated around our German counterparts of which there was many.

2 x boys with us and only 1 football match arranged at 3 o'clock in afternoon both returned from match due to the heat.

Staff fairly pleasant in the morning no problems. Afternoon especially bar area very unhelpful and arrogant regarding supply of snack food.

Had to hire a car to travel to other areas of Cyprus nothing to do outside of complex.

Big warning!! Our stay was pleasant enough with very pleasing views of the ocean, but don't look in the rooms to carefully 3 x tarantula spiders found on our stay as of every other family that we spoke too.

We as a family would not visit this village again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Chris
14 years ago
We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning and were met by a friendly helpful member of staff, which after a long day was much appreciated.

We had booked a one bedroomed masionette but were put in a first floor apartment, these are slightly smaller. I did speak with the manager on the first morning who willingly showed me some available masionette's. But because our room was in an excellent position we stayed put with the added benefit of free air conditioning (this must be paid for in resort).

The rooms were fairly basic but ok, they were cleaned every day and done well, we were due new towels twice during week but asked for an extra change and got this with no problem.

I have to say that the majority of staff were not friendly at all, with some in the bar area almost hostile.

The evening entertainment was dire and apart from bingo! Most certainly not for the family. It was very strange and almost surreal. Have a drink, play a game of bingo or join in the music quiz (mostly Abba!) and then give the rest a miss.

Overall it was a good family hotel, with excellent swimming pool area's and sports facilities.

I would probably go there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Chris Hadley
14 years 1 month ago
Although we stayed self catering you can go half board or all inclusive. The meals tend to fairly standard buffet style however and not particularly good value if compared to eating out in Latchi or Polis.

Elia is a good family hotel for those who want to avoid the crowds down in Paphos. Don't expect 100% English speaking here however - it is a mix of Brits, Germans and Dutch. Facilities are excellent and rooms also good. Childrens club works overtime for those who wish to attend.

This is our fourth time at the hotel and we'd certainly recommend it to those who are looking for a little bit of the real Cyprus. Hiring a car is useful alhtough you can get a bus to nearby Polis (5 mins) and Paphos (45 mins)

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cyprair

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum