Image of Three Corners Ocean View Hotel

Three Corners Ocean View Hotel

1 of 6 hotels in El Gouna

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
ABU TEIG MARINA, HURGHADA, EGYPT, EL GOUNA

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jade
Awful food!
7 years 2 months ago
To start with the bad news all 4 of our party along with numerous other guests went down with stomach upsets during our holiday. The food was despicable. The dining room was like a large canteen with no privacy and tables close together.

On the hand the staff were first rate, the location central and near the marina. The live music every night on the terrace was relaxed sand low keys.

The rooms were average but cleaned to a high standard. The Ocean View in opinion was only worth a 3 star rating and came nowhere near other 4 star hotels we have stopped at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda
7 years 4 months ago
We arrived at this hotel after a week of early starts on a Nile cruise, so we were ready to relax. We had no complaints about the room (some guests were disappointed because they didn't get a sea view, but we had requested and got one). I think the rooms without a sea view did not have a balcony.

We found the food plentiful and varied enough. Some was cooked freshly (and you needed to queue up for it), other stuff was buffet style. We were all-inclusive, so had no complaints about the price of the drinks.

There were two pools, which did did not get over-crowded when we were there because it was off-peak. There was a daily animation programmed of boccia, water polo, yoga/pilates, tours around the resort etc. In the evening there was a solo singer/guitarist who didn't seem to know the words to the songs he was singing. He was so bad he was funny! There was also an evening program of quizzes, shows and karaoke. It was easy enough to avoid all of this and enjoy a quiet drink instead. The drinks in the late-night bar were part of the all-inclusive until midnight.

The only down-side to the hotel was the lack of beach. You could access a roped-off bit of the Red Sea from the hotel but were not allowed to swim beyond the ropes. The hotel has a beach on the outskirts of El Gouna, accessible by bus or tok tok, but it was awful red 'builders sand' that stains your clothes, it was very windy and exposed, and still had bits of rock and rubble when we visited. It was quite a walk out to the sea, uncomfortable under feet, and unpleasantly slimy/sludgy when you get to the water. We got the first bus back. There is a nicer beach by the marina that you can use if you buy drinks at the bar that owns it.

The staff at the hotel were fab and took any complaint or problem very seriously. Not the best hotel for kids though - I think the other Three Corners hotel has a proper beach attached to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jack
8 years 5 months ago
hotel was excellent,anybody complaining obout this will never be satisfied. hotel & grounds were kept spotless, its in a great location overlooking the marina.they had party nights twice a week around the marina with artists on. the animation team were the best we have come across, really professional in there approach to entertain.the hotel staff were very friendly and always ready to help you, and if you had a complaint they did there best to sort it out.we were so pleased with this hotel we are going back again this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Andy B
8 years 11 months ago
When we arrived at the hotel we were quite impressed with the location and the frontal area.
The reception staff were very aggresive in processing the coach load of travellers and seemed to efficient.
When we arrived at our room it was bisic and met all our needs apartf rom we had to look onto the front courtyard of the hotel.
The pool was nice but quiet and the sun dissapeared by 2pm behind the hotel. The beach was a good 5-10 bus drive and this was through a building site.
Being on a marina the location was quite nice however the local drinks and items were very expensive, even after bartering. We found the parties around the marina very loud and we couldn't join in beacuse we didn't own a million pound boat. There was even a party in the pool area which we not aloud to attend which kept everybody awake until 5am.
Food wise, there was some selection but after being on over 30 all inclusive holidays this was the worst food I had been presented with. Kids would not be at home here.
Entertainment....Mmmm, what entertainment - I will say no more. Peanuts bar was the only lively place without having to go into the marina and paying over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jayne & Graham
10 years 1 month ago
Overall the hotel was a in a dream location with lots of wonderful views. The down side to the holiday was that the staff themselves were not very helpful unless you tipped or were female parties.

The security around the hotel and resort were second to none and we felt very secure while walking within the resort. We didn't venture out of the resort so can't comment on anything other than where we stayed.

The first room we were allocated was within the second block and this was extremely big but we asked to be moved due to the noise in the evening at the pool bar (later finding out that this was a celebration for a Miss Belgium contest) to the main block where the main reception is - we were allocated another room but much smaller.

The pool facilities around both pools are beautiful and the beach facilities are great too (although now a bus ride rather than the boat ride as it states in the brochure).

They were promoting their 20 years of Three Corners business and asked for anyone celebrating a 20th birthday or anniversary to let them know & they would be treated to a meal with the Manager. As we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary we did mention this to our rep but were asked to 'prove it'! We also mentioned it to the customer relations team & they said they would arrange something - this never came.

As for our Direct Holidays rep - he was only interested in talking to people who wanted to purchase trips from him & after the arrival meeting where we didn't buy any trips he never acknowledged us apart from the room change request, us asking about the 20th anniversary & telling us about our flight times home - although we passed him on a number of occasions.

The music around the terrace in the evening was delightful, peanuts bar was a little more lively but the entertainment in the second block wasn't much to talk about at all & there are no drinks/bar facilities around this entertainment area.

Overall a great stay but wasn't as perfect as we were expecting....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We thought the hotel was very clean throughout, with the staff constantly cleaning and tidying.

Our room was in the Du Soleis block with a lovely view over the Red Sea and the lagoon. Everything was within a five minute walk, except the beach which was a ten minute ride in the hotel's shuttle bus which ran regularly.

The staff were helpful and friendly all the time and couldn't do enough for you. They were always cheerful and polite.

Of the entertainment we saw, there was a guy singing to recorded backing music on the terrace (he was not too bad). Down at the other block (Du Port) there was a nightly show. We peeped in a couple of times, but were not impressed by what was on offer.

Despite the positive comments above however, no we wouldn't visit this hotel again. The resort was too quiet for us (not enough to see or do).

We were on a AI basis for the first time which we now know isn't for us. This is because we found the food and drink at the hotel was not up to the standard of the hotel generally,in fact it was quite awful. Breakfast wasn't too bad, but lunch and dinner were a mishmash of choices that didn't sit together to make a meal and were poorly, and unappertisingly presented. Plus, if you went to eat even slightly after the start of each sitting, many of the choices of dishes had gone and what was left was lukewarm or cold and looked like pig swill. Every day the restaurant had a theme for dinner, i.e. Italian, Oriental, International etc..., but this made no difference. We are not fussy eaters, but did find this meant we ate a lot of the same choices (salad), and didn't have a proper meal during our entire stay.

The beer, tea, and coffee were ok, but the soft drinks were warm and flat, and the wine was simply foul!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Pam Moore
10 years 9 months ago
My husband and I found the Three Corners Ocean View to be excellent, the food was great, in particular the vast array of salads available for lunch and dinner, as well as all the hot dishes to choose from.

Also, the hotel provided bottled mineral water as and when you wanted it. We've travelled all over the world and considered the staff to be some of the most helpful, cheerful and just downright nice people we have ever met, nothing was too much trouble.

We left feeling we really wanted to return next year as even though Ocean View didn't have a beach actually at the hotel - there was a beach which could be reached by frequent shuttle bus, the pool areas and sand deck were well equipped with comfortable sun beds and we could enjoy peace and quiet or join in with the activities, as we wished.

We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Red Sea and the lagoons, and the view was magnificent. The sea really does go a pinky red at sunset.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Longwood

Recommended
Elaine
11 years ago
We really enjoyed the hotel as all the staff were friendly and just couldn't do enough to help. It was spotlessly clean and we saw them change the water coolers for real mineral water so we knew it was safe to drink. Our room was magnificent with probably the best view in the hotel. If we were to go again I would check that we had this room or at least one on the sunny side of the building - most of those overlooking the marina don't get any sunshine.

The food in the main reataurant was great the only down side being that it could feel a bit like school dinners - when it was busy you sometimes had to queue. We ate in one of their other restaurants and it was well worth the extra- you do get 30 Egyptian pounds credit each if on full board (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: GreatLateDeals

Recommended
Lisa Muldoon
11 years ago
My husband and I stayed at this hotel in November 06 and again in May 07. The hotel is spotless and the staff are fantastic. We found the buffet food to be of a very good standard and you can also use various other restaurants around El Gouna for a small supplement. There are 2 sections to the hotel and both have their own restaurants and pools but you are not restricted to stay in your own block. One pool is surrounded by glass so that you don't feel the breeze and the other one is quite windy.

There is a bar attached to the hotel called Peanuts which is very good. There is also a lobby bar and 2 pool bars. The enclosed pool bar is open in the evenings. All your drinks are AI (some of the cocktails are not AI).

The only downside to this hotel is that there is no beach whatsoever. There is a small decked area with steps into the water but you only have a limited area due to passing boats.

If you are not a beach person you will love it here. Value for money is fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sue And Mark
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel was in a fabulous position, with lovely views of the Red Sea.

Its not like the real Egypt though as it is a purpose built tourist resort. The only downside was although the hotel had a small private beach, you weren't allowed to swim from it as there were boats from the marina going past all the time.

You had to get a boat over to the real beach (which was only about 20 meters away!) The two pools were lovely though. The rooms were spacious and clean and we loved the way the cleaners created us a different creature each day with our towels!

The food was good, but a bit repetative. We didn't really bother much with the entertainment, although it seemed OK.

The staff were there if you wanted them (bit slow on drinks though) but didn't hassle you at all for tips.

The sunbed guys were great and if you gave them a small tip they would happily reserve your sunbeds for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in El Gouna