Image of Swisscare Nuweiba Resort Hotel

Swisscare Nuweiba Resort Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Nuweiba

5 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Doreen
7 years 11 months ago
I have stayed at this hotel 9/10 times and in my opinion it has really gone downhill.

This time I travelled by myself but have been both as a family and a solo traveller.

The Room.


I had one of the "refurbished rooms", Well.......in the bathroom, you couldn't have a shower or a bath, you had to have both as the water came out of both the shower head and the tap.........either freezing cold or boiling hot !

The other bathroom had no water whatsoever coming from the hot tap in the sink, the hairdryer didn't work and the same problem with the shower and bath.

The first day I was there we had a sandstorm and i had to wedge a chair underneath the balcony door, as it kept blowing open all the time.


The worst of all.


I left for a day trip to Jerusalem at 2.30am and didn't return intil 11.40pm only to find out that someone had been in my room [ who must have known it was empty ] and had taken $600 from a locked safe, in a locked room plus loose change and a mobile phone from my bag in the bedroom.............when I returned home realised they had taken a carton of cigarettes as well.

What disgusted me most af all was the attitude of the owner..............He didn't want to know and in fact if it wasn't for Ashraf on reception, another couple that I had met Thanks Sue & Chris , and Sarah and Dan from African Divers I don't know what I would have done . I just hope that no-one ever has to rely on the owner for anything .

If this is how your're treated when you've visited the hotel so many times............I dread to think what would have happened had I been a first time guest.

Never again will we visit this hotel but will definately be returning to Nuweiba.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

9 years 1 month ago
Our fourth visit to this little gem of a hotel in Nuweiba. Greeted like royalty as usual, even though the hotel was completely full and we arrived at 4.30 in the morning!!!

So nice to see the hotel so well patronised, but despite the staff being so busy, our first mornings breakfast was served by the pool. We were just asked if we would like our normal order, which then appeared every morning for the rest of our two week stay.

Securing our "preferred" sun shelter, in close proximity to the beach bar, was not a problem, even though there was a good smattering of german, swiss and italian guests staying.

Food wise, the hotel improves every time we stay. The home-made bread was quite delicious, portions had been reduced in size from "enormous" to "normal" and a reasonable interlude between courses was given. Lunchtime snacks on the beach were delivered far more quickly than on previous occasions, with no lack of quality. All the staff, some of whom we were well aquainted with, did their normal "sterling" service, with the "kingpin" for us being "Little Willy" who seemed to appear, as if by magic, whenever we required anything.

We pushed the boat out this time by visiting Petra in Jordan on an excursion organised by Longwoods. I cannot recommend this trip too much, it was fantastic, although a long and tiring day. The organisation of the trip and the utter friendliness of the jordanian people, made it a day to remember. I must admit though, as we picked up guests from some of the 5 star "plastic palaces" in Taba Heights, I was so glad that we choose to stay at Swisscare!

It seems that Swisscare is becoming a bit of a diving "hotspot", now that African divers are actually based on site. The amount of young kids getting their first diving experience with the very sympathetic owners was a joy to behold.

I've said it before, but, if you want arranged entertainment, exhorbitant drink prices and lots of expensive shops, the Swisscare is not for you. If you want a "holiday" from the ratrace and just to chill out completely, then do give this place a try. Just tell Alvin, the resident owner what you need and he will go out of his way to arrange it for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independently

Recommended
Baker
9 years 8 months ago
Brilliant hotel for a quiet beach/pool holiday. Nothing is too much trouble. Alvin, Big Willy, Little Willy & co will do anything to make your stay a memorable one...

Booked independently over the internet, and arranged our flights from UK; and would use this route in future.

Flew to Sharm - a long journey - and would try to fly to Taba in future. Met at airport by one of Alvin's staff, who ensured we had chilled drinks for the journey to Nuweiba.

No on site entertainment - but that's what we liked!

Many people staying in the hotel had been before. Have every intention of returning to Swisscare.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked independently

Recommended
Doreen ,Jim & Jack
10 years 1 month ago
Just returned from another visit to Swisscare.
We were met at the airport by Big Willy and treated like long lost friends which was lovely.

On arrival Alvin was there to greet us, as he is with all his guests. The staff all remembered us and made a point of finding us to welcome us back. They even remembered what we had to drink with breakfast!

The hotel was busier than when we visited last time but still maintained the personal touches and nothing was too much trouble for anyone!

The food was as excellent as usual, very fresh and cooked to order. Everything is served piping hot and the salads are always freshly prepared.

The suites are cleaned and maintained to a very high standard and extremely spacious.

The beach is a haven of peace and tranquility, where you can just relax and take in the beautiful views-----------with the odd camel wandering by!

To be able to swim in the immaculate pool early in the morning with only a few birds to keep you company makes a perfect start to the day!

Excursions are easily available but unlike other hotels, you don't feel under pressure to go on any---You can do as much as you like or as less as you like!

All in all one wonderful, relaxing break spent at Swisscare!!!

Thanks to Alvin, Big Willy, Little Willy and all the staff

See you again soon

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independantly

Recommended
Doreen,Jim,Jack
10 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from a wonderful holiday at this superb hotel,set on an idyllic beach.
Totally chill and relaxing in every aspect.

From the minute you arrive Alvin [ The owner] and his BRILLIANT staff can't do enough for you. The service you receive is beyond any that we have previously experienced.

The rooms are HUGE-in fact you have two-each with their own balcony, bathroom, television. They are maintained to an extremely high standard and kept immaculate.
All have VIEWS to die for!
Another really nice touch is that while you are having dinner,they have a turn down service which we haven't experienced at any other hotel.

The meals are SUPERB, all freshly prepared and cooked to order. The ingredients are always fresh and that is very noticeable in the quality of the food.
They can be eaten in a location of your choice, either in the restaurant or your room, by the pool or even on the beach.
All are VERY reasonably priced.

Beach towels are provided-----aand as soon as staff see you walking to the beach or pool, they are laid out on the comfortable loungers for you!

This hotel ia real GEM !!
Wonderful food, Great location, The Best staff ever and an owner that really cares about his guests and their holiday.

We have already booked to return later in the year!!!!

All in all an Unique Hotel, with Service, Food, and Cleanliness--------all to the Highest standard.

Truly a real find!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Phyll And Family
10 years 3 months ago
We only stayed for one night but the hotel made such an impact on us that we felt it was longer
The immediate sense is of total peace and calm,the reception area is simple and very tasteful.
The welcome is amazing but not overwhelming, so you feel at ease immediately.
The suites are very nicely thought out,large bedroom with en suite,large lounge/bedroom with an en suite, both rooms have a balcony from which you can see the sea.
Food absolutely first class, including the food on the beach which is served by such lovely people.
The pool is gorgeous, spotless and with a lovely breakfast area, plenty of beds with nice slatted overhead shading which diffuses the heat very well.
I cannot wait to return to this hotel as i have never experienced such peace, and the very personal attention to ones wellbeing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independently

Recommended
MarkJ HT Mod
10 years 4 months ago
We just returned from a fabulous one week's stay at the Swisscare in Nuweiba.

ROOM
----
The suite consisted out of two air conditioned en suite rooms and are nicely appointed with two televisions, one mini bar, two telephones, two bathrooms, plenty of seating space, two balconies overlooking the pool and beach. It was cleaned every day with fresh bath towels provided. Turn-down service was offered in the evening.

AMENITIES
---------
Within the clean hotel grounds there is a beach bar, pool bar and 'pub' as well as two restaurants. Beach towels are provided. All communal areas are kept spotlessly clean. There is plenty of shade available on the clean beach with views of the mountains of Saudi Arabia. The sun loungers provided are of very high quality and very comfortable.

FOOD AND DRINK
--------------
Within the package, breakfast and dinner was included. Lunch could be purchased from an extensive menu at very reasonable prices. Breakfast is continental style and freshly prepared. Dinner is a 4 course affair with outstanding quality of food with portions big enough to satisfy even the most hungry of guests. Prices of drinks are very reasonable and served promptly and courteous by the staff. In line with what the hotel advertises, any of the meals could be had any time of the day at any location of choice by the guest.

STAFF
-----
We met a set of the most friendliest staff we have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff are a great asset to the hotel.

ENTERTAINMENT
-------------
Being a hotel that specialises in full relaxation for their guests, you make your own entertainment. There is no music round the pool area nor on the beach. Boardgames, books, a pool table and darts board are provided in the "Friends" bar.

LOCATION
--------
Located in Nuweiba on a beautiful sandy beach. The port of Nuweiba is a short taxi ride away.

OVERALL
-------
Ideal for those that wish to totally relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of daily Western life. Well recommended and we'll be back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Longwood

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
It was with a little trepidation that we arrived at The Swisscare Resort Hotel, late on a thursday evening, after a nightmare journey from UK due to flight computer malfunctions and luggage delays. We normally stay at another well known and old established hotel in Nuweiba that we have always found to be excellent in every way,but this time, after watching the construction of Swisscare over the last few years, we decided to give it a try.

We were greeted on arrival by Alvin, the owner and after a lightning check-in and seeing our luggage into our suite we joined Alvin and some other friends of ours in "Friends Pub" for a very welcome drink! By this time it was approaching midnight, yet my statement, "I'm starving!", resulted in a delicious plate of freshly cooked chicken, potatoes and green beans arriving in minutes! Another half an hour of enthusiastic banter and we virtually fell into bed, totally exhausted! What a bed it is too! Its enormous, we have a king size at home that would be dwarfed by the beds at Swisscare!

I was first up in the morning and made the tea, as every suite has its own facilities for tea and coffee.
Stepping out onto one of our two balconies I found that I had just missed the sunrise and was faced with wall to wall blue skies, vast expanses of golden sand and a sea like glass, with the mountains of the Saudi coast shrouded in a light mist. As if that wasn't enough, I was looking down over the most fabulous, spotlessly clean swimming pool, with tables being laid for breakfast at one end of the terrace.

All the accomodation at Swisscare is in two room suites, complete with two bathrooms, two televisions and two telephones. It is more like having a holiday appartment than a hotel room. There is a free safety deposit box in one of the wardrobes (a lot of the hotels charge for this facility),plenty of hanging space and storeage.There are more towels than are needed and they are changed "as if by magic". Each bathroom has its own electic hair dryer and we never experienced any lack of hot water.

It was so nice to find air conditioning units (two to a suite) that worked efficiently and were each controlled by remote control units to your own preference.It was way over 100F during our first week, only dropping to around 80F at night, so Alvin advised us to open one of the smaller windows which are all fitted with insect screens, if we left the a/c on at night. We did this for the whole fortnight and did not suffer at all from the usual sore throats that a/c can give you if you leave it on at night.

The rooms were always kept very clean and yet, surprisingly, we never managed to see any cleaning staff actually in our suite, no matter what time we happened to pop back to the room! The evening turn down service is something else that seems to be dying out at many hotels but Alvin insists that it is retained at Swisscare. There is a mini bar in all suites.

We paid a little extra for our full board arrangement so that we knew our only other expense would be drinks.
For a smallish Egyptian hotel, we found the food to be absolutely first class! No luke warm buffet food here! Everything is cooked freshly for you which means that you may wait a little after you have ordered, but who cares when you are on holiday and so relaxed! You can eat virtually wherever you fancy at Swisscare. On the beach, by the pool, in the air conditioned dining rooms or even in your suite, nothing is too much trouble for the very attentive staff. My wife and I have travelled many times to most parts of Egypt and one of us has always managed to lose a couple of days with "travellers tummy". This time, not a single digestive problem for the whole two weeks! That speaks volumes in itself!

The staff, led by Wallid, or Big Willy, to his friends, cant do enough to help you. Some of the boys are being trained by Alvin from scratch and some are experienced in the industry. I defy anyone not to have a good laugh with them and they always have a smile for the guests.

Swisscare's location may seem, for some people, to be too far away from any "action". If you want rows of shiny tourist shops and a McDonalds or nightclubs, casinos, banana boat rides and quad bikes then Nuweiba is not for you. If, on the other hand, you like to gaze at stunning mountains who's colour changes with the hours, swim in beautifully warm sea water along glorious reefs that teem with all sorts of wonderful creatures, laze on quiet golden beaches where just a nod at a staff member will result in an ice cold beer arriving in minutes and spend comfortable nights in comfortable beds it total silence, then what the hell are you waiting for? Give Swisscare a try, you can book a package through Longwoods or do it yourself as we did. Book yourself a flight to Taba or to Sharm and Alvin will arrange air conditioned transfers for you.

We'll hopefully return again in february 2008 for some more totally chilled out vacationing!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Recommended
Maxine & Barry Reeves
10 years 5 months ago
We returned home from this resort two weeks ago and we can't wait to go back. You just can't fault this Hotel.
The suites are big spacious, overlooking the pool and the beach. The rooms were well cleaned daily with clean sheets and towels also in the evening they had a turn down service which is a nice touch.
The food was eccellent,breakfast could last you all day and the dinner is 4 courses but much too big. We had are meals wherever we wanted in the restaurant, around the pool, on the beach under the stars or in the bedouin beach bar.
The hotel is in an isolated area some days we had the whole beach to ourselves and the camels, it was great. (Alvin the owner, wouldn't agree the camels keep eating his plants, He should feed them!)
Alvin and his staff were great they went out of there way to please, nothing was too much bother. Because I'm not a very good swimmer, Alvin took two of us out snorkeling wearing life rings. What an experience the coral is beautiful. and soo much fun.
Entertainment: you make your own, read, swim, chat to other guests, play cards or even a game of Monopoly, but don't play monopoly with Alvin he cheats badly.
Thanks to all the staff we had such a great holiday and can't wait to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Longwoods

Recommended
John Birkin
11 years 1 month ago
I would rate this with the best hotels I have ever stayed at, & for a very moderate $50 B&B.

The hotel was very clean, bright & new & the room clean, fresh & more than adequate for a family of 4 even though I was travelling solo.

I particularly appreciated the very helpful, personal service in all details, which I never felt it was begrudged. I also very much appreciated the help in getting the ferry back to Aqaba (which I did not find easy as I was not part of a group). The manager himself drove me there, bringing one of his staff to see me safely through all the formalities. He was also very helpful in sorting out a very enjoyable early morning jeep trip to the Coloured Canyon, with a free supply of food & drink to keep me going until I got back for my own personally arranged breakfast. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

This hotel certainly lived up to its advertised belief in "giving efficient, friendly & individual service."
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: