Image of Haven Perran Sands Holiday Park

Haven Perran Sands Holiday Park

2 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Perranporth, Cornwall. TR6 0AQ

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr Martin
Unhygenic holiday!
5 years 3 months ago
After waiting all year round for my holiday in Cornwall at Perran sands, we had booked a weeks holiday at a chalet owned by Mr Reynolds, the only thing I can say is that this chalet was absolutely disgusting. The first thing I noticed was that the chalet smelt strongly of urine, the bathroom sink was broken and in dire need of repair, there was also cobwebs scattered around the bathroom. The cooker was disgusting and unhygienic to use, I could go on and on about how unhygienic this chalet was. I must say that this spoilt mine, my children & my wife's holiday. I would never return there again after witnessing the sate in which the chalets were left, there had been no attempt to clean or repair any of the damages and for the price that I paid it was definitely not worth the price.

Please don't be fooled by the lovely images posted on there website. They were the chalets number 119 & 120.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mr Reynolds owner of three chalets on Complex

Mrs Archer
Some nice chalets, some in dire need of a refurb
11 years 2 months ago
We were in a chalet that was definitely out of the Hi de Hi programme. The furniture and carpets were disgustingly dirty. The cooker had no figures on the knobs for settings - not that it would have made any difference wherever you set it, it gave the same temperature. There were insufficient kitchen utensils - no small/paring knife nor fish slice, one shelf in the oven and no roasting tin. The linen was spotless and the bathroom & kitchen tiling were very good. The bathroom door was broken at the bottom. A broken TV aerial rattled 24 hours a day and the wind came in through the gaps around the windows and door. There was masking tape remnants round all the windows in the lounge. The freezer compartment although frosted up when we arrived would not freeze our grandsons ice pops nor keep some ice cream frozen.

I am registered disabled and they claim to cater for the disabled so they put us at the bottom of a steep hill when the amenities were at the top!

One is forced to go through an arcade to reach the swimming pool or evening entertainment - even with small children. They tell you they have a private beach but they don't tell you it is 400 feet down a cliff.

The site is made up of some very nice caravans/chalets but many many more which are in desperate need of renovation and one is charged extra to request one which has not had animals in.

They also make an exorbitant charge of £20 per week to hire a microwave (we have never had to pay more than £7 per week in other parks).

I could go on but I will leave it here and hope that readers will be guided by the review.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kaley Pennell
11 years 6 months ago
Ive been going to Perransands holiday park for 9years now and it has been brilliant every single single time ive been, ive just come back from there and i am going again in sept and i cant wait there is always 7 people going, and we all will kepp going for as long as possable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Haven

Recommended
Martyn Bearton
12 years 4 months ago
whats that saying `cleanliness is next to godliness` well if it is god was nowhere to be seen
the supermarket while very well stocked was also very expensive we shopped in the local supermarket in perranporth.
the location of the holiday park is brilliant with beautiful views across the beach and sea
we found the attitude from some of the waiting staff to be very slow
the nightly entertainment from an adults point of view was very cheesy but the children all seemed happy.
we will not be visiting this place again unless it is totally refurbished
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: haven perran sands

SOPHIE
12 years 5 months ago
I HAVE JUST CAME BACK FROM PERRENSANDS HAVEN AND I LOVE IT I WENT WITH MY MUM AND MY BEST FRIEND WE LOVED THE ARCADE BUT I THINK WE USED IT MORE AS A FLIRTING AREA MORE THAN ITS PROPER USE. IT NOT GOOD IF UR 14-17 ITS MOISTLY FOR TODDLERS. THE WAS POOL WAS RUBBISH AND THE HIKE TO THE BEACH WASNT GREAT EITHER NOT A GOOD WALK FOR THE ELDERLY.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MY CAR

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
There is a separate check in for tents and tourers which is open in high season,check in is very quick and they are very helpful,you are away from the main part of the park and its a 5-10 min walk into it,you can go the road way or over the sand dunes which is fun,you do feel though you are push out of the way because you are camping.The pitches are of a generous size,if you get one with the sand dunes at the back of you just watch out for the rabbit holes there is loads and if are up early you will see the rabbits.The roads going around the site have got pot holes in,there is lighting on site but near where we was staying the lights was out and it had been like that since we had arrived,i need the loo in the night and it had been raining quiet hard and has i came back to the tent i didnt see a pot hole and i fell down it and hurt my foot quiet bad,i did tell a warden and they said they would sought it out but it never got done,so please be carefull.
The toilet and shower block needs knocking down and re building,they are old and tired,the cublics are very small and showers are very powerfull,they are a mess and could do with cleaning more often,i know its the people what use them what makes the mess.
The washing up area is coverd and there is plenty of hot water and its one dirty mess, yet again its the people who use them what leave like that.
We found that you had to pay for a lot of the activeties which could work out expensive if you had a large family.
The entertainment is good for the children and the fun stars are nice, but the drinks are overpriced.
I found the camp shop not too bad,everything you could need,but a little expensive,but i thought the staff in there was rude,in fact one member of staff had a go at me for nothing,has i have worked on holiday camps myself i know some customers can be nastey to you so i always make sure me and my family are especially polite to everyone and i did find out she was rude to a number of other people.
There is direct beach access but you have to have too go down a very steep path to get on to it, there is lifeguard patrol on the beach which is nice.
If i was to sum up everything about this site i would say its ok but i wouldn't go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Haven touring

Julian Cowell
14 years ago
We stayed in a Gold Caravan on the Haven Perran Sands holiday Park for a week over the half term week, and had a great time.
I had read the other reviews on this site, but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. There are two types of caravan on the park, those owned by Haven, and those that are owned privately. We stayed in a Haven owned van, and found that it was clean, modern, and well equipped, although when we spoke to another family on the site, they told us that their privately rented van had not been cleaned and was not as good. They were very jealous when they saw ours.
The park staff were friendly, and our 7 year old loved the kids club and entertainment. The weather was not brilliant, but you can't blame Haven Holidays for that!
We've already booked a week at the park for next summer, and are looking forward to going again. My advice: Book direct through Haven rather than going private, that way you get much better service, and they will be able to help you out. The private owners can live anywhere in the country, so aren't always able to come and help you out if you have a problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Haven

Recommended
Michelle Stephenson
14 years 1 month ago
I have holidayed at this park with my family for the last two years now and we absolutely love it. Although the caravans we have stayed in have both been very poor for cleanliness, especially this time when a pen had been left in there and my two year old got hold of it and decided to draw all over the windows. But the way I see it is, you are on holiday, and you can't expect a caravan that is being used by other people throughout the summer, to be as clean as your home. As long as the beds are clean, things like glasses, cups, cutlery, etc you can wash yourself.
So although I admit the caravans are dirty, kids love the site and I will definately be returning next year.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Haven Holidays

Recommended
Lisa
14 years 4 months ago
All i can say about the haven site at Perren sands is do not go, stay at home and save your money. My family and I were camping there in June and I don't think there is enough space on this site to say all what was wrong but there certainly wasn't anything right.

We did complain but nothing seem to get done and the staff had that couldn't care less attitude.

So we will never be going again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: haven

15 years 1 month ago
I took my wife and my baby in early September this year and we stayed in a chalet that was described as 'modern', 'contemporary' and to a 'high standard'. The reality was a dirty, mouldy, smelly 1950's 'bunker' that we refused to stay one night in (I have photos if I can work out how to post them).

We were offered alternative accommodation in a bronze caravan in an overcrowded corner of the park but we refused it for being too small and not up to what we originally booked.

The customer care people on site did not seem to care less and refused to even admit there was a problem.

We visited the town (not great) and beach (really nice) for a few hours before heading home again.

We've been trying to get our money back ever since though writing to the head office and through our credit card, but with no joy.

I can't believe the attitude of these places, this poor standard would never be tolerated in other countries but we Brits seem to put up with it - I just wish more people would complain instead of mumbling under their breath whilst handing over the money.

well i'm taking the family abroad next year whatever the cost and i won't be holidaying in this country again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Haven

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.