Image of Pontins Holiday Park

Pontins Holiday Park

1 of 3 hotels in Brixham

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Wall Park Holiday Centre, Brixham TQ5 9UG

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Sally
12 years 10 months ago
I am going to give you the facts first about our stay (we got back today). We went with a Sun 9.50 deal.

The first (budget) accommodation we were offered was soooooooooooooo small it was virtually uninhabitable. The main room and kitchen was just about bigger than a double bed. Two single room on either side just about fitted a single bed in each - impossible for 2 adults and 2 kids to stay in for 5 days. We immediately asked to be moved. No problems at all - we got a bigger (classic) apartment at no extra charge.

It was bigger but had damp and mould on the bottom of the cupboards and furniture (as if there had been a flood and it was the aftermath). The place smelt badly. It was depressing, dark, damp and smelly.

I couldn't stay there and considered leaving the resort. However, I asked to be moved again - not a problem at all with the staff - they were still very freindly and helpful-we were given the keys to another classic apartment. MUCH MUCH better! The 3rd one didn't smell, had no damp, was very, very clean and the linen was spotless. It was a huge relief.

The sun also shone through the front window the whole day - which made a huge difference to the previous one (probably why it was damp). So we stayed the 5 days in this apartment and found it to be acceptable.

The swimming pool is pretty small considering the size of the park but has a huge slide which the kids love (it was also quite cold so our baby and toddler got a bit shivery - but then the weather wasn't too hot so that makes a difference).

The womens changing rooms are certainly new - they have 2 separate showers, separate cubicles and a baby change room. Lockers are provided on the pool side. However, my husband says the mens changing rooms are basic with benches around the sides.

The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful and the entertainers (staff) at night really were entertaining. The kids love the disco.

There is a park which should have 4 swings but there were only 2 - a baby one and adult one. So this casued quite a few queues.

The park has an excellent little tykes plastic climbing frame with slides and things. It also has a wooden pirate ship which the older kids love. There is also a go-kart track which goes down a treat with the older kids too.
The indoor play areas were excellent - a soft play area and an under 2 area - equipped with lots of, what seemed to be quite new, Little Tykes equipment.

The food in the restaurant wasn't great - overcooked and mostly deep fried! The Nisa shop on site is very convenient and stocks most things you would need. But a bit overpriced - e.g
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Abi
12 years 11 months ago
When we first arrived and got out keys we went to the apartment and it was a one bedroom, with an 8 year old girl and 9 year old boy this was not a cheery thought for the weekend. We went back up and they swapped us for a two bedroom without a problem.

When we got to the new apartment there was no kettle so I trekked back up to the office and they gave me a brand new one straight away.

The apartment wasn't huge but it was spacious enough for the 4 of us, we weren't intending on being there a lot. It was spotlessly clean, although I did hear someone in the office complaining about their apartment not being very clean - I think this is more the cleaning staff not meeting standards rather than the park itself!

The park itself I though was great, the kids loved the park, the arcade, the entertainment and everything.

The shop has everything we needed. The restaurant was great, but we went on a curry night which was carvery style so no wait at all for the food.

The drinks were reasonable priced in the bar. The staff were all friendly, cheerful and helpful and were great with suggesting places to go.

We only went for a weekend and the kids loved it that much they didn't want to come home!

It was a definate winner and we would go back anytime.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun holiday

Recommended
Sarah
13 years 8 months ago
Myself, Best friend and my 17year old son (who has Autism) took the long drive through somerset on the A303, with some breathtaking sights on the way(stonehenge being one of them) to our summer holiday-Pontins, Wall Park, Brixham.

Accomodation shall we say, is ok for a base, we were lucky and had geat weather, would not want to be in there during the day! yeah, bit scruffy, bit in need of a re-vamp really, but liveable. tv,cooker, fridge, bath and shower all working- although water heater costs alot(you have to pay for your electric with a card). A few wiffs of stale pee on the matresses and a bit of a damp smell, some may find it a bit too much, but we just decided to try and ignore it as best we could.

Staff were ok. It must be said that the security (those who greet you and allow you to come past the front gate!) were so friendly and helpful, often giving tips on where to visit etc..
Some of the bluecoats VERY enthusiastic, some really not old enough/experienced enough for the job to be honest. However, the evening entertainment was quite good, especially when they had special guests (we were lucky to have a newly formed Boney M).

For young children it is ideal as the Bluecoats really do keep going all day. During the summer the 'go active' activities are free, so great for older ones, things like quadbiking, archery, aeroball, soccerstar,rugbystar, orienteering etc........... my son enjoyed quite a few of these.

All in all, it was actually better than i had imagined! i really wanted to stay longer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins

Recommended
Craig Harrington
13 years 11 months ago
Maybe my scores seem high when you consider I went to a Pontins site for a week at Whitsun. But I had an open mind before I went and I can honestly say, given the reason I went (for daddy and daughter to spend some quality time together), I cannot think of any reason for complaining.
OK if you compare this site to say Haven at Littlesea, standard wise there is no comparison. There were areas that needed a lick of paint, the chalets are old (dont stay in budget they did look questionable!) you get old plastic moulded seats that have looked like they have just come from a local school for your dining chairs.
BUT, the whole place was kept clean. About 20 mins after we checked in, the head cleaner made a point of going round to each chalet to check we were happy with everything - a nice touch.
We had a middle of the range chalet It was cosey, maybe cramped if you had a family of four in it. The bathroom was also small. The furnishings were old but not in bad repair and like I said, it was clean.
The play park was a bit disappointing but you do have a decent sized pool with slide, the new activities programme on site, and a great entertainment team keeping all happy. My little girl didnt stop talking about "Captain Croc" and "Zena the Zebra" for weeks!
The on site restaurant is fine, although the service a bit slow. Food was nice though.
I could go on but at the end of the day it does what it says in the brochure. The kids are entertained, there are plenty of things to do on site and in the surrounding area (Brixham is beautiful!) and if you look past the fact this isnt Centre Parks or a 4 star hotel and stop looking for faults all the time, you will actually, probably come away with a smile on your face having enjoyed yourself.
Avoid budget accommodation though - upgrade if you can!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins

Recommended
Evans
13 years 11 months ago
We travelled from Preston but did stop off at family in Bristol to cut the journey.

The staff were great the chalet had a fusty smell but it was the week in May when we had a heatwave so when we opened the windows it was fine.

We took our own bed linen, the quilts were spotless so were the pillows looked brand new. We pushed the 2 single beds together and the fitted sheet kept them from parting. We didn't use the sofa bed, only fault I could find was the old school chairs to sit on to eat breakfast.

Its a great base for exploring Devon and at the end of the day it cost us
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: daily express

Recommended
Gill Jones
14 years 1 month ago
Room dirty, food from fast food take-aways and restaurant too bad to describe.

The swimming pool changing rooms disgusting

One good point Blue Coats friendly and talented

Will never go back to any Pontins camp stick to Butlins.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: pontins

14 years 1 month ago
The park was alot smaller than I imagined the buildings were old but our chalet was clean. It was a tight fit in the lounge when the double sofa bed was out at night. The facilities were adequate for a long weekend.

The restaurant was very disorganised, the shop was bare but it was the first weekend opening.

The kids entertainment was very good.

I have stayed at other holiday camps before and this was just as good at least they are not pushing you all the time to buy another holiday or a caravan to keep on site.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Express cheap Holidays

Recommended
Angela Davage
14 years 11 months ago
Went to Pontins Wall Park, Brixham in May, myself, husband, daughter, her fiance and their 18 month old daughter.

Chalet was filthy dirty, stains on the floor and on the bed setee. Cigarette burns and blood stains on the sheets! Tatty, torn curtains. The fridge was rusty and the shower leaked leaving puddles on the bathroom floor. One bedroom that was so small the door would not close as the bed was over the doorway.

The drawers in the bottom of the wardrobe would not open as there was a heater on the wall blocking it. We complained and they offered us two more equally filthy chalets which we refused, they then gave us an "upgraded" one which was not much better but we accepted.

Whilst in reception another family that had travelled over 300 miles to get there returned home on the same day as they were so disgusted with their accomodation! The girl on reception said that she would not wany any of her family staying there!

When we got home we sent a letter of complaint to Pontins but their reply stated that although they were sorry we had had a "disappointing" holiday many thousands of others enjoyed them and they hoped to welcome us back soom!! No chance!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.