Image of Pontins Holiday Park

Pontins Holiday Park

2 out of 5 from 30 reviews
Camber Sands Leisure Park, New Lydd Road, Camber, Camber Sands, Rye, Sussex TN31 7RL

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    18

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Louise
Never agian, dirty, grubby, discusting
8 years 4 months ago
My mum and I took my daughters aged 10 & 8 to Camber Sands for a 3 day break. On entering the site we saw immediately that it was very shabby and in serious need of an up-date. When we were able to enter the chalet I could and should of walked straight out. A large tear in the carpet, everywhere dirty and grubby. The toilet had not even been flushed! A ring around the bath had me putting on rubber gloves and using a whole pack of cleaning wipes before I would allow my daughters to touch anything.

During our stay I witnessed other chalets being cleaned by what can only be described as casual non uniformed labour. We ate in the restaurant just once. Luke warm chicken, soggy chips and very baked up beans! Would I go back? ABSOLUTELY not. The only saving grace to this abysmal short break was the lovely beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
The Barmy Army
Disgusting and dirty
8 years 6 months ago
I seriously do not know how anybody could possibly leave a good review about this place, absolutely grim!

We booked for a week (Mon-Fri) and as soon as we arrived I wanted to leave again! Just from the look of the place, peeling paint, woodwork falling apart, grimy walls, bird droppings everywhere.

On entering reception we were greeted by a unhelpful teenage receptionist who barely spoke let alone helped anyone.

We were all herded into the 'entertainment room' for check in upon which we found a small bouncy castle for the children which had no safety mats or proper safety precautions whatsoever.

After checking in and finding our apartment we found that it was mouldy and dusty. There wasn't enough cutlery or dishes, the shower was leaking and mouldy as were the curtains and the beds were ripped and coated in dust. The apartment was fairly spacious and we didn't have noisy neighbours.

The entertainment was not as advertised; one of the reasons we chose Pontins was the fact that Scooby Doo live shows were advertised instead we got some cheap looking crocodile instead - our little ones were very dissapointed.

The website advertises 70 different activities,you'll be lucky to see 3! The parks were full of litter and the kids indoor play area was falling apart and the equipment was held together with duct tape. Not impressed!!

The swimming pool was vile and the changing room curtains were mouldy and disgusting and in the main pool room was a floor buffer in the corner.

The on-site cafe was horrible, sticky floors, dirty tables, unhelpful staff and vomit inducing food!

The bluecoats were enthusiastic.

Do not go here if you are looking for a fun family holiday as you will be sorely dissapointed and if your not dissapointed then you will be thoroughly disgusted!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Zoe
10 years 2 months ago
just got back today from pontins cambersands and the accomodation was awful. Damp, gruby and in real need of up dating (and we upgraded from budget to classic).
We ate in the resteraunt and that was over priced and
and seemed to have been re-heated a few times, horrible.
The actual location was not too bad, at least we could drive some where for the day, as we could not stay in the
holiday park for the whole day, too depressing.
Staff seemed ok.
There seemed to be lots of activities for children, plus the usual blue coats in the evening.

We would never go back again, not even if they paid us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: pontins on line

David Thomas
10 years 3 months ago
I went to Pontins in Camber Sands after viewing the advert in the Sun Newspaper.

What a Nightmare, the apartments are fit for Rats! Filthy I only stayed for the Kids it was Six Weeks Holiday but I made a big mistake.
There was Mouse traps in our apartment the apartment smelt awful everywhere was dirty, the Bed springs caused my whole body to hurt the first night and I got feasted on by Bed Bugs the second night and came out with legions all over my body the third night i stayed awake all night this is the worst Holiday of my life.

Please do not go there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: car

Louise B
10 years 4 months ago
well after reading countless bad reviews i was in all honestly regretting booking the holiday however i was very pleasently suprised we had a large apartment we booked the classic accom option instead of budget. the apartment was very clean all our neighbours very friendly our kids made friends with all the other kids. we had a seagull which we named dave visit us every day lol. but in all seriousness if you are expecting the ritz or 5* accom then go elsewhere but if you are looking for fab value for money and a clean base where you eat shower and sleep then this is the place for you the entertainment is fantastic the bluecoats work their socks off. would i go back you bet cant wait to book again!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: pontins

Recommended
Cheddar
10 years 6 months ago
Spent May Bank Holiday weekend here for a football tournament. Being part of a group of nearly 40 lads, mums and dads probably helped - as did winning the tournament - but we had a great time.
OK it's a bit basic and is long overdue a makeover but it was clean enough and all of the staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy their job.
I was expecting sky high prices in the bars and shops but was pleasantly surprised to pay a similar amount for a pint and a bag of groceries that I do at home, which is how it should be. The surrounding area of Camber and Rye is beautiful too if you fancy a wander.
As with any holiday, it's what you make it, but I wouldn't spend a fortnight there!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sports-Tours

Recommended
A Happy Visitor
10 years 7 months ago
This was a great holiday. Bluecoats were brilliant. Alright the chalets are a bit damp but you're only staying for a little while so whats the problem. Recommend for a cheap fun holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Camber Resident
10 years 8 months ago
I stayed at Pontins in Camber with my partner and young son years ago, the place has not changed at all since.
The chalet was filty then, with lipstick on the cups, dirt everywhere.
The problem is that Pontins claims to be a family holiday park, but they actually hold/hire out to numerous "acid - house" raves/weekenders all year round.
The latest one going on now as I type this. drunken youths in abundance with both male and female revellers urinating outside the shops on the main road in broad daylight today in front of children.
These revellers pee and vomit everywhere in the village so you can only imagine what it is your chalets smelt of.
I really feel for you. Unless you are part of a drink/drug consuming gang of revellers then Pontins is not for you, park-resorts that a previous poster got confused with is not much better either.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sun

James Daniels
11 years 3 months ago
I always thought Pontins were supposed to be a well known, established company offering a great holiday experience. I was wrong. The accomodation wasn't fit for a convict, it was damp, dirty and the filth was disgusting. I don't think it had been cleaned properly for months. The entertainment wasn't much either. The so called Fun Factory was a hole, it smelt disgusting and with no disent air con it was way to hot. As for the activities, they were crap, no organization what so ever. This place is most certinally equiped for the type of people that go there. No respect for others whatsoever. Overall, No housekeeping, Crap entertainment, poor activities, and filthy, rotton accomodation. Pikey Paradise
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins

Shauna Cahill
12 years 1 month ago
The entertainment for a start was great with tones of entertainment for kids and adults all ages!! BUT...The chalets were vile the curtains were black and the bed covers were damp. But I would still recommend it!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: -

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.