Image of Pontins Holiday Park

Pontins Holiday Park

2 out of 5 from 29 reviews
Camber Sands Leisure Park, New Lydd Road, Camber, Camber Sands, Rye, Sussex TN31 7RL

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    17

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dirty filth accomodation
1 month ago
Arrived on a Friday left by on the Sunday place is a disgrace to be classed as a resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rebecca Mcdonald
Avoid at all costs!
1 month ago
We visited pontins in camber sands for a week. We had seen some poor reviews but figured that we were expecting a budget break and so set our expectations low. Not low enough!!

They’re selling themselves as “new pontins” but it was run down and old fashioned. Our apartment was a nightmare and the staff couldn’t care less

Our apartment had not been cleaned before our arrival (there was even sanitary waste in the kitchen bin) and when we raised this with accommodation services we were informed the cleaners had run out of time and we could “do it ourselves” (although there wasn’t so much as a brush in our room and they refused to give out any cleaning supplies). We’d had to buy our own.

There was no weather beading on the front door and as it was raining the water was running in under the door and flooding the living room. Maintenance staff response - they could do nothing. They actually had a spare piece of beading in their hand at the time and still refused to do anything.

As we started to try and make our room vaguely habitable we discovered that our bedroom window was badly broken and the rain was coming in onto the bed, and that there was no waster in the bathroom- so No shower, no sink and couldn’t flush toilet. Back to guest services who said they’d send someone out. They never did and eventually my husband carried out the repair himself. The resulting water ran Brown for the rest of the day

And so it went on, list after list of complaints. We asked to be moved to a new room, were told no - later on that day a sign went up in reception saying no room moves would be permitted. I repeatedly asked to see a duty manager and got fobbed off with they’re not here/ they’ll phone you/ they’re not available. I pointed out to the receptionist that in line with their procedures I was supposed to see a manager ASAP so they could resolve it. The lady was rude, shrugged and said nothing she could do. My complaints were jotted on small pieces of paper and I was told they’d be added to a log.

We’d paid £28 for bedding which turned out to be damp and mouldy so we could even use it - we ended up using it to try and stop the water running under the front door

The restaurant was disgusting and the food hygiene was so bad we actually couldn’t bear the thought of eating there - and our kitchen was so disgusting you couldn’t use the self catering option so we ended up eating off site every night and it cost a fortune. Again, staff didn’t care.

The pool was dirty, run down, didn’t match the photos we’d seen and one day there was faeces floating in the water. The club was overcrowded and boiling hot. The queue for the bar was over an hour long so cooling down with a drink wasn’t an option either.

I also got an electric shock from the microwave when I wasn’t even using it while trying to switch the power from cooker to shower- when I complained about this the receptionist said “well you look ok” and wouldn’t even log it in the accident book!

It was our penultimate day before I was finally able to see a manager, and even then only because I stood by the office door refusing to leave and asked everyone coming in and out “are you a manager” until after nearly and hour and half of waiting i collated one. I’d add the the receptionist said she’d radioed the manager when we first arrived but the manager didn’t seem to know we’d been waiting

He apologised for what we’d been through, agreed we should have been seen earlier in the week and gave us the info we needed to put a formal complaint in. I did it as soon as we got home. A month later head office responded that as there were no records of my complaints they could do nothing. They fail to follow their own procedures so there is no evidence and then refuse to deal with the problem - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins

Filth
2 months ago
Chalet was totally filthy. Baby had to sleep in suitcase as the ‘bed’ available for her was a rock hard sofa bed that was full of sand and pubic hairs. The floor hasn’t been washed in months! Couldn’t see our of windows. Hardly any stuff open. Basically it was very dirty, nothing to do and staff arrogant and rude!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Hotel tip: No best rooms as we were in club which is the best and absolutely rotten! Food was awful.

Avoid this filthy hell hole
3 months ago
Booked Monday to Friday with my 2 grandchildren cant begin to describe the filth everywhere we upgraded to the club apartments when we booked the floor was filthy room stank of fish curtains hanging off with holes in them dirty stained beds shower was covered in black mould the patio doors were so filthy you couldn't see out of them outside there was broken glass and blood on the floor the outside area is a health hazard wouldn't put my dog in this filthy apartment we went to the restaurant took one look at the food and walked straight out staff really rude as well. We left and stayed at park dean caravan park which was lovely Avoid this place

Travel operator: Groupon

2d617524863882392186f45c093ac610-Eve Burke
Heartbreaking
5 months ago
To Whom it May Concern,

I have just returned from my weekend at Pointins and would like to give you an honest review and a chance to respond before I post on the various review sites and Facebook groups etc.

Myself and another family booked to stay at Pointins Camber Sands Friday – Monday. I have a few positives to say and a few negatives. I’ve come back feeling quite disappointed and a little upset.

First negative – We arrived at 12.00 on the Friday as we was aware that we were allowed to use the facilities. My friends children and mine who are 3 boys aged 5, 7, 8 and a girl who is 2 were very excited as obviously since we booked we had been showing them the various activities that are listed on your pointins website. They couldn’t wait. Sadly when we arrived (on a nice warm day) not a single outdoor activity was on. I could of understood this if the weather had been bad. I spoke to reception and they told me Friday is too much of a busy day for them to run anything. We let the boys play in the various parks until we could check in at 4. I already started to feel that we could of stayed at home and just taken them all to the local park. If it wasn’t for the charming General Manager - Roxanne I think we may have left.

First Positive – I was pleasantly surprised with our accommodation and infact really happy with it (apart from the television that did not work at all and the broken sofa bed – I could live with that). Although, as there was 5 of us in our apartment we had a 2 room apartment, my friend had one room and in all honesty I feel you should not be passing the sofa bed off as a double bed – it is the most uncomfortable thing ever. I was told that it was a quiet weekend and had about 700 people there – I think as couples with young kids we should of been put on the ground floor.

Another negative – On Saturday there was a little rain in the morning but it had cleared up and was drying out by about 11. We walked about the site and saw lots of posters advertising different activities such as pony rides, nitro cars etc. We took the boys to the Croc driving school – sadly there are no carts there. Which is sad as one of the activities listed on your pointins website is a Mini Trax (NOT WORKING). We asked the staff and they advised us to take the kids to the go Karts near the Jurassic World – we walked down there just to be told that the boys were too young and this was for bigger kids and adults. But, “Don’t worry kids” I said, “ We still have the nitro cars that’s advertised on their website and pictured all over the camp”. But, hang on, that’s not open and the guy told us they don’t have any cars for it anymore”. But, “Don’t worry kids” I said, “ We still have the trampolines that’s advertised on their website and pictured all over the camp”. But, hang on, that wasn’t open either”. But, “Don’t worry kids” I said, “ We still have the pony rides, Segway’s, birds of prey etc. that’s advertised on their website and pictured all over the camp”. But, hang on, they weren’t there either. As the kids at this point were distraught we headed off to Park Resorts next door – as they had all activities OPEN! The kids had a great day but was wondering why we didn’t stay there in the first place.

We popped back promptly to Pointins in Camber as Wrestling was advertised to be starting at 2pm. We turned up at 2 – the wrestling ring was still being set up so had to spend about half an hour listening to a blue coat shouting at us “Are you ready to Rumble??” – when it was quite clear that they weren’t ready at all. When the wrestling finally started I asked the kids if they wanted a hotdog from the diner. All said yes! So I queued from 30 minutes, just to reach second from the front and the man running the diner walked round and pulled the shutters down and walked off. I later told reception about it and they said the till had stopped working. Why the man couldn’t off told me that before walking off I don’t know. By this point my partner had walked out as he could not stand any of the beer at all. After wrestling I promised to take the boys to the urban gym and skate park – we went there at 445 and they were shutting. Another disappointment.

We asked reception if we could speak to a manager about the activities etc. And she said to come back at 5 as no one was about. At 5 we went back and spoke to Duty Manager Jay – in all fairness to him he was absolutely charming. Himself and Roxanne really did try their best to please us. Pointins are very lucky to have them. I would of put this review immediately on every site and facebook page I could think off if they hadn’t of been so good. Thats why I feel I being fair emailing first and seeing the response of Pointins.

The next day the trampoline park opened for approx. An hour, although they had to close laser tag to man it.

We went to Bingo Saturday night and I asked 2 club bar staff what time eyes down? Both said they did not know as the Blue coats were clicky and did not speak to the bar staff.

The Queen Victoria was shut most times!

There are a few simple things as well that could be easily managed – such as taking down old banners advertising past events, Laminating signs so that the paper isn’t messy etc.

Well done for Roxanne – she was fab!

I think the reason I feel so upset about it all as you have some great staff – but are not been giving the tools and equipment etc. They are being set up for failure!

I shall look forward to your response. Believe me – I more than anyone would love Pointins to be back to its best.

Kind regards,

Eve Burke

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The sun

Sherry Elle
Bed bug infested hell hole
1 year 1 month ago
Do not go to this disgusting place. We left early. I took bed bugs home with me which cost me £2000 to fix..as well as the emotional trauma! The place is disgusting beyond words! I could not begin to describe the nasty conditions. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun holidays

Hotel tip: Set fire to it while your there!

Kerry Duval
1 year 4 months ago
Dirty in all rooms,sand in and on beds.window on lounge had wood screwed in so couldn’t open window.good was really bad. Swimming pool really cold could only stay in there 10 minutes. We left two day before.horrible place stay away
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Helen Milton
Just dreadful...
6 years ago
This is, without doubt, the WORST holiday I have ever been on. After a 5 hour long journey to get to Camber Sands (beautiful location), only to have to wait almost 30 minutes to get the key for the 'apartment' was depressing. I thought I’d feel better once I’d gotten inside so I could relax a bit... I was in tears literally within 1 hour of being there.

There were 3 heaters for the entire 2-Bedroom apartment, the place stink of paint, we had plasic chairs at the dinner table, no toaster like we had been promised. The bed linen was all stained, and the duvet was so thin that using 2 of them and being fully clothed barely helped you keep warm, even with the heaters on.

The TV in the Living Room area has a terrible signal, no matter how much you assist the aerial, which disappointed my daughter as she loves having background noise while eating breakfast. The food was standard, although we did manage to find a Fish & Chip shop nearby that WASN'T run by Pontins. Haven't had any negative experiences with Staff either.

But all-in-all, the holiday from Hell. Avoid this place like the plague.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Mrs Pat Davis
Fantastic complex
7 years 1 month ago
Pontins Camber Sands, East Sussex. We spent 5 days here and loved every minute, although well worn carpets and beds, bedding and towels were spotless. The toilet, shower and cupboards were very clean.

There was a good variety of food. I enjoyed all I chose. The staff were amazing considering the long hours they work, nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment I enjoyed very much.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Louise
Never agian, dirty, grubby, discusting
7 years 2 months ago
My mum and I took my daughters aged 10 & 8 to Camber Sands for a 3 day break. On entering the site we saw immediately that it was very shabby and in serious need of an up-date. When we were able to enter the chalet I could and should of walked straight out. A large tear in the carpet, everywhere dirty and grubby. The toilet had not even been flushed! A ring around the bath had me putting on rubber gloves and using a whole pack of cleaning wipes before I would allow my daughters to touch anything.

During our stay I witnessed other chalets being cleaned by what can only be described as casual non uniformed labour. We ate in the restaurant just once. Luke warm chicken, soggy chips and very baked up beans! Would I go back? ABSOLUTELY not. The only saving grace to this abysmal short break was the lovely beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum