Image of Britannia Hotel

Britannia Hotel

8 of 9 hotels in Manchester

2 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Manchester, United Kingdom

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Neil
13 years 5 months ago
We stayed at this hovel after a concert at the MEN Arena so that we could Christmas shop the next day. Oh how I wish that we had driven home rather than stay in this dump.

Have to say first that the staff were helpful and friendly but why do I view this as a bonus ? this is how front of house staff should be towards their guests right ? And to be honest no amount of customer care prepared us for the room which can only be described as disgusting. Mold around the bath, a toilet that never stopped flushing until you forced the handle back, the window was filthy, the TV didn't work properly, there were light bulbs out, the smoke alarm was smashed as were the door stop and the bath panel.

The bedding was at least clean but the knackered old sprung mattress was unbelievable, just unbelievable !!!!! How anyone with a spine was supposed to get a decent nights sleep on this contraption is certainly way beyond my comprehension. Needless to say that we will not be staying in this place again, it's not cheap, it's run down, you don't get breakfast unless you cough up another
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: None

Margaret Annis
13 years 9 months ago
We stayed here for one night. On arrival we were told that check in time was 14:00 hours. This was fair enough but at 14:15 we asked if our rooms were ready and was told that checking in time was from 14:00hrs. After stating that we were expecting a taxi @ 15:30 and that we needed to shower and change before this we were given the keys to 2 rooms. The first room the cleaner was still in there and the second room no cleaning had been done at all. To top it all in the second room the toilet was blocked and full to the top with paper and urine. The hotel was unclean and in desperate need of renovating. There was an awful smell in the Ladies toilet which was indiscribable. We could not wait to get out of the place. We will never ever return to this hell hole.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Active Hotels

Vanessa Andrews
15 years ago
We were travelling as part of a coach party. Another coach party were staying there so 90 plus people from two coaches plus other guests. One lift was not working and other lift only took 6 people as a time. You could use the stairs but the carpet was very worn and the edge of carpet in many places was taped over to keep carpet joined together so in places it was not very safe.

Our room was OK but the TV did not work. The reception did send up the maintenance man quickly and he was excellent bringing a new one and then returning with a new cable to fix the problem. The room was OK however the bathroom still had soap wrapper and other things on the floor. The draws were full of dust and anything put in would come out dirty. The front of the dressing table unit had dried on milk stains and the furniture was stained and discoloured on top. As the hotel is said to have been recently refurbished I wonder where they spent the money.

The evening meal and the breakfast was good although for breakfast there seemed to only be one chef so there was a wait for eggs toast etc. but it was freshly cooked and it did not sit there for hours.

If you do stay in this hotel on a Saturday night ask for a room at the back because our was at the front and the noise level from people out on the town went all night so we could not have the window open and with it closed it was not a lot better and the room was airless.

I would not stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelstyle

Claire
15 years 2 months ago
No problms finding the hotel coming from the station (its by primark)so its right in the city centre.

Stayed in an executive room which was very nice, maybe abit expensive at the
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: western trains

Recommended
Lisa
15 years 5 months ago
The disabled facilities in this hotel are atrocious. I had to use the entrance via the nightclub next door. This door was locked permanently and I dread to think what would have happened in a fire!

The breakfast was ok however as smoking was permitted everywhere in the hotel it totally ruined breakfast. The entire hotel stank of cigarettes.

The staff were friendly enough but the duty manager not helpful enough to our disabled requirements.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ourselves

Recommended
Mike
15 years 6 months ago
What a dreadful hotel!

Prices were almost doubled because of the England game that day - we paid premium rate for a room yet received fifth rate service.

Understaffed, no hot water, no-one answering phone at reception, no overhead light, two pathetically thin pillows on a double bed, no biscuits in the complimentary tray, a window which could only be used by anyone over 6' 4", scruffy, (dirty in places) decor, dismissive manager and last but not least two juicy toenails left by previous occupants of the room. All for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

S Gee
16 years 7 months ago
We stayed at this hotel because we to catch an early flight from Manchester Airport - never again. From the outside, the hotel looked rather nice, so did the main reception area. However, the lady who dealt with our booking was rather brisk with us and continued to talk on the phone to somone else whilst she shoved a piece of paper in front of us gesturing where to sign.

Our room was located quite a distance from the entrance, and we had to negotiate several rather heavy fire doors in order to access it - not easy with two large suitcases.

The room itself was small, with on light in the rather dark entrance and another small spotlight in one corner. The decor was poor, with large pieces of wallpaper missing due to the very damp wall. The bathroom had a rather musty smell, the sink was dirty and there was black mould around the tiles in the bathroom.

Fortunately, we left at 4.00am to catch the bus to the airport - which wasnt well signposted and involved a walk across a rather dark car park.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Amy
16 years 8 months ago
due to a 17 hour delay on our flight to Reus with MyTravel we were put up in this hotel overnight. when you walked in the first thing that catches your attention is the massive chandelier in the reception area. we were given a meal which i wouldn't feed to my worst enemy. absolutely disgusting. we stayed in a double room and due to the hot climate( yeah right in manchester!!!) i went to open the window, there was really nice curtains up with a net, what a shame there was no window behind them!!!!! so we were roasting like chickens. its the sort of thing you see in a film when someone opens curtains and there is no window behind them!!! it cracked me up anyway. apart from a few minor problems this hotel is nice but it does remind you of the titanic!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Unknown

Len
16 years 8 months ago
We were staying overnight to catch an early morning flight from Manchester Airport.

The hotel public areas were crowded with two wedding parties who got progressively more noisy as the night wore on,the pizzeria was small not very clean and the food was only just acceptable.

The room did not have a window only a very small skylight and was not clean.

We were woken at 2am by the fire alarm and had to vacate the building,the wedding parties were still going on,the reception area was crowded and the staff who presumably were there to organize the evacuation stood around with no idea of what to do and it was only when a few guests left the building that the area eventually cleared and then trouble started with some of the wedding guests shouting and swearing at each other.

After almost an hour standing outside the fire engines arrived and eventually guests started to drift back into the hotel at no time did any of the staff advise of action to be taken or to let people know it was safe to re enter.

I hate to think of the consequences if the fire had been real.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own arrangements

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
I am an independent, bespoke travel agent. I will create your perfect holiday, unique to you with a friendly, personal, one to one service.
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.