Image of Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Scarborough

3 out of 5 from 28 reviews
Saint Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, North Yorkshire YO11 2ET

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gordon
Go somewhere else!
4 years 8 months ago
Hotel is a dump, room filthy, widows and balcony covered in seagull mess, food appalling, service terrible (be prepared to queue reception and bars).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Hotel tip: Burn it down and start again

ElaineDoncaster
Wouldn’t stay, even if it was free
10 years 8 months ago
Whoever owns this hotel needs to sit up and take notice of the reviews it is getting.

The hotel is seriously in need of a good clean. The windows and staircase were filthy.

The staff were indifferent apart from the cleaner we encountered who pointed out where we need to be to get to our room.

The food was atrocious; we paid for 3 night’s dinner bed and breakfast but only managed 2. The last night we ate out and the following morning we left without bothering with breakfast but marvelled at the optimistic folk who had already started queuing for the sorry excuse for a breakfast.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I would not stay there again - even if it was for free.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tony Harris
10 years 10 months ago
Our 2 night stay at The Grand Hotel, Scarborough, on 3rd and 4th June, was our first and last visit. Apart from the wonderful building and the initial welcome from reception staff The Grand Hotel is one of the worst hotels that my wife and I have ever stayed in. There was absolutely no management or supervision in the hotel and whilst the staff were generally friendly most had not been trained and, with few exceptions, were totally demotivated.

A member of the bar staff didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lastminute.com

Thomas Banken
10 years 11 months ago
the service was below par and the hotel can be dirty , i enjoy the appeal of the grand with it's 365 rooms and prime location but comfort wise i would have preferred a different hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Stephen Price
11 years ago
i have stayed at the grand hotel about 10 times in total and have generally been pleased. we have just returned on Sunday morning after the weekend. i had breakfast at 9am and started the return journey at approx 945am. After about 15 minutes i started to feel really ill vomiting stomach cramps and diahrea and i came out in a rash which covered most of my body. on Monday i went to the doctors after a terrible night and he says i had caught a sickness virus and could i inform the hotel. i phoned the hotel twice asking for the manager or someone in charge but was told twice no one was available and they would phone me when they could alas nobody has bothered to phone me. they do not want to know. this is the last time i will stay there as i don't care how good a bargain the holiday seems it is not worth risking your health for. do not go to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own

Dave
11 years ago
Stayed for 4 nights, fantastic view of sea, windows dirty outside, but imagine the difficulty of cleaning them, room was cleaned every day and bed made but sheets not changed, towels changed only when we left them on the floor. Shower gel and hair wash not replaced on 2nd night, left message for maid and she left 3 of each. Long queues for breakfast and dinner, but if you went 15 minutes after your allocated time there was no problem. Our allocated breakfast time was 8.30, too late for us, tried to get in on the 7.30 time, at first were not allowed in, asked if we could change and our card was duly changed to 7.30.(There was 9 coach loads staying). Food was buffet and plentiful, hot and replenished quickly.Not haut quisine but adequate, comes under good value for money. Our driver was given a room without window and they would not change that for him. Third night found an extremely large dying cockroach on one of the stair landings, reported it to reception who went to look at it. It was still there dead 2 days later. Prices of drinks were not extortionate for hotel prices. We did not go to any of the entertainments so cannot comment.All staff polite. Would stay again. Accept the fact that it's Grand in name but not grand in opulence but grand in great value for money. It's also grand to stay in such a wonderful old hotel that is part of our grand English heritage.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: The Coach Holiday Company

Recommended
11 years ago
it cost £4.50 per night to park the car costing £13.50
in total for three nights the room not very clean.
we looked out of the window to see two towers in front of the window so we had no view.the food was awful.we had to cue to get in the dining room which was not very clean.you could not see out of the windows for dirt.with people queing up to get in and people in mobility scooters getting out of the lift it was deadlocked trying to get in.
we were going to change hotels at the last minute
and i wish we did.everyone was complaining .and the people staying in the basement rooms which had no windows i felt really sorry for they were all complaing.you dare not move your car incase you lose your place and then you had to park in the mulipy car park which was a long walk away.travel lodge over the road was a lot nicer and cheaper and worth the money.
i will never stay at this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel style

Laura
12 years 2 months ago
I booked this break for me and my partner for our 5 year anniversary, we had stayed in scarborough before and were impressed with the look of the grand hotel and decided we would like to stay there.

The weekend we stayed there was a large darts group also staying, qued for ages to get checked in which I didnt mind however were given wrong key and had to que again as we were put in the basement.

Our room quite possibly was the worst one in the hotel room 1014, (which one of the kitchen staff kindly told us that it was the worst room in the hotel) right next to the kitchen, and a storeroom so had a lovely rude awakening at 6am as the kitchen workers banged the store room door over and over again. room smelt of whatever was for breakfast or dinner.
The bath had body hair in it, bathroom was the size of a postage stamp, there was no phone in the room therfore no room service available.

tv only worked on two channels, bed was clean and bed made well with fresh towels both days.
Que for breakfast was so big we gave up and ate out both mornings so unable to comment on the food.
The whole weekend all I heard was guests complaining about lots of things.

I was really looking forward to staying here as it said on the website that it was being refurbished and that our room was one that had been finished, that is an absolute joke everything was so shabby.

great central location but not worth the money its cheap but not cheerful wish we had gone back to a hotel we knew.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: superbreak

Mrs Richardson
12 years 5 months ago
the heating went off at 830am,, and didnt come back on untill 8 on the night time,,, it was nov and snowing,,,, we complained all the time but nothing was done, the breakfast was cold, we have nothing good to say about this hotel, We have been a few times and stayed here but never again, if you looking for warmth and comfort dont come here..............
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bus

Mrs Pauline Stewart
13 years ago
The Grand Hotel, Scarborough. Very friendly personable staff. Not obtrusive but quietly efficient and we felt they were very approachable. Food was excellent, hot and plentiful. Always a good choice of main course for evening meal. Room tidied daily, beds made and clean towels and bathroom polished every day. We felt the entertainment was very professionally done but a little bit repetitive although there was a different "theme" every night. The Cabaret Lounge was very busy every evening but the gallery upstairs on the first floor which looks down onto the stage and dance floor was a great idea and accommodated the overspill spectators very well. The hotel has fantastic sea and harbour views and a lovely Victorian Entrance Lounge. We would stay again as this was excellent value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct thro Superbreaks

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Scarborough

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.