Image of The New Southlands Hotel

The New Southlands Hotel

3 of 5 hotels in Scarborough

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
West Street, Scarborough, North Yorkshire YO11

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jacqueline Nurse
Needs total refurbishment
1 month ago
Stayed here five nights with Shearings, never again.
Rotten window frames, terrible food, no atmosphere in the bar and bugs in the room also there was thick dust on the wall lights.
We were on the second floor.
Staff good and Shearings staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Shearings

Hardy
12 years 3 months ago
We had a weekend breaak at the New Southlands Hotel. We found the cleanliness of the hotel superb. The staff were all friendly and the entertainment good. However the food was far from satisfactory. We like to eat later, so booked our meals for 8pm. This was a mistake, as the food had obviously been sat on a hot plate for an hour. One night my husband had a gammon steak that looked and tasted as if it had been cooked for hours. Breakfast advise.... Do not order scrabbled egg. It was overcooked, hard and had some form of greeny,black bits in it !!!!!!In our opinion, the meals were worse than any school dinners. Such a shame, as the hotel itself is lovely. Change the kitchen staff and we'll visit again!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

D J Pound
14 years 9 months ago
The New Southlands hotel was the cleanest and most welcomming of all the Shearings hotels I have stayed at.

The staff worked hard and went out of their way to make sure you had everything you wanted.

The entertainment had something for eveyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: shearings

Recommended
L James
14 years 10 months ago
We found the hotel was welcoming and well located.

Food was excellent. Service might have been a little too fast?

Room adequate. Bathroom very dated well overdue for replacement.

Saw very little of staff but they seemed friendly
and helpful enough.

Reception area very dull definately could do with a makeover.

Modern automatic front doors were odd allowing in cold
blasts from the North Sea when anyone went in or out.
Not nice when one was sitting in the comfortable lounge area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Shearings

Recommended
Mrs Marion Jones
15 years 1 month ago
My friend and I booked a 4 night 5 day trip with WA Shearings to stay at this hotel.

At first sight, it looked very welcoming after reading that there had been work done on the site.

The food was absolutely dreadful, apart from breakfast. (whoever thought up beans,waffle,and hash brown and being chefs special as extra on the cooked breakfast) ?? The main evening meal we stuck for two nights. Lumps in Shepherds Pie? Never did find out what these lumps were but thought it might be gravy that hadn't dissolved.
We felt that the staff in the restaurant knew that the food was not up to standard when we mentioned that we had eaten out.

We did not go down to the entertainment as it could all be heard from the room. !!

Would certainly not go to this hotel again or with WA Shearings if this is the kind of quality of accommodation that they offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: WA Shearings

Lynn Turner
16 years 2 months ago
On checking in my husband and I were given the Kings room, talk about swish, big bed, dark furniture and a bsthroom to die for. Son and partner and baby Lili(8 Weeks old) were given a room at the back not as good as ours but very nice.
Meals were very good for the price we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
17 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the New Southlands as part of a weekend coach trip to Scarborough.

The hotel is large and in a good, quiet location a few minutes from the South Bay cliffs and 'Spa' complex (via the cliff lift).

The public areas of the hotel are bright and modern, with good bar and restaurant facilites. Staff were all polite, friendly and helpful.

My wife and I had a twin bedded room on the first floor. The room was large and bright but just a little bit "dated". We had an ensuit bathroom/toilet, but NO shower, the bathroom was clean but rather basic. Overall the room was ok for one night, but generally could have done with a 'top to bottom' clean, although the bedding and towels were all nice and clean. I wouldn't have wanted to spend more that a couple of nights in it, and I feel that the hotel was let down by the bedroom.

Evening dinner was included, and the meal was very nice, if somewhat different from the usual meals you get on these weekend trips (some might think it was a bit 'fancy' from the sound of the menu!). Food was hot and tasty, with excellent prompt service at dinner and breakfast.

Evening entertainment was on in the hotel ( a duo), but we decided to go out as it was our first trip to Scar'bro and we wanted to see as much as poss.

After dinner we had a couple of drinks in the bar, which was bright, airy and modern, with a friendly barman, but as usual the prices were a bit expensive.

Overall a nice hotel for couples/friends for a short break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: National Coach Holidays

Recommended
ANN MEADOWCROFT
17 years 2 months ago
Our room was far from clean in fact I felt I had to do it before I could have slept. The food was basic and I wonder whether the so called chef had ever had any training in food.

The staff on the whole were friendly enough but was left no tea or coffee in room on three occasions.

The entertainment was aimed at the older age group so found ourselves going out to find our own entertainment on a number of occasions.

Would not go back under any circumstances.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SHEARINGS

ANon
17 years 7 months ago
My room was terrible with dust totally covering the floor under the bed, hadnt been done in weeks !!

The food Appeared nice but was a trife "avant garde" with some very unusual things for a two star hotel on the menu, Shame too that the ameteurs cant keep up with the style of the food they write on the menu, would have been better to have had well cooked steak pie than a failed attempt at gourmet food

Had a real odd feel about the place, reception seemed like the place where staff discussed each other in their absence and felt a lot of tension amongst them

The best part was the departure, oh did i mention the absolutely ridiculous disabled access. The ramp was so steep my wife was afraid to go down !!

DO NOT GO THERE IF YOU ARE DISABLED AND DONT WANT TO BE SHUNTED IN AND OUT OF THE BACK DOORS
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Privately

Gerryfitz
18 years ago
Clean and well ordered hotel.

I have just returned from a weekend break that I organised for a group of 30 friends. Total cost for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast,

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Scarborough

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.