Image of Louis Grand Hotel

Louis Grand Hotel

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
PO Box 44, Glyfada 49100, Greece
Overlooking one of Glyfada's best loved beaches, this classic and well established hotel is set in a peaceful location. With superb facilities and spectacular sea and island views, you can relax in comfort and enjoy this Ionian retreat.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Berns
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel was very clean. very lovely room. cleaned everyday.
The hotel is tucked away at the bottom of a mountain overlooking the sea.
The food was excellent. lots of choice.
staff were very helpful and friendly.
not alot of entertainment but lovely bars.
The swimming pool is great.
one of the best hotels we have stayed at.
Highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rob
10 years 7 months ago
we found the room to be o.k even next to the lift it was not too noisy and was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. the food was great with plenty of variety and would recommend the all inc. option.the location is one for peace and quiet it has a great beach but very little to do in the evening and as it is quite remote car hire is essential we tried to walk to the next village up the mountain side and it took about 2 hours.the staff are very good polite and helpful and we could not fault them on anything.the entertainment from what we saw was not very good but it is not our thing but we would return to this hotel again as it is a great base to explore the island and not too far from the airport.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jennifer
11 years 9 months ago
Hi well all I can say is wow!!!!!

I travelled with my partner mother and 2 small children (21 months and 10 months) we went all inclusive for 1 week.
The hotel was very clean rooms cleaned out daily with fresh towels every day.

The food was excellent well done to all chef's breakfast served in the dining room was every thing you could possibly have from cereal to full cooked breakfast, fruit to salad. Lunch was served outside (but shaded from the sun) overlooking the beach again huge variety salads, cold and hot pasta dishes, variety of cooked meats, vegetarian selections and of course a selection of sweet dishes. Dinner is serves in the dining room and in my opinion is the best meal with cold meats, cheese n crackers, salads n sauces, and three rows of hot food counters serving a selection of main courses with chip potatoes veg etc, there is also a special meat being served ans you ask from kebab style chicken to peppered roast beef and last but definitely not least soup changing everyday (veg, minestrone, chicken etc).

The location of this hotel is truly stunning gorgeous clear waters and sandy beach and while it is a bit remote with all your food and drink included you won't really need to leave but if you do fancy a day out there is car hire and a free bus to Corfu town.

All staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help whenever possible.

The entertainment was outside where lunch is served and was ok. As this hotel is I think mainly a family hotel it is aimed at children but not every night they do have live music on some nights which to my surprise was very good. Rhere is also a indoor bar if you fancy a quieter night.

The animation team were out setting up volley ball games and little competitions throughout the day and keeping the children entertained. I thought the entertainment could have been better but as I went quite early the season and it was relatively quiet I suspect it will get alot better during the busier periods.

I could go and praising this hotel but we would be here all day. What I will say if you are looking for a quieter holiday with the kids or just as a couple I would say this is definitely the holiday for you.

Would I go back? Definitely in fact we liked it so much we are planning on going again nearer the end of the season.

This hotel absolutely deserves it 4 stars no questions!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
DARREN & ELAINE REES
12 years 6 months ago
Hotel was lovely, room very clean. Pool area very nice, staff friendly, Thomson rep ok, but was only interested in booking trips. Thomson reps at airport were really helpful.

The only bad thing about our holiday was the wasps flying around us at lunchtime!! We had to eat out at lunchtime and couldn't eat indoors in the main restaraunt therefore couldnt espace the dreaded wasps!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMPSON

Recommended
Smith
12 years 7 months ago
An excellent holiday - relaxing and peaceful.

Hotel was clean and airy, nice family room which lead out on to a small patio followed by lawned area, down steps to pool followed by the lovely sandy beach. All inclusive holiday makers are entitled to free sun loungers and parasols by the pool or on the beach - beach towels are also included and can be exchanged for clean ones up to four times during the fortnight. Be up before 8.30 to get your sunbeds!

The food was of an excellent standard, plenty to choose from, especially the breakfast. Lunch was at the restaurant by the beach followed by snacks all afternoon! The only disappointment (for my husband) was the beer - being all inclusive he thought that he would be served local beer - Amstel or Mythos - it wasn't even Greek beer - so had to purchase cans from local shop on a few occasions.

Hotel location was great, quiet and peaceful, exactly what we had hoped for. The village of Pelakas is a 20 minute free bus ride away and is well worth a visit. The bus from the hotel to Corfu Town is also free and runs into town 3 or 4 times a day - the main high street is extremely busy but head for Old Corfu Town on the outskirts lots of little windy roads and gifts shops.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

The only down side to the holiday was the nightly entertainment, but saying that the children enjoyed it (2 boys 11 and 7). Plenty of activities during the day and the entertainment staff were friendly and good with the children. Same old mini disco songs during the evening, then a show - Greek dancing, karaoke, the only one worth seeing was the illusionist, but like I've said kids enjoyed it and that was the main thing.

Overall a brilliant time was had by all and would definitely go again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Marchant
12 years 7 months ago
We found the hotel very clean and the service was very good although not very impressed with the reception staff. They were not very helpful.

We prebooked a seaview/balcony room but was put into a substandard room with no air conditioning, door wouldn't lock and our view was a brick wall. After lots of complaining we finally got moved two days later into a lovely room that we couldn't fault. Although we had booked a late checkout they still tried to get us out of our room by 12 without an offer of another room.

The food was excellent, friendly staff.

It is in a remote area and so there is not a lot outside the hotel but the beach is beautiful and the pool was excellent.

The evening entertainment is not up to much mainly aimed at young children.

Overall we really enjoyed it and would definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Peter Howarth
13 years 5 months ago
If you are looking for a relaxing break in an idyllic location away from traffic, noise and nightclubs, this is the place for you.

The hotel is large, spacious, airy and very clean. The rooms were a good size and spotless with fresh towels and bedding on most days.

The food was of a very good standard, with a very wide selection and plentiful quantities. A little salty on occasion, but usually delicious.

The hotel is set at the foot of steeply sloping coastal hills on a beautiful sandy beach separated from the hotel by only the pool and gardens. Sunloungers were plentiful and comfortable and there was always a choice of location for sunbathing. The sea was lively enough to be fun, but calm enough to be safe. Two lifeguards were always on hand.

The staff were friendly and polite, always happy to help. A friendly word or a smile was always appreciated and returned. Some guests could be short and off hand with the serving staff, but they never bit back!

The Thomson rep, Alex was lovely. She was very helpful and knowledgeable, always around but never too pushy or in your face.

The entertainment crew were a lovely bunch of young Italians. They did a long day of activities before performing the evening show. The shows weren't always great, but they certainly had their moments and were generally over by 11pm. Some people felt that there was not enough evening entertainment for the adults, but it was fine bearing in mind the mix of nationalities and age groups. The bars stayed open until about 1pm so it was pleasant enough.

We all loved the place...there were three generations of us and we all made lots of friends and had a wonderful time. My wife and I will certainly be returning soon having had one of the best holidays ever.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lowther Family
13 years 7 months ago
This holiday was lovely and very relaxing.
The hotel was lovely. The staff were very polite and friendly.
The hotel was very clean.
The food was good plenty of choice it alternated each week.
The beach was great because if you wanted to go in the pool you just had to walk up the steps.
The entertainment was good each day there was something.
Wednesday was greek night.
Thursday was karoke.
Every other night there was a show.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
G Farmer
13 years 8 months ago
Before leaving for my holiday I saw several reports on this site about this hotel & the Glyfada resort which were bad, so I was concerned.

However on arrival, I found the hotel , my room, the hotel gtounds & the swimming pool very clean. My room was very clean & comfortable & cleaning maids excellent. The public rooms , dining room, bar & hotel grounds were kept spotlessly clean by the cleaning staff.

The swimming pool was cleaned every day. The dining room had white tablecloths , linen serviettes & silver service.There was a lovely terrace where you could sit to dine alongside the dining room . It overlooked the swimming pool & beach. It was very pleasant to sit there for breakfast & dinner.

The breakfasts were excellent with a large choice, hot (english) & cold (fruit, cold meat,juices etc. etc.),with lots of choice. There were 2 coffee machines which produced very good coffee.

The lunches I found disoppointing, hot & cold dishes were available, but there was only a limited choice, but the sweets were very nice.

The evening dinner was good, with lots of choice. All meals were buffet style.Wine was available, to which you helped yourself, red & white, which was pleasant. The sweet trolley was wonderful!!! Again, excellent coffee!!!

I was only at the Grand Louis Hotel for one week. If I'd been there for 2 weeks, perhaps, I would have found the evening meal choice rather repetetive. I found the dining room staff helpful & polite!!!!

The bar in the main hotel buildin was very comfortable & relaxing with a lovely open terrace with tables & chairs where one could sit on warm evenings.However, I had 1 or 2 run-ins with the bar staff over the all inclusive tariff. Apparently, if the barman brought drinks to your table, you had to pay, even if you were on the all inclusive tariff.I was not informed of this beforehand. I found the bar staff rather aggressive when dealing with queries of this kind, which made me feel uncomfortable.So be warned!!!

I really liked the Beach Bar. The staff were friendly & you could get many different kinds of drinks in any quantity you wanted. Not advisable for alcoholics!!!! I enjoyed the Ouzo!!!!

Overall, I was quite pleased with the hotel & complex, although it was very expensive with a single persons supplement applying. I found it very quiet & relaxing. Just what I was looking for in my holiday. I would imagine it being very busy in July & August. & would avoid staying at this hotel & resort during those periods. I had very little to do with the reception staff. As far as I could see. they were polite & adequate.

I did not make use of any of the hotels entertainments , so can't comment on these.

I booked the flight with First Choice Airlines from Bristol. They were excellent, although my flight times were horrendous.

I'd booked through travel agents who used a firm called Amathus, who were Greek specialists??? Before I left, I phoned them with some queries. They seemed helpful & said they had a rep in Corfu who visited the hotel regularly. When I got to the hotel, I did'nt see any sign of this supposed rep & nobody had ever heard of this rep or any company called "Amathus". Luckily, I was able to get any info I needed from the Thompson rep who was very helpful. I booked a bus trip from her around the island called "Simply Corfu" It was very good & the guide was excellent!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice Airlines

Recommended
Nets Lane
13 years 8 months ago
Having returned from this hotel only 4 days ago, I can say that it is currently very good...with only one or two minor complaints, we had a very enjoyable 2 weeks.

We were located on the 7th floor and it had clearly been recently refurbished...it was very clean and well presented. The maid service was very good and they ensured we had clean towels, linen etc every morning. However...the air-conditioning in our room didn't function particularly well and even though we highlighted this on more than one occasion we didn't get it rectified before we left...apparently spare parts were on order. On our last day, we had booked a late check out room and had to move down to the 2nd floor ... this room was directly under the kitchens and the noise was noticeable ! Also, there appeared to be an air-vent leading from the kitchen into the room, bringing with it a wonderful aroma of cabbage and bins ! Some poor souls must have spent their entire holiday here ! Go for the 7th floor if you get a choice !

As a vegetarian, I was a little worried that I may be struggling in the restaurant but I needn't have been concerned. There was a good selection of dishes at each meal. We've stayed 'all inclusive' before in the Caribbean and must say that, in comparison, this hotel did have a less imaginative menu but it was all well cooked and well presented. There was always a more child-friendly dish on the menu too for evening meals (fish fingers, hot dogs, pizza etc). And the puddings were particularly yummy !!!

The hotel is somewhat isolated but this was pointed out in the brochure so we knew what to expect. We found the relative quietness very relaxing - had we wanted to explore there were plenty buses, organised trips and car/scooter hire available.

The hotel staff were, without exception, lovely. We had no complaints at all. The waiting staff went out of their way to be friendly and polite...the bar staff all enjoyed to chat in limited English with a bit of German thrown in ! The Animation Team, who were all Italian, were very friendly...they tried their best to involve everybody and were particularly good with the children. The evening entertainment was a little naff (for want of a better word) but the team deserve 10 out of 10 for trying ! The life guard also has to be pointed out as he was particularly helpful - we didn't see him rescue anyone from the sea (thankfully) but he was also the first-aider and was very caring and concerned about those of us who needed to be patched up ! As in most cases...if you're friendly and polite to people, they'll be friendly and polite back !

We would visit this hotel again if we were looking for a 'lazing by the pool' holiday...definitely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum