Image of Sunrise Apartments

Sunrise Apartments

1 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

5 out of 5 from 9 reviews
6 G.Seferi street, HERSONISOS 70014, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
We would return again!
7 years 10 months ago
Can't say enough about these apartments. When we arrived we where welcomed with a big warm smile and a shot of raki from Yianni.

We had a top floor apartment with a huge terrace. Rooms were very clean and had everything you needed for comfort. Air con was extra if you wanted it - 7euros a night.

Everybody who works here are very friendly and helpful; Aris the barman is great at making cocktails and inventing lots of new shots!

The location is pretty good, not to far from Hersonnisos at the bottom of the hill, about 20mins away and to the beach. Koutoulafari is 5 mins away, Piskipiano about 10 mins and Old Hersonissos about 15 mins away.

We would come to these apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Neil,tracy,Ellie & Lydia
Brilliant, friendly, relaxing and clean
7 years 11 months ago
This was our 3rd visit to these apartments and it just gets better. Arrived again to be met with a drink and a welcoming smile. We were shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay.

The pool is immaculate with ample sunbeds for all guests. The gardens around the complex are fantastic and well kept. Sunday night is Greek night with loads of food that is well prepared and with the Greek dancing and raki brewed by the owners, it breaks down barriers with fellow guests which adds to the friendly atmosphere in the complex.

Staff could not do enough for you. Aris and Yiannis run the bar and make the place. If you get to know Aris you will find he is a magician and artist with all forms of drink (legendary).

The location of these apartments is fantastic. Once you have your luggage you are twenty minutes from the airport. You are close to Aqua plus water park, you are 5 mins walk from the beautiful village of Kououloufari,10 mins walk from the equally beautiful village of Piskopiano and both have numerous tavernas, bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. You are 20 mins walk from Star beach and Hersonissos if you want to sample the attractions there that include the clubs and bars. This place has to be the best holiday location/apartments I have stayed in.

They are friendly, relaxing, clean and the staff are excellent and I cannot recommend the place highly enough. Certainly won’t be our last visit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Keep An Eye On Them When The Local Drink Raki Is Around! A Good Overall Holiday.
Basic yet clean
8 years ago
This is a small complex on the outskirts of a delightful village. The accommodation itself is basic yet clean with plenty of space. The pool area is fairly small however there are plenty of sunbeds for all guests. Staff are friendly and very helpful, they contacted the rep for us when we had a minor problem. Snacks served at the poolside bar were freshly cooked and always tasty. The "Greek bar-be-que" night is good fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Margaret
8 years 1 month ago
Sunrise apartments are basic but quite large and clean and cleaned and changed linen regularly. The big "plus" to these apartments is the staff - it's family run and every person there went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. There is a good sized clean pool and a small pool bar which serves snacks at any time of the day and night (we arrived about midnight and asked if there was any chance of food and he just switched on the cookers and cooked anything we wanted!) It is a small, well run and well maintained complex.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Neil/Tracy/Ellie/Lydia
9 years 10 months ago
What a fantastic place to visit for a holiday.The apartments are clean with a very good sized pool and bar area.The apartments are set in very well kept gardens and have a small supermarket and really good bakery across the road that is run by an English woman.All the staff especially Aris and Yianni are very friendly and are always on hand to give advice and help if it is needed,They help in making a good holiday.The apartments are family orientated and not overun by yobs.Towels and bedding are changed twice a week with the apartments being cleaned daily. the weekly barbeque is excellent value and the Greek dancing is very enjoyable.They are only a two or three minutes walk from the village and twenty five mnutes from the airport so they are in an ideal spot.Hersonissos is a twenty minute walk way if you want some different scenery or younger scene at night.I can not recommend The Sunrise apartments highly enough to anyone as they are extremely well looked after with great staff in a wonderful location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended
Laura
10 years ago
Sunrise Appartments is a lovely place to have your holiday, it was our first time on Crete and definatley not the last. Sunrise is well situated, yes .. up a hill but if you cut throught the all inclusive hotel down the road from the Rainbow supermarket it is a far easier walk, and a free shuttle bus runs you to Star beach.
Star Beach provides a great service and facitities for all the family, it is quite over priced but you can always stock up in their little shop en-route and save a fortune.
Do take a good supply of high factor sun lotion with you, it is VERY expensive to buy over there.
The bus service is good and regular, its about 5 euro return to Heraklion, we also got the bus to Malia... Big mistake, it is an absolute dump and the beach is about a mile and a half walk and is quite horrible, full of rocks and rocks and rock pools.
Undoubtedly the best restaurant is Sergiani's in Koutouloufari, fantastic service, clean, friendly, very reasonably priced, free puddings and enough choice to last you a month!
We tried others, Gallini was very nice, a bit more expensive and classy but you came out still hungry, Emmanuel (opposite Sergiani's) was the worst, i had a pile of slop which was quite vile and full of fatty meat, our son was asleep in the pushchair and when we got our bill it had 3 items we were unsure of, when questioned the manager said it was a cover charge for the use of the chairs table and table cloth! We were shocked and a a bit annoyed as we seemed to have to even pay to park a pushchair there too, the manager told us this was normal ! OK!
You can get some nice Jewellery in the shops, but do haggle especially for cash, the first shop you reach is reasonably priced but the one the other end of the little town is about 3 times the price!
Whilst on our 2 weeks break we found that this area of crete perfect for all the family, there is no noise or yobs anything to ruin your holiday. we look forward to returning there soon.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: coop/kosmar

Recommended
Coles
11 years 9 months ago
The rooms were very clean & spacious,close to the pool & bar areas, with excellent views & close to the 3 villages all with excellent restaurants.

The staff were extremely polite & friendly & Grandad did a great job of keeping us entertained, Yanis & Aris spoke extremely good English, were very helpful & pointed us in the right direction for the best local restaurants in Hersonnisis Port,The Raki was potent.But very good. The BBQ was great but we werent really looking for entertainment as we pretty much made our own.

We definately want to re-book but are having trouble at the moment finding out how to!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lynne
12 years 9 months ago
We took this accommodation in a last minute deal wanting a relaxing week's break and that's exactly what we got.

The apartments are far enough away from the 18-30 crowds of Herssonisis but close enough if you want to go into town.

The apartments are kept really clean, they are basic but all you need. They have a great pool and snack bar serving snacks/meals all day.

The staff go out their way to make you feel welcome and will do almost anything to make you have a holiday to remember.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hayley
13 years 9 months ago
We stayed at Sunrise Apartments in Koutouloufari in Sept 2004. The accomodation was self catering with a very handy supermarket across the way & an even handier bakery!!!!!

The apartments were always clean & we saw the lovely girls 6 times a week when they came to clean up. Everyone was so friendly and the staff couldn't do enough for you, always on hand with useful advice where to go, best restaurants etc.

They also had a snack bar which provided food for us from 9am til late all of which was made for you as you ordered it at very reasonable prices.

The apartments are set up on the hillside so I'd recommend anyone who has problems walking up steep hills (& I do mean steep!) then either get a taxi (only 5 Euros) back from hersonissos/beach etc or just stay up in koutouloufari/piskopiano/old hersonissos!

Every sunday night there was a bar-b-q with divine greek cuisine & dancing. At other times you usually ended up going for a meal at one of the many restaurants in the villages and went back to the bar afterwards for a refreshing beer or in my case cocktail or 3!!

By the end of our 2 weeks there we were on first name terms with the families and had picked a few words of greek from our friendly barman (even though he was a man city supporter!!)
For the essentials ie: large beer & small beer!

When we returned from our holiday we where thoroughly chilled out and it was all thanks to the fabulous & warm welcome we had had from the "sunrise family" and grandads raki and we are trying to get back there again this year to see our friends once more...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Koutouloufari