Image of Angelika Apartments

Angelika Apartments

1 of 2 hotels in Milatos

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
Paralia Milatou, Neapoli 724 00, Greece
A superbly finished property set in glorious gardens. Ten minutes walk will bring you into the traditional village of Milatos, famous for its fish tavernas. There is a small supermarket nearby and a torch is recommended for after dark returns.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John(Janis),Gill And Beth
10 years 10 months ago
The Angelica is a family run hotel, that caters very well for couples as well as families, self catering was sufficent, the kitchen was small but well equiped, after all who wants to spend time in the kitchen on their holidays!!

Our balcony overlooked the pool, we were on the second floor, yes there was some noise from the pool but only kids enjoying themselves.

The hotel had a great maid service, the rooms were kept clean all the time, the hotel itself couldn't be faulted, it was spotlees.

The food was basic but adequate, the location was breath taking, it reminded my husband of the Greece he first visited back in his single days(25 years ago!)

The entertainment was good, especially the BBQ and the Greek night(made even better by the greek family holidaying from Athens, Grandad drank too much ouzo) I must admit that the karaoke is not our scene, but everybody else enjoyed themselves, we took ourselves off to the wonderful tavernas and enjoyed the views, good food and wine.

Lastly but by no means least the Staff!!!
Manos, George, Costas(chef), Janis(gardener) and many more were all superb, they looked after the hotel, shop,gardens and rooms(with amazing ice creams for 1 euro each, very cheap)with friendliness and curtousy.

Sorry almost forgot, COSTAS the bar man, I don't know if we can say anything that has not already been said, he was the life and sole of the party, his shoes were made for walkin' he was cheeky, whitty, polite,funny, knew his football(if you can call supporting Liverpool football!) and most importantly he knew how to take stick from his customers, Costa is the main reason why we returned to visit Milatos this year, we took a day out of our holiday schedual, just to visit him in 2007.

Olympic no longer have the Angeica, this being the reason we didn't return this year. We will definatly return, watch out Angelika, we will be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
John
11 years 9 months ago
Lovely little hotel in quite location - just right to relax and wind down. Excellent deep pool for good swimmers. Pool side bar. Staff very friendly and helpful - for us the only draw back was that there is no waiter service for drinks around the pool or at the pool side tables - a shame when this rated a 4 star hotel.

Room needed a bit of attention like some sink and wash basin plugs. Self catering means a two ring hob -which is limiting. Good local mini markets but prices seemed a little inflated.

Air conditioning was extra 40 euros per week payable to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympus

Recommended
Keith & Julie
11 years 9 months ago
First impressions excellent lovely reception, rooms clean double bed and linen laid out nicely.

Standard kitchen fixtures for greece and yes a greek kettle is a saucepan hence we always take a travel kettle. Linen, towels and bins changed and emptied regularly.

The staff fantastic George,Costas1 and Costas cook what can you say brillant you would return just to see these guys again. Costas runs the bar knows his football and plays great music.Late evening the music is turned down.

Pool is fabulous only bug bear not enough sunbeds. The shop is adequate for morning bread and provisions.

We had lunch a couple of times and evening meals Costas cooking did us proud.

Hotel location 400 yards to resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
M
11 years 9 months ago
Our room was lovely, but unfortunately v noisy as it overlooked the pool and bar. In the brochure it was described as quiet, but looking at the guest book in the hotel reception it seemed that previous guests had complained it was too quiet, so there was q a bit of evening entertainment (or at least loud music played in the bar).

I would go back to this place, but probably only if I had a room facing the other direction. The pool wasn't to our taste - I wanted to read by the pool and it was too noisy for that (lots of dance/pop music), so we tended to go to the beaches instead. The beaches were about 10-15 min walk away. They were all pebbly - bring shoes that you can wear into the sea.

The food at the hotel was ok but you'll get nicer stuff in Milatos itself (there are loads of tavernas all along the sea front). The shop in the hotel was q basic, but had fresh bread every day and you could buy water, ham, cheese, ice creams, crisps, chocolate as well as some tinned and packet food. There was a small supermarket in Milatos with a greater selection - they sold fresh fruit and veg as well.

The kitchen was pretty basic, but was fine for preparing lunches. We did eat in one or two evenings, but mostly went out for food. There was one small frying pan and one large saucepan and a small jug type pan used for boiling water for coffee. There was a fridge and a two ring hotplate.

The room had air conditioning - 80 Euros for 14 nights. We got this, it wasn't so hot that it was essential, but it was good for drowning out the music from the bar! There was also a safe in the room. This cost 15 Euros for 14 nights. You could also get a TV, but can't remember how much that was.

The bathroom was v nice - it had a shower curtain, which seems to be quite rare for Greece. The shower had good pressure, but it was often v cold early in the day (we tended to sleep in late though so was only a problem on a couple of days).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
M Aria & Sean
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Angelika Apartments in Milatos. Holiday from hell!!

The staff were unfriendly, inadequate, inept, rude and aggressive.

Our towels were stolen from around the pool, we were misquoted for the telephone cost and, consequently, were forced to pay more than we had anticipated.

The manager was very unfriendly towards us as we didn't spend any money in the shop, bar or restaurant. All the products in the shop were charged at inflated prices and there was a terrible atmosphere in the bar and they played awful music so we preferred not to waste our evenings sitting there.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Both Of Us
11 years 9 months ago
We really loved this place, it was so relaxed and so friendly. The hotel was great, and so was the resort.

The only thing that spoiled it slightly was the ignorant couple who never had anything to do with any of the other holiday guests or the staff.

They left their towels out 24/7, but were rarely seen at the poolside. Hardly surprising that their towels went "missing". Perhaps they should have looked over the wall adjoining the hotel?

Don't be put off by their remarks, this hotel is excellent and well worth a visit, it is highly recommended
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Sue Poole
11 years 10 months ago
Stayed in a very spacious studio apartment.

Standard of cleanliness was very good in apartment and in the communial areas.

Pool was excellent and very welcome after stretching out on sunbeds in baking hot temperatures.

Apartments a bit isolated 12 euro taxi ride to nearest resort but that wasnt a problem as I had chosen it for its quiet location.

Staff were very friendly and accomodating not much in the way of entertainment just sport on the tv in the bar and one evening a very funny who wants to be a millionaire contest with the people in the bar as contestants and a glass of raki as the
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Ali
11 years 10 months ago
More criticism than credit on this one! The Angelika hotel is in good repair and well looked after.

My room was big and fairly well equipped in the kitchen with standard 2 ring stove top, with minimal crockery/cutlery. It is true about the towels and, more importantly, the loo bins. A once-a-week empty is unacceptable, but is what you get. Would recommend taking a pack of fragranced nappy sacks to put your paper waste in, and tie the handles up, then putting it in the bin. I only had one change of towels/linen during the week, but it seems there's only two cleaners for the whole hotel. There are arrivals/departures almost every day, so these women have their work cut out! And don't bank on the assertion from Olympic holidays that you can keep your room on until 11.30pm of the night of your return flight! It's down to availability, but of course there is no availability even though there are a lot of night flights serving this hotel. I only saw one family allowed to do this. That's a pain if you have a 3/6am return flight, and are kicking around for 12+ hours before transfer pick-ups! Would recommend taking a torch and a candle - we had 4 power cuts in a week!

The pool area is nice but the towels are on those sunbeds almost before the sun comes up! However, that peaceful and tranquil setting is entirely ruined by the totally repetitive and excessively loud music played by the barman, and he really does not like to be asked to turn it down!! If I never hear 'you're beautiful' again, it will be too soon! Costas may be a good barman, but a DJ he ain't!! I don't know how the people in rooms facing the pool bar didn't go round the bend listening to it from 10am until 1.30am.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Jean And Bas Wells
11 years 11 months ago
Angelika Hotel is situated in a very quiet small unspoilt traditional Cretan resort of Milatos.

The rooms are to a very good standard, clean and comfortable with good balconies. The pool is kept very clean and of a good size and includes a toddler pool.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Manilos(the owner)is very nice and welcoming. George,is a lovely warm and helpful person, who is always ready to help you and make your stay a good one. Kostos the barman who knows your name and your drink from day one and also makes your stay special. Kostos the chief who works hard and prepares the best Greek salad ever!

We would like to thank them all for making our holiday one of the best holidays, if not "the best" we have ever had in Greece!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended
Michelle & Rob
11 years 11 months ago
My husband and I had a lovely holiday, thanks to Angelika Hotel. As everyone else has already said, but it is so true, the staff are so friendly. Kostos the bar man is such a star and boy does that guy like 'Coldplay'!

The pool is is top notch condition and clean, but in peak season, you need to do some strategic planning to ensure a sunbed by the pool for the day!

We would definately visit this hotel again - when you first arrive, it looks like you are in the middle of nowhere, but the walk to Milatos (traditional fishing village) is only a five minute stroll away.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum