Image of Sani Beach Hotel

Sani Beach Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Sani

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
5 stars
Sani, Kassandra 63077, Greece
This hotel is set in an idyllic location amidst the world class Sani Beach resort and enjoys a mixture of peace and tranquility. Ther eis a full entertainment programme on offer and a wide range of activities.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alan Case
15 years 1 month ago
The first impression you get when you enter the hotel, is that it is very large and very clean. You can see cleaners about their tasks at all times of the day and evening.

At breakfast there is a fantastic selection of food to suite every taste and it is well presented.

The hotel is situated at one end of the bay, at the other end is the Sani Beach Club. The hotel grounds are well laid out and well looked after.

The only minus point is that the hotel way way out, with no public transport and the only means of getting out is by taxi or car hire. There are shops at the marina but prices are set, as there is no competition.


The hotel staff are very friendly and are always smiling. One waiter said that they were told to be polite and to smile. They work very very hard.

The entertainment is not bad. However we watched two spectacular shows that would grace the west end all put on by the entertainments team.

This hotel and resort is ideal for getting away from every thing and is totally relaxing because there is no where else to go unless you hire a car or go by taxi.

It is a 20 minuet taxi ride to a lovely village of Afitos and costs 16 euros each way
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
D Gisby
15 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Sani Beach Hotel. The room was a reasonable size with good wardrobe and drawer space. There was also a safe in the room which was a good size for our money, passports etc. Room was cleaned thoroughly every day and towels changed when requested. Balcony was also good size with table and chairs. No tea making facilities or iron in room, therefore were were glad we took our travel kettle. However, we had to pay for some ironing to be done as there was no iron available, not even from reception. This wasn't expensive though.

The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained, the staff very friendly and helpful, especially the waitresses in the bar area next to the reception who we had teaching us how to order drinks in their various languages (as most of them are students). We mainly did this out of boredom due to lack of evening entertainment!

The pool area was very nice, surrounded by very pretty grounds. The trick with getting a sunbed around the pool is to go down at 9am and put your towel on a bed. Any towels placed before 9am are removed by the hotel staff and put in a pile next to the pool. We thought this was a great idea!

Beach was very thin, but clean and also had waiters/waitresses coming round for drink/snack orders on a regular basis if you wanted to stay there all day and not have to walk back onto hotel grounds (although the beach is right next to hotel). Lots of sunbeds either on beach or in gardens at hotel, so we never struggled to find anywhere to perch ourselves during the day.

The entertainment was very lacking, with only a half an hour at midday around the pool with music (which the DJ talked all the way through) and a bit of pool volleyball whilst this was going on. In the evenings, there is a show which lasts half an hour, but nothing else. The Marina was lovely to walk round at night, but after the first week, we got very bored with this and there is no music playing in any of the restaurants or bars. The disco in the hotel was empty and quite frankly most nights because we were so bored, we didn't want to stay up until 11am when it opened to check it out.

We ended up sacrificing our half board status a few nights to visit Kalithea and Hanioti which are mildly lively towns nearby (Kalithea 16 EUR each way in taxi) (Hanioti 25 EUR each way in taxi). If we hadn't done this we would have been climbing the walls by the end of the 2 weeks. Luckily we met some like-minded people and shared taxis with them to keep the costs down a bit. Taxi rank in Hanioti was a 2 hour wait on the way home, so if you go there on a Saturday night make sure you pre-book a taxi for the return journey.

The buffet restaurant was very good, couldn't fault the food, although the dress code of men having to wear long trousers was a bit much (especially as my husband only took shorts with him and they would not allow him to eat in there until he found some trousers - he actually resorted to wearing his tracksuit bottoms which he had worn on the plane going out and then changing back to shorts straight after we had eaten). This was very annoying especially as the restaurant was a buffet and not silver service or anything grand. The restaurants in the marina were very expensive, although the Greek Taverna was quite reasonable compared to the others and we ate there a couple of times during our stay as the food was delicious.

The dine-around option is a bit confusing when you first arrive, but we soon worked out what to do.

Beware the mosquitos! The mosquitos at Sani are massive and leave nasty boils on your body if you are unfortunate enough to be appetising to them. The repellent they sell at the shop in the hotel and in the pharmacies in the nearby towns does not repel these things!! Make sure you take some powerful stuff from home.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for couples with young children, people wanting to get away from it all and do nothing but laze in the sun and eat and drink and retired people who like a bit of peace and quiet. If you are after a bit of nightlife, try staying in one of the towns nearby. It would have been nice to have a bit more balance between the peace and the entertainment, however, we did come back far more relaxed than we have ever done from anywhere else!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Mrs Fidell
15 years 3 months ago
We booked a Junior Suite with sea view but on arrival were upgraded by the hotel to two twin inconnecting rooms with sea view which was great as our children had their own room, shower and toilet. Rooms cleaned spotlessly every day.

Hotel food was excellent with good selection to choose from.

Hotel staff were very polite and helpful.

Entertainment could have been better but we do not go on holiday for the hotel entertainment. The entertainment staff work very hard but are split between working at the hotel and the beach club so cannot be at the hotel every day. There were 2 or 3 shows in each venue each work but these finished early.

There are beautiful bars to drink in and we preferred to do that or take a walk around the marina in the evening.

The beach party organised for the last night was fabulous and highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Neaves
16 years 2 months ago
Have just returned from a very good holiday at the Sani Beach Hotel. Herewith the good points:-

1. The complex is very clean with plenty of staff to cater for your whims. The pool is large enough to cope with the amount of people in August. The beaches are fab. We used mostly the one behind the hotel. Water clear, clean and shallow for a long way out.

2. Enough sun beds to go around. Although we never got one near the pool (nor did we want one with the heat) there were enough in the immediate vicinity of the pool and you could use the trees for much needed shade. Towels were provided but it was only 2 per room (adults only). However you could usually manage to wangle a couple more. These you could change regularly.

3. The rooms were small but adequate. We had a family room which means they put in bunk beds. In our original room we had a toilet leak which meant the floor was a river, we had to complain for 3 days before something was done. Unfortunately my son slipped on the wet floor and banged his head on the tiles which caused me to complain very loudly. They then stated there was technical problem with our room and arranged a move swiftly after that.

4. Food. There is plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner. Indeed a wonderful array of hot and cold food. You could spend ages deciding because of the choice. A buffet which meant you could go up a hundred times if needed (believe you me you don't need it). The Sani Beach hotel dining room is very busy and quite dark but the staff are fab and the food is great, with normally live musically accompanying your mea. We therefore chose most nights to catch the shuttle bus (free) from outside the hotel to the Sani Beach Club where you could eat as well. Beautiful restaurant with big wicker chairs and incredible sea views with excellent food. This is included within your half board.

5. Children's club. My kids LOVED it. In fact my son who I never thought I would see dancing on stage or attending a children's club loved it. This meant us adults had some quality time in the afternoon just to chill, read, swim etc. My children were old enough to take the safe route to the club and we would then follow them when we had finished breakfast or lunch and sign them in. The staff were wonderful and the children's club house large. They took them on the banana boats (extra charge) and arranged shows etc. Credit to the staff who did a wonderful job. I am like most parents worried about their children, but the staff were excellent. You had to sign whether they could leave on their own or not.

6. Do not go to Sani if you expect entertainment to last for hours. There is normally a show in the evening in addition to the kids disco which lasts about half an hour. They also do productions like "Les Miserables" which last for over an hour. We enjoyed them and had a laugh at them/with them. You can chose where you are going to watch that evening's performance either at the hotel or the beach club. A bit of fun in lovely surrounding. There is also an disco in the nightclub (not sampled). There are music quiz's and bingo nights, for an 10 euro outlay on bingo night you could win 900 euros. All in all a bit of fun in lovely surroundings.

7. Water sports. Suffice to say for the first time I went on the banana boat. Will NOT be the last. There were other water sports which we did not sample. However I went snorkelling in the beautiful water, great fun. On some days one beach would be choppy with the other calm, the next day it would reverse. Great fun and great beaches.

8. The Sani complex is spread over a wide area, the marina and beach club add to the fun.

9. Never got time to sample the tennis (what a shame, never packed the trainers) nor the bike hire. We wanted to do the bike hire as there are some simple routes but there was never enough children's bikes.

The hotel and the grounds were kept immaculate. It was nice to be able to wander into the marina and admire the very expensive yachts.

One tip is to book the sunset cruise with customer relations. The is a free hours cruise with a glass of asti and canape. They do not advertise this and they get booked up so book on arrival.

Bad points. Not many but they should be included to provide a balance. The good outweighed the bad by a considerable amount.

1. The location is isolated. I felt hemmed in and wanted to go out on a few trips. Unfortunately my family did not mind being by the pool and the children's club and to go on any good trips meant a long journey. The hotel run a coach everyday to various locations for a return fare of 14 euros. I went on a couple of occaions. The market at Kassandra was not bad but about an hour too long. However the trip to the tourist town was dire. You could see everything in about an hour half an hour and you had 31/2 hours there. My children bought some awful plastic toys (available at any seaside). On this holiday I would of paid to go on a couple of tour operator trips eg Thessaloniki.

2. Very pricey drinks/lunches. I would suggest you pay as you go instead of signing to your room. They seem to add 10 percent to your bill when you sign. After two weeks you can not rremember all the drinks/meals you signed for. when you sign for your drinks or meals they DO NOT give you a receipt for what you have signed for. Although I paid mostly cash as I went on a few occasions I signed for drinks. I then myself took the yellow carbon copy, this is when I discovered that they did not match up with the amount owing and I owed about 10 percent more each time. Buy your kids drinks in the supermarket in the Marina or better still on an outing, stick them in the fridge in your hotel room much cheaper. We bought wine and beer as well and stuck in the fridge to have in the evening.

3. The meals in the marina are very expensive. You can usually use your half board ticket to get a discount of 8 euros per adult and 4 per child. Even using the discount however in the Italian for 2 starters and four pizza's and a cheap bottle of wine it cost us 116 euros. We signed for this paid 10 euros in cash for tips and when we went to settle our bill at th end of the holiday found the 10 euros tip added to the bill. Soured the holiday a bit.

Even so it was a very good holiday. There was none of the drunk rowdy brit abroad. About 30 percent of people at the hotel were repeat visitors which shows you how much people like it. My sons wanted us to go again next year he liked it that much.

I will return at some point in the future, but I have had just as good holiday on other Greek Islands. it was very good but I have not got this burning desire to return again immediately, personally I would like the choice to be able to wander into a local village or town and sample a different life. Many people describe Sani as like Disney, although you can go to different areas they are all owned by the same company and there is no escaping from this fact. I also did not like the signing side with no receipt given and extra money addes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Bailey
16 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a wonderful two week holiday at the Sani Beach Hotel.

There are plenty of staff who were all wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The food is quite good, if a little repetative. The pool area and gardens are beautiful and there are plenty of sunbeds.

The only downside to the hotel if that the bedrooms are a little on the small side and the beds are very uncomfortable. We arrived late August hoping there would not be too many children there as schools were due to reopen early September, but unfortunately this was not the case. There were an awful lot of children and it was impossible to relax around the pool area due to the noise, and the pool was packed.

This would not however stop me from returning to Sani as next time I would book at the Sani Village which was much quieter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TUI

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Adams
16 years 3 months ago
All I can say is wow what a great hotel! Shouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
N.Neal
16 years 4 months ago
I have just returned from my second stay at the Sani Beach Hotel and once again I cannot fault it. I booked my holiday direct with the hotel and got a cheap BA flight which worked out a lot cheaper than booking through a tour operator.

Also, if you are staying for more than 7 nights the hotel provide free transfers to and from the airport. It all went so smoothly that I don't think I will bother with a tour operator again!

The hotel is fantastic, very clean and spacious. I booked a double room with sea view and was given a room on the 5th floor (top) and the views were magnificent - I couldn't have asked for more.

The staff are excellent, they are always there to help with any problem you may have. They are always friendly and smiling, even though they work extremely hard and for long hours.

The food is fantastic in the restaurants at the hotel - you are guaranteed to put on weight! They also offer a 'dine around' service where you can dine at other restaurants at the Sani Beach Club and around the Sani Marina for little or no extra charge (depending on which restaurant you choose).

The hotel has just added a new Spa health club so if you want to pamper yourself give it a go. I treated myself to an aftersun facial treatment - it was absolutely divine! There is also a new luxury indoor pool and new well equipped gym.

I would definitely return to the Sani Beach Hotel and am already looking forward to it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct with hotel

Recommended
Annette Johnson
17 years 1 month ago
Could not fault the hotel at all. Very impressed with food and cleanliness. Entertainment not very good although this could have been because it was end of season. Kids were bit bored in evening. Kids club there but only for age 4 and over. Location of hotel not ideal if you like going out to shop and go to local bars etc. Some shops and bars at marina but the shops were quite expensive and quite limited. Pool cold (shame it could not have been heated).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jane J
17 years 2 months ago
The hotel and surrounding areas were immaculately clean. The food was great with lots of different choices each night to suit everyone even the kiddies were happy. The hotel, marina and beach club all form a large complex so only shops/bars to wonder around are the few in the marina, all very nice but not many of them. The hotel staff were fantastic very very friendly and helpful all spoke excellent english and couldn't do enough for you. The entertainment was pretty good a different show every night for two weeks. The best entertainment though was in the morning watching the pool man removing towels which had been left to reserve sun beds - if you want to reserve a sun bed before 9:00 a.m. you have to stay on it and this was a very strict rule. All in all we had a really great time and we would definitely go back to this hotel. Only word of warning if you have children you might want to consider upgrading to a junior suite as the rooms we saw look quite small. We upgraded direct with the hotel for a fraction of the price than the holiday company. The beach resort has its own website and you can get their e-mail address from there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
17 years 2 months ago
I stayed at the Sani beach club, it's a fantastic hotel, right on the beach beautiful coastline brilliant walks.

The food was fantastic and you could use the dine around facility at the sani beach hotel or the restaurants on the marina.

I would definately go back - it is definately not for people who can't walk far due to hilly location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.