Image of Kefalonia Palace Hotel

Kefalonia Palace Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Lixouri

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
Lixouri, Cephalonia Palace, Lixouri-Xi 28200, Greece
Set on its own in an unspoilt area outside Lixouri, this hotel enjoys terrific views of the surrounding countryside and is well situated near the beach. A great choice of facilities and spacious grounds making it ideal for families.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rod Smith
11 years 9 months ago
I travelled with a large group of pensioners. We had to get our luggage to our rooms on our own, no lifts.
After struggling with bags, we found the rooms to be dull, DIRTY & in need of a face-lift. 10 rooms had to be changed/cleaned as there was cockroach out break in many rooms, the staff were not very helpful nor was the Thomson rep,...

Food at the hotel was very basic, served cold on many occasions.

If you like BINGO 7 nights a week this place is for you, We found better entertainment in town 6K away.

If you would like a chill out holiday the hotel is in an isolated area, infact the beach is empty nothing going at all.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Rob Marshall
11 years 9 months ago
More like 1 star, Thomsons 4 star can't be trusted.
I was shown 2 smelly rooms with COCKROCHs and left the
disscusting place.
I sucsesfully sued Thomsons for the cost of the holiday ... after they refused a refund...

We had a lovely time at The Passpalce
in SKALA ,, HIGHLY RECOMENDED..

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Rachel
11 years 10 months ago
I travelled here last summer with my sister and our two three year old daughters. Overall, we absolutely loved it.

It is fair to say that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. You can get a taxi into the nearest town which is perhaps a fifteen minute trip. The resort itself has a couple of tavernas, but great if you want to go somewhere away from gaudy lighting and fast food joints. The only thing I really missed was the opportunity to have a walk after dinner, there is'nt really anywhere to walk.

The beach is nice, there is a shop and restaurant next to it. The steps down to the beach are slightly rickety (not great if you are unsteady on your feet). The sea is beautifully warm and calm and there is the added bonus of lots of clay dotted around the beach so that you can give yourself a face pack! (honest, its great!)

The hotel itself was pretty special I thought. The rooms are a bit bland but perfectly adequate. The pool area is gorgeous, not overly busy at all and this was in high season. It is really, really relaxing.

The entertainment was ok, kids disco, Karaoke one night, video one night (!), perfectly adequate.

We thought the food was absolutely gorgeous. All feels very homemade traditional Greek fare, even homemade chips. Really, really nice. The restaurant staff were also lovely, they made a real effort for my daughters third birthday.

The hotel has a real family feel to it, rather than a soul less big chain hotel. It is perfect if you want a quiet, get away from it all holiday. Loved it here.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Steve+Pat Protheroe.
12 years 9 months ago
The staff are really friendly and helpful. They are always smiling and seem happy in their work. A special mention for Vangelis, Dina and the animation team (Sami and Anita).

The cleaning ladies were lovely and work hard.

The food was good with ample selection for us. Being allocated a table for the duration was great.

Location was a little isolated so you will need a car to explore the beautiful island. Beach perfect if staying near hotel.

Be prepared to take part in the activities.

There is a need for a A.T.M at the hotel. Laundry room is useful (with limited baggage allowance)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Martin, Sam, Craig & Aimee
12 years 10 months ago
The food at the hotel was very good. Even my son who is a finicky eater ate well.

The rooms were cleaned every day, with towels only being changed if you put them in the bath. Bed linen was changed 2 -3 times a week. The rooms were a little on the small side (2 single beds and a bunk bed) but we only bathed, changed and slept in them. The fridge was big enough to put a few bottled waters in. We also had a kettle.

The hotel now has facilities to wash, dry and iron your clothes. It was nice to sunbathe on the sunbeds if you could get one.

The pool/bar staff were not on duty till 10 a.m. so the sunbeds were being reserved as early as 7.30 a.m.

The location of the hotel was ideal for us as we wanted a get away from it all holiday but this doesn't suit everybody. The beach was a two minute walk away and there is a lovely cafe (The jolly fisherman)a good 15 minute walk up the hill. We did catch the bus a couple of times into Lixouri (about 6 euros for us all)and then a ferry over to Argostolli. (Buses run 4 times a day in high season) We did get a taxi back once as we missed the bus and that cost us 8 euro.

The staff were brilliant. Panagiotis, our waiter in the restuarant made a fuss of the children. The pool/evening bar staff were very freindly, especially Terry, Dina & the unforgetable Makis who were always up for a laugh.
10/10 for the entertainment team. Not only did the children love them so did the adults. Zabi (with his touille, touille, ratatouille phrase)doubled up as the fire eater and strong man, Annet mainly did the childrens activities and Eva did water gym, water polo plus various other sports with the adults. Games were ran at mid-day for children and adults, where you could win yourself a cocktail. A group of greek dancers came in and now my family are experts in dancing zorba the greek and syrtaki.

Just one other thing to say on the entertainment. Be very careful when doing the pop quiz as you had to run up to the stage and be the first to sit on the chair. This caused a few collisions with a few chairs being broken. Also, don't make yourself too popular with the entertainment team as you will end up on stage most nights, all in the name of fun. But what a laugh.
The best holiday we have ever had. We will be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Dan
13 years ago
Got back yesterday, loved the appartments. Very near beach and shops would go back again! 10/10 thanks it was great.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Luke Hockley
13 years 9 months ago
A fairly large but family run hotel. The rooms were cleaned everyday, they were basic but comfortable. Clearly we were not the first people to have problems with biting insects as the marks on the walls indicated - insect repellant and some sort of mosquito zapper are needed for the room. (They are sold in the shop, but not supplied by the hotel...)

The food was fine and sometimes good. For vegeterians (which inlcudes one of us) options could be a little limited but generally it was better than expected. The restaurant on the sea front is lovely for an evening meal, and the food there was the best that we had on our holiday. (It's owned by the hotel.)

We liked the location as we wanted somewhere a little cut off. Everytime you want to go anywhere it means a short bus ride, followed by the ferry across to Angostoli. For us this just added to the holiday. The hotel is only 5 mins from the beach, which is lovely. The hotel grounds are very pleasant, but do watch out for the area around the pool which is very uneven (there are plenty of notices about it).

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. This said, the postcards which we gave to the hotel reception are still somewhere in Greece! Happy hour is good value, and nice chance to get some drinks before going down to dinner.

We really enjoyed this hotel and are looking forward to going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Graham
13 years 10 months ago
When we checked in we were given the room key and TV remote control held together with sellotape. This didn't convey a good image. Other things like soap dispensers were held together the same way.

The loos by the swimming pool and dining room were awful. Thee latter was hot, and smelled of sulphur.

The food was edible and generally very average. It never delighted either myself or my wife.

The entertainment was definitely 1950's Butlins.

The staff were always polite and helpful.

There could have been more sunlougers and shade on site. The pool was busy with lots of children and organised games etc so we went to the beach which was excellent. (These beach facilities were so far as we know unconnected to the hotel) The hotel location was pretty isolated with one bus in the morning, and one return in the afternoon to Lixouri. A 15 minute journey. Only alternative was a Taxi.

Overall a good holday but the hotel did not deserve a Class A rating. It simply was very average and unexceptional.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Angela
13 years 10 months ago
Greated at hotel by very pleasant staff and continued to be pleasant the whole of the holiday. Family room children had bunk beds very clean, cleaned every day, bathroom clean shower over bath, soap dispensers with soap in. Not enough sun beds by pool could use grass area for more sun beds, area by pool very uneven but there are notices around the pool and bar area to warn you. Bar staff by pool pleasant but service very slow. Bar staff in main bar of an evening very pleasant. Dining Room very hot not sure if air conditioning working. Food good not much choice for children ours ok as they liked pasta and chips, they were impressed by the ice cream bar they could visit as many times as they wanted.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jayde
13 years 11 months ago
I'm 22 and went with My Byfriend (25yrs), Mum &Step-dad (45-50yrs), and Brother (16yrs) on 11 July 2004 for a week, my thoughts were:

lobby/reception area:
Nice tiled floors god for keeping cool, Helpful staff, Clean hallways, no bugs.

Rooms:
we were on the first floor and had 2 rooms next to each other. Very, Very clean, good size, telly with a quite a few channels (some in english). Double bed wasn't available we pushed the beds together.
Nice size balcony, 4 chairs and a table with a washing line.
If you were on the ground floor you had a huge terrace space with sun loungers.
Ensuite Bathrooms - very very clean soap dispensers rather than soap - good idea. Fresh towels daily. Cleaned, sweeped and mopped daily and maids are trust-worthy.

Maids/domestics:
Cleaned, sweeped and mopped daily and maids are trust-worthy. I left digital Camera out and she put it in the draw, and my boyfriend left his watch on the balcony and she put on the bed-side table.

Pool & Main Bar:
Staff speak very good english and are extremely friendly and dont mind making conversation with you (the lovely Anna & Dina), large measures of drink at least 75ml! So be careful how you knock them back.
Pool bar has uneven surface BUT there are lots of notices reminding you.

Pool:
Decent, clean, good depth. Baby pool okay, little cold. Glad people can't reserve sun-loungers/beds with shades, there's only 60 in sets of 2 so 30 really. Staff go round and remove people towels if their not there for more than 30 minutes. There are other sunloungers with out shades, that are stacked by the pool, but there isn't any shade.

Animation Team:
Noel, Isobella and Jack-animation team- we've met a few different memebers from previous holidays and they've always been of a high standard and the kids love them.
These 3 are no exception, I have NO idea where they get the engery from, they encourage everyone to participate without being too in your face and annoying. Always helpful and bubbling over they most certainly do try to entertain you.
If you have young children then they'll be fine with them.

The Reps:
The Reps well I was SO disappointed with PAULA who was the First Choice Holidays Rep. We saw her for a grand total of 1 hour in a whole week! No contact number til Wednesday.She also discouraged you from going out. Her answer to everything was ''go to the port/harbour front and see what you can find'' this ranged from asking about over-booked excersions too finding a decent vegitarian meal (Mum is a Strict Veggie).
Thankfully Jenny the Thompson Rep was Fantastic, and even tried to get us on her excursions when Paula messed up all our excursions. She was so helpful and did really well to resovle any problems, or would always try to find a answer to your question no matter how small.

Food:
Was great the Whole family ate well including my Mum who's a strict veggitarian and Vegan. Little brother 16yrs old always had food on his plate. And I'm fussy so yes the food was good and fresh, you actually see it get delivered about 11am if your in the laundry room.

XI Beach:
Right next to the hotel, stunning! Red Sand and blue sea, very good for swimming and water games not really sports as there isn't really much wind. More relaxing than anything.Safe for kids to swim in & play.
Got a few beach cafe's best one is Dolphins which is linked to kelfalonia Palace Hotel anyway, full menu, good food & decent prices,staff speak good english.
The side of the beach is made out of this clay that really good for Psoriasis as well as smoothing skin and making it soft and shiny, try it if you walk along the beach you'll see bits of it everywhere Greyish colour. Wet is and smear it on, leave it to dry 5 mins and exfoliate with the sand it works! Soft ,smooth, kissable skin.

Overall:
Very relaxing,Good food, friendly, helpful staff, nice country, stunning views. entertainment could be better, not much for young couples or teenagers to do come evening time. More sun-loungers by the pool area.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum