Image of Amalia Apartments

Amalia Apartments

3 of 8 hotels in Koukounaries

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
2 stars
Koukounaries 37002, Greece
A torch is recommended for late night returns. Not recommended for those with walking difficulties.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Thomas
8 years ago
Whether you want a quiet break or a real fun time this place would suit all. The night's at George's Bar are memorable and there is always a great crowd there. George promises the drinks are the cheapest on the island and if you find any bar cheaper your drinks for your stay are free. No-one has collected on this yet! Most nights are lively but the party night's are memorable, but we blame it on the ouzo. If you want a holiday you'll remember look them up at Olympic.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olynpic

Recommended
Simon
9 years 11 months ago
The apartments are basic and very clean, bedding and towels are spotless. Yes, there is only a shower and the rooms are basic, but this is simply Greece at its best. No high rise concrete jungles in site just loads of character.

No real entertainment, but a bar that is almost half the price of others in the area, great music and nothing tacky just nice people having a relaxing drink and kids free to play in safety.

The surrounding scenery is just out of this world, yes a torch Is recommended at night to stroll home down the country track, which is pitch black and possibly not suitable for the elderly and infirm.

Loved the location, and had the best holiday in a long, long, time. If you want a place to just chill, unwind and relax then this is a must for anyone.

Ten to fifteen mins from the fabulous beach and restaurants, never had a bad meal, loved muses, Elias Orchard and the Big bad wolf.

Cant wait to go back, ps who said the bar music is too loud?????? every one is treated with respect by George who tries to keep everyone happy.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended
Morgan
9 years 11 months ago
Away from the main road down a narrow track which left you dust covered should a vehicle drive past while you are walking, torch needed at night.
Some parts quite lumpy and bumpy and a few holes so be careful.

Room ok, a little shabby in places, shower curtain dirty, Taps covered in rust etc., cuttlery not of a decent standard, oven door didn't shut properly.

No bath mat in the bathroom so a slippery floor can be a hazard and shower curtain does not keep water from covering the floor. By the time we had both showered we had to mop the floor, we would have been wading if there were anymore showers to be had.

While we were there the pump broke down and there wasn't any water for a day and we also had two powercuts, which obviously stopped the pump as well so no water while the power was down.

We had the air conditioning and safe for our stay.

Pool looked a little dirty when you were under the water looking up, not cleaned often enough.

An adequate base but no good for "self catering"
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Tina Wilder
11 years 11 months ago
Villa Amalia it's a beautifull place with very basic but clean rooms,a lovely bar a handy games room with a pool table and a crystal blue pool to die for.

George at the bar n bella his dog they ll make your holidays specially if you have kids!!!

The rooms are clean n the have air cons,tv's, and safes for hire.The bar is quiet lively with quiz nights,pool parties but nothing rude or over the line n George always is trying to make the kids n the parents friends n have good time.

As George says his bar has the best prices on the island!!!It's 100% true -even the Olimpic rep says at the welcome meatings - "As George says if u find any drink same price or cheaper all you have to do tell George or the rep the name of the bar n you can have it for free for the rest of your holydays! "

Many did try including myself but not a chance George we love you.

The quiz nights the are really good fun n they are for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olimpic

Recommended
Sue Stanining
12 years 9 months ago
I 've been to Amalia appartments 3 times now and i ve had such a great time.The resort is excellent and the staff of the Amalia is FANTASTIC !!!!

Especially George behind the bar, makes everything so you can have a great holiday - but whatever you don't ask him his age:). George is a character and he says (n it s true cause I've checked it) that has the best prices in the island!!! ( pint of beer is only 1.20 pounds - 2 euros) Which was very handy for me and my friend.

There's also a lovely crystal blue pool,play area for kids and a pool table. Restaurants in the resort a very good I would recomend the Runway, The Big Bad Wolf,
Willie 's and the Village. Ladies if you want to party with kids safely till late George will sort you out!

About beaches you definitely have to try Koukounaries, Madraki, Ilias beach and Banana beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olimpic

Recommended
Mick & Bernie
12 years 10 months ago
The apartments themselves were in a state of disrepair,the location was fantastic.a pine forest well off the road,Skiathos was the most beautiful Island we have yet visited in Greece.

The only fly in the ointment was the loud music being played by George the Barman, played from Noon till the early hours even if the bar was empty which it was all the time because of the noise and type of music being played. When asked to turn volume down he said in brochure This is lively Bar,we pointed out,there were two people in Bar which could hold Two Hundred,not a lively Bar,just noisy Bar,music being played for George,not customers,he said, go inside,close shutters and glass and you will not hear my music. We found this strange as we liked to sit on Balcony and enjoy warm evening weather.

That is the only gripe we had about Amalia, but it would prevent us ever,ever staying there again, what a shame,beautiful setting,beautiful place,but not George's place,please beware,don't waste your euros.

Try nextdoor,great place.Myrtia Hotel,nice and quiet,nice people.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Julia And Mick
13 years ago
We stayed at the Amalia last year for the first time. We had the best holiday ever. It was so friendly and very welcoming. George is an excellent host. It is, and George does promote a lively atmosphere, he is very keen to have the Amalia marketed as 'lively', but does respond to any complaints about noise. We met 3 other couples during our stay and we are all returning to the Amailia July 06.

The accommodation is basic (it is 2star) but clean with towels and bed linen changed regularly. There were also plenty of clothes hangers in the wardrobe, which was a pleasant change. You could manage to cook in the Apartments, but I wouldn't call them well equipped, just adequate.

I love the location, not traffic noise at all as it is well set back, like an oasis in an oasis.

George is quite happy for you to organise BBQ's providing its open to any guests who wish to join in. Simply go to town buy your meat, salad, whatever you want and George will light the big woodburning B.B.Q. for you. All in all for anyone wanting a fun filled holiday, with opportunity to party and then fall into bed, then the Amaila will be right up your street!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
J.Brown
13 years 1 month ago
Set in a beautiful peaceful location at the end of a long track. Torch definitely needed for returning back to the apartments at night we didn't take one and the children were a bit scared when we had to walk back to the apartments at night!

Accommodation very basic and slightly run down, but have stayed in worse than this in Greece. Basically its typical Greek accommodation but if you just want a base its not a problem.

Pool very clean.

We went on several days to the hotel next door-very welcoming and friendly owners who are pleased for you to use their pool if you buy a drink or lunch which was very nice too.

Wouldn't come back to Skiathos as didn't really like the island and would far rather return to Kefalonia or Corfu.

No restaurants in particular stood out in Koukanaries, all much the same type of food and would have been a bit boring if there more than a week.

One word of mention however must be said for the Windmill restaurant in Skiathos town..absolutely stunning and well worth the visit!

Another point that should be mentioned is that while we were in Skiathos the evenings were very nippy so pack a light cardigan/jacket in case.

The dog sanctuary on the island is well worth a visit and they really rely on the tourists to the island. you can hold the puppies and take the dogs out for a walk, the children loved it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: don't know

Colin@donna
13 years 2 months ago
Been twice before, friendly family run.

George barman owner is brilliant.

Rooms basic but clean.

No food available but George will get you a takeaway delivered.

Location well off the road very quiet.

Swimming pool is excellent.

Greek night brilliant no pretend dancers just George his family and a lot of locals like it should be.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kosmar

Recommended
Laura
13 years 2 months ago
Me and my family (there is usually about 12 of us, sometimes more) have been going to skiathos for 7 years now, we absolutely love it :D

I love staying with George he is a great guy he always looks after you on your visit, the beer is the cheapest on the whole island.

The complaint about the music is unfounded it gets turned down at 9pm and earlier when flights have came in so all new arrivals get a good nights rest.

Greek night is fabulous George and his family prepare Greek meatballs and Greek wine free, there is lots of dancing and smashing plates it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmar

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum