Image of Zante Royal Palace Hotel

Zante Royal Palace Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Vasilikos

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Zante Royal Palace Hotel Vasilikos 49100, Greece
A traditionally styled hotel with a great hillside location, enjoying splendid sea views and extensive Mediterannean gardens. With lots of facilities on offer including waterslides, you can relax by the pool or spoil yourself by having dinner on the beach.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brian & Jean
New management but not 4 stars
6 years 5 months ago
Formally under the management of the Louis group, this complex closed in 2008; it reopened last year under the management of the Miro group with the problems associated with bringing an empty building back to life.

This hotel operated with a 4 star rating, and to be fair to the new management where the previous owners never updates it and the ravages of being left empty, I cannot say it is still worth 4 stars I would say a good 3+ rating. Most of the problems come with past lack of maintenance, cracked tiles, bath plugs missing, out dated fixtures and fittings in the rooms and the like.

But these things are not important, clean accommodation friendly staff some cracking views make up for its short comings.
We arrived Sunday late PM, reception was bright, clean and well-staffed with pleasant experienced people , after the usual booking in procedure we were taken to our rooms.

Both our rooms had been re-decorated were found to be clean and inviting, Our room had twin beds and adequate furniture [if a little dated] our daughters room had a double bed and for our granddaughter a z bed there was plenty of room to move in each.

The hotel public areas all appear to be in good order. My granddaughter loved the Zantino club [purpose built children’s club on 3 levels]also the kiddies train and the slides [ there are 2 only a low one for children and a high one for big kids and adults]. Due to it being the first week of the season only open a couple of hours a day.

A taverna style restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast, food was good international [no British favourites burger nuggets fish fingers etc] breakfast was the usual choice of Greek, continental or English [with a Greek twist] the multinational staff functioned well the Cypriot chief and his staff prepared and presented excellently.

Two pools each with a bar were open both looked clean and inviting were open [more bars will open as the season continues].

The cleaning staff do an ace job, we saw one cleaner at 8am in the morning and she was still cleaning [bar toilets] at 8 pm at night. There was not any entertainment the week we attended.

AI is not by choice my wife and I's preferred holiday but we did enjoy it as a family, my daughter and her family are already considering a return next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Liz Smith
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Louis Royal Palace for a two week all inclusive holiday. This hotel is not four star, we have stayed in better b class hotels in Greece!

The rooms are not well maintained, and in no way reflect the images portrayed in the brochure or the hotels own web site. The whole hotel has a shabby appearance apart from the restaurants and reception areas, the wall paper was coming off the walls in our room, the wardrobes were dirty, and we had ants in our bathroom need I go on!! In all the hotel needs a lot of money investing in it to bring it up to date.

We found that the food was acceptable in the first week, although the children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Rob Bowman
12 years 1 month ago
On arrival at the resort after a twisty journey on the local roads we entered through a lovely big inviting gateway and where dropped off in front of a big reception area. Once there the reception staff greeted us with a warm welcome, speaking good clear English. We then proceeded to our room which was large spacious and clean. However it took us a while to work out that the metal key fob on your room keys fits into a little box near to the door allowing the lights to come on. Also the air condition unit only works when you close the rear patio doors.

On unpacking it was found there is not much drawer space so take plenty of coat hangers. We quickly found the pool, which was large clean and surrounded by loads of sunbeds, apart from a few cracked tiles. After a quick dip we went to the pool bar and all through the holiday where met by friendly hard working staff not having to wait long at any time.(if you want sunbeds on either the beach or pool put your towels down before seven to match our German friends). The water slide is good for the kids and at the top gives a great view over the beach.

Meal times where great with plenty of local cuisine in a spotless restaurant with the waiters clearing your table quickly.

Entertainment was very basic with a repeated mini disco and the odd game of bingo but the kids found the small kids area with a slide, see-saw, etc great fun where they made friends and gave mums and dads a rest. However we went for a quiet time and after a long day sunbathing it was nice to unwind with no noisy discos.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
CHRISTOPHER THOMPSON
12 years 3 months ago
We arrived at the Royal Palace on the 20th June 2006. We got room 133 wich was a superior room wich was nice and big for the four of us.

For the first couple of days we made the mistake of opening the patio door in the evening and thats when the mosquitoes came in. In the evening we had a few cochroaches in the bathroom and bedroom wich we soon sorted out with my size tens!!!

The restaurant was ok, the breakfast was superb with a choice of full english, toast, cereals, croissants and fruit. There was various juices, tea, coffee and water.

The lunches and dinners were varied. You had a choice of either the salad bar or the hot meals were a choice of pasta, fish and meat wich was different every day. The children had there own little section, mainly chips, burgers etc. The bar by the pools was ok seving the drinks, hardly any queues at all to get served.

The pool with the slides were ok even though I picked up a ear infection from the pool.Even in the newish lift there was still 70 steps to walk down towards the beach and dont forget its always harder when you have to come back up them at the end of the day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Annie Care
12 years 3 months ago
Our first all inclusive holiday. We picked a great Hotel its very clean the room we had was large enough for all 4 of us. The air conditioning was a pure delight after a day in the sun.

The food was very good, plenty of variety !

The location is a bit out of the way, but that also has its plus points as we wanted a relaxing quiet holiday.

Hotel staff were ok, not overly happy though.

We never saw any entertainment as we stayed at the Royal Palace and the entertainment was based at the other hotels.

Not sure I would stay there again as there was a lot of German guests and they were not happy holiday makers !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mark Cottle
13 years 3 months ago
Visited in June for two weeks on all inclusive at Royal Palace.

Exceptional holiday from entertainment to food to staff all a1 obviously location not best if you want to venture around but if all inc. is your option then you will want for nothing.

One piece of advice skip the reps trips and ask at reception for trip with Mario as you will swim with turtles SUPERB.

I cannot find any faults with this place as none of us wanted holiday to end - brilliant!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mark Cottle
13 years 3 months ago
Fantastic holiday 100% entertainment staff were the best ever freindly and fun.

Accommodation excellent views magnificent{pay for sea view worth it}.Beach superb,no2 son had birthday whist on hol and hotel made cake and all sang happy birthday and provided champagne for adults.

Food not bad but in second week got a little repetitive but small price to pay cannot recommend hotel enough
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mark And Sue
13 years 11 months ago
We visited the Royal Palace for a family holiday in October 2004. We have 2 young children aged 8 and 4.

Overall we enjoyed the holiday very much and would definitley go back again!

The food was varied and good quality and we ate there every day 3 times a day - the deserts were a bit samey but a good variety of main courses and always options for the kids(chips/chicken nuggets/hamburgers/sausage rolls/.)

Breakfast was the best meal of the day - where you could either get a full English buffet or opt for croissants/cereals and toast 9/10!

Lunch and dinner were similar but they tried to theme it as much as possible. The salads were great.

The pool was superb (one attached to hotel, as you can use all the pools and facilities of the 3 sister hotels situated on the same grounds.) We did go at a quiet time of year but we always got a sunbed and the bar all inc drinks were fine. The ice creams that are free were excellent quality.

The pool bar also laid on snacks throughout the day (usually chips/chicken nuggets etc which was great - but steer clear of the manky sandwiches! and stale cakes!)

The staff in the hotel were really mixed - the managers were fantastic and made a real effort to keep everyone happy - the reception staff on the whole were brilliant! The bar staff were truly awful - everything was too much trouble for them even serving drinks was like the biggest issue in the world - they would tut and roll their eyes at you as if you asked them to clean your toilet!

The location of the hotel is ok...but there are a lot of steps and I mean a lot - to get to the beach you have to go down 103 steps (I counted them) There is a lift that takes you straight to the beach but it seems to only operate when the "lift guy" can be bothered to literally press the button as you are not allowed to press it yourself - The kids were fine with the steps but we had a disabled person in our party who basically couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Clarke
14 years 4 months ago
where to start. well the hotel is very clean the swimming pools are a lot of fun and it has its own beach which is great. BUT !!!

apart from dimitris the rest of the staff were so miserable they are not in the right job for sure. the food was the same everyday and the choice was awful. greek night and italian night looked the same to me and everyone else except maybe the flags in the restaurant. we ate out all but two of our lunches just to get some variety.

ENTERTAINMENT !!!
truly awful after you stopped laughing you realized this was it, this was the serious entertainment you had paid for and the nearest resort to do anything else is over 10 km away.

The kids will love the pools (3 of them) and the slides but the whole hotel needs a kick up the backside and realise they are there to take care of us the paying customer and not grown and complain when the kids ask for an ice cream and they have to walk 1.5 metres to the freezer tutting all they way ( in the pool bar ). overall i would not reccomend this hotel as it falls short in the most important parts of making a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Martine White
15 years 2 months ago
Lovely hotel with excellent swimming pools.

Food was good.

Long way down to beach we used the lift all the time as we had pushchair, didn't have to wait long for lift. Beach was brilliant and bar and food on beach as well.

Entertainment was ok for kids. Loved the park and kids club especially as it was right next to bar and pool so easy to keep an eye on kids.

Bit quiet at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum