Image of Lucia Beach Guest House

Lucia Beach Guest House

10 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
Candolim, Goa, India
1 - 5 Bedrooms with attached sitting room and 1 or 2 bedrooms with kitchen and sitting room. All rooms are fully furnished with modern facilities. The room rate is negotiable with a 50% discount during the off-season.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not Specified
Little gem tucked away.
6 years 6 months ago
A family run place, the Lucia Guesthouse is an ideal place for those wanting clean, basic, affordable accommodation.

This little gem is tucked away down a quiet lane in Sinquerim, just past the Lui Beach Hotel, offering a bit of tranquillity from the mayhem of Calangute/Baga, but still within easy reach of more varied nightlife of Candolim.

Rooms vary from single to two bedroom, with shower room, A/C and a fridge that is stocked with minerals and beer, all at supermarket prices so no fear of a 'bar bill' that will shock you at the end of your stay.
Not Specified
Great family run guest house
6 years 8 months ago
This is a family run guest house, they are wonderful loving and caring people. The accommodation is lovely with en-suite bathroom (rooms only) and spotless.

The guest house is so near to the beach, 2 mins if that and 3mins walk to the restaurants and bars, yet you are in such an oasis of peace...no noise. 'Lucia' is a fabulous cook and is always happy to cook what you want.
Food:
Service:
Location:
Ione Minett And Volker Stamme
Perfect location
7 years 9 months ago
This was our second visit to Lucia, Joseph and Lawrence's wonderful guest house, and it certainly won't be our last. Truly delightful as ever and we were greeted like long lost friends.

The location is perfect, just a small field behind the house and the ocean just beyond it. A quiet location but close to the buzz of shops and restaurants in Candolim (an easy walk).

The rooms are big and clean. Our room had two rooms, a shower room and balcony overlooking the field, with a useful frige. Breakfast was served to us on our balcony every day by one of our hosts, always accompanied by a good chat. Joseph has been in Candolim most of his life and was very good at identifiying all the colourful species of birds and wildlife that we could spot from the balcony.

Joseph and Lucia could not do more to help make our stay enjoyable, hiring a motorbike for us, giving us tips on places to see, hints on prices, what to do in our six hour stop over in Mumbai, and even inviting us down for 'nibbles' on one of our last nights (delicious king fish and prawns over a glass of beer).

As another reviewer mentions, this is not a Titos or a five star resort but in terms of value for money, it is top notch. And it is worth considering when you book a holiday where your cash is going; would you rather pay a big company for your stay when you have no idea how the money is used and what people are paid, or put it right into the hands of those who have looked after you so brilliantly?! We'll definitely be going back again - like so many guests, one stay and you become a regular. The only worry is that we might not get a room next time we try to book!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Constantine Pol
8 years 5 months ago
Lucia's guesthouse is really Excellent (5 stars!!). April 2010 it was the tenth time we travelled to Candolim/ Goa. We have been in the Whispering, the Marquis and the Highland Beach Resort. Lucia'Guesthouse is simple and basic but what you need more when you have Lucia, Joseph and Lauwrence on your side? The room was ok
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked on internet

Recommended
Jason A Ward
8 years 5 months ago
This year is my 5th year that i have stayed at lucia guest house,And what can i say apart from Great... Joseph,Lucia,Lawrence are the most kind & most honest special people you could ever wish to meet & stay & holiday with. The guest house is very clean,Very tidy,My room had a/c (With remote control)my room was cleaned every day with clean beding & towels & i even had my curtains change.The guest house is in a ace spot rear facing view is looking at the sea,And on a night all u can hear is the sea & the palm trees moving in the breeze pure Heaven.. I have already booked to go back next april 2011,And cant wait to holiday in candolim/goa again at lucia guest house,Over the years they have made me feel like one of there family as they do with all there guests,Also the breakfast was fresh every morning fresh fruit,Toast,Tea,Eggs lovley all hot & fresh,I also had 2/3 evening meals cooked as well by lucia who is a ace cook as is joseph all cooked with fresh food got that day from the local market there meat & fish dishes are just amazing all the taste and spices that go into them & you can taste are just great.I also had a full stocked fridge with what ever i wanted in there beer,Water,Tonic Water,Coke you just pay joseph at the end of your holiday & the prices he charges are very very fair he keeps it topped up as u go,Anything you want or need they will do there best to get it for you & help you out in anyway they can.All i can say is i would recommend this guest house to any of my friends & family it is like a home from home always makes my holiday in goa complete.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel In The Crown

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
We booked Lucia's based on the rave reviews we had seen on various internet sites like this one. I've been to Goa on 6 occasions in the past, so am under no illusions about the hotels etc.,
The booking was made by email, and we sent the deposit by Western Union, no problems there, and Lucia and Joseph are very honest decent people, who work very hard.
However, we booked an air-con room facing the sea, only to be told the week we were due to fly to Goa that we coudn't have the room, the people who were already in there were staying another 3 weeks.
When we arrived at Lucia's, we were given a room with a bed with a 2" thick foam mattress, no air con and windows that hardly opened. We literally couldn't breathe in there, and didn't even bother to unpack. Joeseph found us another room across the way from them, but the accommodation, whilst a lot better, was still not great.
Joseph or Lucia brought us breakfast most mornings, or we went over to them, but we didn't find the food that good, and usually had a second breakfast on the beach. The room was also not cleaned daily, there were piles of dust in the corners, and dead insects.
The cockroaches turned up on day 3, and we spent a jolly hour killing them. The wasps nest outside the bedroom window was the final straw, and we moved up the road to the Lui Beach.
I honestly can't recomment Lucia's to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

9 years 9 months ago
We decided to book the Lucia beach guest house after reading numerous excellent reports on the internet and from personal recommendations.

We arrived early morning after a long flight via Sri Lanka and were met by Lucia and Joseph
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
You cannot fail to enjoy yourself in the care of Lucia and Joseph! Lovely location, a stones throw from the beach (Fort Aguada end) but still a choice of shacks. Nice restaurants nearby and only a short walk to main Candolim 'strip' - or, local bus trip only 5 rupees or taxi 75 -100(3 people!). Lucia's at end of quiet road so no traffic noise - a good night's sleep followed by Lucia's delicious breakfasts - different everyday and delivered to your room to eat on balcony at your leisure. Both Lucia and Joseph treat you like family members and nothing is too much trouble -a chat, a drink, even washing our beach towels!!! We loved it so much we got very cheap last minute flights in Feb 2009 for 2 and turned up on the doorstep where we were lucky enough to get a room. Our personal preference is for either of the top floor rooms facing the front but our daughter was given a ground floor room in December facing the sea and loved it. Hopefully we shall return!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Own booking

Recommended
Lou
10 years 6 months ago
This is very basic and you definitely get what you pay for. We ordered a taxi from the owners only to find he never turned up to pick us up from the airport. we waited an hour before deciding to make our own way.

Hotel room was very small and was shared with 4 different species of ants and a host of other insects. There was also so building work going on right outside our room every day which was very noisy and annoying.

I think they was offended when we never ate the breakfast and never got the free meal either. The hotel is in a good location for the beach.

Candolim itself was OK but not OK for young couples as you get too much hassle particularly my girlfriend, lots of beggars too.

I would only recommend this place for people who dont mind hundreds of ants and likes budget accommodation. If i came back to Goa I would be staying in 5 star accommodation like the Taj.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Manos

Igor
10 years 6 months ago
We came across Lucia Beach Guest House in the internet. It was highly recommended and seeing no other alternative, we decided to try. From the very moment we saw it we realized we were extremely lucky we had an opportunity to check in. We do highly recommend everyone to book beforehand for Lucia Beach Guest House is very popular among guests and rather busy. The hosts are a lovely, friendly and helpful couple. They were too kind and served us a different type of breakfast every morning. The guesthouse is perfectly located
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Samposebe

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum