Image of Valentines Retreat Hotel

Valentines Retreat Hotel

22 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
Sequeira waddo Candolim, Goa 403515, India
The Valentine's Retreat is in a great location with the golden sands of Candolim Beach less than 10 minutes' walk and the nearest shops on the main Candolim Road just a couple of minutes away. The rooms are in two blocks, one at each end of the swimming pool.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Recommend for family holiday
6 years 3 months ago
Stayed here for 16 days from 24th Feb 2012. I was a bit worried because there are some reports slating it but I found it first rate for the money/ star rating

Hotel was spotless. Sheets changed everyday and were pure white as were the pillow cases.

New towels everyday.

Room was basic though that didn't bother us. Ours opened out onto the pool area which was perfect for my 5 year old son.

Room has A/C which was brand new and also ceiling fans. Large fridge and Sky also provided within the price.

Only ate a few times but it was always good - chicken hakka noodles were fantastic.

Hotel is down a road called Valentines Lane. For those of you who know the place its between Ice N Spice & Prazeres but on the opposite side of the road. Very quiet location.

I didn't see any evening entertainment but we were out every night from about 7.30 pm until about 10.30 pm.

I would definitely visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Shirley Jones
9 years 4 months ago
if you just want a clean bed to sleep in then this is for you anything else forget it good friendy staff but not what i excpected from a 2 star have been to goa 10 times and i basically just slept here it could have been a good holiday the little things let it down i.e no clean bath mats things not washed balcony not washed glasses not washed and no i am not a fussy person hay this is goa but never again her
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jewl in the crown

Bishop
9 years 4 months ago
We stayed 6 years ago at Valentines retreat and were really looking forward to returning.
What a disappointment,the old restaurant no longer belongs to the hotel and the new one is like an ancient taxi cab office.
Decoration disgusting. The staff who at one time couldn't do enough for you, were disinterested and appeared thoroughly bored.
The rooms were dirty with ants and cockroaches.
The staff did attempt to make good any complaints but you cant keep complaining can you. I the end we just suffered in silence.Will not return to this hotel. Really disappointed after such a good hotel before.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the crown

Dave And Joy
10 years 3 months ago
Valentines retreat a typical 2 star hotel beds hard but what you expect in India. Apart from the grey sheets the hotel was very clean.

The food excellent location perfect just off the main road and close to the beach.

Hotel staff second to none they could'nt do enough for you.

Rocky our main man had a bigger smile than GOA itself. No entertainment but we will definatly return to such a friendly hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This was our second visit to Valentine's Retreat and we enjoyed it just as much as last year.

The location was ideal for us, up a lane off the Panjim road just past the Shatadurga Temple.
We had a pool view room, in fact the same room as last year - which the guys on Reception were keen to remind us about when they recognised us on our arrival.
It was around a 10 to 15 minute walk to the beach.

There was NO noise at all, either from the entertainment (which we never stayed in the Hotel fo) or from any traffic.

As I said in my previous report, the bedroom was fairly small but there was a separate sitting room with fridge, sink, table & 4 chairs, coffee table and 2 easy chairs and a dressing table.

The rooms were clean and kept clean by the room boys, and although the sheets and towels were not pristine white, they WERE clean and changed regularly.

The bathroom was fine and there was always lots of hot water. In fact, most evenings it was too hot without the addition of cold water.

We didn't eat in the Hotel, not even for breakfast, so I've chosen to class it as self-catering.

The safety deposit boxes were secure and seemed to be accessible most of the time.

The staff are really pleasant and even gave me a bunch of flowers on the morning that we departed.

We would choose to go back to this hotel yet again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
mmc
11 years 3 months ago
On arrival at the Valentine we were shown a room with just a double bed and told they would send a sofa bed for 14 year old daughter.

Not happy with this so asked to see if any other rooms available, were shown a 2 bedroomed apartment with sitting room and pool view. Accepted this but was told there would be a charge, didn't have to pay it though presume Cosmos rep sorted it on the one day that we saw him.

The room was initially a bit grubby as it looked like nobody had been in it for a while. But after Alan, the cleaner, had cleaned it the first day it kept it clean with fresh towels whenever asked.

We had tea and toast for breakfast, 2eggs extra 30rupees, and a few meals at the hotel which were OK.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rocky with a smile bigger than him, and Davinder helping us book a trip to the wildernest.

We would visit this hotel again, its not 5 star but this is Goa
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Niki Panton
11 years 7 months ago
Although we stayed on a self catering basis, we ate omelete with toast and coffee most mornings, they also had BBQ nights and tandoori nights both of which were fantastic. Fresh lobster and king prawns are a must.

Our room was cleaned most days with fresh sheets and towels.

The hotel seemed to have its own resident taxi service so whenever you're ready to go so are they, we chose to stay here because it was so close to the beach but because of the monsoon season just finishing it wasn't safe to swim at candolim. Baga beach was only a 10 minute taxi ride away and was safe to swim - and idyllic.

The staff here are so happy to help you, nothing is too much trouble.

My family and I are hoping to go back here next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
We booked this hotel having seen the reviews on HT but quickly wished we hadn't. Sadly we checked out after 4 days and moved to the Silver Sands (which was heavenly by comparison).

The hotel is in a quiet location on a path off the Nerul road and about 5 mins from the beach. On the plus side there always seemed to be plenty of hot water and the staff were always friendly and helful whilst the pool was always quite tranquil.

However, this is where the good news ended. In the end a mixture of the following made us move:
1 - noise: We were woken every morning at 8 by workmen on the roof without any prior warning.
2 - the a/c was so old and loud we could barley sleep with it on
3 - unclean rooms: we almost had to beg to get out room cleaned on a number of occasions
4 - linen - the bed sheets were filthy and were just horrid to sleep on
5 - power outages: for some reason this part of Candolim it appears to have more than its share of outages and in for 50%+ of the time we were there we had no power!!

As mentioned above we eventually had to move as myself and my partner were getting to the stage where we simply dreaded returning to our room.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

12 years 3 months ago
Valentine's Retreat is in a very good location, up a lane off the Panjim Road, about 150 yards from the junction.

We had a pool view room and there was absolutely no noise at night, either from the entertainment or traffic.

The rooms were basic but clean.

The bedroom was small, but there was also a seperate sitting area with 2 easy chairs, coffee table, dining table and four chairs, TV, sink and fridge, so overall, it was spacious enough.
There was always lots of VERY hot water, regardless of what time you had a shower.

It was about 10 minutes walk to the beach.

Although we were actually bed and breakfast, we only had one breakfast during our stay so I thought it more fair to describe as SC. Nothing wrong with the tea, coffee, toast & jam, but it's just not for us.

We never ate in the hotel either or got back early enough to see/hear any of the entertainment.

It does have safety deposit boxes, although they are the type that just have a padlock, rather than those that have 2 keys and need a member of staff to open them.
Still, they are located alongside the reception desk and seemed secure enough.
The only downside was that they were only accessible between 9am and 6pm.

We would definitely choose to go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Elaine Boole
12 years 3 months ago
I have stayed in Valentines on 4 occasions the room I always get is G7 overlooking the pool.

The boys in the restaraunt are great especially Govind and Gunga the cleaning boys cant do enough for you.

The kitchen boys are just the same we have made good friends with all the boys Chotu is one of the kitchen boys who will do anything for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flight

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum