Image of Dona Sylvia Cavelossim Beach

Dona Sylvia Cavelossim Beach

4 of 10 hotels in Cavelossim

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
3 stars
The Dona Sylvia is a complex of several buildings, scattered throughout colourful and attractive gardens. There are excellent amenities to enjoy including a large pool and a spacious palm-shaded sun terrace perfect for relaxing and soaking up the warm atmosphere.

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Phil Dooly
9 years 1 month ago
First of all flight 4502 to Goa via Larnaca (not Bahrain) 19.40... Well after all the fuss of boarding the plane we eventually took off at 20.00hrs!! 4 and a half hours later we landed in Larnaca, the Captain said we would be there for 45 minutes to one hour to re-fuel. After a while the plane became very warm and stuffyy so the doors were opened to let some cool air in, after 1 and a hours the plane eventually took off again!!! We were told we would make up the time but much to our dismay we did not!!! Eventually landed at 11.00am what a farce at Goa airport stood in a queue for over an hour (imigration) so slow, it was a joke. Watch the guys when get your cases, we got one case off the carousel just hapened to move down the line at bit and there was an
Indian guy with the other case (cheeky sod). Apparently he wanted some money for doing so (no chance). Also watch out for the guys when you leave the building they try to do the same thing! Be warned!!

Now the hotel/complex, greeted with a cold flannel if you wanted one, the given the wrist band you also got coupons for the Kebabs and kurries Indian Speciality Restaurant, LOL. Got to have been one of the worst curries I have ever tried (lamb gosh) UURRGGHH well at least I tried a mouthful!! Needless to say only went there the once, also a coupon for the Continental (Mama Mia) LOL. Ordered Tomato and Basil soup for starter, which tasted like packet soup, asked for our steaks to be cooked very well done, came swimming in blood!!! So we walked out of that place!!! Although we did try this restaurant again and yes the steaks were very well done, but we ordered chips no potatoes or veg and guess what we had no chips but potatoes... not impressed really!!! Definitely a communication problem somewhere don't you think!! Also whilst eating the cats are doing the patrols around the tables, mainly because the British cat lovers were feeding them.

Now the food in the main restaurant, most people liked the food (obviously no taste buds), but there were quite a few who did not really enjoy it. It was a good job it was pretty cheap to eat out. Whilst we were there, lots of people had upset stomaches us included, after just two days.....

The good points were the room we were in, great balcony, and the biggest bed we have ever slept in, great!! Air Conditioning very good, free safe, TV, fridge. On one occasion the lights tripped at night soon sorted no problem...

The internet cafe in the hotel was always in use and cost 300 R for an hour we found one 5 mins away up the road for 30R and hour so go there..

Four of us hired a taxi for the day, 8.30 to 5.15pm 2,000R to visit the waterfalls, elephants and monkeys also visited a market and Portuguese restaurant. We also went on a boat trip, Cris's Cruises from Mikes Place (where we ate most of the time very good). The boat trip cost 750R left at 10am and returned abt 3pm great day, lovely food and an endless supply of drinks!!!\

On our last day we went on a bus to Margoa what an experience that was, talk about sardines.. LOL!! 10R each though!! We came back in a Tuktuk 250R.

Could not fault the weather it was absolutley fantastic, met some very interesting people and had alot of fun.. And some of the 26 teachers LMAO!!

It was a real experience, would we fly with Monarch again, I dont think so... Maybe visit Goa again some day but stay at a different hotel who knows????
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

9 years 1 month ago
If you want a relaxing and quiet holiday, the Dona Sylvia is fantastic. Flight was with Thomas Cook and was faultless, on time (actually made up a lot of time and arrived half an hour early), excellent service on board.

I did some research beforehand as it was our 1st time to Goa, so the queue for immigration didn't really come as a shock, (what do you expect from a tiny airport??). Think the UK travel agents need to talk to each other tho, as 3 flights landed within an hour of each other, so waited for 1.5 hrs.

Due to the carosel being so small, luggage was piled in the corner of the room, which was fine as i located mine straight away and was off. The guys outside do try and take your luggage from you and take it to the coach and wanted
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelcare.co.uk

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
Hotel and grounds well tended and looked after with excelled access to the beach. Evening entertainment very poor- everything stopped at 11.00pm. We met people on the 6 day "Golden Triangle Tour" who were also staying at this hotel so we all met up every day. We went as a group- 8 of us - to the Kebab and Currie house but came away disappointed however we went to the Mama Mia where the food was excellent - apart from the wine -(sorry).The food in the restaurant was mixed some days ok but other days not so good. We like all types of food - sampled food in Deli Agra and Jaipur and was a little bit let down with the curries at the Dona Sylvia.Staff were very good. The mozzies were on form - big time - so the grounds and hotel (reception area) were fumigated last week - which helped a little bit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Brian
9 years 6 months ago
The hotel is set in extensive landscaped grounds which lead directly on a lovely beach. The Cavelossim area is quite isolated, with only a few shops near the hotel. There is a chemist, a couple of small supermarkets, jewellers and clothes shops, and a small department store, There are also some stalls along the road. Thats it, and if you are into night life, forget it. But the hotel does have entertainment every night, We saw single singers, duos and bands.
The bars close promptly at 11pm, so you need to get your last drinks in before this, we were all-inclusive and were pleasantly surprised that the beers were either Bud, Fosters or Kingfisher.

The hotel consists of blocks of 4 rooms laid out in little closes off the main path through the site, and everywhere is kept immaculately clean. All the staff are very friendly, and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable.

There are two bars and three restaurants, and we found the choice amazing, with different food available every night in the Seagull buffet restaurant, We also used the other two restaurants and enjoyed the food in them all.

Our one gripe (couldn't find anything else) was internet use was for a minimum of 1 hour, about a fiver - which is a lot each time you want to send or receive a quick email.

The beach is endless, with plenty of opportunity for walking. Most mornings we walked for two hour or more along the beach, with it's interesting wildlife of tiny crabs, wading birds, Kites, and of course the inevitable cows. The next hotel is about an hour's walk along the sea shore, and some days we saw only a handful of people along the way. If you want peaceful R&R, it's there for the taking. Outside the hotel, there are a few beach shacks where you can get sun beds free if you buy drinks during the day, but even here the number of sunbeds is limited per shack.

We loved our holiday even with the limitations outside the hotel - we loved everything the Dona Sylvia had to offer, and we loved the beach, and we know we will return soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
This was our first time in India, so I did a lot of research for it. First Choice flight was excellent, lots of leg room, book your seats in advance, we didn't and had to sit 8 rows apart, the bonus was I got an emergency aisle seat, even more room.

Arrived at 10.00am had to wait until 12.30 for a room, no problem, had breakfast and a snooze on the sunbeds.
Food was excellent, I am not a vegetarian, but it would be a paradise for them at this hotel.

Rooms, hotel and ground were spotless, these people work damn hard.

Entertainment not up to much, but we found a large group of friends and made our own!

We used Domnicks beach shack first on the right on the beach, always made very welcome, went to the beach party there twice, drinks and food very cheap and good. Beach sellers good natured, no hassle, have a chat with them.
Sea was rough, good for me, but children beware, dangerous undercurrents at times. 30+ everyday, nice breeze on the beach kept it pleasant.

Go to the beach and turn left, walk 2 miles to the river, fantastic bird life, fishermen etc, saw Kites Eagles, lots of Kingfishers etc.

We were there for Valentines day, they put all the tables and chairs on the tennis court, lots of flags and bunting, entertainment and all the food out there, took days to prepare.

Downside at the hotel is sunbeds, if you are not up at 7.00am forget it. Complain to Maria, pool boys taking large bribes, if you see a bed not used for one hour tell them and they will remove the towels, some people put towels on and don't use until mid day, damn annoying.

There are only one sunbed to 2 people, there is lots of room to put some new ones.

We are already looking back forward to next year!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
P. Jones
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed for Christmas and managed to see the New year in as we were leaving at 4.30am on 1/1/08.

The hotel is set out in lovely gardens and these are kept up to by the gardeners from early morning until late evening.

The food was excellent as there was curry everyday breakfast, lunch and evening meal if you wanted it. I love curry and spicey food but they also catered for the less adventurous, and would even make you something else if there was nothing you could eat.

The location was ok but we did get hassled alot. The staff were so friendly and went out of there way to help.

I think the only let down was the evening entertainment which was very poor, but after a day in the sun we were ready for bed by 10.30pm
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: eclipse

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Dec 07 / Jan 08 B & B in the Dona Sylvia Annex

We arrived at the hotel around 7-30am, check in was quick, offered breakfast, then escorted to the Annex , which was housed in the Luisa by the Sea complex , across the road from the hotel .

We were shown a row of rooms facing a high wall with barbed wire, surounding the derelict buildings belonging to the Old Anchor hotel . No words for it almost in tears , asked for alternative accomodation , which surprisingly was delt with very quickly .

We were shown a villa which had been divided into two units, so we had the usual bedroom and bathroom which was large and good shower area with grab rails, no hairdryer. A fridge and use of safety deposit box in the office were provided at no extra cost. Plenty of storage space in the room, but no table and chairs, three bottles of water supplied every day, and everything kept very clean.

We now had a lovely view of the gardens and swimming pool , where you could always get a sunbed in the natural shade . The terrace to the villa was shared but that wasn't a problem as we got on well with our neighbours.

My only complaint was the rock hard mattress and pillows which could have been filled with cement ! but you got used to it and a few G&T's helped.

Saw lots of colourful birds and butterflies, and heard the occassional thump of a coconut falling. Because of the lush foilage it's wise to burn mosquito coils at dusk for the aperatif's.

We were very pleased with this accomodation in pleasant quiet srroundings, except for the night our neighbours departed, and the room boys started cleaning the room out at 3-00am !! my OH blew his top and screamed Out Out to which they scurried away.

There was a very good choice at breakfast, in a pleasant dining area, with attentive personnel . We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities, but it was a nice walk to the beach through the grounds.

We didn't meet anyone else from GB staying in the Annex so think it is only used by German and Scandinavian firms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: neckerman germany

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Well, after 10+ hours travelling, without a cigarette (sorry!!!) we were absolutely shattered. The culture shock of India was something of a......shock!!!!!

We got onto our coach, after we avoided at least 200 men scrabbling for our suitcases and we were on our way. Being first time visitors to India we didn't quite know what to expect at all, except that this was a third world country, as I'd avidly read on this website for months prior to this holiday.

We got to our hotel after about an hours journey, after being given bottles of water by the coach driver and even my husband said to me that I'd chosen a cracker!!!!!!! We waited in reception, sat down in the most unbelievable comfy chairs by the pool, having registered and been given the appropriate wrist bands, with hot towels clutched firmly to our foreheads, along with winter coats of course, and were served with iced lemon water...heaven. Within the hour we were settked into our room - 161, an upper room, within sight of the pool and all the dining facilities.

The room itself had the biggest balcony we've ever seen, two single beds (pushed together within 5 minutes), wardrobe alcove, free safe (that operated with codes and swipe - and which the maintenance man also unlocked on the 2nd day free of charge, hubby having forgotten the code!!), tv, desk, etc. I had said, before being shown our room, that if we were to be offered a 2nd floor room I would complain, but on seeing this room, and balcony, I was smitten.

Food was absolutely fantastic, we were never short of anything to eat, The Seagul dining restaurant is next door to the main reception, passing the jewellery/chemist/crafts shop on the way. Mornings you could get cooked eggs (boiled, fried, scrambled, poached) from the chefs at two stations, pancakes or thin bread type waffles (sorry, can't think of a better word) freshly cooked from another chef. A wide election of cereals and juices, tea and coffee, fresh fruit, as well as the usual curry, sausage, bacon, etc. A word must be said for the extremely hard working and friendly waiters, who were constantly working, morning, noon and night, to keep drinks replenished and tables tidied.

After breakfast we'd retreat to our sunbeds - in the first week we didn't even have to do the early morning rush to reserve, the second week, children's Christmas holidays, we had no such luck.

Dinners and evening meals were of the same excellent quality - anyone worrying about the food need not, both myself and hubby are picky eaters, we loved everything they had to offer!!! Salad (mixed by an eager chef standing by with an unbelievable range of items, or you could just pick yourself), 2 types of soup, at least six types of bread for starters. Over to the main meals - three types of meat/fish courses, plus two chefs ready to cook two other meat/fish courses, then over to the middle island, where everything else was set out on dispaly, chips (once or twice), rice, nan, various curried vegetables, etc. As is usual, if you're not there early (and if you are you'll get shown to your seat personally) don't bother in term time......give it an hour or so, get a cup of tea or coffee, or an alcoholic drink from The Seagul bar or upstairs bar and sit in reception or on your balcony to wait it out.

Having missed our evening meal one night we resigned ourselves to meal service, menus were left in our rooms - main meals were all about 200 ruppees, these included fish-n-chips, golden fried prawns, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Tanduri Murgh, Pomfret Rechaco, goan Fish curry.....hubby settled on 2 x Dona Sylvia Clubhouse Sandwich (180 rp each), which came complete with dressings, salad and of course chips (or french fries, which, you guessed, I ate!!)



We wandered down to the beach our first day, walking through the beautiful gardens of the hotel and past the friendly security guards - we noted that there are no beach front apartments - only those facing the massage centre, and beautiful manicured lawns, the beach itself is a mere couple of minutes from here, you can hear it, but alas, the perfectly manicured lawns prevent you seeing it!! There were two ladies, one on each side, selling clothing who waved and said hello to us and then we saw it.....the sea!!!! Not before having at least half a dozen young men running to us asking us to try their shacks.....we resisted until we got to the last one on the left of the main drag - can't remember the name now, but it was absolutely excellent. The food was perfect, service attentive and what a view!! On our first visit we had six beers, two waters and two mixed omelettes.....bill came to less than
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
This is the 6th time we have been to this hotel so you can tell what I am about to say. The hotel is excellent. We stayed AI for 3 weeks.

The hotel was clean throughout but did have to mention to the manager that the pool area needed cleaning and it was done that night. The hotel food was excellent and fresh.

The new head chef seems to have got the kitchen staff functioning on all cylinders.

The service was excellent and delivered with a smile. The salad bar is excellent and any type of dressing could be made fresh in an instant.

The location of this hotel is ideal with the small village of cavalossim just outside the gates.

The south of Goa is much quieter than the hustle and bustle of the north.

Hardly any traffic and not many sellers hassling you as you walk through the village. The hotel staff are all superb. Always have the time of day for you. Anything you want if its possible they will try to do it for you.

They will listen to your comments and even do magic tricks for you (Shanker manager in the curries and kebabs) the entertainment is OK with the usual singers, fire dancers karaoke etc.

All in all this hotel we found excellent and we will be returning again in February 2008
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Keith Derringer
11 years 1 month ago
This was our second year at the Donna Sylvia, its a great hotel in a great location. the reason we went back for a second year (we have never done that before)was mainly the for the people, hospitable warm and welcoming, this year english guests are paying the pool boys to lay hotel towels on prime sun loungers, only a little thing but in 40degrees C to lay in the shade is desirable and no matter how early we got up the loungers were always taken. apart from that its paradise, and if that had not started happening we would be going back for a 3rd year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum