Image of Holiday Inn Hotel

Holiday Inn Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in Cavelossim

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Mobor Beach Cavelossim, Goa, 403731, India
Located on the beach in south Goa. It is 17kms from Margao and 42kms from the airport.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
R JONES
9 years 5 months ago
Very Clean hotel. Very polite, helpful staff. Almost TOO polite and helpful if thats possible!!

Good location if you want a fairly quiet holiday, right on Mobor beach, with a few very charming shacks right outside the hotel on the beach. We were all inclusive, and the Indian food at the hotel (especially in cafe Mardi Gras) was truly AMAZING. Any non indian food in the three other eateries was not so good. especially the chinese 'whispers of the orient', which took a long time to be cooked seen as we were the only customers, and we think the food here was responsible for my partners terrible stomach upset for two days.
Candelossim is only a short taxi ride away with an ATM and several resteraunts, though we didnt visit any of them. The hotel has a gift shop, also selling suncream and some useful products though anything imported is expensive (small nivea suncream -
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Voyager Travel/Olympic Holidays

Recommended
David Potter
9 years 9 months ago
First time to Goa and this hotel. After a long flight and no sleep on the plane, we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready,we wern't pleased so the reception staff tried to get us to upgrade to a deluxe room which was ready.If they try to do this when you get there don't bother, it costs an extra $45 per day just for a bit of extra space and a plasma t/v, also the room smelt musty,so we didn't bother.We finaly got into our room at about 1pm after hanging around the beach and we were very happy with the garden room which they gave us, clean and the double bed which was massive. We only ate in the hotel at breakfast time and i must say the choice was fantastic and the quality superb. We found the staff vey helpfull and they always had a smile on there face. The hotel was not very busy for just before Christmas we were told this was becouse of the terrisim threat,but the leval of the security was very good and we never felt uneasy.We thought the hotel could do with sprucing up a bit in places and the prices in the hotel loby bar expensive but apart from that we loved the place and we are planning to go back in 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lyn Clegg
10 years 7 months ago
This is our third time to Goa and have previously stayed in the North at Calangute. It is our first time staying in the South at the Holiday Inn. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, where breakfast is served buffet style with an excellent choice of hot and cold food. My husband and myself had booked a pool view room which we were allocated on arrival. My Mom had made her booking later than us and had been allocated a room some distance from us around the back of the hotel. After expressing our concerns to the Manager a pool view room was allocated to her within a day at no extra cost. The rooms are very large and are kept immaculate with bed linen and towels changed daily .
Nightly entertainment was provided which was excellent value for money.
The hotel staff were very helpful and extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them.

The pool area and gardens are frequently cleaned making it very pleasant to sit around.
The hotel is ideally positioned on the beach with a good selection of beach shacks. We used the Titanic Shack where Deb made us very welcome looking after us and serving excellent food and cold Kingfishers.
We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
We were first allocated a room in the far rear of the complex, which although clean & tidy felt "out of things" & almost an afterthought as there was nothing in the mini bar nor toiletries in the bathroom.

After a quick word with our very helpful rep we were moved to a lovely room overlooking the pool. It was spotless with regular fresh flowers in the sitting area & bathroom, clean towels twice daily, fresh linen daily, bed turned down & favours left each evening. The mini bar here was well stocked & there were plenty of toiletries.

The staff would always friendly & helpful, in fact they couldn't do enough. The waiters remembered your room number after one visit (our moving did confuse them!) One waiter got the chef to make up some taster sizes of local food for me to try as I couldn't make up my mind.

The hotel was spotless, there were always staff cleaning. I even saw a guy cleaning the railings in the lobby with a toothbrush!

The inclusive breakfast was buffet style & there was anything on offer, which you would possibly want - continental, cooked, Indian, fruit, cereal & a chef cooking your eggs or pancakes however you wanted them. Plenty of juice, tea & coffee available.

We ate in the Chinese restaurant & it was superb! I would highly recommend it but take a wrap as the air con was powerful.

We also tried one of the themed nights & they certainly went to an enormous amount of trouble & the choice of food was amazing.

The pool area was lovely, sunbeds usually available if not right beside the pool then nearby in the gardens.

The spa area is tucked away around the back but well worth a visit. I had a luxurious massage & felt so relaxed afterwards.

The entertainment I have to say left rather a lot to be desired in my opinion, very amateur & very out of date, but this seems to be the norm in big hotels out east in my experience.

The bar did some lovely cocktails & there were nibbles on the tables. The speed of the staff dealing with your order could vary though.

The laundry service was quick & very efficient.
However messages were slow being delivered to the room.

There were quite a lot of Russians at this hotel too, who I found to be very helpful, with things like putting up umbrellas etc

The jewellers in the hotel was very helpful but I really had to barter very hard & stand my ground to get what I wanted & even then it was made up in the wrong carat gold so I had to threaten not to take it before I got compensation for the lower grade of gold.
Having said that the item I bought is beautiful, a one off & was made very quickly.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Alison
10 years 10 months ago
Excellent hotel, extremely clean, rooms serviced daily with clean bedding and towels, evening service come in to turn downyour bed for the night! Rooms have tea, coffee and hairdryer, toiletries replaced daily as used.
Had food on B&B basis, so can only comment on breakfast which was buffet style with hot & cold English and Indian food, fruit juice, cereals, nuts,meat & cheese, various breads and cakes etc, also eggs cooked to your liking, fried or omelletes, dosas made to order.
Friends had al a carte food one evening which was excellent and well priced.
Location of hotel approx 50min in taxi from the airport Local stalls outside main gate selling the usual variety of goods, shoes and souveniers, also restaurants within walking distance. Short taxi ride for 100 rupees to area with more shops and restaurants.
Staff friendly and accomodating, always have a smile and are ready to help.
There were themed evenings with entertainment and food, though we did not go to any of these as we prefer to "do our own thing" Karioke was rather noisy and went on until after midnight which was not good if you were trying to sleep.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
June Webster
10 years 10 months ago
this was are first time in goa & our first time at the holiday inn,it was very clean the staff were very helpful,we stayed b/b, in the morning you had so much choise for breakfast i.e cereals,toast fresh fruit eggs cooked to order & many other things as well,the breakfast could keep you going all day, the swimming pools was great they had plenty of sunbeds never had a problem with them also they provided towels for you to use even if you went to the beach as well,you could walk straight onto the beach it was great very clean you also had beach shaks to get drinks or food very cheap,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choise

Recommended
Mobor One
12 years 9 months ago
Have been to Goa several times, the first time to a different hotel, but then we were recommended the Holiday Inn and have been going there ever since.

On arrival at the hotel, your luggage will be taken from you and delivered to your room. From the reception area you can see down to the pool, and the sea beyond.

Just off the reception is a coffee shop, automated casino, three shops and the Sundowner bar. Underneath the reception is the Whispers of the Orient and the Mardi Gras restaurants.

The Hotel is set on two floors, and has six sections fanning out from the reception area. Because of the shape of the hotel, none of the rooms are far from the main area. I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Deana & Dean
13 years 5 months ago
STAFF: Bar staff = SOOO friendly. 'HINT' Tip the bar/evening waiting staff on day 1 (as All inclusive finishes around 11:30pm...).

The cleaning staff = always cleaning. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Casino staff helpful & good fun. Beautician lovely.

VIEWS: Amazing.... Room Pool view. Bar Pool/Beach view. Restaurants Pool/Beach/Bar view. Pool Hotel/Bar/Beach/Lawn view.

FOOD: Amazing.... If you fancied it, they had it somewhere. Massive choice of breakfast, various choices at lunch, delicious bar snacks throughout and the evening meal consisted of either A la Carte, The Fish Grill, endless choices on the Buffet, the gorgous (& VERY reasonable) Chinese or bar snacks.

WEATHER: Perfect & HOT !!

SEA/BEACH: Sand was HOT, HOT, HOT. The water is'nt the clearest by far and tasted of pepper (not salt!?!?). Mikes Beach shack was cool, evening volley bar and watched the sun go down... perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air2000

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum