Image of Sun n Sand Beach Resort Hotel

Sun n Sand Beach Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
5 stars
Mombasa, Malindi, Kenya
Overlooking the shelving white sands of Kikambala's beach, this superb Kenyan hotel prides itself on its four stunning outdoor swimming pools and the superb choice of cuisine in its speciality restaurants, ideal after sampling local cocktails at the swim up bar.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Beach not useable
7 years 2 months ago
The food was great but the drinks were horrendous!! Watered down lager. The cola had a 'head' on it! All dark spirits tasted the same and it was like drinking medicine. The wine is awful. It made me shudder!

The hotel is called 'Sun n Sand' but you can't sunbathe on the beach at is it full of sea urchins, rocks, and seaweed. If you want to walk on the beach you get hounded by the locals to guide you across the beach for £30! It is supposed to be an all-inclusive hotel.

We ended up having to buy bottled drinks from the pay up bar. The water is in big plastic bottle. Slightly discoloured and warm. Buy your water from the pay up bar!!
The hotel rooms are shabby and the bedding has seen better days.

The grouting between the hideous dark green tiles has turned brown. Ugh!

The bedding was shabby, glasses not cleared away from tables. Spilled tea and coffee not mopped up.
The evening entertainment was very poor. A group of about 8 people trying to put on some sort of show each evening and then a disco until the 'wee hours of 11 0'clock'. Then everything shuts, unless you want to buy drinks from the pay up bar, but you have to make your own entertainment as there isn't even any music being played. If you don't like the evening 'show' it's tough there is nowhere else to go.

Like I said earlier, you cannot go on the beach, falsely advertised as white sand!

I would never go back to this hotel and advise you not to go either.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jean Newlands
7 years 7 months ago
me and my daughter stayed in this hotel at easter this year and it was excellent the food was very good and there was always plenty of choices the rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. the location was good the staff were very friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. the only thing that could be stepped up on is the entertainment. i would most deffinatly stay at this hotel again i would also like to say that the staff at this hotel are very good and helped make my holiday great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Nick & Tracy
8 years 8 months ago
We stayed here for a week All Inclusive and in general it is a nice hotel. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean. Food was average typical all inclusive but bit repetative, 1 week was certainly enough without getting fed up. We were disapointed with the beach but the hotel grounds are ample for sunbathing and no rushing for sunbeds as plenty to go round. Entertainment was good. The only real disapointment was that it is all a bit dated could really do with a refurb bathrooms and decor in rooms is very 1980's but i believe tourism is down so i think this reflects why they have not done it. I dont think we would visit again think we would try different location in kenya.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Alasdair Bruce
Very disappointing
8 years 9 months ago
We found the whole Kenya experience very disappointing. The holiday was booked through Thomas Cook as a 50th birthday celebration and I very much looked forward to it. Everything was very poor from Mombassa Airport, the hotel, Tsavo safari, food, drink and entertainment. Even a lot of our fellow holidaymakers were people you would actively avoid at home. The food and drink was awful. The beach was rubbish. The pools were dirty. After a week we started feeling like we were in an open prison and it was a big relief to cut the wristband cut off when we were 'released'. We had to face the airport again which, despite 'priority boarding', was a scrum full of dodgy people trying to rip you off.

I don't know why this place gets any good reviews. Some people must be easily pleased.
I would not recommend Kenya and would avoid S & S like the plague.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
10 years 3 months ago
we could not fault this hotel,staff couldnt do enough for you,the hotel was kept spotless,we saw the cleaner on our floor arrive before 8 am and he was still cleaning at 6pm.The bars and eating areas were both well cleaned and the waiters and waitresses were always eager to help.The food was always well prepared with a wide variation,and we never had a problem finding something to eat.We went to the grill/bbq restaraunt where you dined outside and this was also very good.
We would go to kenya again especially to go on another safari (we did tsavo east and west) and we would stay at this hotel,all in all we had a fab time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Paula And Lewis
10 years 4 months ago
just got back from sun n sand had a fantastic holiday.first day my boyfriend fell down some steps. hotel staff could't do enough. they were so appologetic even though it was not their fault. fantastic people.a big thank you goes to Chris(in charge of entertainments)and Alouis(sun bed man)beds were ready for us every day.Chico is the beach man to ask for. he took us out to a few local bars a couple of nights. had great time.didn't feel at all threatened.in fact VERY MUCH AT HOME and that goes for the whole 2 weeks we were there.Me being a vegetarian usually struggle on holiday, not this time, i would give it 6 star+ i never stopped eating. Room service was great. they even did me egg and chips. which was what i was craving for.Beach wasn't paradise but it was clean. The sea was like a bath. warmer than caribean.Did tsavo east and wast. hard work having to get up at 5 in the morning while on holiday but worth every minute.we booked our safari off CHICO saved
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
On landing in Mombasa we were quickly through the airport and on awaiting coaches(about half an hour) which I thought was very good.

On arrival at the sun n sands we were greeted with a cool drink and damp towel which was welcome after breaking down in Mombasa which delayed us by 1hour

At the welcome meeting we were then told our rooms would not be ready for 45mins it was an hour and a half before we could get into our room there was no reason given just they were not ready. We were finally given a ground floor room which was very unsatisfactory as it was dirty, dark and very shabby as are most of the rooms in this hotel the bathroom was dirty and had seen better days, there was no water in the mini fridge

On arrival this we did not get until after 6pm as there was a"problem with the water". We moved rooms the next day to one on the third floor that was lighter, but as before had the same shabby furnishings and bathroom and lack of storage space but cleaner

The pool areas and pubic bars etc were kept clean and tidy

Food was of a reasonable standard every night 1 beef and 1 fish dish the snack bar by the pool was good for lunch and quick snacks during the day.

By the name of the hotel Sun n Sand you would think there was a nice white sandy beach which you are given to believe there is by the brochure well there not at low tide there there is a small stripe of sand but venture on to the "beach" and you get swamped by the beach boys this was a disappointment as we like beach based holidays and sun bathing on grass and swimming in a pool is not the same.

Said pool turned green and could not be used for 3 days we also had no running water to flush the loo or shower on 2 days as the pump broke down. The one saving grace for this hotel was its staff who could not do enough for you.

The Sun n Sands is not a 5 star hotel it would be hard pushed to be 3 stars and that's for its swimming pools and staff no I would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Sharon
10 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic week in Kenya.
We found the hotel staff the friendliest we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms were clean and tidy, but we had problems with our shower every day, definitely not 4*.(The hotel grounds were clean and pools lovely.

We found the entertainment very good 9after previous reviews we were expecting worse).
The trip on safari made our holiday, I recommend going to the tented lodge, it was 5*!

The 2 day safari is not all inclusive, only meals were free, please don't forget to take money for drinks etc!

We wouldn't recommend eating in the payable specialised restaurant (no atmosphere and wasn't worth the money).
Would definitely return to this hotel again though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Wendy N Dave
10 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from our 2 week holiday at this hotel and have had a fantastic time.

The hotel was exellant the staff were the best, very friendly and couldnt do enough for you.

The food was top class and we couldnt fault it at all.I would definetly recommend the safari we did the 2 nights it was out of this world seeing all the wildlife in there own habitats was unforgettable.

The only down side to this hotel was the beach, you couldnt spend the day there as there were no sunbeds.

I would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years ago
The hotel and gardens were kept clean and tidy. The rooms were well equiped with a fridge (bottled water topped up each day), hospitality tray, tv, fan, air conditioning and one double bed and one single. Only thing lacking was drawer space.

The main buffet restaurant had a good choice of international dishes each day. I would have liked to see more local dishes as I like to try the food from the area I am visiting. The standard of food was very good particulary the vegetables. We tried both the Chinese and Italian restaurants and they were also both very good.

The hotel is situated about an hours drive from Mombassa, although with the Kenyan road network this journey seemed much longer.

The staff at Sun n Sand are the most friendly people you could wish to meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

The entertainment was fairly low key, but the local dancers and acrobats were well worth seeing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: