Image of Sun n Sand Beach Resort Hotel

Sun n Sand Beach Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
5 stars
Mombasa, Malindi, Kenya
Overlooking the shelving white sands of Kikambala's beach, this superb Kenyan hotel prides itself on its four stunning outdoor swimming pools and the superb choice of cuisine in its speciality restaurants, ideal after sampling local cocktails at the swim up bar.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stella And Mick
15 years 10 months ago
Nine of us stayed at sun n sand for 14 nights, and all of us had a great holiday.

hotel very clean, rooms cleaned daily, bottles of water, clean towels each day.

Main buffet good, a fair choice,chinese restaurant good, BBQ also good, the Italian was a let down, bland food, cold no atmosphere.

Have a drink outside in maggies bar and meet the locals, very safe. Beach boys o.k but they seem to want more each time this is our 3rd time in Kenya and we have noticed that they seem greedier.

Staff are brilliant and cannot do enough for you always with a smile, no one will pass you without saying jambo.

Entertainment quite good singers dancers etc.

If you can, fly to the Masai Mara for your safari and stay at Mara tented camp, luxury tents, excellent food and surroundings, shower and loo in tent. Saw all the big 5 and more, drove off road most of the time, 3 drives a day.

We all said we would go back to Kenya and stay at the sun n sand hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: eclipse

Recommended
Tina, Kev And Steph
15 years 11 months ago
We were very disaapointed with our standard "5* Room". It was more 2 star, so upgraded (free of charge) to a deluxe which was the same but bigger. We had been on a 5 star Safari with Somak staying in the Serena Hotels which were stunning so this was a little disappointing. The Hotel itself was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and there was plenty of choice of food and restaurants. The rooms were cleaned every day and the beds were turned down for us on a night.

The hotel is set in the local village of Kikambala and is very poverty stricken, but the locals are very friendly and welcoming. They want you to buy things from them but that is understandable when you see what they have compared to ourselves.

We got very friendly with 2 of the Beach boys who really made our holiday. ARGASSI AND RINGO (AUGUSTINO AND CHARRO) (they both have safari hats on) were great and took us on a 2 hour sea safari, which we gave them 1000ksh (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Somak

Recommended
15 years 11 months ago
Twenty one of us stayed at the Sun n Sand Beach Resort. We all found it an excellent hotel. Everywhere was clean, rooms were spotless.

Staff were very friendly and looked after us well.

Food was great, pletny of choice.

Entertainment wasn't always spot on but most of the time we enjoyed it.

We can't wait to go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SOMAK

Recommended
Alison
15 years 11 months ago
We had a fab time here at this hotel. Hotel grounds are very clean and spacious, never any probs getting a sun lounger.

The rooms are quite big but are a little basic, but what do you really want other than a bed, shower and wardrobe. You also get a mini fridge, free safe, hair dryer tea and coffee and fresh bottles of water everyday.

The staff here are very very friendly and can not do enough for you, a tip often gets you even more though. They are very grateful for anything, money, clothes, tea/coffee, toiletries etc.

The beach boys ares all very friendly too, they can look a bit scarey when you first see them as they are all grouped together but they leave you if you want them too or they help you and sell you as much as you want, they are just earning a living. One of the beach boys, HENRY, walked us to the coral reef. The walk took around 3 hours and I'm certain that if we had of gone alone without him we would not of seen all the things we did and we would of got many sea urchins in our feet, he was well worth the 600ksh (approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kurt Robinson
16 years 2 months ago
Had a great journey with First Choice - everything on time and better leg room on the plane.

Not prepard for the journey through Mombassa to the hotel - my first sight of the poverty that runs through Kenya.
However, found the hotel to be spotlessly clean in all areas. The gardens were manicured.

4 great pools - one to suit most tastes and one including a swim up bar.
The room was 3* the bathroom was 2*. Room cleaned daily. Fresh towels daily.

Food was good but repetitive - we used the Chinese, Italian and grill to break the holiday up.
(However, many guests suffered sickness and the 'Dheli Belly', including my wife who was very ill.)A lot of flies in the dining room.

Entertainment was low key - this suited us, however, those travelling with kids struggled to keep them amused.
The staff, overall, were friendly and helpful but we saw no evidence of the tipping culture others have commented upon.
Beach blighted by 'beach boys' - hassle. Be firm and say no. Beach disappointing, sea warm but again a little disappointing.

Safari is a must and is wonderful. The lodges are fantastic. Every single guest was delighted with their own safari - worth the visit to Kenya alone.
Please be aware Kenya is a desperately poor country and you will see it - it can be very upsetting and at the same time humbling.

I personally would not visit the hotel or Kenya again (it's a big world out there) but would definately go on Safari again.However, for what we paid for an all inclusive holiday we certainly could not complain.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Yvonne And Tom Richards
16 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the sun and sand beach resort in april 2006. fab holiday, wonderful staff, hotel itself was very good.

The food on offer was very good with plenty of selection. No complaints, highly recommend this resort and hotel.

Visit to the local school and village was a very humbling and worthwhile experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
16 years 7 months ago
We stayed in the Sun N Sand and were pleasantly surprised by our first trip to Africa. The hotel was spotlessly clean which is not something I normally notice so the standard must have been high.

The buffet restaurant was very good, choice and quality of food was good although the waiter drinks service could be slow, an easy solution is to get youself a drink from the main bar to take in with you. Theme nights included African, Indian and English (get there early for the steak)!

You will be a target for the infamous Kenyan Beach boys and in this hotel they will shout for your attention from the beach as you walk by the poolside. They offer to take you on reef walks, to their village, sell you keyrings etc and they can be very persuasive. If you rise with the sun you can beat them for a peaceful walk along the beach. At the hotel entrance there is a market village which you are encouraged to visit but beware, some people returned without hats, t-shirts and the shoes they were wearing as a result of meetings with the persuasive but friendly villagers.

The entertainment staff are excellent here, plenty organised activities if you want to join in with a separate programme for any kids. Bar staff also were very polite and friendly. Be aware that the night time entertainment isn't great and some is repeated for those staying two weeks. The focus is on early nights and early mornings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mr A Circuit
16 years 10 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful the food was exellent, we found the entertainment to be very good and we would very much like to visit there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.