Image of Comino Hotel

Comino Hotel

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Island of Comino Malta Null, Malta
The Hotel Comino is the only one on the island of Comino and enjoys breathtaking views of St Nicholas Bay and the Mediterranean. With its own beach, a fantastic range of watersports and all inclusive facilities.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sharron
12 years 9 months ago
We arrived at the ferry terminal in Malta at 2.30am and were surprised to see the Comino boat just arriving, after a quick (30mins) if at times rather dumpy trip we arrived at the Comino Hotel.

Our bags were taken up to the hotel for a very quick and easy booking in process. After a quick welcome drink the mini bus took us over to our rooms which in this case was a 2 minute ride over to the bungalows. Upon arrival we had a few hours sleep before waking up to what I can only descibe as heaven. Clear blue skies and to match that clear blue sea.

We had 2 bungalows booked as we had 3 teenage children with us, both rooms were next to each other so we had our own space which made things nice but at the same time being able to keep an eye on them. Our room was very large with a nice seating area with a seperate bedroom and bathroom, the kids room just had a large bedroom and bathroom but with a excellent balcony overlooking the gardens and sea.

The maids came everyday to clean and change towels if required and a supply of bottled water left for you to put in the mini-bar. Breakfast was served at the bungalows resturant with a choice of either hot or cold food. The staff working there were excellent John & Mark both being very helpfull with always a smile for you even if Mark is a Liverpool fan I suppose everyone has to have their faults.

THe bungalows have their own swimming pool with plenty of free sunbeds and a free supply of beach towels to use, all you have to do is return them at the end of the day and get a clean one the following.

I would say the only 2 negative comment I would say about staying at the bungalows are at lunch time you can only get a sandwich to eat and the bar closes at 3pm so after that you can not get anything either to eat or drink after that time, which we did feel that we missed due to us staying all-inclusive. However John & Mark always asked if you wanted any bottles to take to your room and put in the mini bar which meant we always had a supply. We used to take to trip over to the hotle at lunch time as the kids always wanted more than a sandwich to each.

The hotel is only a 10 min walk away along a footpath but in the middle of the day at the end of July can be murder as it is so hot, so a quick phone call to reception and within a few minutes the mini-bus had arrived for a quick ride over to the hotel.

Food at the hotel was excellent with always an wide choice and the kids could order from the snack bar if they like i.e burgers,chicken nuggets and the staff would still serve them to you in the resturant.

The only time we had to wait to get a table in the resturant was on a Saturday evening when the hotel can get very busy with Maltese visiting for the weekend.

This is an excellent hotel to visit if you want an away from it all holiday with complete relaxation. For some reason the hotel is not in many Britsh brochures so there is a lack of UK visiters the majority of guest seemed to be Germans which didn't both myself and husband but we did have a 13 daughter with us and the German childen didn't want to mix so that was hard for her.

On all-inclusive all non-motorised water sports were free which included pedlos,canoes,windsurfing and small dingies also there were plenty of tennis courts and table tennis with a small games room.

Evening entertainment was O.K with exception of one artist who I would class as excellent. One singer playing a guitar and mouth organ what a voice!!!

I would without doubt return to this hotel again but maybe in a few years time when the kids don't want to come with us as it is a get away from it all place in superb surroundings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended
15 years 10 months ago
We stayed here at the beginning of June 05.We travelled with Thompson.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that we'd got a private taxi transfer rather than a coach that we were expecting. I don't know if they always do this but we had one on the return also so you never know your luck!!!

When we arrived at the harbour we were lucky to be able to get straight onto the hotels own ferry. Once again I don't know if this is planned or if it was a coincidence, do be prepared for a short wait just in case. The ferry takes about 20 minutes to reach the hotel.

When we got off the boat porters took the luggage up to the reception for you. In reception we were welcomed with a cocktail whilst we checked in (very nice!!!) From here we followed a porter to our room.

The rooms were always kept clean during our stay and towels changed when needed. On the whole I would say that the hotel is kept nice and clean although some of it could do with as touch of updating.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly. If your AI then you have to give your room number and then sign a receipt. We found after a day or 2 all the staff knew your number so it speeds thing up.

The food here is exceptional for a 3 star. Plenty of variety and all cooked to perfection.

There are two small beaches at the hotel which were always clean and quiet.

The evening entertainment was what only can be described as varied. It varied from poor to superb. In the main it consisted of a local singer/performer doing songs. One to watch out for is Sioban (I think) Lewis, She was excellent. She played twice during our stay and most people stopped up late to see her.

On the whole I would say it's a lovely place to spend a holiday if you want pleasant surrounding, peace and quiet and a relaxed atmosphere. We'll be going back for sure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Duncan & June
16 years 6 months ago
We stayed in the bungalows rather than the hotel and found that they could do with a degree of replenishment.This however did not detract from the overall impression of the holiday which was absolutely fabulous.

The hotel merits its 4* status on location alone.But when you add on the excellent food and service from great staff then you know you have found a diamond.All the facilities that the hotel provides water sport wise are also excellent.

This holiday would not be everyones cup of tea as apart from water sports and chilling out theres not much to do.If this is what you are looking for though this has to be the place to do it.

Last point dont go after Oct. We were supposed to be there till the 4th Nov but the hotel closed on the 1st and we were moved to a sister hotel in Malta.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bellair

Recommended
Trudy & Family
16 years 8 months ago
We stayed in the Bungalows, which are about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. This suited us as a family very well as it was even quieter than the hotel. The bungalow was basic but covered your needs, if you get a sea view the peace and tranquilitiy of it surpasses everything, many a late afternoon I would sit on the balancy with a drink whilst my children aged 5 and 7 would take a nap. We had cleaners every day which we were quite surprised about, who would change your bathroon towels as often as you wished.

You could not say enough about the staff, they are all so friendly and work so hard and make the children feel at home. We are grateful to them for making our stay so pleasurable.

The entertainment was very low key and calm and everything would stop by 11pm. Although this was not really our cup of tea it blended in with the surroundings well and I feel totally relaxed so maybe this had something to do with it.

The food was lovely every day. Of our 10 day stay there was not one repeat of main meal and you have such a selection each day that there is always something that you would like.

The location made the holiday a totally get away from it all. The quietness of the island and the limited number of people made you really unwind and relax, which is why we went.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunspot

Recommended
Taylor
16 years 8 months ago
this hotel is great!. the views and location are stunning. the staff are very friendly and very helpful. we shall return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta direct

Recommended
Ann And Paul Wathern
16 years 9 months ago
We have just come back from Comino hotel,and will definitely be returning next year. Our room was facing the garden on a lower floor which was away from the swimming area and very quiet. The linen was changed every two thre days which I thought was very good - the towels also although if you did want them changed more it was not a problem room also cleaned daily Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. John the head barman does make a wicked Bob Marley cocktail

I did suggest on the questionaire that the rooms would benefit from tea making facilities as I do like a cup of tea first thing in the morning. For anyone traveling to this hotel you do not need to take hairdryer - this is provided as is shower gel/shampoo
also for a small deposit you can have a beach towel and change this daily and at the end of stay have deposit back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
VAS
16 years 11 months ago
This was our third visit so we had a good idea what to expect. The staff were as friendly as ever and the island as peaceful. Going at the very beginning or end of the season helps as you are not overrun so much at the weekends by locals.
Many of the staff were a little uneasy however as there are rumours that the owners are about to pull the main building down and rebuild (twice as large). Alternatively they may just refurbish but the end result in either event will be that the hotel is likely to close for all or part of 2005. This was just rumour and there appear to be no definite plans so far but the staff are unsettled and the owners don't appear to be putting much into keeping the buildings or facilities in good order at the moment. The differences were small but they were there. If you're going - go soon - or it may not be available - the uncertainty is apparently putting Thompson off rebooking for next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended
Roy
18 years 7 months ago
I have just returned from the Comino Hotel on Comino island.I had a bungalow which was nice and quiet.
This was one of the best holidays that I have ever
had. The food, staff,and accommodation were excellent.
I recommend all inclusive, it is great value for money.
Malta and Gozo are easy to get to using the hotels own
ferry, but you must plan your day.

Travel operator: Unknown

Colin Witcher
18 years 9 months ago
We stayed in the bungalows on our second holiday to this hotel, and the bungalows were as pleasing as the hotel itself. The one thing that makes this hotel unique is its location, situated in blue clear seas with sandy beaches you really couldn't ask for more.
There was a great restaurant with sea views, and fantastic buffet style menus. We have gone twice and a third time is an almost certainty.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Liz And Derek Geear
18 years 9 months ago
This was a return visit - we had originally stayed there in 1999 - by the time we returned, the hotel had changed in ownership and management and the difference ensured that we will NOT return.

This was the idyllic, laid back hotel that we had expected on our return visit. Pity Thomsons did not advise that the facilities were drastically different. Originally, it was possible to avoid the evening entertainment as it was enclosed in the rotunda area - it meant you could sit on the terrace or in the bar and talk or read in peace. This time the entertainment (high volume karaoke/disco/games) was on the terrace area right in front of the restaurant it was impossible to escape it and could be heard even on the opposite side of the bay.

Also introduced were a kids club and teenage area. I have no probs with either but the beauty of the place used to be that the parents of these age groups knew there was nothing special and probably went elsewhere.

The change in management was obvious. Staff had been drastically reduced and were rushed off their feet. ,Also the buffet menu, while still good , did not have the same classy presentation as before.

This beautifal hotel and location has been thoroughly spoilt by the need to address market forces and become a fun location rather than a quality one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.