Image of Barcelo Riviera Resort & Spa Hotel

Barcelo Riviera Resort & Spa Hotel

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Marfa Bay, Mellieħa MLH02, Malta
This four-star hotel has fantastic views of Comino and Gozo. Modern and spacious, its amenities, including a thalassotherapy spa and two outdoor swimming pools, are aimed towards the holidaymaker seeking a more relaxing holiday.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kizzyfur
13 years 7 months ago
We booked a 2 week stay in Malta in Sept/Oct staying the 1st week in the Luna Apts, then upgrading to the Riviera Hotel for 2 nights and finally onto the Pergola Hotel for the last 4 nights.

After leaving the nightmare of the Luna Apartments (review already submitted) we were very pleasantly suprised by the Riviera Spa Hotel. Staff were very friendly, although constantly busy, our room was lovely and overlooked the large pool area. Air con was a blessing in comparison to the Luna. It was very quiet too - no traffic noise!!

The indoor pool and jacuzzi was fantastic, so was the outdoor pool. Plenty of free sunbeds. Downside was that the pool bar shut at 3pm, even though there were still loads of people sunbathing but the restaurants didn't open until 6pm. If you wanted any food inbetween these times you had to go to Hola Beach, about 5 mins away.

Food at the Bistro Sol e Mar was excellent, although the service could be a bit slow on busy nights. The atmosphere was very romantic too as you overlooked the sea and there were live singers & musicians on most nights.

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Gozo and the Blue Lagoon. Although it is quite a distance from Mellieha itself, or anywhere else for that matter, there are the cheap local buses that operate regularly so that you can visit other places.

The Elysium Spa in the hotel has a wide range of treatments at reasonable prices. A massage is a perfect treat and very relaxing!

I would definitely recommend this hotel, although not really suitable for families with young children! It was the best 2 days of my holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: E bookers

Recommended
John Mcguire
15 years 10 months ago
We spent a few extra nights after a 3 day conference and it was all worth it. Best place to relax and unwind. Situated next to the sea facing comino with a lovely small beach with palm trees a 100 yards away.

Food is great especially the Bistro, definitely beats a few good restaurants that we visited on the island. Staff is great. We had a countryside view which was great enjoying the magnificent sunsets over a nice bottle of wine.

The seaviews were all taken but nevertheless view was much appreciated. Great indoor pool and tried a couple of spa treatments. It is really a great place to relax. We shall definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Booking

Recommended
Mr +mrs Young
16 years 1 month ago
My wife and I have just had a very enjoyable 28 night stay at the Riviera Hotel and Spa at Marfa in Malta. The hotel is very, very clean and all the staff including the various duty managers are all very friendly and can not do enough to help the guests with anything wherever possible.

The food is marvelous and also the main restaurant is a pleasure to eat in with very friendly staff to assist you with your every need and look out at panoramic sea views while you try and decide what main meal to choose or which of the various deserts to try.

The location of the hotel is fairly remote which is why we picked it and to get to most parts of the island is only a bus ride away.

The entertainment at the hotel is not great but that is only my view but lots of guests enjoyed it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: belleair

Recommended
Wittenberg
16 years 6 months ago
We had a good week in Malta - nice and sunny in the 'Riviera', close to the Bus stop that gets you anywhere on the island if you have enough of time..

The Maltese staff in this hotel and many other outlets across the island do not really seem to know that a smile and a 'hello' or 'good morning' can give a problem a completely different outcome.

The hotel is (according to catalogues) only three years and four stars old but does look worn which mostly is a result of under-maintenance and insufficient cleaning as we experienced when our room (tiled) had a nice amount of hair and sand on the floor when we moved in as well as the next morning and the bedding would not have been changed after day three without us asking for it.

It is a nice place but the staff and (mainly) the management needs to do something very soon before things are completely rotten (a mini pond between the pools full of rusty, muddy water), not enough of cups at breakfast.

Lots of little bids and pieces, nothing dramatic (except for the non delivery of a rented car) and an ignorant management (the reception staff was the only area where you would realize you paid for this, the management standing in the way or running you over without saying hi or so.

A big sign on the pool bar: 'Freshly squeezed Fruit & Vegetable Juices' - meaning: do you want Orange juice or rather have some Orange juice? Although Malta has anything you want in supermarkets. And breakfast: all very british with one variation: either potatoes or not, otherwise 1 cheese 1 sausage 1 scrambled eggs 1 bacon 1 beans 1 jam 1 marmelade 1 tea 1 coffee and 7 kinds of rubbery bread.
The 'Bistro' offers a boring selection of food compared to the rest of the islands, slow and untrained staff for entertainment and a hefty bill for desert, if you can: take a car and eat out! Especially Gozo has a few good spots with nice views and food.

The place is rather quiet and therefore hard to get away from after 8 pm except if you have a car but that meant what we wanted: peace & quiet and relaxation.
There was a e-piano player cum singer in the bar on Thursday so we took our drinks and went out to let him practice on his own.

The clientel of this place is anything from (few but loud) you families with (screaming) kids to retired dutch pilots in bulk and all kinds of other people, nice mix.
Need more info: hausinwetterau@aol.com
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FTI

Recommended
Scottish Family
16 years 6 months ago
A fine hotel with a good choice at mealtimes. Evening meals, buffet, changed daily. Breakfasts similar each morning but good variety to suit all tastes and always plenty fresh fruit and big bowls of yoghourt at servery, or good continental, or hearty cooked. Never any need to go hungry.
Excellant spa and indoor pool facilities and fine outdoor pools with change of pool towel on request and always plenty of loungers: and never-ending beautiful views over to Gozo and Comino.
Good sea-swimming with ladder access and interesting little pier across quiet road which provided change of scene watching local fishing and trip boat movements. Also shoals of fish arriving for breakfast, compliments of holidaymakers.
Rooms large and well-appointed with good balconies though some of grouting in tiling was starting to look grubby.
In short, a good place for a quiet and relaxing holiday at the remote 'top end' of Malta
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Forbes-Wake And Privett
16 years 8 months ago
We arrived very late in the evening and had arranged a taxi transfer to the hotel. Everything went to plan apart from the driver was a bit erratic and we were a bit nervous as we were travelling with our 11 month old Son and obviously did not have a car seat! We arrived at the hotel at 1am and as pre-booked were greeted by a meal of cold meats and salads - which was lovely.

Our accomodation was a seaview suite and was comfortable and being air conditioned was a bonus. I think we felt the double bed was rather hard though. Our Son Charlie totally enjoyed his swims in the two lovely pools. The hotel issues rules for pool users which are good as it means all guests can relax and swim without being dived on by younger guests.

We were on half board and whilst the food was excellent we preferred to eat at the adjoining bistro and pay a supplement for a more relaxing evening. The hotel restaurant is buffet style and we felt very rushed when eating there and the ambience did resemble a holiday camp at times. Buffet service ideal for breakfast but could be better organised for evening meals. As I say though when eating at the outdoor bistro we were made to feel very welcome and the service was excellent.

The Spa is wonderful and if you get chance to have an Indian Head Massage do, it totally took all the stresses of the everyday life away from me and made me relax from day 1 of the holiday. Lots of treatments to choose from and a very clean and friendly envioronment too.

The hotel also offers conference facilities which as an events manager would be keen to explore further. The staff seemed very switched on and were always very quick to get back to you with an answer on any subject.

Overall I rated the hotel and the tranquil location was perfect for us. However, if you are wanting a hotel with discos and late night bars and plenty to do don't come to Marfa as it is a resort that is perfect as it is - peaceful but not cut off as there is a regular bus service and taxis are not too expensive either. The Gozo ferry leaves from just up the road so you are never stuck for things to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent Travellers

Recommended
Trenchard
16 years 8 months ago
Located on the far North-West corner of Malta, but well served by three local bus services to reach any part of the island. A ferry runs from across the road for trips to Blue Lagoon, Comino. The views are beautiful seascape, but the land is rather parched. Very friendly staff and the organisation of the Restaurant, when everyone turned up late for breakfast at the same time was amazing. Vince Curmi, the Food and Beverages Co-ordinator makes the restaurant work like clockwork!
The food at dinner was themed, ie. Maltese one day, Italian another, Spanish another. This resulted in an interesting variation, but the use of herbs in flavouring was sometimes quite strong. There were always alternatives.
The indoor Spa Pool was usually very quiet for a swim and relaxation, children are only allowed in there certain times. Two excellent outdoor pools. The entertainment in the evening was usually a singer/musician and music was mainly 'easy listening'. Car hire was a great advantage (and experiewnce of driving!)WE were sable to visit places not easily on a bus route, quiet bays etc. Car not essential though. Ferry to Gozo about a mile away, 20 minute crossiong. Took coach tours of both Malta and of Gozo. Very interesting, but a lot of detail. Very worth while.
The holiday two weeks were among the best we've had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct/Sunspot

Recommended
V Hurst
17 years 5 months ago
The hotel has magnificent views of Comino, it is at the end of the island so you need a car to get around, but there is a bus stop at the top of the road which will give you a great view of the island as you go to Sliema or Valletta. They seemed to be a bit short staffed in the restaurant and the chef was very grumpy. Overall though it is a very nice hotel in a lovely peaceful spot, It only has a small pool and I think youngsters would be bored. Great for adults wanting a nice relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.