Image of Maritim Hotel

Maritim Hotel

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
Turtle Bay Terre Rouge, Balaclava, Mauritius

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lesley Smith
9 years 1 month ago
We spent a lot of time agonising over where to go in Mauritius and overall were pleased we had chosen the Maritim owing to its lovely location, setting, layout and design. Much ink has been spilled on this popular hotel, and yes, some of the bathrooms are in need of some serious TLC (and especially, ventilation) but we were very satisfied with our standard room, on the ground floor, giving direct access to the lovely gardens and the beach and pool areas. AI is definitely the only option, as if you were paying separately, the meals and drinks would be prohibitive, and would not be worth the money.

The AI package was extremely generous and although in our later middle age (there for husband's 60th) we took full advantage of the water sports as there was no queuing, even for water ski-ing, which is an unusual addition to AI. Many guests only seemed to want to nab spaces by the pool (lovely, but not for swiming in really) and lay there all day. The food was adequate rather than brilliant, but this is a large hotel attempting to cater for a wide demographic and a variety of nationalities. It tended to the bland and tepid, but was generous in quantity, as was the alcohol available. Service was charming and friendly, but could be slow to terminal. However, this is a tropical island and you are on holiday, so relax and chill is probably the best approach. Sometimes you could wait for ever for service at the beach restaurant, La Maree, even if it was fairly empty. Tipping didn't seem to make a huge difference (stand fast the trusty head barman at the Quarterdeck bar) and some guests did seem to believe that the staff were their New Best Friends and embrace them accordingly. Call me old fashioned, but I do wonder if the immaculately attired and behaved staff didn't snigger at this between themselves.

We knew there would be lots of weddings, but they did seem to dominate the hotel, and entertaining though they were (perhaps unintentionally) they have rather taken over what was clearly intended as a very upmarket and luxurious hotel, and affected the ambience. I don't know whether the intended refurb will lift the price bracket up to a different level, but there was some interesting cultural diversity. Young, slim, brown, well fitting bikini and NO TATTOOS almost invariably equalled a french female! Lots of middle aged couples like ourselves and some elderly British and Germans who clearly had problems with the many levels and stairs (no lifts). Lovely island, beautiful beach, snorkelling only so-so and some good trips available. Don't go if you are a cynic and shudder at tattoos!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes & Jarvis

Christo
9 years 11 months ago
In short, the Maritim Hotel is amazing. This was the first time I ever went overseas and stayed in a hotel. From arrival service was excellent, welcome cocktails were served to us while we overlooked the indian ocean on sunset.

The room was well equiped, room service was excellent, everything was always available when we needed something. What really impressed me, was the food. Service at the Belle Vue was excellent. Friends that went with me have a 16 month old baby, and the staff always tried to make everything as good as possible for the baby.

Throughout the day we kept ourselves busy with all the watersports available. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: General Profiling

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
My partner and I spent 11 nights at the Maritim from the 4th to 15th March 2007. On arrival in Mauritius in a rain storm, we were told of the cyclone that had virtually shut the island the previous week, and warned that the weather could be very indifferent over the time we were staying !!

The hotel looked quite spectatcular driving down the long driveway towards reception. We were dealt with courteously and efficiently on arrival, and had our room allocated after all the voucher exchanges etc within 20 minutes. Cool towel and refreshing cocktail were welcomed after the long journey.

Room was adequate (although it did have a musty smell all the way throughout the stay), not sure that this was due to the cyclone, but there was a dehimidifier in the room and on all the time we were there. Room servicing was excellent, three times a day, and extra towels etc on request.

We were on an all inclusive package, and as has been mentioned previously you cannot get drinks/food without it, however this is not as imposing as a lot of people make out, just make sure you have it. We did forget it one time, and the waiter just asked for the room number and name, and we were okay.

Meal quality was mostly very good, at the Belle Vue restaraunt, usually plenty of choice and enough to satisfy all tastes. Did have a couple of nights where there wasn't anything I really wanted (but maybe that was me just being too choosy !!). Had lunch in both the quarter deck and La Maree, both very good and more than adequate.

One gripe, and it's the usual about the reservation of sun beds ! It states in the hotel literature that under no circumstances should sun loungers be reserved, and the hotel staf would remove any towels that were placed and not been used within 2 hours. This doesn't happen, beds are reserved from as early as 07:30, and not used until the afternoon. Unfortunately, it's a case of if you can't beat them, join them, which is not what you should expect in a hotel of this star rating. Pool side loungers are very good, with very comfortable mattresses. Spent most of the time on the beach, and these loungers are very good too. Also service of the beach guys, with cold towels, drinks service was excellent.
Snorkelling was very good, although a lot of the coral is dead, there is re-growth, and quite a good range of sea life to view (have been spoilt by the Maldives, but this was very good).

Only slight complaint that we had was trying to extend the availability of our room for an extra 5 hours due to a late flight. we followed the process as described in the hotel literature, and asked at reception two days prior to departure about this, and asked themto note we'd like to take up the facility (extra 1000 rupees). We were told to go back the following day when they had done the room allocations. We did this and were told that all rooms had been allocated and there was nothing available (in quite a rude manner). We were not happy with this and returned to reception and asked someone else if it had been noted against our room the request from the previous day, it hadn't !! This was soon rectified and we were then told we could keep the room, until 18:00. Would suggest to anyone to not take no for an answer if you do need to keep your room. There is a shower room/changing room for late check out, but it does allow you time to pack later and chill out.

All in all, a very good hotel, excellent service (most of the time), and would recommend this to other travellers. Do check out the waterfall, stables, ruins and tortoises around the grounds, it's well worth it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gold Medal

Recommended
Alan And Tracey
11 years 7 months ago
We enjoyed our holiday at the Maritim in April this year, although would say that certain areas of the hotel needed a little attention for a 4*. The sunbeds were the best we have had with 6" matresses and a parasol per pair. There were always plenty to go around so getting up too early to put your towel out!

We went all inclusive, but be warned that not everything is inclusive. The only restaurant for dinner on this option was the Belle Vue. There was a different menu each evening and we particularly enjoyed the themed nights. The drink service was a little slow, but you could order bottles of wine (included). We also ate at the Mon Desire one evening which cost us around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Letsgo2

Marcus Chaplin
12 years 4 months ago
We visited the Maritim for a friends wedding so it wasn't our choice but we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was without a doubt superb though after the beauty of the Seychelles, Mauritius doesn't have the wow factor on beaches or scenery.

The hotel overall was spotless but I think we drew the short straw with our maid as the room was 'clean' but the glass shelves above the mini bar were thick in dust. We were rarely given enough towels and there was no turn down. Minor points but after a week in a cheaper, lower rated hotel with better housekeeping worth making.

The location in Balaclava/Terre Rouge depending on the brochure was pleasant enough and apparently on the warmer side of the island. The gardens/grounds of the hotel are finely manicured and the pool area including the Quarterdeck Bar were beautiful with high quality sun loungers and drinks served poolside.

The beach was ok but had a lot of broken coral so you need shoes/flip-flops and La Maree, beach side restaurant was a lovely spot for lunch. It seems there wasn't much outside the hotel but you could easily get a taxi to Port Louis or Grand Baie.

Food throughout the week was spot on be it breakfast, lunch, snacks or dinner. I preferred the menu nights but the Indian buffet night was very enjoyable as they decorate the restaurant with saris, etc to add to the atmosphere.

If you like to keep busy there's a full entertainment package every week. We enjoyed the sunset bike ride but spent the rest of our days just relaxing by the pool. If you have children (our friends did) the kids club is superb, among the regular activities they went water skiing, pony trekking and to the zoo!

I enjoyed my time at the Maritim, the only downside being that it's 'towels at dawn' for your sunbed so get your towel down before breakfast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook Signatures

Recommended
Charlotte And Luke
12 years 4 months ago
Well what can we say this hotel was wonderfull we went for the first week of our honeymoon and it was excellent when we walked into the reception and saw the view over the indian ocean it was breathtaking.

The staff were fantastic always happy food and drinks great ate and drank far to much. The hotel had a band in the evenings was very good the only downside was the beach good for snorkling but not realy good for swimming and not as clear as I thought it would be but the grounds are beautiful we even went horseriding on the beach it was a lovley holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Carl Ellis
12 years 6 months ago
I thought I would add a few points not covered by the other reviews to help people decide.

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon as it was a place I have always wanted to visit and the rainful in the Maldives was far too high for May which was our other choice.

We went to Sun Island Maldives this year so its good to look back and now make comparisons.

Mauritius cost us about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: