Image of Riu Yucatan Hotel

Riu Yucatan Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Playacar

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 3, Lote 1, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kevin Parker
16 years 7 months ago
This is the first time i have stayed in a Riu hotel, and following recommendation is the best Hotel i have stayed in. The staff are courteous helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food and drink was perfect and not a fault could be made. All of the food catered for all dietry needs and choices. Our room was cleansed everyday to a very high standard. Good enetertainment was provided in the evening followed buy a dance at the night club aty the sister hotel. I would strongly recommend this anybody and i will returning without a doubt
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
16 years 9 months ago
This was our first time in Mexico, and we thouroughly enjoyed it from the start. The hotel was spotless, cleaners working all the time, staff could not do enough for you,choice of 3 themed restaurants plus the usual main restaurant, plenty of choice, entertainment was so so, but staff worked really hard to entertain you through the day and evening, plenty of cocktails to choose from, even went on a tour of the kitchens, behind the scenes to see bread baked for all the riu`s in the resort. Sun beds were being reserved well before 8am when the towels were handed out, this is dispite notices pinned to sunshades prohibiting such behaviour. Good variety of wildlife roaming around including Howler monkeys, would definately return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thonson

Recommended
Jane
16 years 11 months ago
This was our first time in Mexico and we had a ball. Friends of ours recommended the Riu Yucatan and it pretty much met the mark.

We found the food and presentation of it was excellent and it was a relief to get into the air conditioned dining room (The Hacienda) which we thought was by far the best - we have two children aged 6 & 3 and they ate really well - the selection was amazing and the fresh fruit juice smoothies in a morning were delicious.

The sunbed situation was really annoying and it was only because we are early risers with two young ones that we thought if you can't beat them join them - there were people saving up to 10 sunbeds at a time with towels and inflatables and most were unoccupied for at least half a day - ludicrous. Would have liked the pools a little cleaner and the poolside areas too - plus on our 2nd week the poolside showers all broke so there was lots of sand from the beach in the pool.

The hotel room was really pleasant and the cleanliness 2nd to none and the fridge and mini bar a welcome retreat after being in th sun all day.

Loved all inclusive the selection was brilliant but you do get to a point where you cannot eat or drink any more!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

17 years 1 month ago
Just returned from 2 weeks at The Yucatan, and am pleased to say it was excellent. Unfortunatly 2 of us had the tummy bug for ten days, so highly reccomend a couple of boxes of immodium plus, and a bottle of Pepto Bismol.

Hotel itself is lovely, from the minute you walk in and are greeted with a cocktail until you leave the staff can't do enough for you.
The rooms are nice, leave the air con on high in the day but you may find when your in bed iy needs to be turned down or off as gets abit nippy. The beds are a little hard, but I had the best sleep i've had in a long time.

Always restocked fridge with 4 2litre bottles of water, 4 corona and 2 of each fizzy drinks, if you prefer pepsi light call up reception and they are there to swap it straight away!!

The food is also very good, we didn't try the mexican al a carte but the steak house and asian were great, but you really couldn't fault the buffet.

If you are celebrating while there, speak to the staff on door in buffet and they will sort a cake and decorate table and stuff, very nice.

dolphin discovery- we did the "sea life plus" so we swam with m anatees, got sloppy kisses off a sea lion and dod mega dolphin swim..... def reccomend this!!

F1 offshore explorer - brilliant, well worth the money, just brilliant!!!!

Hope this helps


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mark Warner
17 years 10 months ago
This was our 5th year at Riu hotels. The Riu Yucatan hotel was a very nice and clean hotel with very good food, especially the Japanese restaurant. The staff were not as friendly or helpful as the Dom Rep Riu Merengue. The location of the hotel was really good being close the beech and the resort of Playa Del Carmen were we bought some really nice things and had 2 great visits to a bar called senior frogs(great drinks and food). But the down sides were the entertainment was not as good as the other Riu's. The sun beds were all saved with towels and taken by 7.30am. I had to get up at 6.30-7am to get a sun bed in the shade for my wife and kids as people were coming from the Riu Tequila to our hotel to save sun beds on the beech and around the pool. I challenged the hotel and they said they would marshal the pool early in the morning and take the towels off the beds that were not occupied. This just did not happen. Last but not least were the amount of children in the pool swim up bar asking for drinks, not drinking them and tipping them into the pool and their parents just did not care. By the end of the day the pool was horrible and full of fruit from the drinks.
For these reasons alone I would not return to this hotel. I will be going back to the Dom Rep next year without a swim up bar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Daisymaybabe
17 years 11 months ago
Cannot fault this hotel at all. Only minor gripes which are :-

The sunbed situation is truly terrible. For a hotel this size and the fact the Tequila guests use the pool and beach at the Yucatan there are not enough beds. The ones around the pool are all taken by 7am at the latest and then stay empty until lunchtime at least. The ones on the beach all seem to be taken by 9ish.

We are not believers in reserving sunbeds but, if you can't beat them, join them. My husband and brother in law got up early most mornings and reserved ours and then sat on them until my sister, son and I had had our breakfast when we then swopped for the boys to have theirs. I wish I was joking!

The hotel is very open with only the resturant being air conditioned (as far as I could tell).

The open air gazebo thing where the entertainment was held was absolutely unbearable at night. The fans were on all the time, but sitting outside as it were was really uncomfortable. ( I know we chose to go when its most humid ) The bars are all outside too, except the one in reception and thats not air conditioned either!

That and the sunbed situation would put me off returning to the Yucatan. We visited the Tequila and by what I could see the set up there is much the same.


BUT, we had a really good holiday, the hotel and grounds were spotless, we saw quite a lot of the monkeys, the food was excellent, staff nice, especially the animation team, who worked what seemed 14+ hours a day.

The show at night was ok, (me) although my sister thought it was really good. (perhaps I'm extra hard to please?????)



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Janette
17 years 11 months ago
Just returned from this hotel, lovely and clean, most of the staff couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Janette
17 years 11 months ago
We went on to the Eco park, brilliant, buts lots of walking, and the show at night is fantastic for everyone. You buy a ticket only from the reps, it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Gary
17 years 11 months ago
Just got back from our second visit (first three years ago). Had a great time the first time but one or two things have changed in the last couple of years.

Firstly the pool area has been extended - this was sorely needed because the old one was very small. Generally, we like to go on the beach but because of the pool area extension, nearly all the natural shade of the trees has been removed from the beach and there are no parasols. This made it impossible to go on the beach for any length of time with out risking sun stroke.

As mentioned on onther reviews - the sun bed situation is ludicrous. I am not accustomed to reserving sun beds, but some people were getting up in the middle of the night to reserve beds by the pool - I kid you not.
The hotel decided to clamp down by removing any towels etc left before 7am, however, this caused ruptions because the people who came later and got the same beds were set up for a row when the original people returned.

The food is generally good especially the meat.

I have now been in 3 Riu Hotels and they are all basically the same including the entertainment. Why they think everone wants to see a Michael Jackson impersonator is beyond me.

The staff are very friendly and the place is spotless.

One last thing: It constantly amazes me that people are either too lazy or ignorant to say 'please' or 'thank you'. Yes it is the job of staff too look after you but they work very long hours and common courtesy costs nothing. Please remember this if you decide to go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ashley Taylor
18 years ago
The Riu Yucatan is the best hotel in Mexico. This hotel is amazing, when you walk in the welcome you get is phenomenal. The hotel is the cleanest I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Playacar

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.