Image of Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort Hotel

Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort Hotel

4 of 10 hotels in Riviera Maya

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 Mz. 18, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fantastic holiday
4 years 7 months ago
Hubby and I had an amazing holiday here. On arrival we were handed a welcome drink whilst checking in. Our room was basic but sufficient for the amount of time we spent in it, the bed was massive and comfy. We were left gorgeous towel art each day and our room was always spotless.

The service was great and all the waiters/waitresses were very courteous, friendly and polite. The food was plentiful and as I am not a fan of spicy food we only ever ate at the 2 buffet restaurants and twice at the steak restaurant, which was first class.

The animation team were excellent and very hard working, all the shows we saw were first class. I think our favourite was the animation teams comedy show, we just laughed from beginning to end and they always had plenty games and sports going on throughout the day. The location was just lovely, beautiful views out to the ocean with lovely soft white sand, although getting in the ocean could have been quite painful on the feet as it's a bit rocky but we had water shoes so no problems. We fed the fish in the lagoon which was nice. The highlight of the area for us was the marina, only a 10 minute stroll away, lovely cafes where you could while away a good bit of time watching the dolphins at play, here there were also sea lions, stingrays and manatees. All in all a fantastic holiday that I would recommend to anyone thinking of going.

I must also mention the iguanas :), we are reptile fans and thoroughly enjoyed feeding the hotels resident iguanas each day with hibiscus flowers, to watch them run towards you when they saw the flowers in your hand was just amazing.

We only did one trip which was to Xcaret,a fantastic day out, one day is just not enough, there is so much to see and do, a must if you are in the area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Hotel tip: The steakhouse restaurant is a must for a delicious meal.

Recommended
Janet Hussey
heaven
5 years 3 months ago
We love this place, our last holiday here was January 2013. We are going back in Jan 2014 which will be our 5th time here! It's so relaxing you can lounge by the pool or the beach. If you fancy a walk go to the harbour out of your hotel. You can see the dolphins, stingrays, sea-cows or sit at one of the little restaurants that are all around the dolphin enclosures. You can watch people swimming with the dolphins. You know what I am going to stop now, you have to go and see for yourself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Hotel tip: all the rooms are clean well maintained.we stayed in an upgraded suit,and it was superb,fridge filled every day,you have your own plunge pool 2 televisions biggest bathroom ive ever seen.we tried all restaurants except the suishe.the shows are so good.

Recommended
Enjoyable holiday
5 years 4 months ago
Booked via Thomas Cook and stayed on the Yucatan side of this resort. Had a great holiday - weather really good, not humid and very pleasant during days and nights; food good and enjoyed the a la carte system of not booking in advance. Japanese restaurant was excellent.

Location really good as you get out and about in the gated community, free bikes available from hotel too. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and was really reasonable priced.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Suzanne And Peter Cresswell
Clean, friendly, helpful and comfortable
8 years ago
Hotel was really clean and staff helpful,travelled with 2 children and 1 developed an ear infection,went to reception and they rang the local chemist who delivered medication, what a service.

The staff who worked at the hotel couldn't be faulted, very polite and good with the children. Food was excellent with plenty of variety and always clean in dining room.

Entertainment staff were very funny especially Danny who the children thought was great, couldn't fault anything about the hotel or the holiday.

We have never been to Mexico before but would certainly go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mick And Ann
8 years 9 months ago
Hotel itself was spotless, the gardents were groomed to perfection, the food was excellent, there was always a great choice and was always fresh, you can also visit the a la carte restuarants a steak house, mexican, Italian and Japaneese, the Japaneese was the only one really worth visiting, the only downside was the hotels location, having stayed in Cancun before we found at night there was little to do, you could get the shuttle bus into Playa Carmen but once you have walked up and down 5th Avenue you really had seen it all, Puerta Aventuras offers little apart from the Marina which again seen it once or twice you have seen it all. The hotel entertainment was just O.K, certainly nothing to write home about. The hotel staff were very helpful and would do anything to help you. The drinks in the hotel were awful they just seemed to be watered down and the beer was lifeless, having stayed in AI a number of times the drinks in this hotel were the worst yet, although there have been a number of negative commcents regarding this hotel, we still had a pretty good time, but due to the location and drinks I would not book again for this hotel. On leaving we were delayed for 24 hours and were accommodated in the Moon Palace resort, now there's a hotel I would definately book
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

9 years ago
Travelled to the catalonia riviera maya for our daughters wedding, could not fault anything about this place the food in the buffet restaruants was excellent and plentiful and the a la carte restaurants were very good also especially the japanese, Located in puerto aventuras a peaceful area about 1 hour from cancun, the staff were brilliant and could not do enough for you, entertainment was low key, disco was far enough away so as not to disturb other residents. Rooms were cleaned daily, we were in a standard room , very large and overlooking the gardens, daughter had an ocean view room with fantastic viwes af the sea
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: hayes and jarvis

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Hotel was really lovely. The staff were very polite and helpful. The standard room was very nice and cleaned to a very high standard.

The breakfast buffet was nice but we got bored of the evening and lunch food after a while. The japanese restaurant was fab - we went twice. The grill and Italian was nice too but the Mexican was rubbish.

The only issue we had was that the bus only goes to Playa twice a day. It would have been better to have more of a service plus have one to Cancun too!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Joanne And Craig
9 years 6 months ago
this hotel is excellent. nothing is to much for any of the staff .the food in the buffet restaurant was excellent at breakfast and lunch loads to choose from not so great at dinner after 3 nights struggled to find something we liked. mexican restaurant was terrible had better at home . japanese and steak house brilliant creperie fantastic try the chocolate lovers its to die 4.go to see the dolphins at the marina its free .thomson rep christian fantastic best rep ever knows loads cos he has been there 5 years .excellent day out at xcaret make sure you go . all the bar men are great they always make sure you have a drink . would love to go back .only down side was the rain only had 2 days without it but it was still 32c
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
A Beach
10 years 7 months ago
My husband and I visit the Catalonia Riviera just after the hurricane visited earlier in the month. The hotel was spotless, the beach was excellent, it was raked and swept every morning. The food was excellent, there are three speciality restaurants, mexican, italian and grill, all were superb. The staff were so friendly, the A-Team worked their socks off keeping everyone amused, and the shows in the evening excellent.

A short walk away is just a few minutes walk away where you can see the dolphins, sealions and manatees, lots of places to have a drink or coffee.

We did two trips one to Chichen Itza, and the other one to the Captain Hook Pirate Cruise, which I cannot praise to highly.

We hope to revist the hotel in a couple of years. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Bev
11 years 10 months ago
Just returned from this hotel and it was absolutely amazing. Everything about it is spot on you don't want for anything.

The bar staff are constantly coming round to you even if you are in the swimming pool and ask if you would like a drink.

Food to die for. The creperie is an amazing experience, the Italian is exquisite even the buffet is great offering freshly cooked fish and T.bones for lunch.

Entertainment is first class and the A team are fantastic to be around Will being everyones favourite as he is so so active and entertaining.

Cannot stress how great this hotel is, go and have yourselves the holiday of a lifetime!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum