Image of Eurotel Altura Golf & Beach Hotel

Eurotel Altura Golf & Beach Hotel

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Av. 24 de Junho, 8950 - 411, Portugal
Superbly situated right on the beach, all rooms at this hotel enjoy beautiful sea views. With great facilities including a children's entertainment programme, satellite TV amd a beach bar, this is a popular beach holiday choice for couples and families.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bob
12 years 6 months ago
Just come back from a very relaxing week at Altura.

The Eurotel dominates the skyline, being the only large hotel in Altura. Each room has a seaview, with a balcony. Ours was not exactly spacious but more than adequate for a couple, with good storage space and very clean. Maid service every day, and you get BBC channels on the room TV, if that's what you want!

Many people comment on the friendliness of the staff, I found this the most disappointing aspect. When you needed help they were there, and very good to, but the dining hall staff did little to make you feel welcome and whilst they worked very hard, there was little general conversation or banter.

The dining room is not huge, and in busy times I believe there are two sittings in the evening. The food was very good. All meals are buffet style. Breakfast is cereal, the usual continental mix of cheese, meats and bread, plus toast (if you don't mind waiting for the toaster) and a hot choice, usually scrambled eggs and something else...nice crispy bacon for example! There is a selection each night (of a couple of dishes) plus an extensive salad bar. All of good quality and plenty of it. Strict vegetarians might have to negotiate with the kitchen staff as even the pasta dish had ham in it. No tea or coffee at the evening meal though.

We didn't take advantage of the entertainment, but those who did, said they enjoyed it.

All in all, I feel we had a good weeks holiday. It is a relaxing place, and we did enough trips to get a feel for the area, and being there over Carnival got to see some local colour. For the price we paid the Eurotel was ideal and the holiday was good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
Can only say a dream to stay in.

We had a wheel chair user in our group, and found the ramps ok. The food was excellent, salads worth 5 on there own, and the cooked food excellent. Breakfast was 2 hot dishes, and continental.

The drinks at the bar reasonable, the location is very quiet, plenty of car parking for your hire car, easy to find from the motorway as well. The staff are so helpful,
the room was immaculate as well.

Entertainment ok, would visit next week if I could!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mr. T.Garrett
13 years 4 months ago
The cleanest hotel we've ever stayed in. Excellent,
friendly and helpful staff.

Good food if you like scrambled eggs every morning, but
overall a reasonable selection. Evening meals have a lot more variety.

We prefer quieter locations, and were not disappointed. However for those who prefer a lively night, then it's only a 5 euro taxi ride away.

Entertainment was very basic (singer--magician--folklore night)and ends dead on midnight. And it was not on every night.

But it suited us, and we will definitely be visiting this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Steve
13 years 8 months ago
We were there for the New Year, so the area is very quiet, the hotel was half full, rooms are massive, hotel is spotless, entertainment was ok, mixture of English and Portugese, all the staff were really warm and friendly, bar was good and reasonable prices, but it was a job to get it to open past 12.30 1.00,

We had the new year gala dinner, which was a briliant night, 7 courses, and all the drink you could handle, as soon as you put your empty glass down, a hand appeared from over your shoulder to refill it, one tip, don't ask for the house wine on the first night, the taste stays with you for days, spend the extra couple of euros, for a decent bottle, it is nice stuff.

The food generally was ok, quite continental, breakfast was never a full English, one day bacon, one day fried egg, one day beans, but never all on the same day.

Visited villa real, but it was siesta, and closed, except for the towel and curtain shops, of which there are many.

Monte gordo, is nice, but quiet, time of year again.

We made the mistake of going on the reps. party in the Vasco De Gamma hotel on new years eve afternoon, all you can drink for 5 euros, had a great afternoon, but it slighly spoilt it for the night, as we only lasted till about 2 am, and were told that after we all went to bed there was more entertainment and champers and pastries.

The Vasco has a full English entertainment programme, and as first choice customers you are welcome there.

Although it was a quiet holiday, and not a lot for teenagers to do, we were in a largish group, who all enjoy a drink, so we had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
John & Sue Pollendine
13 years 11 months ago
This was our first visit to Portugal. The Eurotel Altura sticks out on the horizon like a large block of Lego, but when we arrived we were well satisfied.

The entrance was imposing and the premises immaculate. The food was good and the hotel location could not have been better. The staff were helpful and extremely efficient.

We would have liked a little more variety in the way of entertainment but it was enjoyable and certainly hope to revisit for a longer stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
P Tatham
14 years 7 months ago
We found the Hotel very clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, food wonderful and a very relaxed atmosphere.

For long stay holidays such as we usually take it is exellent.

To us it is home from home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rickferries
14 years 10 months ago
All the reviews so far have a fair bit of truth in them. IE. man with keyboard ok but gets a bit boring.

Bar prices are about the same as in the town so not the usual hotel price rip off. The town is very quiet. A real away from it all holiday. The hotel is excellent. Food is very good especially the salads.

The staff are efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We arrived after the dining room had closed and were delighted to find a full salad with rolls and fruit had been left in our room. Small touches like this made all the difference. The beach is a three or four minute walk down a sandy path and is clean and gently shelving.

Monte Gordo (five euro taxi ride) is lively with plenty shops and bars. Villa Real (eight euro taxi ride) is not so nice.

All the shops seem to sell masses of nightgowns, towels , dressing gowns and curtains etc. and very little else. Try the trip te seville as it is quite a change from Altura.

Lastly, try to go before the end of September as everything starts to close up for the winter and the weather gets much cooler.

PS. Insist on getting 2 door key cards at reception. They were a bit hesitant about this but unless you all come and go at the same time, one key is a dead loss.

Travel operator: Unknown

Bluegrunty
16 years 1 month ago
We had a good time in Eurotel. Everything was very good. The staff were all so friendly.

We found it all so relaxing, we just love Altura, just enough for a quite holiday .This is our 3rd year to the Algarve, and our first in Euuotel and we are going back next year, 2003, to Eurotel Altura.

Thanks to all in the Eurotel Hotel Altura for making it a lovely holiday. we have no complaints to give it was all so good. Down to the beach, and there's a new beach bar. Once again a big thank you all even Andy our First Choice rep.

Travel operator: Unknown

Rhona
16 years 1 month ago
The hotel was really hot as we walked in, luckily the air conditioning in the room was really cool. You could leave the air conditioning on all the time which was good for my little sister as it was her first time abroad.

The hotel was really clean and the rooms were so spacious and the balcony was a good size too. The hotel food was really nice the buffets had a good choice of food for children and adults.

The hotel staff were excellent and they were great at the entertainment. The poolside bar was amazing and the ice-cream was really good.

This hotel was a good family hotel but it could be good for couples as well. I have not been back yet but hopefully when I am old enough to go abroad myself I will.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Zezee
16 years 3 months ago
This hotel was lovely, the staff were great, brillant with the kids and our kids are wild belive me, but the staff were great (just be careful of your clothes some did go missing the cleaners I think).

Great big market on once a week but go early, it gets crowded. You can jump in a taxi to Villa real ,its on the border and you can jump on a ferry to spain for a few pounds. It`s a great day out but don`t forget spain sleeps in the afternoon.

You don`t need your passport to cross either. Beach is lovely but the sea`s a bit hard.

REALLY GOOD HOLIDAY. Hotel is out a bit on it`s own a few small shops around but taxi`s are cheap to get to the next towns.we will go back again!

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum