Image of Iberlagos Apartments

Iberlagos Apartments

16 of 18 hotels in Lagos

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Rossio da Trinidade, Lagos 8600, Portugal

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
Stayed for 12 nights in a two bedroom apartment booked with Alpharooms.We asked for a sea view and was pleased to say we got one as we had a 2nd floor corner apartment in block G.
These apartments are not a purpose built tourist only "hotel" type and are more suited to the independant traveller.
We had late arrival, reception closes at 6pm but the key had been left with the security man who sits in a booth at the complex enterance.
The apartment was spacious and clean. It was dated and
tired but we are not ones who moan and take photos of a cracked tile and a damp patch (the shower room ceiling was flaking with damp) I could have done with a decent pillow as they were all nasty lumpy jobs but at least it was clean. The rooms were serviced every 2 or 3 days, sheets and towels changed, floors mopped and rubbish taken,good enough for me.
The pool area is excellent, large clean pool and adjacent large childs pool. The views from the pool down to Dona anna beach are stunning. You have to hire the sunbeds,this can be done for a half day or a full day. 3.50e a bed for a full day. 2.50 half a day.
The charge meant there were always beds available and the dreadful practice of leaving a bedchair with a towel on all day whilst you are down the beach wasnt a problem here. If you dont want to pay for a bed there are nice grassed areas you can use. There are no inflatables or ball games allowed in the pool, a shame but it kept the peace and tranquillity.
There is an excellent poolside bar that serves good food with cheery staff. Pool table/bar football etc.
The walk down to Donaanna beach is via a fairly steep ramp and steps, it only takes 2 minutes but wouldnt suit people with walking difficulties. There are several other excellent beaches within a 10 minute walk.
The Iberlagos is well positioned for the Old town, a 10 minute walk to the delightfull narrow streets crammed with history, bars and eateries. The marina is however a fair trek, a good 30 minute walk and in the heat we only went once and felt it didnt merit a second trek out.
A trip to the caves in a small fishermans boat is a must, they take you right into the grottos with stunning rock formations. 10e per adult, 5 for kids. They run from the small harbour at the river mouth.

If we ever return to Lagos id used the iberlagos again, it was cheap and cheerful and had everything we need. If you are the moaning type who likes everything just so you will find many faults and are best sticking to a 4 star apartment at twice the price but we were happy with it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended
Not Specified
More suited to the independant traveller
8 years 2 months ago
Stayed for 12 nights in a two bedroom apartment booked with Alpharooms. We asked for a sea view and was pleased to say we got one as we had a 2nd floor corner apartment in block G.

These apartments are not a purpose built tourist only hotel type and are more suited to the independent traveller.
13 years ago
What a beautiful view from our room! We stayed at the honeymoon suite in Iberlagos. The room we booked on AlgarveHoneymoon.com. Its a nice room for 2 with a kitchen and bath. The seaview was not comparable anywhere for the price we paid. It also had a dvd player, TV, and INTERNET access FREE! What a great time and for the price we will be back for sure!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: AlgarveHoneymoon.com

Recommended
Fairbrother
13 years 1 month ago
On arrival, without the rep who got off the bus 2 stops before, we were shown into dismal, dark corridors, no one to help up stairs with cases, and shown the appartment.

Dirty cutlery, not enough cups for us all, dirty disgusting pillows and marked sheets, smelly bathroom and mucky soft furnishings. Not a good start, and it got worse!

Towels only changed after numerous complaints to miserable reception staff, clean bedding only after complaints,had to buy toilet paper, even bathroom bin left unemptied and smelly and we had to empty even that. Generally no cleaning done by staff for 2 weeks.

No sea view, slippery steep footpaths to beach, then lots of steps, not the few that we were led to expect. Pool area again down lots of steps or same slippery path with uneven missing tiles. Pool had guard who watched every move,no sunbed unless paying 5 euros a day each, no brolly unless again paying extra, no drinks, even plastic bottle of water near pool, no swimming in even a clean white top when burning due to no shade whatsoever around pool, no laughter!!!

To use toilet we had to get key from guard evey time, no food or drink bar on some days at all. I could go on and on, but we only got home yesterday and I need a holiday!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Mark Vickers
13 years 3 months ago
Cleanliness - poor, 4 people had one towel change in the week, as you can imagine we struggled to keep enough towels dry. Please be advised to take plenty of your own.
Staff - didn't even know where our room was at first.
Bed sheets had urine stains.

The Buildings need a good lick of paint especially the J block at the entrance.

Pool bar food was basic. The Apartments shop had pretty much nothing to make even sandwiches with.

The nearest decent supermarket is around the front of the apartments and past the scruffy looking campsite.

Hotel locaton is just up from the beach which isn't the greatest, (gritty sand and packed), it s quite pretty but not after seeing it every day, there is nicer ones at Luz and Praia Da Mos (I think it is called this).

I dont think it is necessary for the deposit you have to pay to go into the Pool as it was empty all week.

Entertainment = 0 but no 0 option on the ratings.
Rep got off at the resort before ours without even telling us, no wonder when you see its state on the drive up to the apartments.

There is nothing for teenagers to do.
You definately need to hire a car unless you want to sit around the empty pool all your holiday then you should enjoy it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Drect Holidays

Maggie
13 years 3 months ago
we arrived for 2 weeks we did self catering as my lot are fussy eaters, there was a snack bar which we used when we are the appartments,it was a 10min walk into town downhill, the hotel staff were lovely and very friendly and couldnt do enough to help us enjoy our holiday,, there was no entertainment as such although there was a pool table
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
I MCKENZIE
13 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Iberlagos apartments in Lagos in the first week of September 2004.

The apartment itself was very nice, however some of the furniture was not! The double bed creaked everytime it was touched making sleep impossible due to the noise it made - the mattress also leaned over to one side so we decided to take the mattress off the bed, put it on the floor, and sleep on it. When the mattress was removed,we could see why the bed caused so many problems - the frame was held together by a few nails hammered in randomly and the bed base that we were lying on was pieces of broken chipboard!

There were also 2 single beds in the apartment and these were in the same condition.

We slept on the mattress on the floor for our weeks stay - the tour rep seemed uninterested in this and when we complained to Apartment reception we were told 'I understand' but nothing was done.

Cleaners were supposed to visit every other day - they cleaned and changed towels once - bed linen was not changed all week. One day they came to the apartment,handed us a new bin bag and a loo roll and left without doing any cleaning!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUNSTART

Easton
14 years ago
Our apartment was located on the second floor accessed via stairs or a lift, the accomodation was very spacious and immaculately clean, there were two double bedrooms, two bathrooms a lovely large lounge and well equiped kitchen, the balcony was very large with beautiful views of the sea. most apartments seemed to be privately owned and the local people would dine out on their balconies (the smell of bbq fresh sardines was delightfull) The pool was huge and well maintained you could hire sun beds if you wished, there is lawned areas to sunbathe if you dont want to hire the beds!
close by is the snack bar which we can recemend, the food was exellent nd reasonably priced. the beautiful picture post card beach is within a short walk down some steps and is stunning, we wouldnt hesitate to return to the iberlagos apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Brown
14 years ago
We arrived at Iberlagos and were given our room after the receptionist informed me that I had only booked 1 week instead of 2 - I WAS NOT IMPRESSED!!!! I must say that the receptionist would have cracked her face if she had tried to smile - SO MISERABLE!!!!!!!!!!!

So off we go to our apartment to settle and unpack. 10 minutes later guess who knocks on the door? - the receptionist to tell us that she had given us the wrong apartment. So off we treck to our next one - what a dreary old place, old furniture and fixtures, beds that creak and roll in the middle. The whole place needed a re-vamp. What makes it worse is the fact that it was not a CHEAP holiday.

The bed linen was supposed to be changed twice a week but when we asked at reception - they said only once per week - in the whole two weeks holiday we had the linen changed once. The cleaning service was poor and I think we only had cleaning because we complained.

So although we loved Lagos and the Algarve in general, we will NOT be returning to Iberlagos again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstart

Alan White
15 years 2 months ago
Most of the apartments are privately owned but the one we stayed in was really nice. We had 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, lounge/dining room, large bathroom and a wonderful balcony with sea view. As we were self caterinmg we had little contact with the hotel staff but they were very helpful with minor queries. The security guards are there 24 hours, they don't speak great english but they are very friendly and welcoming. There was no entertainment as this is not that kind of place, however the pool bar/cafe does great snacks and has sky sports too!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum